Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Portugal

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Portugal and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

April 10, 2017
Convenience, friendly staff. Fuel efficient vehicle.
We were told our vehicle was a Class I vehicle (less toll) but it was actually a Class II vehicle.
7.8
michaelApril 2, 2017
profesional service
not enough signage to the thrifty counter
8.2
NunoMarch 26, 2017
Helpfulness of the counter staff.
9.0
RichardMarch 26, 2017
Quality of car - almost brand new. Excellent value for money.
It took too long in queue to pick up car - not enough Thrifty reps available.
8.4
March 25, 2017
The ease of booking.
The counter staff tried to make me have an upgrade and satnav. I was happy with my booking. However, on picking up the car, it was an upgrade and a satnav installed. Obviously, they were wanting me to pay extra even though it was the only car that they had available. Not very good business practise. The car was bigger.
7.0
LEONMarch 19, 2017
I had booked a car in December and had no problems. This time it was a lengthy wait over an hour. The agent both sides of me processes 2 to 3 people which made no sense. Have never had to wait for a car this long.Been coming here for 30 years and was disappointed with the service.
6.8
March 13, 2017
Having to return to Faro airport when the new car with 4 Km on it at pick up had a serious engine issue and went into limp home mode.
7.8
March 6, 2017
the ease of pick up
inside of the front window was still a bit greasy.
8.0
February 26, 2017
Price.
Navigator was missing (not included).
9.6
February 25, 2017
car
welcome
7.6
February 24, 2017
The condition of the car
Nothing
8.6
RicardoFebruary 23, 2017
new car
the cost per day of the insurance
8.8
February 20, 2017
The car was verry nice.
Time to pick up the car from airport.
8.0
February 20, 2017
Good car helpful staff
8.6
January 31, 2017
The thrifty rep, on picking up the vehicle was not as helpful as the rep I saw on departure and initially tried to charge for extras that was not required
7.8
PETERJanuary 16, 2017
Ease of picking up car from the Airport, with easy return to the pick up too. The cost was competitive and the car modern and in great condition.
Nothing.
9.0
LEONDecember 18, 2016
The person serving me was very professional in all aspects.
8.6
KEITHNovember 28, 2016
comfortable to enjoy algarve countryside
8.8
November 26, 2016
Car tyre pressures should have been checked before starting rental. They were not unsafe but one tyre was under inflated.
8.8
November 4, 2016
Very good
Not comments
9.0
JanNovember 2, 2016
price
9.0
October 24, 2016
Friendly & helpful counter staff.
8.0
October 3, 2016
Pleased with the whole process.
I was pleased with the service.
8.2
September 20, 2016
quick friendly service, good car
Nothing
8.2
September 10, 2016
Pretty quick service and good English language.
Lack of clarification re toll charges.
6.0
August 28, 2016
Wasn't shown how anything worked in the car. No joint inspection of any faults on pick up or inspection fault agreement on drop off. left personal sat nav holder on screen, will assume it won't be forwarded on ? .
5.6
IainAugust 28, 2016
The time it took to get my car was just too long, I just don't understand how it takes so much time to pick up a car when the work has already been done, plus too many customers and perhaps not enough staff checking the cars out
7.8
JacquelineAugust 24, 2016
ease of collection and drop off
1.would have liked to have known that the returned vehicle was definitely acceptable - nothing signed and concerned even though there is no damage and the car was fully fuelled. 2.distance of drop off to Airport Departures - long walk with luggage
8.6
July 25, 2016
All the excellent remarks I noted this trip with.
I had booked a Ford Focus and was proposed a Renault Clio 2. I travel with a lot of luggage and it seemed to me that the Renault was smaller for that purpose, and therefore accepted the proposed upgrade (albeit having to pay for it)
8.4
KEITHJuly 11, 2016
How easy it was to book online, counter staff very helpful and polite!
7.8
July 4, 2016
Easy drop off and friendly check in operative
Thought we had paid for excess damage waiver but lady at pick up said not. Also she was helping a trainee so process took longer than it should.
8.4
June 30, 2016
Everything excellent apart from comments aside.
Time to pick up too long even allowing for busy period with flights in at same time.
8.4
PhilipJune 24, 2016
Good service, quality car.
Drop off could be a huge problem when really busy.
7.4
June 20, 2016
Brand new car, economical on fuel and easy to drive. Big enough for 4 adults with luggage and 2 sets of golf clubs.
Nothing
9.0
June 16, 2016
The sat nav was faulty
6.8
June 6, 2016
super efficient staff
9.0
May 30, 2016
The car was excellent
The location at the airport nightmare
8.0
FrancisMay 27, 2016
Ease of collection process
8.2
May 23, 2016
Very welcoming and Super helpful person at the desk for pick-up despite the late time in the day (23.00+) Great service
insurance costs too expensive
8.4
pedroMay 10, 2016
Good efficient service
Nothing to comment
8.6
May 10, 2016
Excellent service from Hertz/Thrifty team. Although I had booked a clio, I was given an Audi A3. The car had less than 10k mileage and in pristine condition. would definitely use this company again in the future.
9.6
May 1, 2016
Service was good
Nothing
8.4
April 26, 2016
All went very well
We tried to reach the agency to informations that we will be late to return the car but nobody answered.
6.6
March 20, 2016
Car quality, and overall performance
build up of additional expenses and return fee to a location in the same country which was unusual before
7.2
March 16, 2016
I paid for an upgrade it was not offered foc.
I did not realise that Thrifty was anything to do with Hertz and it was only by chance that I asked in Hertz office if they knew where Thrifty was!
6.6
March 8, 2016
Car was good-found that the Thrifty car hire at Porto airport was done by Hertz- have never used Hertz before but the man at the counter was extremely helpful-i had omitted to bring paperwork.
noticed after dring about 10K that petrol gauge showed 3/4 full so I am pretty sure i did not get a full tank! Also had trouble finding Hertz when taking car back-a map would have helped as my satnav kept taking me to arrivals.Overall though I was fairly happy
7.8
MichalMarch 3, 2016
I got a quite modern car, it had e.g. parking camera, good speaker with bluetooth etc. The drop off process was very fast. I am used to rental staff going suspiciously around the car several times etc. Here the staff was done before I finished unpacking.
9.2
ToreMarch 2, 2016
Clean car. Friendly staff when returing the car.
Minor damage on car rims was not marked on chart for previous damages. Had to contact staff when picking up car.
7.8
March 1, 2016
When we discovered the cigarette lighter wasn't working so I couldn't power my SatNav, the assistant immediately offered me another car, which turned out to be a fantastic upgrade
Everything was perfect :-)
9.4
February 18, 2016
Exact car I booked Speedy service
9.4
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Portugal
Very good
7.81765 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings