Skip navigation links
 English
  My Booking
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis in South Africa

Find great prices with Avis in South Africa, see customer ratings - and book online, quickly and easily

Let’s find your ideal car

Rental location must be specified
Pick-up Date:
Time:
Drop-off Date:
Time:
Driver aged between 30 – 65?
Driver has a valid driving licence issued by The People's Republic of China (Mainland)
Travelling for: Purpose of rental (optional)
Form submission
  • No credit card fees
  • No amendment fees
  • 24/7 phone support

Ratings:10,000+

8.5

Why use Avis?

  • Dropping a car off with Avis in South Africa is quick and easy
  • Our customers said Avis in South Africa is easy to find
  • People are impressed by how clean the Avis cars are in South Africa

Ratings for Avis in South Africa

Ratings

  • Overall value for money of your vehicle hire

    7.9
  • Helpfulness of the counter staff

    8.3
  • Time it took to collect your vehicle

    7.4
  • Time it took to drop off your vehicle

    9.3
  • Cleanliness of the vehicle

    8.7
  • Overall condition of the vehicle

    8.6
  • Ease of locating the Avis rental desk or representative

    9.0

Popular Locations

Reviews of Avis in South Africa

Real customer reviews

Find out what other customers think - so you can decide if Avis is the right company for you.

Anonymous Cape Town Airport 23 June 2020
Efficient good experience Excess on these car rentals are exorbitantly high.
9.4
Anonymous East London Airport 25 March 2020
Good service, upgrade and no time wasting
9.6
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 18 March 2020
The girl in reception was really helpful and friendly and s credit to your company Nothing really
8.0
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 12 March 2020
very good service. exact car we ordered and it was clean and almost new. no issues picking the car up. very quick and easy. would recommend. Bit of difficulty finding the area to park the car on return but otherwise no issues.
9.0
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 10 March 2020
My first car was a little under powered and the steering wheel was also not straight so after a day I went back the next day and I got another car. Staff were v helpful The initial car was under powered to go up Cape towns hills and the steering wheel I had to hold it slight to the left this felt odd
8.0
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 10 March 2020
Good little car. Good price.
8.8
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 08 March 2020
Swift service Car was older model than expected
7.0
Anonymous Durban Airport 07 March 2020
Everything Nothing
9.0
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 06 March 2020
Typical AVIS. Friendly & efficient Outside of car was very dirty on collection. Had to go to Car Wash, next day.
7.6
Anonymous Cape Town Downtown 04 March 2020
We would have upgraded had we know the condition of some of the roads.
8.0
Anonymous Johannesburg Airport 03 March 2020
Car ran very well The wind shield wipers kept making a noise but worked well despite
8.2
Anonymous Rosebank Downtown 02 March 2020
Even though it wasn't the car I booked, it was a very nice car and just what we required
8.0
Anonymous Johannesburg Airport 01 March 2020
New car and very clean. Perfect conditions.
8.0
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 01 March 2020
To busy when picking up over hour wait
8.4
Anonymous Durban Airport 27 February 2020
Superb car, id buy one myself if I didn’t already own a Subaru Nothing
9.2
Anonymous Pretoria - Hatfield 25 February 2020
Everything Nothing
9.6
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 24 February 2020
The service was quick and counter staff very helpful
8.2
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 19 February 2020
The Avis service on arrival at Capetown was fantastic and very professional. The return was equally good
9.0
Anonymous Johannesburg Airport 19 February 2020
it is car we wanted and our expectations were fullfiled. Reasonable car for family or two families no children. Enough space in the boot and the cabin.
8.4
Anonymous Johannesburg Airport 16 February 2020
Radio with most SA channels No
7.6
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 11 February 2020
Efficient Service None
7.8
Anonymous Johannesburg Airport 05 February 2020
Version I got seemed to lack some matters I would have expected ie USB charging point
8.4
Anonymous Cape Town - Wynberg 03 February 2020
Would have preferred the exact car I selected
9.0
Anonymous Port Elizabeth Airport 28 January 2020
Promptness of staff. Did not get a Polo.
8.0
Anonymous Hermanus Downtown 27 January 2020
car was very economical
9.2
Anonymous Port Elizabeth Downtown - Greenacres 26 January 2020
Ease of the pick up and drop off. Cleanliness and condition of car. Car was underpowered.
9.0
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 26 January 2020
Everything from start to finish was professional, courteous and very friendly. Will use again. Nothing
9.4
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 25 January 2020
Really nice little car,easy to drive and park,suited our purpose perfectly
9.0
Anonymous Cape Town Downtown 22 January 2020
No fuss easy transaction The car was very poor specification. Old fashioned Toyota. Would get a better car next time
8.8
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 21 January 2020
SatNav software hadn’t been updated
9.0
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 21 January 2020
I was given an option of 3 cars to select from.
9.4
Anonymous Cape Town Downtown 19 January 2020
Staff helpfulness & speed of me entering the door & getting in the car to start my journey. These thing are essential as I don'y like delays at the airport when I've been sitting in a plane for hours on end nothing
9.2
Anonymous George Airport 15 January 2020
Everything we required Boot a bit small for two suitcases but not your fault.
9.2
Anonymous Durban Airport 15 January 2020
Everything went smoothly, car was great, staff friendly, good value for money compared to rental company prices. Long wait, after a long flight, at the Avis offices to get attended to.
9.0
Anonymous Johannesburg Airport 11 January 2020
Services and actually everything
8.6
Anonymous Port Elizabeth Airport 10 January 2020
No queues at pick-up. Quick service The car i booked wasn't available. Drop off in Downtown Cape Town was confusing
8.0
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 10 January 2020
Excellent service all round and no complaints at all. Nothing, all good from start to finish.
8.8
Anonymous Johannesburg Airport 10 January 2020
Professional and friendly staff Car was too small for all the luggage and also very poor performance
7.0
Anonymous Plettenberg Bay Downtown 09 January 2020
Ease of booking Did not get the VW Polo I would have preferred. Instead got a Ford Figo with indicator and windsreen washer controls on the opposite side
7.4
Anonymous George Airport 08 January 2020
Fantastic service Liked everything
9.2
Anonymous Pretoria - Menlyn 07 January 2020
Staff very friendly and well presented. Vehicle was not ready at pick up time.
8.6
Anonymous Port Elizabeth Airport 07 January 2020
Very efficient
8.2
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 07 January 2020
The condition of the car was emmaculate and the staff who served me at pick up and drop off were both professional and attentive. N/a
8.6
Anonymous Cape Town Downtown 06 January 2020
Easy driving. Poor optiona in car. No USB. No remotecontrol lock.
8.6
Anonymous East London Airport 06 January 2020
I received the exact make and model I hired. The car was not properly cleaned upon collection.
7.6
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 06 January 2020
Nearly brand new car. Everything I needed. Nothing.
9.0
Anonymous Port Elizabeth Airport 06 January 2020
Thanks for great service
9.2
Anonymous Cape Town Downtown 05 January 2020
Fabulous service and really helpful colleagues
9.0
Anonymous Cape Town Airport 05 January 2020
Good service Wing mirror faulty
9.0
Anonymous Durban Airport 04 January 2020
The counter staff was so excellent and extremely friendly. She helped us out when we did not have our passports present. Because of her I would definitely recommend Avis to anyone. They only criticisem I would say was there was no survey done on the car when we collected it, so when the car was handed back they then had a look for any scratches. I was not happy with that situation.
7.8
Previous Next

Top Companies in South Africa

Avis is in the top 5

1 Avis car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.5 Ratings: 10,174
2 Bidvest car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.4 Ratings: 22,725
3 Tempest car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.4 Ratings: 2,444
4 Firefly car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.3 Ratings: 2,082
5 Hertz car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.2 Ratings: 14,041
See all companies in South Africa

Chat

What would you like to chat about?