Skip navigation links
 English
  My Booking
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis in Iceland

Find great prices with Avis in Iceland, see customer ratings - and book online, quickly and easily

Let’s find your ideal car

Rental location must be specified
Pick-up Date:
Time:
Drop-off Date:
Time:
Driver aged between 30 – 65?
Driver has a valid driving licence issued by The People's Republic of China (Mainland)
Travelling for: Purpose of rental (optional)
Form submission
  • No credit card fees
  • No amendment fees
  • 24/7 phone support

Ratings:500+

7.8

Why use Avis?

  • Dropping a car off with Avis in Iceland is quick and easy
  • People are impressed by how clean the Avis cars are in Iceland
  • Our customers said Avis in Iceland is easy to find

Ratings for Avis in Iceland

Ratings

  • Overall value for money of your vehicle hire

    7.1
  • Helpfulness of the counter staff

    7.5
  • Time it took to collect your vehicle

    7.0
  • Time it took to drop off your vehicle

    8.9
  • Cleanliness of the vehicle

    8.6
  • Overall condition of the vehicle

    7.7
  • Ease of locating the Avis rental desk or representative

    8.3

Popular Locations

Reviews of Avis in Iceland

Real customer reviews

Find out what other customers think - so you can decide if Avis is the right company for you.

Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 12 December 2019
I had problems with a parking fee and I got help from the counter staff. I didn‘t know I had spikes on the car and I thought, something‘s broken
8.8
Anonymous Reykjavik Downtown 11 November 2019
Great service! Nothing!
9.4
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 10 November 2019
Great service hassle free Nothing
7.8
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 04 November 2019
Friendly knowledgeable staff, all paperwork ready & waiting. Vehicle in good clean condition. Nothing !!
9.0
Anonymous Reykjavik Downtown 03 November 2019
Lovely car, handled well and very good price
8.6
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 01 October 2019
helpful staff
8.2
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 24 August 2019
The unlimited miles deal, and that I could return it with a tank that wasn't full. The long pickup time, but I can understand it though.
8.2
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 24 August 2019
Didn’t get the exact model
6.2
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 08 August 2019
The car rental return is not close to the airport departure.
7.6
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 18 April 2019
Getting the car that was ordered Avis wanted me to sign for acceptance of the condition of the vehicle before I had seen it.
8.4
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 01 February 2019
Snow tires and air-con were satisfying. The counter staff gave us the car without spotting a few scratches which have not been stated in the car report. I had to send an email to inform small scratches. The car was full of snow. It was difficult to spot the previous damages. The car was covered with the 15-20 cm snow. They didn't clean the car before. It was hard for us to find the car.
6.6
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 22 January 2019
Overall good service.
7.0
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 22 January 2019
Digital signature, no queues No cons
7.2
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 04 January 2019
Staff at pick-up was too persistent that we should buy extra insurance. Car hat minor technical issues that should have been noticed by mechanical staff before rental.
7.0
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 15 October 2018
Friendly and helpful staff Wiper blades should be replaced
9.4
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 01 October 2018
Nice clean car, easy to drive. Shuttle back to Terminal could use some organization of que for waiting car renters.
8.0
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 12 September 2018
Excellent service and quick availability of a car. Staff were overburdened at the main desk, but handled things with skill and diplomacy.
9.2
Anonymous Egilsstadir Airport 19 August 2018
Ease of picking up and dropping off. Good staff The condition of the vehicle. Quite a few dints and scratches.
7.8
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 30 July 2018
The possibility to leave the car and drop the keys when returning the car The price was high
7.8
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 28 June 2018
Automatic gear, was ok for two. On paper was no damage marked, however I discovered 5 scratches on it.
6.2
Anonymous Reykjavik Downtown 27 May 2018
Well equiped new car. Cleanliness of the car could be improved.
7.4
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 29 April 2018
I would strongly recommmend avis for your rental company while in iceland.
9.2
MOHD Keflavik International Airport 24 April 2018
Very Nice and Satisfied
9.0
Geoffrey Egilsstadir Airport 05 April 2018
Car handled like a dream in adverse conditions. Was pleased to get it and with the ease it took from start to finish to complete administration. No complaints.
8.6
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 19 March 2018
Excellent
8.2
Anonymous Reykjavik Downtown 15 February 2018
Great service Nothing
8.8
Dániel Reykjavik Downtown 26 January 2018
Excellent pick up from hotel, smooth and fast process. The free pickup solved the problem of distance from my hotel.
8.8
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 12 December 2017
Excellent car - pickup was very easy. Staff member rather over-sold the idea of dangers of Icelandic roads in order to pressure me into buying upgraded insurance, and only after signing let on that she'd not driven in Iceland. GPS in car had been disabled, although the tech was all there.
8.4
Grant Keflavik International Airport 07 October 2017
Overall a good experience hiring the car. Would have preferred car booked.
8.2
Anonymous Reykjavik Downtown 24 September 2017
The returning at saturday night was a bit poorly advised. Other than that, no complaints. Thank you Avis!
7.2
Anonymous Reykjavik Domestic Airport 26 August 2017
The car was very easy to drive, light and responsive. It spends very little gas per mile and is overall very comfortable. The seats are situated low on the floor. Also there is not much room for luggage, which was fine for a couple, but not for people with big luggage.
7.4
Peter Reykjavik Downtown 24 July 2017
Pick up was good...Avis rep picked us up from hotel. When telling us Full to Full was requirement, we were not told that payment by CC in Iceland for petrol was by pin number if you use a credit card....this resulted in us not being able to refill the tank as the petrol station we were recommended didnt have staff and in HK, we sign for CC usage. So we were charged for the petrol by Avis
6.8
Chi Keflavik International Airport 01 July 2017
Staff speaks very good English, speedy service, a bit long queue but could see staff worked hard and efficient to shorten the waiting time Recommended 'sand and ash insurance' cover by Avis staff, which I accepted on counter, but found out later that sand and ash impact is very unlikely in June, regret straight away
8.4
Anonymous Reykjavik Downtown 26 April 2017
The car. That it had only 800 kms. On it. The wait at pick-up That I was not offered snow tyres. I could've used them.
7.2
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 17 April 2017
It was a great car It has scratches and dents on it
8.0
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 26 March 2017
The staff is very friendly. Waiting time to get the car is too long. I have to wait for more than an hour to get the car. The rented GPS is not working.
6.4
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 20 March 2017
Free WiFi Computer problems at the pick up desk
9.4
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 27 February 2017
Desk associate at pick up was very helpful and brought the car around to the terminal for me Windshield wipers didn't work, was indicated on the sign-out sheet, was very hazardous in rainy weather conditions
7.8
Shane Keflavik International Airport 14 January 2017
Great car and service from Avis. Fuel discount card supplied. A little slow when picking up and returning car.
8.2
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 12 November 2016
Booked a manual got an automatic
6.2
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 30 October 2016
Very friendly rental staff on pick up. Good standard of vehicle and glad we chose a 4x4!! Having to hand the car back and fly back to the UK!!!
8.6
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 28 October 2016
Easy to book, helpful when changes needed I didn't get the car I wanted and I think it was less rough car than the one I booked
7.2
Anonymous Keflavik International Airport 12 October 2016
Friendly staff Only one member of staff at the collection desk, and he was under pressure. There was a long queue of not very happy customers. Tyre pressure warning light was on when we got the car, all the tyres at the wrong pressure. The morning after collecting the car, we noticed a cracked mirror, which was very annoying.
6.0
Anonymous Reykjavik Domestic Airport 30 April 2016
Easy to use, good value for money. Few bumps and scrapes on the car which we had to point out to them before leaving.
8.0
David Reykjavik Domestic Airport 13 April 2016
Disappointed spec - expected a vw polo The satnav didn't work - after an hr driving around Reyjavik trying to find our way to our destination we had no choice but to drive all the way back to the airport (45km each way) to swap for a working SN. This was hugely irritating as it ate into our holiday time and wasted petrol. The staff were v helpful and did apologise.
6.4
David Keflavik International Airport 19 August 2015
Hassle free drop off Sales nature of pickup Car had flooded foot wells upon pickup
6.4
Anonymous Reykjavik Downtown 18 August 2015
Nice staff. Marek very helpful. nothing
8.8
Anonymous Reykjavik Domestic Airport 03 August 2015
Easy booking facilities. Good pick up and deliver service As by google maps two Avis centres were situated at the airport, I went to the wrong side of the airfield first.
7.6
Anonymous Reykjavik Domestic Airport 26 July 2015
Really good service and help, as we had a problem with the car.
7.0
Anonymous Reykjavik Domestic Airport 24 July 2015
Friendly pick up and drop off staff Iceland is just an expensive place to hire a car.
8.4
Previous Next

Top Companies in Iceland

Avis isn't in the top 5

1 Thrifty car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.6 Ratings: 4,708
2 Dollar car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.5 Ratings: 859
3 Europcar car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.4 Ratings: 485
4 Alamo car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.4 Ratings: 1,055
5 Geysir car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.2 Ratings: 822
See all companies in Iceland

Chat

What would you like to chat about?