Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis in Edinburgh

Find great prices with Avis in Edinburgh, see customer ratings - and book online, quickly and easily

Let’s find your ideal car

Rental location must be specified
Mon 23 Jul 2018
Choose Pick-up Date
Thu 26 Jul 2018
Choose Drop-off Date
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Travelling for: Purpose of rental (optional)
Form submission
  • No credit card fees
  • No amendment fees
  • 24/7 phone support

Ratings:1,000+

8.05

Why use Avis?

  • Dropping a car off with Avis in Edinburgh is quick and easy
  • People are impressed by how clean the Avis cars are in Edinburgh
  • Avis in Edinburgh are renowned for keeping their cars in good condition

Ratings for Avis in Edinburgh

Ratings

  • Overall value for money of your vehicle hire

    7.3
  • Helpfulness of the counter staff

    8.1
  • Time it took to collect your vehicle

    7.2
  • Time it took to drop off your vehicle

    9.1
  • Cleanliness of the vehicle

    8.7
  • Overall condition of the vehicle

    8.5
  • Ease of locating the Avis rental desk or representative

    8.3

Avis locations in Edinburgh

Opening hours

  • Edinburgh Airport
    Day Time
    Monday 7am - 11pm
    Tuesday 7am - 11pm
    Wednesday 7am - 11pm
    Thursday 7am - 11pm
    Friday 7am - 11pm
    Saturday 7am - 11pm
    Sunday 7am - 11pm
  • Edinburgh Downtown
    Day Time
    Monday 8am - 6pm
    Tuesday 8am - 6pm
    Wednesday 8am - 6pm
    Thursday 8am - 6pm
    Friday 8am - 6pm
    Saturday 8am - 2pm
    Sunday 9am - 3pm
-

Avis counters near Edinburgh

Reviews of Avis in Edinburgh

Real customer reviews

Find out what other customers think - so you can decide if Avis is the right company for you.

Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 14 July 2018
Unexpected features like massage chairs
7.8
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 08 July 2018
The staff on the ground were very helpful. The car we booked had a fault (oil light was on) and they swapped us straight away for another, much larger and more luxurious car. No fuss, just a simple "Sorry, we'll put you in another car straight away". Excellent customer service. Nothing, really. The car was great and the staff were very courteous.
8.2
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 12 June 2018
This was great made everything easy I'd offer up a pre paid fuel fill up as there is no petrol station on the airport site.
9.8
Anonymous Edinburgh Downtown 05 June 2018
The staff member was very helpful and pleasant. Very quick collection.
9.6
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 28 May 2018
On inspection I saw the car had a dent that wasn't marked on the papers. I had to talk to Avis staff and the made a note and signed it.
8.0
Yong Edinburgh Airport 20 May 2018
Direction to the returned car depot was not clearly marked. In many airports there are road signs showing "car rentals" leading to the depot.
6.4
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 12 May 2018
loved the car appreciated the upgrade very much took too long to pick up and rental car area too far from terminal
7.6
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 06 May 2018
Ggreat car compact, sufficient luggage space Noise from passenger seat window
8.2
chetan Edinburgh Airport 05 May 2018
Good service Good Vehicle They should give basic tips on traffic rules to outsiders and also explain in detail about vehicle operations
8.6
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 29 April 2018
Too long to check in,
8.2
SOLON Edinburgh Airport 11 April 2018
The problem was that the seller told me that I will be charged for the rest of the tank if I deliver it unfulfilled. But the contract I signed said that I'll pay for full even I deliver the half. It was my mistake I didn't read the contract but their mistake because didn't clearly declared this part. (most people never read all the contract)
6.8
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 22 December 2017
Just the full cover is expensive!
6.6
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 03 December 2017
The service Cost of additional insurance
10.0
Esra Edinburgh Airport 20 November 2017
They did not explain the equipments of the car
7.2
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 12 November 2017
Excellent service. The car was terrific.
9.2
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 30 October 2017
Alex at the front desk was charming, engaging and informative. He couldn't do enough :) I come up minimum 4 times a year, so speed of picking up and dropping off, as well as value for money, are key. Red cars :)
9.4
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 09 October 2017
Receptionist Mario very friendly and helpful. Avis in general excellent custimer service. Definitely recommend. Nothing
9.4
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 25 September 2017
Promptness in attending and helpful Unfriendly approach
9.2
Stephen Edinburgh Airport 18 September 2017
Danielle at the Avis desk was awesome - you should emply more people like her. She was friendly, welcoming and efficient...great ambassador for your business. Someone had been smoking in the car before my hire - I needed to buy air freshener to mask the smell.
8.0
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 06 September 2017
Getting through to the desk even during working hours was a nightmare. Had to wait at least 25 min on 3 occasions.
6.8
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 05 September 2017
All good! Nothing negative!
9.2
John Edinburgh Airport 21 August 2017
Near new car that drove well Having to walk for 2 kilometres just to find the car
7.0
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 19 August 2017
Easy car pickup and close to terminal. Nothing.
8.4
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 17 August 2017
Distances from arrivals hall - very long and bad
7.4
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 06 August 2017
Everything's o.k
7.6
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 08 July 2017
No info on controls of car
7.0
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 05 July 2017
Not happy about the insurance cover I took out with rentalcars. Should have checked carefully exactly what was covered in the policy. Poor signage to the rental building.
7.8
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 03 July 2017
Ar was fine the Avis Staff were excellent the length of time waiting in the queue was painful. the cost also was not great.
8.6
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 02 July 2017
Avis staff checked over the car in detail on return so there was no ambiguity of damage on the car. Inside cleanliness of the car
7.2
Terence Edinburgh Airport 19 June 2017
Staff made it so easy at both ends Very friendly
8.4
Bernardo Edinburgh Airport 07 June 2017
Excellent car! Better than I thought! Nothing
8.8
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 05 June 2017
Convenient Nothing
7.2
Suzanne Edinburgh Airport 18 May 2017
Rental centre within airport Ease of pick-up Cleanliness of car Lack of introduction to unfamiliar car
9.4
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 15 May 2017
good car. helpful staff. ease of booking nothing
8.4
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 07 May 2017
GPS didn't work which made the trip difficult.
8.8
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 03 April 2017
Very difficult to locate drop off at Glasgow airport due to road construction and poor signage Process took 30 minutes when already late for flight check in.
7.4
Alasdair Edinburgh Downtown 19 February 2017
Great service, and a great car. Nothing negative to say about my experience.
9.2
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 19 November 2016
Everything Car wasn't actually full with petrol although I was told that it was. Situation was resolved but it meant I had to call AVIS to explain that it was only half full and that I would return it half full. Could have done without this but no major problem.
9.2
Linda Edinburgh Airport 25 October 2016
Very quick and easy to pick up the car, no queue. Staff were very helpful. Upgrade was gratefully received!
9.6
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 18 September 2016
The Avis staff very helpful and obliging. Could not understand why a shuttle bus would be available to reach the Avis rental office when you can walk to it. The courtesy phone did not work. The office is only just a short distance from the departure doors
8.2
Anonymous Edinburgh Downtown 26 August 2016
Easy to order and get proper car. Easy to locate the pickup location Very long waiting after getting the car because of busy time exactly when my pickup time was.
7.2
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 09 August 2016
The Opel was a good car instead The Ford we got first had a not working steering servo
7.6
Julie Edinburgh Airport 27 June 2016
Staff member was brilliant my flight was delayed until midnight she stayed until it got in and was very helpful. Nothing
9.4
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 14 June 2016
I was told the car was a Diesel when in fact it was a petrol engine.
6.8
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 22 May 2016
Dell at the service desk was very helpful I rented a similar car in the week before Christmas (busy time!) at Glasgow airport from Europcar and it cost less than half the total price.
8.4
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 20 May 2016
Good quality car, value for money
6.6
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 17 May 2016
A good spec of car with bluetooth and iPod connectivity. Only two of four desks open for pick-up and a 25 minute wait.
9.0
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 13 April 2016
The people i met,happy and smart, very welcoming. The quality of the car as well. Problems to park in the city. Some stress to leave the car "near empty" against "visiting everything until the last moment" But it is not Avis' problem nevermind.
8.4
Anonymous Edinburgh Airport 13 April 2016
Drop off was poor. One employee to check multiple returns, customers hanging around in the rain with their families not knowing the process. If I hadn't left my keys on the counter and abandoned the queue, it would have taken over 20 minutes.
7.2
Mervyn Edinburgh Airport 21 March 2016
Efficient practical vehicle. Engine too small to cope with multiple gradients on local roads
6.6
Previous Next

Top companies in Edinburgh

Avis is in the top 5

1 Budget car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.2 Ratings: 3005
2 Alamo car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.2 Ratings: 1144
3 Enterprise car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.16667 Ratings: 2897
4 Keddy By Europcar car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.1 Ratings: 5480
5 Avis car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.05 Ratings: 1059
See all companies in Edinburgh

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
By continuing, you accept that telecoms company Mitel will process your details.

Loading

Please wait

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.