Skip navigation links
 English
  My Booking
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis in New Zealand

Find great prices with Avis in New Zealand, see customer ratings - and book online, quickly and easily

Let’s find your ideal car

Rental location must be specified
Pick-up Date:
Time:
Drop-off Date:
Time:
Driver aged between 30 – 65?
Driver has a valid driving licence issued by The People's Republic of China (Mainland)
Travelling for: Purpose of rental (optional)
Form submission
  • No credit card fees
  • No amendment fees
  • 24/7 phone support

Ratings:500+

9.0

Why use Avis?

  • Dropping a car off with Avis in New Zealand is quick and easy
  • People are impressed by how clean the Avis cars are in New Zealand
  • Our customers said Avis in New Zealand is easy to find

Ratings for Avis in New Zealand

Ratings

  • Overall value for money of your vehicle hire

    8.2
  • Helpfulness of the counter staff

    9.0
  • Time it took to collect your vehicle

    8.3
  • Time it took to drop off your vehicle

    9.6
  • Cleanliness of the vehicle

    9.4
  • Overall condition of the vehicle

    9.2
  • Ease of locating the Avis rental desk or representative

    9.3

Popular Locations

Reviews of Avis in New Zealand

Real customer reviews

Find out what other customers think - so you can decide if Avis is the right company for you.

Anonymous Dunedin Airport 21 July 2020
Ease of hiring Frosty icy car at pickup
9.6
Anonymous Wellington Airport 20 July 2020
Ease of booking Late model so drivability was great Nothing except color choice
8.4
Anonymous Queenstown Airport 13 July 2020
Great Car
8.4
Anonymous Wellington Airport 17 March 2020
Car was in good condition. Lady at the counter was helpful. The counter was congested and we had to wait a while.
7.4
Anonymous Taupo Downtown 10 March 2020
Awesome service
10.0
Anonymous Picton Ferry Port 08 March 2020
Location by ferry terminal Queue of over an hour to collect the car.
7.2
Anonymous Nelson Airport 06 March 2020
Value for money and GPS. Nil
9.4
Anonymous Nelson Airport 03 March 2020
Very good and valuable car
9.4
Anonymous Wellington Downtown 03 March 2020
Very efficient service,very easy when we returned the car to Wellington airport,the young lady from Avis was very welcoming just as we arrived, couldn't fault them.
9.4
Anonymous Kerikeri Airport 02 March 2020
No issues at all Nothing
9.2
Anonymous Queenstown Airport 02 March 2020
Great booking through rental.com. Very helpful man who we spoke to to book the car. Fantastic friendly man who took the car back when we dropped it off in christchurch
8.8
Anonymous Auckland International Airport 28 February 2020
stuff helpfull and friendly Distance from counter to pick-up
7.2
Anonymous Auckland International Airport 24 February 2020
We appreciate that the car was exactly the model we booked. Few km, perfect. nothing wrong
8.8
Anonymous Dunedin Airport 17 February 2020
Great car and great service!
9.2
Anonymous Queenstown Airport 09 February 2020
Easy to pick up and drop-off. No shuttles! Nothing.
9.4
Anonymous Christchurch Airport 04 February 2020
Ease of pick up and delivery. Connection with ferry at Picton
9.4
Anonymous Hamilton Downtown 26 January 2020
I liked the vehicle very much. It did not have a usb port for charging.
8.2
Anonymous Christchurch Airport 25 January 2020
Customer service from the desk and guys in the yard who directed us from the Carpark. Cost, unexpected free fuel Nothing
9.0
Anonymous Whangarei Airport 21 January 2020
Value for money - great car for the family
9.2
Anonymous Whangarei Airport 20 January 2020
Very efficient pick up fastest one I've ever had. Car size perfect for 3 to 4 people and handled well for our friends visit and sightseeing. Sorry it came back dusty he lives on a gravel road but only 3km off tarseal.
9.4
Anonymous Nelson Airport 18 January 2020
Super friendly staff
8.8
Anonymous Hamilton Airport 17 January 2020
Easy to drive small car suitable for tge nsrrow roads. Nothing
8.6
Anonymous Queenstown Airport 15 January 2020
Avis staff are all nice and helpful. We contacted Avis directly for changing pickup location. Avis staff sort it out immediately without any issue. The staff at the pickup desk was also helpful and resolved problems efficiently.
9.0
Anonymous Queenstown Airport 14 January 2020
Efficient petrol economy N/a
9.4
Anonymous Dunedin Airport 13 January 2020
Easily able to add additional driver at Avis office in a central Dunedin, staff very friendly and helpful.
9.2
Anonymous Queenstown Airport 11 January 2020
Very profeesional Staff!!! Everything was easy for me.
8.4
Anonymous Queenstown Airport 09 January 2020
Car was a Hybrid and the fuel consumption was excellent. The car was very comfortable and near new so very smooth ride.
9.0
Anonymous Whangarei Airport 07 January 2020
Extremely helpful and dedicated staff at Whangarei. Car tidy, near new.
8.0
Anonymous Auckland International Airport 06 January 2020
Everything was good none
9.2
Anonymous Auckland International Airport 04 January 2020
Staff were great no dramas Not enough boot space we could only fit 1 large suitcase in the boot
8.2
Anonymous Wellington Downtown 01 January 2020
Good clean car, value for money, relocation option Nothing
9.0
Anonymous Wellington Downtown 01 January 2020
Helpful and swift service
8.8
Anonymous Christchurch Airport 01 January 2020
Being allocated a Camry Hybrid was an unexpected bonus with fuel economy very good. Shortage of parking spots for returning Avis cars. Unattended office at Picton Ferry Terminal and lack of instructions for return including key drop.
8.8
Anonymous Dunedin Airport 01 January 2020
Features of the car... auto cruise etc Clear notification on ferry crossover
8.6
Anonymous Taupo Downtown 31 December 2019
Everything was as you would expect Didn’t like that no one was there when we took it back at 10am. Would like to have had a representative of the company to check it over before we left
8.6
Anonymous Christchurch Airport 25 December 2019
The only think we didnt like is when we book the car we though we can take the car from picton ferry to Wellington. We only realise when we pick our car at Christchurch the desk lady told us we cannot. Lucky the desk lady help us and sorted out the whole issue.
8.6
Anonymous Palmerston North Airport 22 December 2019
Very happy. No issue.
8.8
Anonymous Whangarei Airport 20 December 2019
I liked how easy it was to pick up and drop off
9.2
Anonymous Queenstown Airport 13 December 2019
Awesome customer service in Queenstown
9.0
Anonymous Dunedin Airport 09 December 2019
Upgrade When you arrive late, it’s hard to check things out. Eg: dents, damage to the car at night time.
7.6
Anonymous Auckland International Airport 09 December 2019
Waiting to see staffs
9.4
Anonymous Christchurch Airport 03 December 2019
Rental cars booking made it easy for me to search and book the car I want at a reasonable rate. The company chosen, AVIS was also easy to deal with. Friendly staff and good service. Car was washed and cleaned very well inside and outside. It's almost a new car and I'm very happy with this booking! Nothing to dislike.
8.2
Anonymous Wellington Airport 25 November 2019
This is why I use your service, bloody brilliant! No negatives only positives
10.0
Anonymous Queenstown Airport 25 November 2019
It was a perfect trip and Avis staff was quite friendly and helpful Nothing in particular
9.2
Anonymous Queenstown Airport 23 November 2019
Great car, good services, great price No bad experiences
9.6
Anonymous Tauranga Airport 22 November 2019
Same car as ordered Friendly staff
8.0
Anonymous Hamilton Airport 22 November 2019
Helpful staffs in explaining the car insurance Car in good condition with built in GPS which is very helpful when driving around the South Island of New Zealand None
9.2
Anonymous Queenstown Downtown 15 November 2019
Great service. Helpful friendly and courteous.
9.4
Anonymous Queenstown Airport 10 November 2019
Car is clean and working well. Return at Christchurch was seamless. RAV4 is a pleasant car packed with power when travelling on level ground. Thanks Brakes sounded abit during travel at slow speed.
8.2
Anonymous Queenstown Airport 06 November 2019
The car was cheap to rent and tidy as and was on excellent condition No complaints,
8.8
Previous Next

Top Companies in New Zealand

Avis is in the top 5

1 Ezi Car Rental car hire - Rentalcars.com 9.1 Ratings: 12,523
2 Thrifty car hire - Rentalcars.com 9.1 Ratings: 14,148
3 Budget car hire - Rentalcars.com 9.0 Ratings: 1,494
4 Avis car hire - Rentalcars.com 9.0 Ratings: 979
5 Hertz car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.8 Ratings: 1,752
See all companies in New Zealand

Chat

What would you like to chat about?