Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews South Africa

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in South Africa and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

AlexandreApril 10, 2017
Wipers was not functioning
8.8
April 2, 2017
Being able to collect the car downtown having arrived on a cruise ship and dropping off at the airport.
Nothing
8.4
March 31, 2017
Overall ease of the booking and hiring process.
8.8
OgheneruegbaMarch 26, 2017
Exact car provided. Easy pickup
Asking for my return ticket
8.6
March 19, 2017
We had trouble locating the car when leaving the counter.
9.0
ChristiaanMarch 14, 2017
when returning the car was really helpfull and dropped us off with all our luggage at the departure gate....
car was not that clean on collection and very badly scratched all over.... the border letter was not ready as requested before collection so took very Long and a lot of additional charges which was unexpected and make it much more expensive then the orginal qoute
5.8
RonaldMarch 13, 2017
The car went well and provided us with the best size option for the amount of luggage we had.
The upgrade for an additional day rent was quite expensive.
8.0
CliveMarch 9, 2017
Car was clean and reliable.
Service at pickup counter.
7.0
March 8, 2017
The model of the car was a few years old.
7.0
MichaelMarch 6, 2017
Quick efficient staff with big smiles to welcome us in hot weather after a 12 hour flight, really appreciated. We always use Thrifty for exactly that reason, not only in SA.
Nothing
8.4
PaulMarch 4, 2017
The Staff at Lanseria Thrifty are certainly very considerate and very helpful
8.0
March 1, 2017
Really good car and efficient counter and car park staff.
All good with this hire.
9.0
March 1, 2017
Easy to find the counter but it is a fair walk. Staff very good and very nice car.
Cape Town is a busy city and in some parts, with cars double parked, the roads are narrow!
8.8
February 27, 2017
The car was very comfortable and spacious for 4 passengers (Nissan X-Trail
Car was underpowered for 4 people plus luggage.
7.6
February 27, 2017
Nice vehicle with good luggage space, helpful counter staff.
All went well with this hire.
8.8
February 27, 2017
Compact airport and both counters and return areas easy to find.
Bit of a hassle over vouchers!
8.6
February 27, 2017
Nice car, airport is small and easy to find ones way around.
Vouchers were tricky to locate - make sure you print them ahead of time!
8.4
AdamFebruary 26, 2017
Smooth process.
After doing a once over when collecting the vehicle, several scratches had not been highlighted on the report I initially received.
7.8
ALANFebruary 26, 2017
Thanks again for your business and management
I'm happy
9.0
February 25, 2017
Hire car desk pretty convenient to luggage pick up and pretty efficient pick up.
They are pretty serious about having the car hire voucher in South Africa so make sure you have it!
9.2
February 25, 2017
Very nice car in good condition, car hire desk very close to terminal.
Quite a long walk back to the terminal, leave plenty of time!
9.2
February 25, 2017
Got a slightly bigger SUV than we were expecting which was much better fir luggage space.
Was quite a long winded pick up.
8.6
February 25, 2017
ease of drop off process
Counter was a bit slow at pick-up of car but in fairness it was a very busy day for them
7.4
February 22, 2017
Car was good value and everything was included in the price, no added extras when we arrived.
Long queue to pick up car
8.6
PhilipFebruary 21, 2017
No problems / ceremony
7.4
StefanFebruary 20, 2017
The space in the car was perfect for us.
The engine of the car was a little too weak for four adults with luggage.
7.8
FrederikFebruary 5, 2017
It was not easy to find the car once the keys where handed over and they did not explain I am not getting the same car as in the picture.
5.8
February 2, 2017
Booked a Qashqai but it would not start, after a short wait we were supplied a X trail.
8.0
January 31, 2017
Car was clean and ready.
Old model of the car was given. I had to put the child seat in myself with no help.
7.6
January 31, 2017
Ease of pick-up, friendly service, good condition of car.
9.4
January 26, 2017
Great service God Bless
10.2
January 18, 2017
The car was very comfortable, light to handle and drove like a dream.
8.2
January 11, 2017
The staff was helpful
Time it took to get the car
5.4
January 5, 2017
Everything was perfect, no problems
8.6
January 5, 2017
Staff Professional
8.0
quintinJanuary 4, 2017
had engine problems with first car but was exchanged and drop-off in a hour.
7.2
January 4, 2017
GOOD SERVICE
IT WAS VERY BUSY AND SLOW TO PICK UP.
8.2
remoJanuary 3, 2017
We reeally liked Cedric's help at collection.
6.6
January 3, 2017
The long que and the long process to get the car. In addition before driving the car had to be inspected by a Thrifty representative but there were only two on duty and a large number of cars to be checked.
6.6
AndreasJanuary 3, 2017
Economical and user friendly
Seat belts at back were not working
8.4
HarpalJanuary 1, 2017
The car was good. No complaints.
The experience was bad: Despite having my details the lady could not download my voucher. It took over an hour to get the car and as a result we were delayed. She also said that she would activate the Toll Tag. She did not and we got stuck at a toll. The Lady did not appear to be well trained Also,the wind screen viper fluid was not topped up.
7.0
December 29, 2016
Will use again thanks
9.2
GideonDecember 28, 2016
Car was a bit unstable reaching 120km. Information should be provided on the site. If we knew it we would have upgraded.
7.8
December 28, 2016
N/A
So far nothing.
8.4
December 27, 2016
Staff friendly and competent.
Long waiting time to get car
7.6
December 15, 2016
the car was okay
I would have expected the care more modern
6.4
December 11, 2016
Everything was great!
Just wish I knew that I could pay at the time of pick-up instead so far ahead when booking online.
8.6
MichaelDecember 8, 2016
The car was an old model, the interior was tired and the door seals were poor.
6.8
MargaretDecember 8, 2016
Supposed to get a VERY Polo got a Nissan instead . very uncomfortable car and it smelt like smoke
6.6
December 1, 2016
The car was clean, and ready, the staff were friendly and professional and very helpful.
No negative comments
9.6
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
South Africa
Very good
7.59167 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings