Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

First Car Rental logo - rentalcars.com

First Car Rental Reviews Cape Town Airport

Read 50 customer reviews on First Car Rental at Cape Town Airport and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

CarmenFebruary 16, 2017
We didn't have to wait long to pick up the car we hired. The staff members were all friendly and willing to help. The drop off was easy to locate and the staff was professional. Our third vehicle replacement was an upgrade and a much safer drive.
We didn't get the car we wanted but were given a car in the same group. The first car had to be picked up due to a problem with the brakes. We took the replacement back as well as it too had a brake problem. The replacement for that was an upgrade.
7.0
February 15, 2017
Car was new so no damage, staff very helpful.
Auto gearbox was a bit primitive.
8.4
February 1, 2017
clean car they refueled the car up at no extra charge
long wait to collect the car. being charged for a full day when the car was returned 2 hours after the collection time.
6.8
AndrewJanuary 26, 2017
Clean relatively new car, helpfull staff.
Nothing
8.8
MeganJanuary 21, 2017
The fact that, though the car was within the grade, I was allowed to change to a different car, as did not like the car that had been initially allocated with no problems. The staff at First Car Rental were so obliging and helpful. Thank you.
The fact that though had just filled the car with fuel, was still charged a top-up for the distance from the fuel pump. Apart from that, the service was great.
8.4
DeanJanuary 20, 2017
Value for money of the vehicle
Took too long to pick-up vehicle. More staff should have been working - the que was standing out the door.
7.6
January 17, 2017
Left Passenger vehicle mechanism packed up on a new car
7.6
EamonJanuary 8, 2017
Excellent value, at the Christmas season.Ideal car with lots of luggage space
Nothing.
8.6
DianneJanuary 4, 2017
We had a great experience, car was slightly bigger than we had booked, all the changes I made to the booking (baby seat, extra day and change go drop off location were handled professionally and with excellent service.
Long wait at the airport, but this seemed to be caused by demanding and unreasonable customers rather than lack of staff.
8.4
VINCENTJanuary 3, 2017
HAS HANDED A BRAND NEW CAR - I LIKED THAT.
I SPEND 20 MINUTES LOOKING AN ATTENDENT TO COME LOCATE THE CAR. IT WASNT AT THE SPECIFIED PARKING BAY. I WAS ALSO A BIT WORRIED WHEN HANDING IN THE CAR BECAUSE THE GENTLEMEN RECIVING IT DID NOT HAVE ANY IDENTIFICATION.
7.4
December 23, 2016
Nice car, good value for money. Helpful guy at pick-up.
Long line to register for collection. First car offered had puncture.
7.2
HermanDecember 6, 2016
honest and clear reporting of condition of the car with all its small inperfections. helpful personnel.
signs on the airport where to drop off the car agian where not clearly visible. only after talking to an assistant i noticed the signs , and was instructed how to drive to this place.
7.8
December 1, 2016
The guy doing the drop off check was quick and charming.
Three counter staff were trying to resolve a problem at check in hence a long slow queue developed.
8.4
November 30, 2016
Throttle control very light, but otherwise car fine.
8.4
IanNovember 4, 2016
Friendliness & helpfulness of staff Decent spacious car at a competitive price
No issues of note
8.6
WillemOctober 13, 2016
Friendliness and the guy who explain all the problems on the car.
Nothing
8.6
PamelaOctober 12, 2016
New car. Ease of process throughout.
Additional cost for sat nav
8.8
October 12, 2016
Overall experience was good.
The car was a bit scratched. Hidden info when booking online, then when I got there I had to pay additional fees. I like a hatch back car, and received the oppossite.
8.2
October 4, 2016
Great service. Very nice, new, clean car.
9.0
September 10, 2016
Best rates & value for money
8.8
August 31, 2016
ONLY NEGATIVE ASPECT WAS THE EXTREMELY LONG TIME IT TOOK TO ENTER MY PERSONAL PARTICULARS. s CAR WAS EXACTLY WHAT I WANTED.
TOO LONG TO ENTER MY PERSONAL PARTICULARS.
7.4
ROBERTOAugust 29, 2016
Just everything smooth and easy
9.0
StephanusJuly 18, 2016
Everything was better than we think.
No
8.4
June 21, 2016
It was raining when we collected so we could not inspect car properly so on return they mentioned dents on the car that was not noticed on collection as the vehicle was wet.
8.8
June 5, 2016
The staff were quite helpful and professional!!
Nothing
9.0
stephenApril 27, 2016
The car tax had run out before I picked up the car and this was pointed out to me by the traffic police after they had checked all my documents . This was an inconvenience that should not of happened .
7.6
April 4, 2016
Was given a Toyota carolla
7.4
AdriaanApril 2, 2016
Ease of rental
Long queue when dropping car off. Maybe just a one off
9.4
GordonMarch 25, 2016
There where as good as the rest
There were no better than other car hire company
8.0
March 23, 2016
We came too early, that is why it took so long. We got upgraded, wow! Thank you!
7.8
WendyMarch 22, 2016
We waited for 30 mins before anyone acknowledged us and then waited another 10 mins to be served. only one person at the desk seving then another lady arrived. Only 3 people waiting to get there cars. No acknowledge that we had been standing there for ages or an apology. Just ignored us until they were ready to deal with us. Not good service!
6.8
JohnMarch 20, 2016
Good to get the exact car I asked for which was very low mileage and just right for this extended trip.Nice to have everything correct for a change.
The time it takes to collect the car although it was a lot better than last year.
9.0
ByronMarch 17, 2016
Helpful staff
Long wait due to customer backlog.
8.4
March 17, 2016
Excellent helpful staff. Got just what I asked for.
9.2
NatalieMarch 17, 2016
Speed, efficiency and pleasantness of service.
That for the 3rd year in a row, the porter who took us and our luggage to the hire car, told us that today was his daughter's birthday and he really wanted to buy her a present but couldn't afford to... Note:we arrived on a different date each year!!
9.0
March 15, 2016
nice new car
nothing
8.6
MichelleMarch 10, 2016
There was noting wrong with the service provided, however the car was of low quality.
The car felt very unsafe on the road - I'm not a 100% what it was, but we had to drive really slow and I felt very nervous going around corners and bends.
6.6
March 7, 2016
Helpful attitude of check in staff
Surly attitude of check out staff
6.8
TraceyMarch 6, 2016
It was a good car easy to manage
8.4
PeterMarch 1, 2016
The car was reliable & was working fine.
It was an older car and a different, older modell than we have expected. The tyres were already a bit "run down" (poor grip)
6.8
March 1, 2016
A good upgrade. comfortable car.
confusion as to what the car would ultimately cost. eg extra drivers, insurances and procedures in the event of an accident. after being told the car is in perfect condition, we pointed out at least 10 places of impacts, eg scratches etc
8.2
AnnaFebruary 29, 2016
Everything.
Nothing
9.2
robertFebruary 29, 2016
drop off was very quick and service excellent at Durban airport
had to wait a while before being served at cape town airport
7.8
February 28, 2016
Friendly and helpful staff
Too many papers to sign
8.6
DonaldFebruary 26, 2016
Excellent hire Price of car for duration we required with total insurance no excess included and quality of vehicle we received was adequate!
Nothing!
8.8
February 22, 2016
Fuel consumption of the rental was excellent
Baby seat was expensive and terrible quality. I got charged a full day extra because I returned the car late.
5.2
CherylFebruary 20, 2016
Clean & value for money & speed of drop off
Nothing
9.0
GeoffreyFebruary 18, 2016
Swift efficient service at both ends of our trip
Nothing
9.2
CliveFebruary 10, 2016
All Good.
There was noise in front ,which I mentioned to the person receiving the car.
9.4
February 10, 2016
Car condition was good
Once they didn't give us what was on the voucher so not happy it may your problem .! so will look around next time
5.2
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
First Car Rental Rating
Cape Town Airport
Very good
7.9 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings