Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis in New Zealand

Find great prices with Avis in New Zealand, see customer ratings - and book online, quickly and easily

Let’s find your ideal car

Rental location must be specified
Sun 19 Aug 2018
Choose Pick-up Date
Wed 22 Aug 2018
Choose Drop-off Date
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Travelling for: Purpose of rental (optional)
Form submission
  • No credit card fees
  • No amendment fees
  • 24/7 phone support

Ratings:250+

8.15

Why use Avis?

  • Dropping a car off with Avis in New Zealand is quick and easy
  • People are impressed by how clean the Avis cars are in New Zealand
  • Avis in New Zealand are renowned for keeping their cars in good condition

Ratings for Avis in New Zealand

Ratings

  • Overall value for money of your vehicle hire

    7.2
  • Helpfulness of the counter staff

    7.6
  • Time it took to collect your vehicle

    7.6
  • Time it took to drop off your vehicle

    9.7
  • Cleanliness of the vehicle

    8.6
  • Overall condition of the vehicle

    8.4
  • Ease of locating the Avis rental desk or representative

    8.3

Popular Locations

Reviews of Avis in New Zealand

Real customer reviews

Find out what other customers think - so you can decide if Avis is the right company for you.

Steven Auckland International Airport 14 April 2018
GPS unit was using old version software or needed update. Twice directed is towards a lake and once across a two lane express way. Out of date GPS unit.
7.4
Bruno Auckland International Airport 13 April 2018
AVIS staff was understanding and nice at desks of Auckland, Wellington, Picton, and Christchurch. 1/ there was no vacant places in the AVIS rental car parking of Wellington's ferry to drop off the car. 2/ it's a pity that it was not allowed to cross on the ferry with the same car
8.0
Paul Queenstown Downtown 27 March 2018
Good comfortable cars.Second one was an upgrade which was good for 4 adults. All good.
8.8
Anonymous Napier Airport 18 March 2018
Overall excellent service with great car
8.2
Brian Greymouth Train Station 16 March 2018
Delays at greymouth
8.6
Martin Auckland International Airport 27 February 2018
Nice car in good condition. A service warning light came on in Taupo and we went to the local Avis agent who was very helpful and reassuring. We changed the car in Napier. Everyone was really helpful. We handed the car back a couple of days early as we decided to stay in Auckland and returned the car to the city centre depot with no problem. The screen washer was empty. (Interestingly, we went on to South Africa and the Avis car we picked up in Port Elizabeth had an empty screen washer too.)
9.2
Nirmala Auckland International Airport 11 February 2018
Very efficient and great service. None
7.8
Anthony Greymouth Train Station 22 January 2018
The lady who handed over the car was extremley helful and friendly. She gave me some great tips about travel down the West Coast of NZ. Nothing.
8.8
Wayne Wellington Airport 17 January 2018
Fast service helpful staff. Clean car Happy
7.8
Anonymous Blenheim Airport 07 January 2018
Easy to pick up and drop off Had to return first car with faulty lock
7.2
Anonymous Auckland International Airport 05 January 2018
Good boot size. Nice to drive. No backing camera!!
7.6
BRIAN Tauranga Airport 03 January 2018
Ease of booking on line. Helpful and courteous Avis staff Price I felt was a bit high but realize that this happens at holiday time. Avis was the lowest quote we received which is to their favor.
8.6
Anonymous Greymouth Train Station 01 January 2018
It didn't have a CD player, we were not equipped with usb or whatever else
9.0
Leanne Christchurch Domestic Airport 29 December 2017
Great service on returning the vehicle and the car we ended up with was great No one at the counter when we got there. Was given a different car than originally booked and the central locking didn't work so the boot wouldn't open. Had to go back to service desk to get another car which ended up being the one I actually booked. It was a very time consuming process.
6.4
Rahul Greymouth Train Station 29 December 2017
Price a bit high
9.0
Ross Christchurch Airport 29 December 2017
Car suited our purpose. Took a while to locate my booking paperwork. Exterior of car was dirty.
6.2
Susanne Napier Airport 17 December 2017
Water saved in drought city by not washing outside of car. Counter staff were v nice.
8.4
John Auckland International Airport 13 December 2017
Everything was very easy and quick Windows on the inside were very dirty and covered in a film which made it hard to see in the sunset. I cleaned them myself.
7.6
David Auckland Downtown 11 December 2017
Great car in excellent condition. Drop point at Greymouth train station. Small cramped pick up centre in Auckland Downtown.
8.0
Anonymous Auckland International Airport 28 November 2017
the car was amazing nothing
9.4
Anonymous Kerikeri Airport 20 November 2017
The car was brand new and very nice to drive. Nil
9.4
Ian Auckland International Airport 07 November 2017
Condition of car and my booking was correct No map for getting around Auckland and to our accommodation. Avis staff could not help us get to where we wanted to go.
8.8
Anonymous Napier Airport 09 October 2017
availabity
7.6
Anonymous Timaru Airport 06 October 2017
All good No complaints
9.4
Mark Queenstown Airport 29 August 2017
Excellent easy and helpful staff. Good car with good extras including ski racks Nothing
8.6
Noelene Auckland International Airport 18 August 2017
the professional service I received upon returning the car to the return section from the gentleman. Totally friendly and no fuss check-in. Excellent thank you Nothing to report at all.
9.8
Anonymous Queenstown Airport 10 August 2017
very good alround
9.0
Clark Invercargill Airport 08 August 2017
Have always had a good car and good service with friendly staff.
8.2
Anonymous North Shore Downtown 29 April 2017
my upgrade was (luckily) to a manual car, which I prefer the on-line booking process that I used did not (as far as I could see) offer me the option of a manual transmission
8.6
Joye Wellington Airport 28 April 2017
Helpful staff and it was great that they were right in the terminal. My only complaint would be that I couldn't fit my suitcase (and it isn't large) in the boot of the Suzuki Swift. I rented a Toyota Yaris about a week later and the suitcase fitted easily in the boot so it wasn't visible when travelling around.
8.6
Pauline Palmerston North Airport 15 April 2017
Very clean vehicle
9.0
Anonymous Auckland International Airport 04 April 2017
the car was nice i booked months in advance and didnt get the car i asked for i got similar but was told they were all gone only to have one parked right beside the one they gave me. i still got a nice car but didnt sit right that i booked in advance and i couldnt get that car
7.8
Anne Wellington Downtown 29 March 2017
Poor signage and lane ditection at Auckland International Airport,went around 3 times to eventually we got into right lane to exit left. Still dont like the no debit visa card policy,but they took my NZ debit visa card, especially when I dont have a straight credit card.
7.8
Susan Auckland International Airport 19 February 2017
Good staff. Loved the car. GPS did not work. Avis replaced without question during the holiday but that did not work either. Why can't Avis leave the built in GPS systems in the purchased vehicles like in other countries. Did get a refund but would rather have had the GPS.
8.4
Garry Dunedin Airport 24 January 2017
Service There was nothing I didn't like
9.4
Anonymous Tauranga Airport 14 January 2017
Very satisfied nothing
8.8
Anonymous Christchurch Airport 10 January 2017
Expensive
9.0
Anonymous Palmerston North Airport 08 January 2017
Ease of completing transaction and very happy with car. Pushiness of staff regarding extra insurance and expense of extras such as maps. GPS etc.
8.0
Anonymous Auckland Airport 03 January 2017
Great vehicle and ease of locating and dropping off was great. Large que at counter to pick up, and was so slow with insufficient staff to cater.
7.0
Robert Napier Airport 29 December 2016
Very efficient staff, good car and desk in airport
9.0
Ian Invercargill Airport 27 December 2016
Thanks will book again next time i come to invercargill. All good
8.4
Anonymous Christchurch Airport 23 December 2016
Good service 1800 ltr motor
9.0
Anonymous Nelson Airport 06 December 2016
Ease of pick up
9.2
Anonymous East Tamaki 02 December 2016
The staff. They where very helpful and friendly.
8.2
Anonymous Auckland Airport 28 November 2016
Efficient service. Convenient desk and trouble-free pick-up. We have used Avis at Auckland before. We had to extend the hire for 3 more days which was no problem. Nothing
8.2
Anonymous Wellington Airport 14 November 2016
top service from the deck at wgtn airport. best service ever. the car was spotless and clean and lovely to drive.
9.8
John Christchurch Airport 01 November 2016
Ease and professionalism of the it all from booking in until checking out. Very efficient and a great car. Nothing
9.2
Anonymous North Shore Downtown 20 October 2016
Quick check out and in Carole had a bit of slop in the steering. Will select a higher sitting vehicle next time. (Like I was offered, but passed on
9.0
Anonymous Auckland Airport 20 September 2016
Car was very new with very little damage. It performed very well. Car was rated to carry four people and two suit cases. We found that we had trouble getting two suit cases into the boot space.
8.6
Peter Gisborne Airport 01 September 2016
Friendliness of staff All good
8.4
Previous Next

Top Companies in New Zealand

Avis is in the top 5

1 Thrifty car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.65556 Ratings: 10980
2 Ezi Car Rental car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.57143 Ratings: 8376
3 Budget car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.36429 Ratings: 714
4 Hertz car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.19167 Ratings: 723
5 Avis car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.15 Ratings: 486
See all companies in New Zealand

Chat

Leave message

What would you like to chat about?

Sorry, all our agents are busy right now. Please try again later or leave a message.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm

Please try again later or leave a message.

*Required
By continuing, you accept that telecoms company Mitel will process your details.

Loading

Please wait

Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?

Your chat transcript will be sent to the provided address

How would you rate the overall service our team member provided today?

Did our team manage to solve your problem?

We’re always keen to improve. Is there anything you think we could be doing better?

1000 characters remaining

We'll aim to email you back within 48 hours.

*Required
1000 characters remaining
There's been a problem sending your message.

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.

Thanks

We'll aim to email you back within 48 hours