Not used to thinking in ZAR?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in ZAR.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis car hire

Find great prices with Avis, see customer ratings - and book online, quickly and easily

Let’s find your ideal car

Rental location must be specified
Wed 19 Dec 2018
Choose Pick-up Date
Sat 22 Dec 2018
Choose Drop-off Date
Driver aged between 30 – 65?
Travelling for: Purpose of rental (optional)
Form submission
  • No credit card fees
  • No amendment fees
  • Lowest price guaranteed

Ratings:100,000+

7.84123

Why use Avis?

  • Dropping a car off with Avis is quick and easy
  • We work hard to find you the best prices - book with us and get the best price on a Avis rental, guaranteed.
  • Book Avis car hire through Rentalcars.com and you can amend your booking for free.

Reviews of Avis

Real customer reviews

Find out what other customers think - so you can decide if Avis is the right company for you.

Anonymous East London Downtown 08 December 2018
The experience Insurance is ridiculous
8.0
Anonymous Johannesburg Airport 12 October 2018
Car was very neat and clean Waiting period in the long queue 2 long when had to pick up the car and only 3 people helping at the counter for all the clients...
6.8
Anonymous Skukuza Airport 23 April 2018
Windscreen washer did nt work
7.8
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 18 April 2018
Car was very convenient for transporting a bicycle. Engine is high revving
8.4
Motheo Welkom Downtown 25 October 2017
Unexpected Fast Service.
8.6
Anonymous Paarl Downtown 27 September 2017
Have not seen the refund of the deposit amount yet
9.0
Nomawethu Cape Town Airport 19 September 2017
The assistance and advice at the counter with insurance to reduce the excess The shocks seemed to need replacement
7.6
Anonymous Izmir Airport 06 July 2017
Overall a very good experience. Nothing
8.6
Daniel Cape Town Airport 18 April 2017
Ease of pick up, drop off. Met with your rep at drop off, quick check, very efficient.
8.8
Kerry-Anne Pietermaritzburg Airport 07 April 2017
The staff were so friendly and helpful. I prefer to use Avis There was nothing I didn't like.
8.6
Leon George Airport 30 March 2017
The personel were excellent.
10.0
Tshegofatso Polokwane Airport 09 February 2017
First car allocated to me was dirty, the aircon button was not functioning,I went back inside to complain before I can even move the car outside the parking bay and they allocated me the other one which the seats and the floor was so dirty.
6.6
Anonymous Lanseria Airport 17 January 2017
The staff that assisted me when I collected the vehicle were very friendly and helpful I realized that I had left my CDs and CD case in the car. I contacted the Avis line and I was supposedly put through to the airport line but held on for over 15min without a response and then the line got cut off
8.4
Diane Pietermaritzburg Airport 04 January 2017
I loved the consultant Mark in Pietermaritzburg Airport personal attention to detail and ease of rental. Made it an absolute pleasure. nil
9.8
keikantemang Kimberley Airport 16 November 2016
Staff efficiency and friendly respectfulness. N/A
8.6
fatima Roodepoort Downtown 04 October 2016
Everything about the service at Roodepoort Avis and the car was very safe and comfortable Nothing
8.0
Lindiwe Polokwane Airport 28 July 2016
The staff was very helpful and they were knowledgeable about the whole process which made this process very fast and efficient. I had rented a BMW and was given and Audi A4 - was a bit disappointed as I wanted to "test drive" the BMW as I want to buy one.
7.4
RUSSELL Johannesburg Airport 20 February 2016
Friendly & efficent staff. Car in great condition. I'm a big guy, that's why I requested a Corolla. However, I was given a VW Polo which was a bit "tight" but as I only drove 140 kms, it was OK.
8.6
Donna Gerona Rail Station 20 September 2015
Staff (Alex) at Train Station office. Choice of cars Cost of fully comp. insurance - the high cost of this was not detailed beforehand and I would have budgeted for it. Location of car pick up point to station - it was hard to locate both when collecting car and when dropping off. Better signage would help.
8.2
Anonymous King William's Town Downtown 26 May 2015
The fact that rentalcars did not inform me of the fact that I would have to pay an extra R1,248 on top of the R5,000 security deposit.
7.4
Anonymous Durban Airport 27 April 2015
I was given a choice. My allocated car was an outomatic. I prefere a manual vehical and was given a choice. I opted for the manual as I am more used to manual cars. A big "Thank you to Avis".
8.8
Elita George Airport 13 April 2015
It was a lovely car and very fuel efficient. The brakes had a bit of a shudder going downhill.
9.0
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 09 April 2015
Everything was good so im pleased with my decision. None
8.0
Anonymous Cape Town Downtown 06 February 2015
The friendliness of the staff
8.6
Previous Next

Ratings for Avis

Ratings

  • Overall value for money of your vehicle hire

    7.1
  • Helpfulness of the counter staff

    7.8
  • Time it took to collect your vehicle

    7.8
  • Time it took to drop off your vehicle

    9.1
  • Cleanliness of the vehicle

    7.9
  • Overall condition of the vehicle

    7.8
  • Ease of locating the Avis rental desk or representative

    7.8

Popular Locations

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Did you know? You can change your booking online right now.

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
By continuing, you accept that telecoms company Mitel will process your details.

Loading

Please wait

One of our team will be with you soon.

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.

Sorry...

Unfortunately, something went wrong. While we look into it, please restart the chat so we can connect you to an agent.