Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews South Africa

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in South Africa and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

MonwabisiDecember 5, 2017
After I returned the vehicle my deposit money must be released
7.0
GrahamDecember 2, 2017
Good as expected
No problems
8.0
December 2, 2017
Staff at the airport was very helpful and kind.
We extended our agreement but procedure was very unreasonable. Additional rent for a day was equals to five day's rent we paid throuh agent on website. Another option was return the car to the nearest Thrifty then make new agreement on website even they gave us the exact same car.Most of countries, just a phone call make extention.
8.2
YolokaziDecember 2, 2017
Everything which I have already specified.
4.8
November 23, 2017
Very easy. Booked on my phone
.NA
7.8
servaasNovember 22, 2017
The car was clean and a joy to drive
9.4
JacquelineNovember 20, 2017
Great Value for money
USB port did not work - so couldn't charge my phone and needed it for GPS
9.8
November 20, 2017
Excellent service thanks!
No reason to.
8.0
November 20, 2017
Great service and convenience
Car was not cleaned for handover. It was however not dirty, just not cleaned.
9.2
ConorNovember 19, 2017
Nice car, exactly what we booked. Easy process start to finish
Large security deposit
7.8
November 18, 2017
Quick drop off
Nissan automatic gearbox Heavy fuel consumption Refusal to take cash at pick up Car not ready at pick up
7.6
November 16, 2017
Friendly staff, clean car, upgrade
Not much
8.6
CarmenNovember 15, 2017
the Hyundai Elantra I drove is one of the best car hire cars I have ever driven. Lets hope I can get the same car next time in SA. Thank You
The GPS nees updating. I couldnt always find the destination I was looking for.
9.0
November 14, 2017
Staff are super friendly, didn't have to wait to get my car.
8.4
November 13, 2017
The staff that was used to do the inspection of the car wit us was too much in a hurry we did not manage to ask all we needed to ask. I think they need to improve on that.
7.2
November 13, 2017
Quick and efficient
8.0
November 13, 2017
Petrol consumption was good
Will maybe look at a bigger car for long travels
8.8
November 11, 2017
Friendly people!
The trip meter wasn't on zero - couldn't see how much kilo's I was driving...
7.4
November 10, 2017
The steering wheel was at an angle when driving straight.
9.4
RizelleNovember 10, 2017
The service was good, friendly staff.
I struggled to find the office in the first place. The cars are parked very far, so the walk is far without knowing it. The car was not in the best condition and the radio was a very cheap radio which is very important to me as I need to travel using bluetooth all the time.
7.2
DannyNovember 10, 2017
The pick-up took just too long, Drop of was fine and I would have appreciated an indication of how much fuel was used. I was just told it would be taken off my deposit which would be paid back in 4x working days.
8.0
November 4, 2017
The babysit available was in a terrible condition and dirty. Totally unacceptable...
6.8
November 4, 2017
Overall the entire experience was very positive with no hitches at all.
Returns at the Airport was a bit confusing as signage to Returns not up to scratch. Witnessed many people asking for directions to the Returns section.
8.0
ValerieOctober 28, 2017
service was good but unfortunately the location was not good for a single lady
They at first did not want to hire the car out due to my age which was declared on the booking.
7.4
October 28, 2017
Welcome at the Desk
Only 1/4 of Petrol !!! Staff on the parking Bay
5.6
JuliOctober 28, 2017
The staff member who dealt with us was courteous, efficient and willing to please - really nice gentleman
There was nothing I did not like, but do find that the deposit is quite hefty
9.2
October 26, 2017
How quick and easy it was to get through the documentation
Very high insurance cost.
9.4
October 25, 2017
Helpful staff
7.2
October 25, 2017
I expected a vw Polo and specifically went with the thrifty deal because of the vw. I do not like Hyundai vehicles and I ended up with an I 10. I was very unhappy. The I 10 was okay just very unstable on the road.
8.0
JohanOctober 25, 2017
Fast effective service
Paying deposit.
8.8
LanceOctober 23, 2017
Nothing
Battery went flat in Hermanus. Had to wait for assistance from Cape Town to come and change battery
5.8
MichelleOctober 23, 2017
Computer system was slow to process booking and it took 10 minutes more than usual. Staff said it is a system problem on that day. She called another staff member to rerun system.
8.6
October 21, 2017
Good service, convenient procedures, the price is reasonable, it is recommended
6.4
October 21, 2017
The service on line and at the offices
The car
6.2
October 18, 2017
The vehicle was very economical on fuel.
smell of cigarettes in the car!
8.6
JudgeOctober 18, 2017
Helpful staff personnel
Nothing
8.8
October 17, 2017
Willingness to assist when facilitating hire.
The vehicle first provided was completely filled with fuel so had to wait while another was processed.
7.4
October 16, 2017
The car was not that pleasant to drive.
7.2
RayOctober 15, 2017
Efficiency and ease
9.4
ShaunOctober 13, 2017
Exact car ordered was available and its condition was perfect
9.0
October 11, 2017
The one way fee should be stipulated right up front and not when paying because it would seem like the car is cheap when it's actually not.
I'm not sure if that Kia Picanto is in the same class as the i10. That car was a drag. Nothing electronic: Windows/locking etc.
6.2
October 9, 2017
Was absolutely delighted with everything-courteous staff good car very happy with everything
Nothing
8.0
VuyoOctober 9, 2017
The car did serve the purpose in terms of space
The time taken to verify the token was not conducive
8.4
October 8, 2017
Excellent staff
I would have liked the car I had booked
7.4
October 8, 2017
Not remote central locking
7.0
ChristineOctober 8, 2017
Thrifty is my rental comp any of choice
9.4
October 4, 2017
Staff not very helpful initially when I wanted to check the marks and scratches on the car when picking car up.
7.8
LanceOctober 4, 2017
I had some flight challenges and had to rebook a flight to OR Tambo instead. Thanks to Abby she managed to give me a car at OR TAmbo instead. Thank Abby for wonderful service. You are an asset to your company.
9.4
October 3, 2017
ALL WAS FINE
8.4
EvahOctober 3, 2017
SERVICE AND VEHICLE ITSELF
NONE
8.4
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
South Africa
Very good
7.475 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings