Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis in Amsterdam

Find great prices with Avis in Amsterdam, see customer ratings - and book online, quickly and easily

Let’s find your ideal car

Rental location must be specified
Mon 23 Jul 2018
Choose Pick-up Date
Thu 26 Jul 2018
Choose Drop-off Date
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Travelling for: Purpose of rental (optional)
Form submission
  • No credit card fees
  • No amendment fees
  • 24/7 phone support

Ratings:500+

7.96667

Why use Avis?

  • Dropping a car off with Avis in Amsterdam is quick and easy
  • People are impressed by how clean the Avis cars are in Amsterdam
  • Avis in Amsterdam are renowned for keeping their cars in good condition

Ratings for Avis in Amsterdam

Ratings

  • Overall value for money of your vehicle hire

    7.3
  • Helpfulness of the counter staff

    7.9
  • Time it took to collect your vehicle

    7.6
  • Time it took to drop off your vehicle

    9.4
  • Cleanliness of the vehicle

    8.1
  • Overall condition of the vehicle

    8.1
  • Ease of locating the Avis rental desk or representative

    7.8

Avis locations in Amsterdam

Opening hours

  • Amsterdam Downtown
    Day Time
    Monday 7am - 6pm
    Tuesday 8am - 6pm
    Wednesday 8am - 6pm
    Thursday 8am - 6pm
    Friday 8am - 8pm
    Saturday 8am - 4pm
    Sunday 9am - 2pm
  • Amsterdam Downtown South - East
    Day Time
    Monday 8am - 4pm
    Tuesday 8am - 4pm
    Wednesday 8am - 4pm
    Thursday 8am - 4pm
    Friday 8am - 4pm
    Saturday closed
    Sunday closed
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
    Day Time
    Monday 7am - 11pm
    Tuesday 7am - 11pm
    Wednesday 7am - 11pm
    Thursday 7am - 11pm
    Friday 7am - 11pm
    Saturday 7am - 11pm
    Sunday 7am - 11pm
-

Avis counters near Amsterdam

Reviews of Avis in Amsterdam

Real customer reviews

Find out what other customers think - so you can decide if Avis is the right company for you.

Anonymous Amsterdam Downtown 16 June 2018
Staff, car, upgrade
9.0
Anonymous Amsterdam Downtown 22 May 2018
Excellent service from Avis staff at both Amsterdam downtown pickup point and upon return at the airport.
8.0
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 27 April 2018
Representative was very helpful. car didn't have cruse control
8.0
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 13 April 2018
Excellent service Spare key not dispatched from Amsterdam after we lost the original.Waited a week to resolve the issue.
8.8
Anonymous Amsterdam Downtown 05 April 2018
The car was excellent Nothing at all
8.8
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 19 March 2018
I’ve always been using Avis world wide. Good service, maybe a bit more expensive but worth it. Thank you.
7.8
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 28 January 2018
personnel on the car park and on the rental desk that I have to carry fuel receipt to prove that I filled a car
8.6
John Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 05 January 2018
All went very smooth. Had to wait for 15 minutes at the counter.
8.2
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 01 December 2017
Very nice and helpful at the desk
9.4
Christian Amsterdam Downtown 19 October 2017
Always very friendly and always good cars. I love AVIS at that convient city center location
8.8
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 08 October 2017
When asked if we could upgrade to a stationwagon, request was quickly accomodated Nothing negative to comment.
9.0
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 02 October 2017
Excellent vehicle, brand new, came with full tank of petrol. I needed to ask for help as I wasn't shown basic commands however this was sorted immediately as staff is helpful
8.8
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 29 September 2017
Good value for money. Nothing specific
7.0
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 03 September 2017
Very friendly and willing to help Long queue There was no room for the luggage in the car (not even close!), and I wasn't notified in advance in the counter.
6.6
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 01 September 2017
nice car, fast return long waiting time. first at the counter and then in the garage waiting for the car to arrive
7.0
Fawad Amsterdam Downtown 27 August 2017
Service ,staff and professional dealing Nothing
7.6
Michael Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 22 August 2017
Nice staff Waiting at the desk of Avis for almost 1,5 hours
8.4
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 18 August 2017
The colour of the car, engine size. Petrol consumption was so so low.I say excellent. Nothing. Just to locate where to drop the car on GPS was very difficult
7.2
Katherine Amsterdam Downtown 11 August 2017
Fantastic staff, very helpful. Spoke excellent English.
8.4
Anonymous Amsterdam Downtown 09 August 2017
I always rent cars at Avis as I like their offers and service and I will continue doing so. Nothing.
9.0
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 17 July 2017
Service at rental desk in the airport was gast and friendly. The car, an Opel Corsa automatic has a dreadfully slow transmission. Would recommend a manual transmission.
7.6
Anonymous Amsterdam Downtown 06 July 2017
Pick up could be improved by getting a new printer for the business.
8.8
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 02 July 2017
Good customer service
8.0
Alberto Amsterdam Downtown 20 June 2017
sunday dropoff is complicated, especially if the keys dropbox is out of order...
7.8
Anonymous Amsterdam Downtown 12 June 2017
Received a brand new car, pleasant staff, possible to drop off the car outside working hours
8.4
Giorgio Amsterdam Downtown 06 June 2017
Almost everything was very good, I got an upgrade on the car, which was very clean and comfortable. Too long wait at the counter to pick up the car.
8.4
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 31 May 2017
Car located within walking distance with staff on site. A location map showing how to get out of the airport area (AMS is big and full of one-way roads!) and return to the rental parking lot -- and the gas stations in the neighbourhood area would be very helpful to most of your clients. We had a 20-min seek-and-find drive due to the lack of this information.
8.2
Jubin Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 31 May 2017
Staff i was not instructed by avis to enter the parking lot from a completely different end while returning. It was very confusing and very much time consuming. I had to walk a lot and also drive all around to get back to a different floor of parking
7.6
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 22 May 2017
Everything Nothing
8.4
Anonymous Amsterdam Downtown 07 May 2017
The Kia is a nice car. Took awhile to learn the GPS,
7.0
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 07 May 2017
Thank u 4every thing No thing
6.6
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 25 April 2017
Nothing partucular Aircoditioning : smell badly. Need to change air filter.
6.0
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 19 April 2017
Easy booking and value for money Suggestion: Waiting in line for picking up. Maybe it is possible to add more information in the booking process like uploading passport scan etc, maybe it is possible to have a separate line to pick up the keys. Waiting line less than 10 minutes.
8.8
Iain Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 18 April 2017
Allocated brand new vans. Good location and easy to drop off Queue for Avis desk was very long. Sat Nav stopped working and wasn't up to date with latest roads.
8.4
Anonymous Amsterdam Downtown 15 April 2017
The ease of being processed. If I had to have a negative it would be the wait to be served, BUT it was early morning when most people pick up their rental vehicles, so it's understandable. HOWEVER, it would be nice to be credited the extra hour to drop off that was lost waiting to pick up.
7.2
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 03 April 2017
Good car Waiting at the pick-up
8.2
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 16 January 2017
Good service They need to reduce thier prices
8.4
ian Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 17 September 2016
Sherry the manager (?) handing out water to queuing customers on very hot afternoon dispelled a lot of frustration at the time it took to sign up for car , he then met us over at pick up point and arranged an upgraded deal to apologise for the wait - we left relatively happy customers after a long wait Long slow queue to pick up the car, no car available after transferring to pick up point.
8.0
Gregory Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 14 September 2016
The people at the desk and in the garage were very helpful and friendly. I had reserved a Mercedes E-Class...because I drive one at home so I'm familiar with all the controls. I was given an Audi A6...which was very nice...but took some time to get used to. Also, the inside of the windshield wasn't as clean as I would hope. Driving at sunset over unfamiliar roads it made things difficult until I cleaned it.
9.0
Anonymous Amsterdam Downtown 16 August 2016
Car was very reasonably priced. Unlimited mileage essential for my summer vacation plans. I was given a different vehicle than the one I expected.
7.8
andrew Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 01 August 2016
Ease of everything. Asking for the car to be full and returned full, under half empty when i collected it so unless i mentioned it on return i would have got charged for refueling.
6.8
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 29 July 2016
The service is good and people were nice to customer long walk from reception to the car parking
8.2
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 27 July 2016
The staff member at the pick up location was very rude. The pick up location is all the way at the back of a big parking lot. The map they had given me was not that helpful. When I pointed it out and suggested a change that may have helped me. The girl, with her face turned away from me, said "it is very simple, you just had to follow the map!"
6.6
Ann Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 04 July 2016
Efficient and friendly service, once we reached the counter. Long wait. Prepaid fuel unclear (how much we paid). Tank not full on pick-up.
7.6
Jose Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 28 June 2016
All service was excellent Price can be cheap
8.8
Anonymous Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 17 June 2016
Speed and courtesy
9.2
Anonymous Amsterdam Downtown 02 May 2016
Efficiency and ease
9.0
SEYEDAMIN Amsterdam Downtown South - East 30 March 2016
I get a better car than what I booked. It was completely clean. Nice one Nothing
8.4
SEYEDAMIN Amsterdam Downtown South - East 23 March 2016
Perfect Car was too clean everything was perfect When I went to give back the car, there was nobody in the office. however, the person come in 3 minutes.
8.2
Anonymous Amsterdam Downtown 27 February 2016
I appreciated the helpfulness of the counter staff you can pay only by credit card and pincode, signature is not enough
6.6
Previous Next

Top companies in Amsterdam

Avis isn't in the top 5

1 Budget car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.5 Ratings: 3363
2 Europcar car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.225 Ratings: 3268
3 Sixt car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.2 Ratings: 2333
4 Alamo car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.2 Ratings: 921
5 Hertz car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.15 Ratings: 1844
See all companies in Amsterdam

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
By continuing, you accept that telecoms company Mitel will process your details.

Loading

Please wait

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.