Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Alamo logo - rentalcars.com

Alamo Reviews Edinburgh

Read 50 customer reviews on Alamo in Edinburgh and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

FredSeptember 3, 2017
Even though I had documentation that was unconventional, the manager of the Edinburgh branch was extremely helpful and made the booking easy.
7.2
August 31, 2017
Counter staff very helpful
8.0
TheanPengAugust 31, 2017
Easy of pick up and dropoff
7.6
SarahAugust 27, 2017
How helpful the staff was and how quickly we got the car
We had booked a manual car but when we got the car it wasnt a manual it was an automatic and I had never driven one before
8.6
August 22, 2017
Our car had GPS!
Nothing
7.8
MichaelAugust 21, 2017
Fast courteous and friendly service. Correct size of vehicle for four with baggage and golf clubs!!
Car had a few problems. Lights not functioning correctly and loose broken plastic undercarriage. High excess quoted.
7.4
ValliAugust 20, 2017
When I collected the car from Edinburgh Waverley on 9 August 2017, the attended posted out to me that the vehicle was damaged with scratch marks and dents on the front of the car. He indicated that he has noted this down as pre-existing and that I should not be concerned. He did not have another car to give me.
7.8
August 16, 2017
Car choice was perfect for purpose Good car performance all round Quick and competent collection and return process Fuel Economy
9.4
JoeAugust 15, 2017
The car was in perfect condition when we picked it up.
Our flight was already delayed causing us to pick up the car late and then we had an extra hour and 15 minute wait for the car to be ready for us. After travelling, this is an inconvenience.
7.0
davidAugust 15, 2017
Friendly helpful staff
A bit expensive
7.4
DerekAugust 14, 2017
Easy at the desk.no need to fill in lots of paperwork. Paid deposit then straight out to the car were the kids were so helpful and friendly. Brilliant. Best experience ever at hiring a car.will absolutely use your company again. The way it should be.treated like a customershould be.keep it up.the other companies could learn a lot!!! Brill go alimo
7.4
mary-janeAugust 14, 2017
lovely staff
nothing
7.8
August 10, 2017
Upgrade was nice- staff v friendly.
Queue at the airport was almost out of the building- not enough staff on duty.
6.6
August 3, 2017
The efficiency of the counter staff can be a bit higher.
6.2
August 1, 2017
Pleasant and polite staff.
Difficult to find a space to park when returning the car.
8.4
July 26, 2017
The staff were helpful and tried their best to make us happy.
We didn't get the car we expected.
4.2
SimoJuly 25, 2017
I rented a van with manual transmission and I got an automatic! Great, it is not easy to switch gear with left hand, so this was more comfortable.
8.4
VijayJuly 24, 2017
The service was prompt.
Too many charges were being explained for hiring the car which ought to be made known earlier or spelt out clearly in the terms and conditions before hiring the car.
8.2
DamienJuly 23, 2017
Great staff. Friendly and helpful. Think her name was Libby or Livvy
Nothing
6.6
EmilyJuly 20, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff who were very attentive. Nice customer service
9.0
SimiJuly 18, 2017
Excellent Service
Nothing really
8.4
LukeJuly 15, 2017
Very friendly staff
All good
7.6
ALFREDJuly 13, 2017
Staff very helpful and friendly.
Car while being relatively new was not what I had ordered. Also the car insurance aspect, because I had taken the car insurance through rentalcars, if I had been in an incident I would have had to pay the damages and claim back through rentalcars.
9.4
July 11, 2017
Alamo staff at the Waverly Station rental facility were wonderful. Really patient and helpful and efficient. We really appreciated that, especially after a long day of driving.
My only minor complaint is that the request for a carseat didn't go through from rentalcars.com to Alamo... but luckily Alamo had an extra one, so we were fine in the end.
7.4
StephenJuly 10, 2017
Great car
Pick up at Waverley long way from platform in dingy basement A bit depressing
6.2
williamJuly 9, 2017
Air conditioning didn't work which ironically is why I went for this model. Plus the temperature on our trip down south inside the vehicle was 29 degrees!!!
6.8
July 4, 2017
Very good service
None
7.6
LynnJune 29, 2017
We were held up in traffic returning to Edinburgh and were able to return the car 1 hour after the cut off after a quick all to the office.
Nothing
9.2
SundaresanJune 27, 2017
We could drop off the car late evening and leave the key in the drop box.
Need to wait and see!
8.8
HenryJune 21, 2017
I came early at around 7am and the lady who open the office ask me to come back at 8am since she saw that pick up time is at 8am. I have never experience that before. Not too good experience in customer service considering the client has travel a 10hr flt.
5.4
JohnJune 9, 2017
Everything
9.2
June 6, 2017
Car parking before drop off at counter , near attraction point.
Nothing
8.6
May 27, 2017
Great personal customer service. Made the whole rental experience very pleasant.
9.4
May 21, 2017
The whole operation was very quick and the staff helpful. The car was in great condition and was very pleasant to drive.
Location of the pick up and drop off in a dark underground car park. Difficult to see the condition of the car and ensure everything was removed from the car. Road works around the car park made it difficult to return the car.
9.2
May 18, 2017
The car condition is good
The waiting time is long I have to queue half hour to collect the car maybe it was Sunday. Waited another half an hour to return the car on, I have time so it OK but if I am rushing for time will be an issue, others return car is proirty
6.2
MichaelMay 16, 2017
Excellent service at pick up and drop off. Will use again in the future.
8.8
May 15, 2017
Good service
8.8
May 14, 2017
Make it easier to find
There was no info that Alamo really is Enterprise
7.6
May 8, 2017
helpfulness and speed of customer service; finding me a car with a manual hand brake
this particular hire car was a bit old and not very enjoyable to drive, but adequate for my purposes on this occasion
8.6
May 4, 2017
Being upgraded to a qasqai and the very helpful and pleasant staff.
The signage in Waverley station doesn't mention Alamo car hire so it took a bit a liking round till we discovered it's dealt with at the Emterprise desk.
7.4
May 2, 2017
Very Busy Office and not enough staff
8.2
MichelleApril 27, 2017
Great friendly service
Finding way back in after hire
7.8
April 23, 2017
The signposting for Alamo in the car park is very poor. There was no easy place to park the car.
7.0
TheeradechApril 17, 2017
Upgrading
Difficulties in finding counter (poor information/direction provided - in fact we can walk straight from Waverley train station to the counter without a need to go off station to Market Street)
5.8
April 11, 2017
Nice people and good car.
The time. I had to wait at pick up and drop off
7.6
JechuApril 10, 2017
Easygoing Clean Quick
8.4
lakhinderpalApril 10, 2017
Easy to do business with. The staff knew what they were doing and were very helpful.
For Petrol: It took us 10 minutes to find a local petrol station. We did want to fill up too far away but it is not easy to do this. You should charge for Petrol at the nearest pump price.
9.2
April 9, 2017
Excellent staff and service. Good car.
The initial upgrade car was not to my liking, but the stfaf soon replaced it with the one I had last time.
9.2
April 7, 2017
Location Service
Dark place to check the car!
8.4
DouglasApril 3, 2017
Great experience, easy to use and all the people I met were really customer focused. And I loved that they naturally interacted with my 2 sons (aged 7 & 9.) Bonus was getting to drive a Mazda 6 as it's a car I've always considered driving. Very enjoyable drive.
N/a
8.6
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Alamo Rating
Edinburgh
Excellent
8.1 / 10
500+ ratings

Ratings

Nearby Locations