Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews South Africa

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in South Africa and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

December 1, 2016
The car was clean, and ready, the staff were friendly and professional and very helpful.
No negative comments
9.6
November 18, 2016
Very friendly staff
The upgraded car Aircon was not working
7.6
November 16, 2016
Fast and well priced..
Car needs to be more clean and less damaged..
6.6
GaryNovember 8, 2016
Ease to find company
Took too long to get car after a long flight. Should be easier and maybe more done before collection ie at time of booking
7.0
BridgetNovember 6, 2016
Staff extremely friendly and helpful
Wasnt told I could pick the car up at the airport. Was given an address downtown. Also had to pay for extras that I nelieved were already paid for
7.2
October 16, 2016
Staff are do friendly. We have used them many times and are always happy
Nothing to note
8.4
October 13, 2016
Our flight was early so we had to wait for the car to be delivered which was why it took so long to be on the road. The staff were very helpful and answered all my questions about the whereabouts of the equipment such as jack & tools.
8.0
October 11, 2016
The car we had booked was not available so they upgraded us to a larger car.
We had a screw in the tire and the tire blew out the morning after we picked it up. The roadside assist numbers didnt work.
8.0
RobertOctober 2, 2016
Helpfulness in exchanging the vehicle supplied for one that was closer to our requirements.
Long walk to rentals
6.4
GarySeptember 20, 2016
Vehicle was just what I needed thank you.
Car was filthy inside, upholstery stank of stale smoke and animal. Cloth seating was badly stained and dirty. Aircon filters need replacing to remove the smell. Outside vehicle had lots of damage and scratches which should be repaired.
6.6
GavinAugust 30, 2016
No problems with the car. Easy to drive Large boot
Underpowered Quite an old car( a lot of miles on clock) Boot didn't shut properly Exterior was tinny
7.6
MarkAugust 29, 2016
Friendly service and efficient service.
9.4
August 28, 2016
they assisted me with a full of smile
non
8.6
YINGHAOAugust 25, 2016
the car was exactly the same as i book it.
the car's engine is too week. cannot cope with mountain road.
8.4
nolanAugust 1, 2016
great service
no comment
8.8
DerekJuly 29, 2016
It has all seemed OK. They said everything was fine when we handed the car back. We haven't had the final credit card statement yet so are hoping there's no surprise when we do?
8.0
July 24, 2016
Service was not bad.
It did not get the car I chose even though it was in the same group.
7.8
MokotediJuly 4, 2016
Car was not available by time of arrival. This means the fuel was not as full since the car had to be brought in from another branch. Car had park sensor problems
7.0
PatrickJune 28, 2016
Car was the fact one I requested
The car had a computer fault that I could not clear.
8.0
May 7, 2016
Excellent service.
Nothing yet.
8.8
April 25, 2016
Friendly and Helpful staff and quick service Staff could not do enough for us on pick up and returning Thanks
none
9.0
BrianApril 11, 2016
Thrifty were quick to help when problems happened
I ended up going through 4 cars
6.0
BarryApril 9, 2016
Everything worked well,no problems when we arrived a bit early
nothing
9.0
NosiphoApril 3, 2016
Because there was no one to receive the car so the drop off inspection was not done so I trust there won't be issues - I would have preferred inspection with thrifty representative.
8.0
March 31, 2016
Direction finder (GPS) not working.
7.4
March 29, 2016
I didn't like having to call an overseas office to change the insurance cover, and not being able to be assisted
7.8
March 26, 2016
Great service
9.2
March 22, 2016
Easy to drive and very comfortable. Spacious boot and good leg room!
8.2
StuartMarch 21, 2016
Excellent efficient service
Nothing
9.4
JaneMarch 17, 2016
Staff very helpful and efficient
Just a suggestion, but I feel that your sign 'Thrifty' should be more pronounced in colour and size when returning the car with all the other signs, we felt it wasn't clear enough.....
9.0
MichaelMarch 14, 2016
Friendly staff at Cape Town
We wanted a Chevvy and got a nasty little Datsun
6.8
March 11, 2016
The staff was very helpful and competent.
I had a problem with a tyre that gave problems. Thrifty explained that the cars and tyres get checked at the head office only. I think that should be done thouroughly before delivered to the airport in order to keep customers safety in recognition.
8.2
GregMarch 10, 2016
staff was VERY VERY VERY courteous and heplful
would not permit car to be picked up without credit cards... next day manager apologized and allowed the car .. but then none were available ... manager gave free upgrade - all was ok
9.2
JulieMarch 9, 2016
Car was easy to drive but very low
I preferred the Nissan Livina this time received Toyota Corolla Quest
7.4
March 8, 2016
It was a super car to druve and very economical
The computer was "down"when we picked up the car so as a result we spent far too much time collecting the car.
7.2
March 7, 2016
The delays. However this was due to an extraordinary number of people at the airport for Argus.
8.0
March 2, 2016
Renault Duster - very nice Like the GPS - helped a lot Bluetooth ..
Nothing
8.6
March 1, 2016
The fact that it was quick and was upgraded
no help with luggage at the car - should have someone escort to the car and ensure no damage and assist with luggage
7.2
March 1, 2016
Speed of service
the car was not working properly (gear would not engage properly) and we had to change the car halfway through the trip as it was getting worse.
7.2
JohnFebruary 28, 2016
Original car had broken rear view mirror, and a dead battery. It was efficiently replaced for another car.
8.2
February 24, 2016
After multiple requests at the other Thrifty pick-up/drop-off stations for GPS, which was absolutely essential for me in JO'burg, I finally got one!!! They also helped me set it up for the destination.
Again and as per my 10 day hire from Cape Town to Port Elisabeth, the car was old with 43,000 + KM on the clock
5.8
February 23, 2016
Very good experience. Would definitely use again and recommend to others.
9.6
February 23, 2016
We waited for over an hour in the queue to hire the car, and the lock mechanism did not work properly with the result that we could lock but not unlock the car. We asked to be contacted but no one bothered
6.4
WilhelminaFebruary 23, 2016
The Renault Sondero was very low on fuel
Not a nice car to drive as the petrol pedal was not smooth
7.4
February 22, 2016
Took around 90 minutes of waiting in a queue to collect car
7.8
February 22, 2016
Very long waiting time in Capetown. Renault in stead of ordered Polo.
7.0
February 20, 2016
The wait at the airport for card is long, very few people to assist
The wait at the airport for card is long, very few people to assist
7.0
MichaelFebruary 17, 2016
Overall a good experience and value for money?
Long time to pick up car.
8.4
February 8, 2016
The agent asked me if I had a reservation even after I gave him the booking print and number. Almost as if the booking did not pull through to their system. I think that is why they gave me a different car to what I wanted as the booked car was not available
7.6
JonathanFebruary 6, 2016
Helpful staff on a busy day, professional customer service.
8.8
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
South Africa
Very good
7.60909 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings