Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis logo - rentalcars.com

Avis Reviews Cape Town

Read 50 customer reviews on Avis in Cape Town and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

May 13, 2017
Easy to pick up and drop off
They didn't do a check round on the car and now the charge me for others people's damage
6.6
MatthewMay 9, 2017
I was not advised that there would be an extra "one way" fee for the Sat Nav.
7.2
bhavesMay 8, 2017
excellent service the car was ready for collection staff very helpful recommend to my friends and will use Avis again
giving the car back just wanted to keep driving forever haha
9.4
StephenMay 7, 2017
Drop off was really slick..
Pick up cueing in very hot weather , and just wanting to start our holiday on time ..
7.2
FungaiMay 7, 2017
I had forgotten my drivers license and the Avis staff was very helpful in letting me use my international driving license for the rental. The rental process was quick and efficient.
None.
7.8
May 6, 2017
fast and professional service; easy pick-up and return
would upgrade to more modern car next time; the corolla is very basic without cruise control etc. But it comes with a large trunk and is good enough for a few days
7.8
April 25, 2017
The luggage compartment is small .
7.6
April 22, 2017
Car was a little smaller than we thought
7.8
BrianApril 12, 2017
I really likely the chap that served me when I picked-up the car, and I was extremely pleased with car provided as my upgrade
It took a long time to for the taxi to arrive after drop-off to take me home
8.4
ravinderApril 10, 2017
excellent services, courteous staff
nothing to memtion
9.0
CHERIFFApril 10, 2017
friendly staff and competance
long quese
7.4
DerekApril 6, 2017
Ease of pick up and of dropping off
Disputing what marks were on the car before pick up and drop off
8.0
April 4, 2017
1) The check-in procedure takes far too long! Why don't you ask all that information at on-line ordering time? 2) Our car appeared not to be on the Avis parking lot, so we had to get another one, with a repeat of the labourious paper work
7.8
April 3, 2017
Speedy assistance.
When is raining you cannot sport scratches.
9.6
Jean-PierreMarch 31, 2017
I changed from Hyundai H1 to Toyota Fortuner for better legspace.
The 2 extra seats have a tendency to rattle in the rear. Locked with suitcases.
8.2
March 26, 2017
Smooth process once wait to be seen was over
Car somewhat poorer spec than comparable European model.
7.4
donalMarch 24, 2017
booked toyota corolla got hyundai accent
7.6
DesmondMarch 22, 2017
The return was very efficient
The car was not totally clean when I picked it up
7.8
March 20, 2017
A nice car to drive.
The GPS was faulty. The lady looking at my reservation was not very helpful.
6.2
March 17, 2017
Fast, polite and efficient service
9.0
March 11, 2017
Vehicle was a Polo with 400 km on the clock. Aircon didn't work and it was a very hot day and still wearing my Winter clothes from UK. Took the car into an Avis Cape Town depot and was changed. Staff couln't get the aircon to work either. How on earth does this sort of thing happen?
9.4
March 7, 2017
Service that was expected
having to compare this very good service with the very poor service experienced at O R Tambo Airport
9.0
March 7, 2017
long walk with luggage to all rental sites
same for returning
6.8
IanMarch 6, 2017
It worked so well having booked and prepaid with rentalcars.com. Given better service by Avis because of rentalcars.
I have nothing to complain about.
8.8
March 6, 2017
Car was as ordered and clean when it eventually arrived - still wet from the cleaning process but that's not a problem
We specifically ordered an SUV to handle African dirt roads and eventually we got what we ordered but when our time came to go to the desk - having waited in a queue for 45 mins - the car wasn't initially available. To be fair we were offered a good upgrade to a 5 series BMW however this was not suitable for the journey we wanted to take.
7.8
February 28, 2017
Very efficient service
Nothing
7.6
February 26, 2017
The ease of booking online, having the booking confirmation available offline on the Rentalcars.com app.
8.8
February 25, 2017
Everything was good
Nothing
9.4
February 23, 2017
Brand new car in same group, pick up time reasonable although Avis desk is quite a hike with suitcases. Avis didn`t seem aware that I had booked full protection through Rental Cars so we had the same queries to go through.
I wasn`t aware that the full protection cover was actually provided by Rental Cars and not the car provider. This should be highlighted more to save embarrassment at the pick up desk.
7.4
IlanFebruary 22, 2017
Fast child seats assembly by the AVIS staff
The huge queue outside the AVIS counter, well over 45 minutes
7.2
RichardFebruary 22, 2017
Up grade of course en general good service.
Only thing: no water in the sprayer of the windshield.
8.8
February 12, 2017
Functional little car that is great on fuel consumption.
Car struggled a bit up hill.
8.6
February 10, 2017
They found a very small scratch on the rear bumper that I knew nothing about and are likely to charge me for repairs
9.2
DanaFebruary 10, 2017
When I arrived on Sunday the service was slow and took almost an hour to gret my car. Nobody was avaialable to take me to the car and check for damage. There was a scratch which I then photographed. On returned they argued the scratch and luckily I had the photograph
8.0
BelindaFebruary 6, 2017
We arrived in Cape Town on 31st December which was a very busy day - the staff tried very hard to process our booking but there were huge queues - perhaps more staff could be rostered on such a busy day. Otherwise everything was great.
8.2
February 4, 2017
Car we requested was not a polo we got a fiesta.
6.0
February 2, 2017
Everything worked
Too long waiting line at checkin. Had expected a VW Polo, got a Hyundai i10. I felt that car had lower value, but the agent insisted it was same class.
6.2
LAURENCEJanuary 27, 2017
Comfort and ease of drive.
It took some getting used to the Indicators being on the other side to my own personal car. And then afterwards I had to train myself to drive my own car again.
8.8
JohnJanuary 27, 2017
The car was small (OK for a few people) with space for only one suitcase in the boot. Because it was light, it was very susceptible to strong Cape winds
9.2
KeithJanuary 23, 2017
Even though it was busy, we were made aware that it was busy and that made the waiting time not so bad. The customer services consultant was friendly and helpful, the fact that the car I booked was sold out I was made to fill at easy as they could offer me an upgrade. I would say Avis at Cape Town International is the best.
Nothing
9.0
AbigailJanuary 21, 2017
I am very happy with the service. Friendly, efficient, fast and helpful. Great.I would definetly recommend Avis Cape Town car rental anytime. Abigail
9.4
TimoJanuary 15, 2017
Price and car
We have to wait almoust 1,5h to get the car and that sucks :-(
7.4
January 12, 2017
Good service nice little car
Nothing
7.6
January 8, 2017
Recibí un auto mejor al que alquile
Esperamos 1:30hs para retirar el auto, éramos muchos clientes en la cola y solo atendían 2-3 empleados. Llegue muy tarde al hotel.
6.4
ChristopherJanuary 8, 2017
I did not get the car i booked. also i had to change my dates of hire and was charged a great deal even though it was still for the same number of days
7.6
AaronJanuary 6, 2017
A very nice car, neat and in a perfect condition. The staff at Preferred desk treated me like a King, let them keep it up.
Nothing negative. Only thing we didnt like was that our booking duration was too short, we wish we enjoyed using the car abit longer.
9.4
January 4, 2017
Professionalism and hospitality displayed by the person who gave me the car.
the person who helped me when dropping the car seem not to be aware of the procedures on reported defects on the car
9.0
BarryJanuary 3, 2017
The service and car.
8.4
December 29, 2016
Online booking
The waiting in line when Vehicle was collected. Only AVIS seems to have waiting in line problem...
7.0
AlbertDecember 25, 2016
Trust.
Non.
9.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Avis Rating
Cape Town
Excellent
8.33333 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings