Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis in San Francisco

Find great prices with Avis in San Francisco, see customer ratings - and book online, quickly and easily

Let’s find your ideal car

Rental location must be specified
Fri 28 Sep 2018
Choose Pick-up Date
Mon 1 Oct 2018
Choose Drop-off Date
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Travelling for: Purpose of rental (optional)
Form submission
  • No credit card fees
  • No amendment fees
  • 24/7 phone support

Ratings:250+

8.01667

Why use Avis?

  • Dropping a car off with Avis in San Francisco is quick and easy
  • We work hard to find you the best prices - book with us and get the best price on a Avis rental in San Francisco, guaranteed.
  • Book Avis car hire in San Francisco through Rentalcars.com and you can amend your booking for free.

Ratings for Avis in San Francisco

Ratings

  • Overall value for money of your vehicle hire

    7.6
  • Helpfulness of the counter staff

    7.6
  • Time it took to collect your vehicle

    7.8
  • Time it took to drop off your vehicle

    9.8
  • Cleanliness of the vehicle

    7.8
  • Overall condition of the vehicle

    7.9
  • Ease of locating the Avis rental desk or representative

    8.0

Avis locations in San Francisco

Opening hours

  • San Francisco - Bay Street
    Day Time
    Monday 24hr
    Tuesday 24hr
    Wednesday 24hr
    Thursday 24hr
    Friday 24hr
    Saturday 24hr
    Sunday 24hr
  • San Francisco - Beach Street
    Day Time
    Monday 24hr
    Tuesday 24hr
    Wednesday 24hr
    Thursday 24hr
    Friday 24hr
    Saturday 24hr
    Sunday 24hr
  • San Francisco - Embarcadero Center
    Day Time
    Monday 24hr
    Tuesday 24hr
    Wednesday 24hr
    Thursday 24hr
    Friday 24hr
    Saturday 24hr
    Sunday 24hr
  • San Francisco - Harbor Way
    Day Time
    Monday 24hr
    Tuesday 24hr
    Wednesday 24hr
    Thursday 24hr
    Friday 24hr
    Saturday 24hr
    Sunday 24hr
  • San Francisco - Howard Street
    Day Time
    Monday 24hr
    Tuesday 24hr
    Wednesday 24hr
    Thursday 24hr
    Friday 24hr
    Saturday 24hr
    Sunday 24hr
  • San Francisco - Post Street
    Day Time
    Monday 24hr
    Tuesday 24hr
    Wednesday 24hr
    Thursday 24hr
    Friday 24hr
    Saturday 24hr
    Sunday 24hr
  • San Francisco Airport
    Day Time
    Monday 24hr
    Tuesday 24hr
    Wednesday 24hr
    Thursday 24hr
    Friday 24hr
    Saturday 24hr
    Sunday 24hr
-

Avis counters near San Francisco

Reviews of Avis in San Francisco

Real customer reviews

Find out what other customers think - so you can decide if Avis is the right company for you.

Anonymous San Francisco Airport 03 September 2018
Everything was easy. Washer fluid light was on at pickup
7.2
Anonymous San Francisco Airport 02 September 2018
Car in goood conditions The high cost of the Gps option
6.8
Anonymous San Francisco Airport 25 August 2018
See above findings At the end of the trip a messagge appeared about the need to change the motor oil: there was no documentation inside about it.
8.4
Anonymous San Francisco - Post Street 18 August 2018
Really friendly and helpful staff at post street, Nothing
8.8
Anonymous San Francisco - Post Street 15 August 2018
Staff were very helpful when picking up and dropping off the car. The car itself was in impeccable condition. The car wasn't cleaned properly from the last person who had it. There were receipts and empty water bottles in the centre console
9.0
Anonymous San Francisco - Beach Street 22 July 2018
Excellent service, excellent car and overall a very positive experience.
9.0
Anonymous San Francisco Airport 14 July 2018
Good service. CDW included in my rental fees. Took way too long to pick up my car at San Francisco.
7.2
Anonymous San Francisco Airport 10 July 2018
Lincoln Car had sat nav , usb charging , very good aircon and was very spacious and comfortable for 4 Passengers . Given the amount of driving we did in California it made the long journeys more enjoyable Nothing
8.4
Anonymous San Francisco Airport 10 June 2018
Call had no gas..waited for ages before taking the car as we had to get going.
6.8
Anonymous San Francisco Airport 20 May 2018
We were sent to the wrong location, but the staff in the parking lot were helpful to find the right spot.
7.2
Katrina San Francisco Airport 09 May 2018
The gentelman that assisted me with pick up was very friendly & engaging. The gentleman that received the car from me was very nice and welcoming. NOTHING
8.4
Ghita San Francisco - Harbor Way 06 April 2018
The car was exactly what we wanted and cheap to run Trying to find Avis at LAX! The signage was appalling
7.2
Anonymous San Francisco Airport 11 January 2018
Only complaint is that the car was not clean inside and out. Windows were dirty inside...other than that, staff was excellent and very friendly.
7.2
Anonymous San Francisco - Harbor Way 27 November 2017
Generally satisfied. Staff polite and helpful. After driving some km appeared warning to change the oil. Service maintenance should be checked from staff prior to give the car to client.
6.6
Anonymous San Francisco Airport 04 September 2017
Excellent service. However I must have arrived at a piek time. Long queue
6.8
robert San Francisco Airport 02 September 2017
Very good customer experience. Nothing
9.6
Koenraad San Francisco Airport 12 August 2017
Very Nice car Woman at desk trying to sell a Tom Tom knowing the car is equipped with full navigation - totally unneeded for the quality of Avis !!!
6.4
Markus San Francisco Airport 09 August 2017
always a pleasure to rent with you no problems
9.8
Robert San Francisco Airport 31 July 2017
Avis agent in Walnut Creek understood our problems (see what we didn't like) and provided a good alternative. His action was very much appreciated! 1. No space in trunk for 2 semi large baggage 2. Trunk was open therefor no possibillity to put luggage out of sight
6.8
Anonymous San Francisco Airport 31 August 2016
car, location, Friendly staff, value. This was a long term mini lease, 70+ days. I found counter staff unfamiliar with operation of system and paperwork with this lease. Both pickup and drop off had to be escalated to senior staff to handle. Wait time in queue at pick up over 1 hour to get to counter.
6.6
Kwong San Francisco - Post Street 12 March 2016
Inside the car is dirty. I have to clean it by myself.
7.6
Leanne San Francisco - Beach Street 29 November 2015
The girl at the desk was very helpful. I liked paying in Australian dollars and having all my insurance sorted before I left.
9.2
Anonymous San Francisco Airport 25 August 2014
No trunk boad inside car.
8.7
Previous Next

Top companies in San Francisco

Avis isn't in the top 5

1 Alamo car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.25 Ratings: 11347
2 Dollar car hire - Rentalcars.com 7.8 Ratings: 11296
3 Thrifty car hire - Rentalcars.com 7.8 Ratings: 2427
4 Budget car hire - Rentalcars.com 7.48 Ratings: 2857
5 Hertz car hire - Rentalcars.com 7.16 Ratings: 1370
See all companies in San Francisco

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Did you know? You can change your booking online right now.

Change booking online Right now Start chat

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
By continuing, you accept that telecoms company Mitel will process your details.

Loading

Please wait

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.