Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis in South Africa

Find great prices with Avis in South Africa, see customer ratings - and book online, quickly and easily

Let’s find your ideal car

Rental location must be specified
Sun 22 Jul 2018
Choose Pick-up Date
Wed 25 Jul 2018
Choose Drop-off Date
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Travelling for: Purpose of rental (optional)
Form submission
  • No credit card fees
  • No amendment fees
  • 24/7 phone support

Ratings:5,000+

8.12895

Why use Avis?

  • Dropping a car off with Avis in South Africa is quick and easy
  • People are impressed by how clean the Avis cars are in South Africa
  • Avis in South Africa are renowned for keeping their cars in good condition

Ratings for Avis in South Africa

Ratings

  • Overall value for money of your vehicle hire

    7.4
  • Helpfulness of the counter staff

    8.1
  • Time it took to collect your vehicle

    7.9
  • Time it took to drop off your vehicle

    9.3
  • Cleanliness of the vehicle

    8.3
  • Overall condition of the vehicle

    8.2
  • Ease of locating the Avis rental desk or representative

    8.0

Popular Locations

Reviews of Avis in South Africa

Real customer reviews

Find out what other customers think - so you can decide if Avis is the right company for you.

Anonymous Johannesburg Airport 18 July 2018
Convenient car The left front and rear seats were stained/dirty and gave a bad impression. Seems a previous user spilled some stuff on the seats
8.8
Anonymous Johannesburg Airport 12 June 2018
It is hard to find the drop off.
9.0
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 11 June 2018
The whole experience was very pleasant. Nothing
9.4
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 31 May 2018
Great car with plenty of space and almost enough guts! Fairly economical. Giving it back!
9.0
Anonymous Cape Town Downtown 29 May 2018
Ease of location, can do attitude from staff, very comfortable office and reception. A great brand.
8.2
Anonymous Johannesburg Airport 29 May 2018
All staf very helpfull, car in good condition. Poor singns to drop off in airport.
7.4
Anonymous Johannesburg Airport 27 May 2018
Got an old very basic model VW. Not happy with that car and should not be in the same group as late model Hyundai i20.
7.6
Anonymous George Airport 22 May 2018
Excellent keep it up. None
9.0
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 17 May 2018
Windscreen on the inside was not clean
6.8
Anonymous Johannesburg Airport 14 May 2018
Car clean and no running problems
9.2
Michael Johannesburg Airport 12 May 2018
Quick service. Order confirmation was easily picked up. Car was available as per order.
9.6
Razak Pietermaritzburg Airport 09 May 2018
Excellent customer service.All my rentals are done with Avis.
7.8
GOOLAM Johannesburg Airport 08 May 2018
A vehicle similar to what I wanted was available that was in a very good condition. The long wait in a long que at the reception to collect the vehicle
7.6
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 08 May 2018
The van was very economical The van we ordered wasn't available due to a slow puncture. We were told a replacement was coming from off-site and would take some time. Much later, the staff admitted they had lied to cover the fact they couldn't find the keys! Really not good enough. Honesty is always the best policy!
6.6
Erwin Cape Town Airport 03 May 2018
Every thing was fine.I only drove 300km in that week.
8.2
Andre Cape Town Airport 02 May 2018
Got what I asked for. Should have shown me where the car’s emergency tools were, ie, jack, spanners to take off wheel etc. Didn’t happen.
8.0
Richard Johannesburg Airport 30 April 2018
No hassles at all. Great service
9.2
Frans Skukuza Airport 30 April 2018
No doubt, you deliver the best car rental service ever! And I have more than 20 years of business car rental history behind me!
9.4
Rowan Stellenbosch Downtown 27 April 2018
Friendly and helpful staff. Nice vehicle. Avis office way too far from Stellenbosch central. Difficult to find.
8.8
ROD Cape Town Airport 27 April 2018
the friendliness of staff and they were very informative none
8.6
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 25 April 2018
Car suitable for our needs. Same as our own car Nil
8.8
Anonymous Cape Town Downtown 24 April 2018
The car was in good condition The GPS was inefficient and its maps, routes, places of interests and destinations were not updated over the last six months such that the location of my hotel (Radisson Red opened in September 2018) and various routes were not to be found through the GPS.
6.0
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 23 April 2018
The vehicle was fairly new which was a great comfort as we were 2 women travelling far north. I wld have liked a print out of the screen i was shown at the counter which indicated the costing of mt upgrade
7.2
Marilyn Port Elizabeth Airport 20 April 2018
Staff incredibly helpful and friendly. Great proximity to airport arrivals in PE and departure in Cape Town. Upgrade hugely appreciated!! Nothing to dislike!
8.6
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 17 April 2018
Liked it so much I wanted to keep ! A light little car , easy to drive , hardly ever needed the petrol topping up. Just a minor thing. As I drove away from the airport I noticed a crack in the driver's wing mirror. This hadn't been noted in the rental agreement.
8.8
Stewart Cape Town Airport 17 April 2018
Ease of drop off Dirty car but no water in Cape Town so complaint withdrawn. Car return is a long way from departure area. Other wise all good, these are statements not complaints. Thank you Avis
7.4
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 15 April 2018
Price of gps. And not used... Did not work well.
6.0
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 11 April 2018
It is a brand new car and worked well
8.2
Jacqueline George Airport 10 April 2018
The use of the mobile GPS, it really helped us get around.
7.8
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 10 April 2018
Perfect car hire experience
9.0
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 09 April 2018
Everything went well
9.2
Qumail Cape Town Airport 09 April 2018
Good service with priority of customer time management
7.0
Anonymous George Airport 04 April 2018
Very helpful and friendly staff both at the desk and the car pickup. The car was exactly as ordered and was well suited to our requirements Nothing.
9.0
Alfonso Johannesburg Airport 04 April 2018
Quality of car Time to collect the car, over two hours waiting the queue!!!!!
7.4
Raj Durban Airport 04 April 2018
Very helpful n friendly Waiting
6.0
Timothy Plettenberg Bay Downtown 03 April 2018
All good except for when I got to the car it was sitting in the middle of a very muddy pool and I had no option but wade to it !
7.2
Donal Johannesburg Airport 29 March 2018
Straight forward, got what i paid for. Helpful staff. A little tricky to find the desk.
8.8
Emmet Port Elizabeth Airport 28 March 2018
We received the car on a half a tank of fuel due to the fuel gauge being broken. We returned the car half way through our rental period in a different Avis and staff were most helpful and changed our car for us
9.0
Mornay Lanseria Airport 26 March 2018
Friendly service.
8.4
Anonymous Johannesburg Airport 20 March 2018
Pick up could always be faster but drop off was very easy. Great new car, great service overall.
8.6
Anonymous Sandton - Gautrain 20 March 2018
They were very helpful when I picked the car, I am a foreigner and the guy giving me the car took the time to help me program the GPS and gave advise. Nothing
9.0
Anonymous Lanseria Airport 20 March 2018
Clean good condition vehicle .
9.2
Mmakgotso Cape Town Airport 19 March 2018
the upgrade we got nothing
8.0
Anonymous Johannesburg Airport 18 March 2018
Helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. If it wasn't for the amazing helpfulness of the Members section, we would have queued for more than an hour to get our vehicle.
7.4
Graziella Cape Town - Milnerton 18 March 2018
Loved the car and the extremely friendly and helpful staff.
8.8
royston Cape Town Airport 14 March 2018
brand car first hire
8.2
Anonymous Durban Airport 14 March 2018
Brilliant car Nothing to dislike
9.2
Anonymous Cape Town Downtown 13 March 2018
Easy to find location Offices don't appear to be air conditioned- or it wasn't on! Close at 3:0pm Sat / Sunday
8.6
Shakes Cape Town Airport 13 March 2018
I liked the hot dog idea as well as the water bottles idea, very impressive and the staff is so wonderful I wish my car was very clean outside to see scratches but the service was great
8.4
Dhruvashree Cape Town Airport 13 March 2018
Amazing facilities. Great car. The management was really helpful. Thank you. Maybe not a fault of Avis but of the carmaker instead. When AC on the car was really dragging.
8.6
Previous Next

Top Companies in South Africa

Avis is in the top 5

1 Avis car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.12895 Ratings: 7648
2 Budget car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.10698 Ratings: 5575
3 Bidvest car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.05385 Ratings: 16148
4 Tempest car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.0 Ratings: 1122
5 Europcar car hire - Rentalcars.com 7.89091 Ratings: 5030
See all companies in South Africa

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
By continuing, you accept that telecoms company Mitel will process your details.

Loading

Please wait

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.