Skip navigation links
 English
  My Booking
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis in Costa Rica

Find great prices with Avis in Costa Rica, see customer ratings - and book online, quickly and easily

Let’s find your ideal car

Rental location must be specified
Pick-up Date:
Time:
Drop-off Date:
Time:
Driver aged between 30 – 65?
Driver has a valid driving licence issued by The People's Republic of China (Mainland)
Travelling for: Purpose of rental (optional)
Form submission
  • No credit card fees
  • No amendment fees
  • 24/7 phone support

Ratings:500+

7.9

Why use Avis?

  • Dropping a car off with Avis in Costa Rica is quick and easy
  • People are impressed by how clean the Avis cars are in Costa Rica
  • Avis in Costa Rica are renowned for keeping their cars in good condition

Ratings for Avis in Costa Rica

Ratings

  • Overall value for money of your vehicle hire

    6.9
  • Helpfulness of the counter staff

    7.9
  • Time it took to collect your vehicle

    6.8
  • Time it took to drop off your vehicle

    9.1
  • Cleanliness of the vehicle

    8.9
  • Overall condition of the vehicle

    8.4
  • Ease of locating the Avis rental desk or representative

    8.1

Popular Locations

Reviews of Avis in Costa Rica

Real customer reviews

Find out what other customers think - so you can decide if Avis is the right company for you.

Anonymous La Fortuna - Hotel Lavas Tacotal 26 January 2020
An extremely kind staff member
8.8
Anonymous San Jose Airport 06 January 2020
Car booked was not available upon arrival, had to wait more than one hour to get it.
5.8
Anonymous San Jose Airport 04 January 2020
The Avis staff was great and very helpful.
8.6
Anonymous San Jose Airport 04 January 2020
Amazing service from Avis. I was really worried about all the bad reviews on trip advisor but they were brilliant. Nothing. Everything was great.
9.0
Anonymous San Jose Airport 28 December 2019
Counter staff very nice Traffic and congestion between the location and the airport
8.0
Anonymous Liberia Airport 23 December 2019
Service was awesome on both sides. Best drop off i have ever had in this country. I was given an Audi Q3 instead of a Q5, didnt realize until later. Was pretty cramped for 4 of us and luggage.
8.0
Anonymous San Jose Airport 08 December 2019
The car was comfortable and sturdy.Felt very safe driving in. It was very comfortable. The GPS was a huge help. We have an infant with us and 6 adults everyone was comfortable. We loved everything.
8.6
Anonymous San Jose Airport 27 November 2019
The car was perfect for the rough terrain of the Costa Rican roads. Main roads were paved, but bumpy. Secondary roads were dirt and gravel with large potholes from the torrential rains.
9.2
Anonymous San Jose Airport 23 September 2019
Quality of the service, the employees where very kind and helpful
8.6
Anonymous San Jose Airport 01 September 2019
Friendly staff and possibility to drop off down town Pick up is inconveniently located...15 min from airport
7.6
Anonymous San Jose Airport 14 August 2019
Quick transfer from AirPort to rental office. Seamless handing over of the car. Cleanliness and overall condition of the car. Swift returning of the car and immediate transfer to the airport. Exemplary service. This is what renting a car should be Non applicable
9.2
Anonymous Jaco Downtown 10 August 2019
Ease of getting the car and returning it, friendly staff, brand new car so no issues there, reserving via Booking.com had advantages we hadn't expected. N/A
9.8
Anonymous San Jose Airport 02 June 2019
Fast & professional service.
8.6
Anonymous San Jose Airport 25 March 2019
Everything fast and smooth Nothing
9.0
Anonymous Liberia Airport 16 January 2019
very close to airport. very helpful & friendly staff.
9.4
Anonymous San Jose Airport 03 January 2019
Excelente services
8.0
Anonymous San Jose Airport 12 December 2018
The whole experience was excellent! A great car that served me well both in town, as well as traveling highways & rural roads! No rear view camera
9.2
Anonymous San Jose Downtown 22 July 2018
Excellent service at the pick up point San José downtown. The drop off point at San José Airport was a bit tricky to find.
8.4
Anonymous San Jose Airport 31 March 2018
They did not show me completely the car, lights, spare tire, documents of the car
7.6
Anonymous San Jose Airport 10 January 2018
Everything was very good from the product to the service, staff was good, would probably use their services again Not a very big issue, but it would be nice if it were actually at the airport, it is obvious that space there is a premium and I’m not altogether sure any company is actually on the airport premises, like I said not that big an issue. If I had to pick one thing I didn’t like that would be it
7.2
Julie Liberia Airport 18 April 2017
Convenient and close to airport. Airport shuttle service. Vehicle was dependable and comfortable. Staff was professional. Car wasn't clean inside or outside.
8.4
Anonymous San Jose Airport 10 May 2016
All the add-on charges
8.0
Anonymous Liberia Airport 31 March 2016
Only thing that keeps us from giving straight 5 rating is the expense of the insurance Very nice courteous staff--we really appreciate that. They are great. Thanks.
8.8
Anonymous San Jose Downtown 28 January 2016
Everything was great.
7.2
Anonymous Liberia Airport 12 January 2016
Great service and staff at Avis Brand new car in great condition Quite expensive insurance cover
8.4
Anonymous Liberia Airport 10 January 2016
convenient to the airport it takes to long to do all the paper work picking up the car and returning the car...
7.6
Anonymous San Jose Airport 02 August 2015
The service, que had a trouble with our first car and they changed it immediately.
8.6
Anonymous San Jose Airport 28 March 2015
Car was very new, worked well. Signs to return car were limited. Tried to sell, upgrade, GPS, gas fill up, CDW etc. Staff seemed a little less cheery when I said no to all of them
8.4
Anonymous Liberia Airport 09 March 2014
The car itself was perfect I wonder why they always come up with last minutes proposals for additional insurance issues and of course in a country like Costa Rica you can hardely take a risk. I thought that everything was already included in my initial contract and was very surprised to pay almost +25% for unknown additional risks.
8.0
Anonymous Liberia Airport 01 March 2014
Took quite a while to organise the initial rental considering all had supposedly been pre-paid
6.7
Anonymous Liberia Airport 27 January 2014
the staff at the Liberia airport were awesome. Gina was so helpful when we rented the car and Christopher was great when we returned the car. wonderful staff
8.0
Previous Next

Top Companies in Costa Rica

Avis isn't in the top 5

1 Alamo car hire - Rentalcars.com 9.0 Ratings: 1,173
2 Sixt car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.6 Ratings: 286
3 Budget car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.3 Ratings: 923
4 Dollar car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.2 Ratings: 1,097
5 Payless car hire - Rentalcars.com 8.2 Ratings: 699
See all companies in Costa Rica

Chat

What would you like to chat about?