Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis in Portugal

Find great prices with Avis in Portugal, see customer ratings - and book online, quickly and easily

Let’s find your ideal car

Rental location must be specified
Wed 25 Jul 2018
Choose Pick-up Date
Sat 28 Jul 2018
Choose Drop-off Date
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Travelling for: Purpose of rental (optional)
Form submission
  • No credit card fees
  • No amendment fees
  • 24/7 phone support

Ratings:5,000+

7.64

Why use Avis?

  • Dropping a car off with Avis in Portugal is quick and easy
  • We work hard to find you the best prices - book with us and get the best price on a Avis rental in Portugal, guaranteed.
  • Book Avis car hire in Portugal through Rentalcars.com and you can amend your booking for free.

Ratings for Avis in Portugal

Ratings

  • Overall value for money of your vehicle hire

    6.7
  • Helpfulness of the counter staff

    7.7
  • Time it took to collect your vehicle

    7.1
  • Time it took to drop off your vehicle

    9.0
  • Cleanliness of the vehicle

    7.9
  • Overall condition of the vehicle

    7.8
  • Ease of locating the Avis rental desk or representative

    7.8

Popular Locations

Reviews of Avis in Portugal

Real customer reviews

Find out what other customers think - so you can decide if Avis is the right company for you.

Anonymous Porto Airport 10 July 2018
Help full members of the staff N
8.6
Anonymous Faro Airport 26 June 2018
Relatively quick and efficient, staff very good The Car a Fiat Tipo was very poor. It is cheap, underpowered and the clutch and gear box a disaster. Avis should avoid using such poor cars. Aircon however worked very well.
7.0
Anonymous Faro Airport 20 June 2018
Staff were very helpful, perfect levels of English spoken and explained everything clearly.
8.2
Anonymous Lisbon Airport 23 May 2018
oil change was indicated and requested staff should check better
6.8
Anonymous Faro Airport 20 May 2018
No reversing sensors on the car.
9.2
Anonymous Faro Airport 29 April 2018
From start to finish everything went just fine, very helpful and friendly staff, I really rate this company, thank you for your fast and friendly service. Nothing
8.6
Tibor Lisbon Downtown 25 April 2018
Staff was excellent; patient and careful in explaining rules
8.2
james Faro Airport 22 April 2018
Staff very professional, speak good English
9.2
Bob Lisbon Airport 16 April 2018
Good service and quick pick-up and drop off Scratches on car, always something to double check.
8.0
Anonymous Faro Airport 06 April 2018
Very efficient and excellent service. Nothing
8.8
Anonymous Funchal Airport 28 March 2018
Car had anumber of scratches/damage
8.2
Kamlesh Lisbon Airport 05 January 2018
The car received Back window wiper missing, no reversing camera. Car was much heavier then the one we rented in Zurich.
5.4
David Faro Airport 28 November 2017
Pick-up was simple, with data on a screen on customer side of desk. Everything explained clearly & quickly. No attempt to hard-sell extras. Car in good condition. Final bill as expected.
9.0
Anonymous Lisbon - Hotel Mundial 09 November 2017
Very helpful staff!
8.4
Anonymous Lisbon - Hotel Mundial 06 November 2017
Very nice car and helpful staff I preferred a standard but was given an automatic. But, it was a very good,clean car
8.8
Colin Funchal Airport 31 October 2017
Received a free upgrade to automatic car. Car had high mileage and a lot of small damage which took time to identify before leaving airport.
7.2
Anonymous Funchal Airport 31 October 2017
Nobody there at 8am to check the car of when handing it in. Had to post the keys. I went back later to confirm all was ok. I had been told that when I dropped it off there would be someone there.
7.0
Anonymous Faro Airport 28 October 2017
Avis are good to deal with in general Thought I had included extra driver in the rental cars booking but Avis said no that I had to pay it at the desk . This seems to have happened before . I think I am getting s good deal because quote includes extra driver But extra driver not actually included
7.0
Guntars Porto Airport 27 October 2017
Service Nothing to add
8.2
Anonymous Faro Airport 24 October 2017
All different collision wavers
7.8
Roger Faro Airport 24 October 2017
Liked the whole process. No problems. Nothing.
9.0
Anonymous Faro Airport 16 October 2017
I like service at the counter. Lady who serve us was amazing. I didn't like drop off car. At first one gentleman when we arrive to drop off car take our key and said thanks u can go. We have to ask another person to check our car.
6.8
Anonymous Faro Airport 16 October 2017
Additional fees added on top
6.4
Anonymous Porto Airport 15 October 2017
Friendly staff Opening and waiting time
6.8
Karen Porto Downtown 14 October 2017
The agent Legeia was the absolute kindest efficient helpful person I have ever encountered at a rental agency. She deserves extra special recognition Nothing
9.2
Helen Lisbon Airport 13 October 2017
I have rented with gold car and Guerliain and europe car. Avis is the oneI would use in future.Good service
8.6
Anonymous Faro Airport 13 October 2017
Location of the rental premises and helpful staff Nothing negative to comment on
8.0
Anthony Funchal Airport 10 October 2017
Terms & conditions were met Staff were reassuring car was clean The automatic Citroen Cactus was underpowered for driving on mountainous roads. The automatic gearbox was unpredictable and the car failed to respond sometimes in difficult situations. There were times in the mountains when we felt in danger.
8.0
Che Porto Downtown 09 October 2017
The car is quite new. The staffs are very helpful. The air conditioning of the my car sometimes work but sometime don't. A bit annoying when drive in such a hot weather.
7.4
Anonymous Lisbon - Marques Pombal 09 October 2017
Clean car, nice service people on desk Couldn't reach the office on phone in the working hours of the office.
7.0
Jeannette Porto Airport 08 October 2017
Process was rather quick Car had some damage that needed to be registered
8.4
Nichola Faro Airport 07 October 2017
Size and fuel economy was good, efficient pick up and drop off Pick up not very informative, hard to orientate myself around new vehicle in the dark. Switch car dash menus and sat Nav to English would have been very helpful. Booking last minute it was expensive, would only book again with more time if the car was cheaper.
5.6
Anonymous Estoril Downtown 04 October 2017
The navigation to the drop off location did not work It would be helpful if these were preprogrammed into the device It would be a great advertising tool
7.4
David Funchal Downtown - Lido 30 September 2017
Staff were so helpful Condition of the car could have been better, a lot of scratches.
7.6
Anonymous Faro Airport 29 September 2017
Being able to pick up and drop off the car at the airport Full to full fuel policy Additional charges at airport. We have to wait to access our invoice to see what we paid 27 euros for and we will have some toll charges later. I like to pay it all up front.
7.6
Anonymous Lisbon Airport 28 September 2017
Directions for finding return car hire cars is very poor especially when airport was busy.
5.6
Anonymous Faro Airport 24 September 2017
Hoped to rent a Peugeot, got a Renault.
8.2
PETER Porto Train Station 22 September 2017
Tha car was fine. Where to return the car wasn't obvious.
8.8
Anonymous Lisbon Airport 21 September 2017
Car was ready on time The car was parked so close to another one that existing damage could not be easily seen. I needed to go back to Avis to update the damage diagram. The car was not the one booked and was bigger than wanted for driving on narrow roads.
5.2
Anonymous Lisbon Airport 20 September 2017
Really easy and quick drop off
7.6
John Lisbon Downtown 18 September 2017
Friendly staff at Lisbon City (pick up), take a bow Daniela, and at return (Lisbon Airport). Excessive price differential for automatic car.
7.2
Anonymous Porto Airport 18 September 2017
Speedy pick up and drop off Car in very clean condition Location of pickup very close to airport No staff on pickup desk in airport had to get a minibus to pickup
8.4
andy Faro Airport 16 September 2017
No hard sell on insurance No queue Nothing
6.8
Anonymous Porto - Campanha 12 September 2017
The explanation of the e-toll was correct but it would be better to make this voucher obligatory and include it in the price. Now it was presented as an option, and we did not take it, and this caused quite some problems because it is almost impossible to leave or arrive Porto without crossing an e-toll portal.
8.4
efstathia Lisbon - Hotel Mundial 12 September 2017
all was fine
9.0
Gregory Funchal Downtown - Largo 10 September 2017
Avis was the cheapest player at the time of booking. Some agencies charged up to 46€ per day!!! Staff at the counter were very efficient an professional. The car was a bit worn out and the front wheels made noise on bumpy roads. The car we had was underpowered for a place la Madeira where there is no flat ground to be found anywhere. this is a minor annoyance though.
8.0
Anonymous Faro Airport 09 September 2017
Charming knowledgeable staff -
8.4
Anonymous Lisbon - Gare do Oriente 08 September 2017
I didn't realise I needed my passport to complete the paperwork. Also the pickup counter was very slow
7.8
Anonymous Faro Airport 04 September 2017
We couldn't find how to get the roof off. It would be nice if someone showed you round the car first.
8.0
Michael Lisbon - Gare do Oriente 03 September 2017
Staff was very nice
7.0
Previous Next

Top Companies in Portugal

Avis isn't in the top 5

1 ilha verde car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.07 Ratings: 4091
2 Madeira Rent car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.0 Ratings: 1772
3 Guerin car hire - Rentalcars.com 7.95484 Ratings: 26400
4 Budget car hire - Rentalcars.com 7.94615 Ratings: 9836
5 Enterprise car hire - Rentalcars.com 7.92222 Ratings: 490
See all companies in Portugal

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
By continuing, you accept that telecoms company Mitel will process your details.

Loading

Please wait

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.