Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews South Africa

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in South Africa and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

MazwiJuly 13, 2017
Good customer service and good condition car
Nothing noted on this occasion
9.6
fransJuly 9, 2017
Good and friendly service.
None
7.0
fardeenJuly 8, 2017
Brilliant deal, with excellent value for money.... I will certainly use rentalcars again !
7.4
HilelJuly 8, 2017
Found office staff particularly friendly & very efficient. Regretfully I did not take the name of the official who helped me - I'm sure records will show - he deserves a commendation
the extremely high cost of insurance
7.6
EtienneJuly 8, 2017
Very easy process. Really convenient. Great car.
8.6
July 6, 2017
The service I received
The car had a lot of dents
8.2
July 4, 2017
Online booking system
I was told that I would be charged for the full day for returning the vehicle more than 30 minutes later than the return time
8.6
MerlynJuly 4, 2017
It was all good.
8.2
HaroonJuly 1, 2017
The car was not clean.
8.6
DanielJune 28, 2017
Fastest at the counter in a long time. Upgrade was nice bonus.
The cabin had definitely been smoked in by previous users.
7.8
OliverJune 27, 2017
Spacious and by and large met my requirements
the brakes were snatchy and I didn't like the hand brake. The big wing mirror made it hard to judge the position of the car when turning right. There were a lot of scratch marks and chips on what seemed a newish car. Perhaps a reality of driving in Cape Town
6.8
SalomonJune 26, 2017
Very impress with all
9.0
MichaelJune 25, 2017
The almera is underpowered
6.0
DonJune 22, 2017
Great rental company.
None
7.4
June 16, 2017
I dropped off the car at 5am and there wasn't anyone in the office. No one called me to confirm they received the car and all is in order.
7.4
June 7, 2017
Casual, relaxed, helpful representative at mthatha airport
Bit slow and laborious picking up he car and the car was underpowered.
8.2
May 22, 2017
The treatment i got was good since i had no Credit Card bit they helped me.
Nothing for now
8.4
May 6, 2017
Car was reliable
Car had very high fuel consumption Boot opened often unintendedly Car had no park sensors
7.4
May 5, 2017
Staff were friendly, car performed well and return was hassle free
Car was previously used by a smoker and stale smell was evident, model of car bonnet has design fault which means it moves when you drive and appears open.
6.8
ManishApril 27, 2017
It was very easy renting a car - as I did it for 1st time.
Yet to get their final bill (if they charge anything hidden) - so hard to say. Hoping for no-surprise.
7.4
MichaelApril 24, 2017
Good service at drop off.Able to return to a different destination
Problems with Garvin GPS- needed 3 attempts to get one that worked. Realised I had booked under powered car but could not easily upgrade having booked through an agency,Rentalcars
6.4
April 24, 2017
Speedy, easy and friendly service
Fuel tank was almost full. Member of staff claimed it was 3/4 but he'll do us a favour and will put 7/8...
9.2
April 20, 2017
Airconditioner did not work
7.4
AlexandreApril 10, 2017
Wipers was not functioning
8.8
April 2, 2017
Being able to collect the car downtown having arrived on a cruise ship and dropping off at the airport.
Nothing
8.4
March 31, 2017
Overall ease of the booking and hiring process.
8.8
OgheneruegbaMarch 26, 2017
Exact car provided. Easy pickup
Asking for my return ticket
8.6
March 19, 2017
We had trouble locating the car when leaving the counter.
9.0
ChristiaanMarch 14, 2017
when returning the car was really helpfull and dropped us off with all our luggage at the departure gate....
car was not that clean on collection and very badly scratched all over.... the border letter was not ready as requested before collection so took very Long and a lot of additional charges which was unexpected and make it much more expensive then the orginal qoute
5.8
RonaldMarch 13, 2017
The car went well and provided us with the best size option for the amount of luggage we had.
The upgrade for an additional day rent was quite expensive.
8.0
CliveMarch 9, 2017
Car was clean and reliable.
Service at pickup counter.
7.0
March 8, 2017
The model of the car was a few years old.
7.0
MichaelMarch 6, 2017
Quick efficient staff with big smiles to welcome us in hot weather after a 12 hour flight, really appreciated. We always use Thrifty for exactly that reason, not only in SA.
Nothing
8.4
PaulMarch 4, 2017
The Staff at Lanseria Thrifty are certainly very considerate and very helpful
8.0
March 1, 2017
Really good car and efficient counter and car park staff.
All good with this hire.
9.0
March 1, 2017
Easy to find the counter but it is a fair walk. Staff very good and very nice car.
Cape Town is a busy city and in some parts, with cars double parked, the roads are narrow!
8.8
February 27, 2017
The car was very comfortable and spacious for 4 passengers (Nissan X-Trail
Car was underpowered for 4 people plus luggage.
7.6
February 27, 2017
Nice vehicle with good luggage space, helpful counter staff.
All went well with this hire.
8.8
February 27, 2017
Compact airport and both counters and return areas easy to find.
Bit of a hassle over vouchers!
8.6
February 27, 2017
Nice car, airport is small and easy to find ones way around.
Vouchers were tricky to locate - make sure you print them ahead of time!
8.4
AdamFebruary 26, 2017
Smooth process.
After doing a once over when collecting the vehicle, several scratches had not been highlighted on the report I initially received.
7.8
ALANFebruary 26, 2017
Thanks again for your business and management
I'm happy
9.0
February 25, 2017
Hire car desk pretty convenient to luggage pick up and pretty efficient pick up.
They are pretty serious about having the car hire voucher in South Africa so make sure you have it!
9.2
February 25, 2017
Very nice car in good condition, car hire desk very close to terminal.
Quite a long walk back to the terminal, leave plenty of time!
9.2
February 25, 2017
Got a slightly bigger SUV than we were expecting which was much better fir luggage space.
Was quite a long winded pick up.
8.6
February 25, 2017
ease of drop off process
Counter was a bit slow at pick-up of car but in fairness it was a very busy day for them
7.4
February 22, 2017
Car was good value and everything was included in the price, no added extras when we arrived.
Long queue to pick up car
8.6
PhilipFebruary 21, 2017
No problems / ceremony
7.4
StefanFebruary 20, 2017
The space in the car was perfect for us.
The engine of the car was a little too weak for four adults with luggage.
7.8
FrederikFebruary 5, 2017
It was not easy to find the car once the keys where handed over and they did not explain I am not getting the same car as in the picture.
5.8
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
South Africa
Very good
7.73846 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings