Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis in Funchal

Find great prices with Avis in Funchal, see customer ratings - and book online, quickly and easily

Let’s find your ideal car

Rental location must be specified
Sun 22 Jul 2018
Choose Pick-up Date
Wed 25 Jul 2018
Choose Drop-off Date
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Travelling for: Purpose of rental (optional)
Form submission
  • No credit card fees
  • No amendment fees
  • 24/7 phone support

Ratings:1,000+

7.53333

Why use Avis?

  • Dropping a car off with Avis in Funchal is quick and easy
  • People are impressed by how clean the Avis cars are in Funchal
  • We work hard to find you the best prices - book with us and get the best price on a Avis rental in Funchal, guaranteed.

Ratings for Avis in Funchal

Ratings

  • Overall value for money of your vehicle hire

    6.7
  • Helpfulness of the counter staff

    7.0
  • Time it took to collect your vehicle

    7.3
  • Time it took to drop off your vehicle

    9.2
  • Cleanliness of the vehicle

    8.1
  • Overall condition of the vehicle

    7.5
  • Ease of locating the Avis rental desk or representative

    7.5

Avis locations in Funchal

Opening hours

  • Funchal Airport
    Day Time
    Monday 0am - 1am, 7am - 12am
    Tuesday 0am - 1am, 7am - 12am
    Wednesday 0am - 1am, 7am - 12am
    Thursday 0am - 1am, 7am - 12am
    Friday 0am - 1am, 7am - 12am
    Saturday 0am - 1am, 7am - 12am
    Sunday 0am - 1am, 7am - 12am
  • Funchal Downtown - Largo
    Day Time
    Monday 9am - 12pm, 3pm - 7pm
    Tuesday 9am - 12pm, 3pm - 7pm
    Wednesday 9am - 12pm, 3pm - 7pm
    Thursday 9am - 12pm, 3pm - 7pm
    Friday 9am - 12pm, 3pm - 7pm
    Saturday 9am - 12pm, 3pm - 7pm
    Sunday 9am - 12pm, 3pm - 7pm
  • Funchal Downtown - Lido
    Day Time
    Monday 9am - 12pm, 3pm - 7pm
    Tuesday 9am - 12pm, 3pm - 7pm
    Wednesday 9am - 12pm, 3pm - 7pm
    Thursday 9am - 12pm, 3pm - 7pm
    Friday 9am - 12pm, 3pm - 7pm
    Saturday 9am - 12pm, 3pm - 7pm
    Sunday 9am - 12pm, 3pm - 7pm
-

Reviews of Avis in Funchal

Real customer reviews

Find out what other customers think - so you can decide if Avis is the right company for you.

Anonymous Funchal Airport 28 March 2018
Car had anumber of scratches/damage
8.2
Colin Funchal Airport 31 October 2017
Received a free upgrade to automatic car. Car had high mileage and a lot of small damage which took time to identify before leaving airport.
7.2
Anonymous Funchal Airport 31 October 2017
Nobody there at 8am to check the car of when handing it in. Had to post the keys. I went back later to confirm all was ok. I had been told that when I dropped it off there would be someone there.
7.0
Anthony Funchal Airport 10 October 2017
Terms & conditions were met Staff were reassuring car was clean The automatic Citroen Cactus was underpowered for driving on mountainous roads. The automatic gearbox was unpredictable and the car failed to respond sometimes in difficult situations. There were times in the mountains when we felt in danger.
8.0
David Funchal Downtown - Lido 30 September 2017
Staff were so helpful Condition of the car could have been better, a lot of scratches.
7.6
Gregory Funchal Downtown - Largo 10 September 2017
Avis was the cheapest player at the time of booking. Some agencies charged up to 46€ per day!!! Staff at the counter were very efficient an professional. The car was a bit worn out and the front wheels made noise on bumpy roads. The car we had was underpowered for a place la Madeira where there is no flat ground to be found anywhere. this is a minor annoyance though.
8.0
Mark Funchal Downtown - Largo 02 September 2017
Efficiency and professionalism of Member of staff (Roberto) No negative comments
7.4
Anonymous Funchal Airport 24 August 2017
all ok... no comments
8.4
John Funchal Airport 09 July 2017
Courtesy of staff. Quality of car. Time it took to pick up the car
8.0
Anonymous Funchal Airport 12 May 2017
Great car and very helpful staff, however I believe should be more staff available when picking and dropping car. Thank you. I liked everything in general, no complaints.
7.4
Anonymous Funchal Airport 25 April 2017
Helpfulness and friendliness of staff at desk when picking up car
8.2
Anonymous Funchal Downtown - Lido 10 April 2017
Unfortunately the rented car, a Kia Rio developed a wheel noise on day 4 of the rental. Although it may have been insignificant the reliance on brakes in Madeira and the fact that it was a hire car prompted me to call the Avis office who immediately sent out a mechanic to us with an almost new car as a replacement.
7.4
Anonymous Funchal Airport 10 April 2017
good quality car, friendly helpfull service at pick up quite long waiting time at pick up. At car return drop off office closed, notice on office window to go to pick up office in airport building, but this was also closed. Poor marking of key drop box
7.0
David Funchal Airport 03 April 2017
Very helpful, courteous staff, with excellent English. Car was collected on airport with no fuss. Handback was easy and speedy. Have used Avis several times and always good value and service.
8.6
Anonymous Funchal Airport 01 October 2016
Don't push the up sell on car size/group. Was also asked to add full insurance that I'd pay for with Rentalcars.com
7.6
Anonymous Funchal Downtown - Largo 29 July 2016
upgrade long waiting time for picking up the car
5.2
Anonymous Funchal Airport 20 January 2016
Pressure to upgrade, not sure if grade booked was actually available.
6.4
Carolyn Funchal Airport 01 December 2015
Perfectly good car, but didn't like the around vision for twisty roads on Medeira. We booked a SMALL car and were given a larger car, which was not ideal for our purposes. we were asked if we wanted an upgrade and we had said we didn't
7.0
Anonymous Funchal Airport 25 October 2015
The lady at the desk when we collected the car was absolutely lovely.
8.8
Anonymous Funchal Airport 30 September 2015
Ideal car for what we needed , clean and tidy. No English hand book to work out how some switches etc. functioned. Just a brief run down by the rep.
8.0
Jose Funchal Airport 13 September 2015
I was advised to upgrade the car on arrival and it was well worthed N/A
8.4
Anonymous Funchal Airport 12 September 2015
Very helpful and efficient staff. Explained all the details and provided in English along with Portuguese. We payed a bit extra to upgrade to a slightly bigger car with air-con and GPS. Car was almost brand new and apart from a previous scratch on the front was immaculate. Nothing
8.8
Anonymous Funchal Airport 14 April 2015
Courteous staff, good advice, clean car Being offered a car online, a Volkswagen Up, which we were (correctly) informed at Funchal Airport was unsuitable for Madeira.
7.6
Anonymous Funchal Airport 29 March 2015
never get the car i book
8.4
John Funchal Airport 24 March 2015
Everything went very smoothly, friendly staff. Unsure about alternative car I was given, Lancia Epsilon, being an upgrade or downgrade! Engine/gearbox not suited to Madeira
8.6
Anonymous Funchal Downtown - Largo 09 February 2015
Decent car from a reputable company for a competitive price. Would have preferred the VW Polo booked, but alternative for modest upgrade was acceptable.
7.8
David Funchal Downtown - Largo 24 November 2014
Very efficient throughout. A Renault Kaptur was supplied.Ran like a dream Nothing
8.4
Anonymous Funchal Airport 06 September 2014
Staff were efficient We did think the car lacked power at times
7.3
Anonymous Funchal Airport 26 August 2014
Suitable for a family of four Under-powered for the terrain. No paper maps provided - only offered a satnav (for a cost) which doesn't actually give you an overall look at the island to choose where you would like to tour.
6.4
Nuno Funchal Downtown - Largo 06 May 2014
Very efficient staff .
9.3
Anonymous Funchal Airport 09 April 2014
Good car (Mitsubishi Colt) suited to the island, clear paperwork Tried to sell extras at the check in desk - more insurance etc
8.0
GRAHAM Funchal Airport 04 March 2014
Very good,easy experience. May help if hirers were told where the nearest petrol station is though as I had to return a full tank and had to drive past the airport to fill up.
9.8
Anonymous Funchal Airport 29 January 2014
No queue at the desk
10.0
Previous Next

Top companies in Funchal

Avis isn't in the top 5

1 Madeira Rent car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.3 Ratings: 847
2 Sixt car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.15 Ratings: 645
3 Europcar car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.1 Ratings: 576
4 Keddy By Europcar car hire - Rentalcars.com 7.85 Ratings: 918
5 Guerin car hire - Rentalcars.com 7.8 Ratings: 1640
See all companies in Funchal

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
By continuing, you accept that telecoms company Mitel will process your details.

Loading

Please wait

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.