Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo -

Thrifty Reviews Portugal

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Portugal and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by


CharlesMarch 10, 2018
Staff at Thrifty at Porto Airyare fantastic!
March 6, 2018
signage not very good when we came into the arrivals hall late at night. All the desks in the hall were closed and it wasn't very clear that we had to walk outside and under the road via an underpass
March 6, 2018
Nice car
None, there’s nothing i dont like Every there thing perfect
March 4, 2018
I am very satisfied
ThomasFebruary 27, 2018
The staff know me for a number of years now. Excellent service.
January 30, 2018
Ease of our rental
Waiting in lines
AntonioJanuary 19, 2018
Excellent service and nice upgrade....Thanks!
January 5, 2018
Friendly staff
I have nothing to complain about
JacquesJanuary 2, 2018
The car was in good conditions (clutch working perfectly) and clean. It was an economical car. Just as expected.
The pickup was a bit slow, the staff requesting to fill data that they were supposed to have received at the time of booking. They also could not tell us exactly where was the car precisely.
susanJanuary 2, 2018
we were told to drop the car off at the Hertz site on the approach to the airport, however it was shut, we then had to ring the number provided to get instructions which delayed our entrance to the airport, this was all very confusing
vincentDecember 31, 2017
No USB in the car
JoseDecember 29, 2017
The staff’s helpful and polite approach.
JamesDecember 28, 2017
Helpful staff at drop off. The overall online rental experience was good and the ability to compare cars.
The media bluetooth system in the Renault Megane didn't work. The extra insurance was more expensive than the car hire itself. The Megane had some wierd features, some guidance on that would have been nice. When renting the car online the extra insurance part was unclear. I nearly pulled out of using rental cars because the price looked too high.
HenriqueDecember 27, 2017
Very good service, faste pickup end drop off.
BenjaminDecember 23, 2017
Driving the car
Giving the car back
December 13, 2017
friendly service, free upgrade but not told of this until we collected the car
hard to find location for drop off after hire (poor airport signage), delay in pick up (other customers at fault here)
December 12, 2017
A booked Peugeot 308, which was not available has more room for luggage than an Golf, but was same compact class.
December 5, 2017
Staff is great
BrigitaNovember 28, 2017
Respect and focus on the client, politeness. Vehicles new, well treated It's not my first choice and definitely whenever required will be the next one
Nothing to complaint.
elaineNovember 22, 2017
November 21, 2017
The staff were friendly and we were lucky and got a free upgrade
BenNovember 14, 2017
Location at airport. Ease of getting in and out of the airport.
Time waiting at the counter. Way to long. Why can’t this be all done on line. I booked a car with thrifty but had to pick it up from hertz. This was not clearly signed. The speedometer didn’t work properly.
November 8, 2017
new airport layout and signage to car rental area is poor. Particularly didn't like being told I'd have to drop the car off site as Hertz are renovating rental area, which necessitated taking a shuttle bus to airport, and only being told after I'd signed all the contracts for the car
November 6, 2017
The upgrade!
November 1, 2017
Diesel torque good in mountanous area
The Mercedis A type is very low. For bumpy roads great care necessairy. Also not easy to get out for elderly people.
October 30, 2017
Full fuel return policy. Buying additional insurance from rentalcars so that you had no extras to pay at pick up. Directions to car pick up and drop off - made for a easy process.
Not getting the car I asked for. Having to agree all damamage to the existing car before driving away. Not all marks had been highlighted by Thrifty. Trying to sell toll costs way over the actual costs incurred.
October 25, 2017
Friendly helpful staff, ease of collection process
While I was happy to be given a smaller car, with a sunroof, the boot mechanism did not work. Also, the additional charges were not explained to me and it would have been good if someone had explained them.
SimonOctober 25, 2017
No queue at the Hertz desk. Hertz managed the drop off quickly once I got to the desk and confirmed 0 damage on the spot.
Nothing to do with Thrifty/Hertz but the Lisbon car park has very narrow roads, especially on curves which increases risk of damage when not used to your rental widths (so avoid wide cars). Furthermore, the drop off entrance should be better managed by all the operators - there is one entrance and the road was blocked by Non-Hertz cars.
October 22, 2017
Easy to find and excellent staff at counter
October 21, 2017
The location
The extra insurance
JORGEOctober 17, 2017
They lady at the counter Was very helpful
They internal rear view mirror in the Renault Clio, at some points blocks the visibility
ianOctober 9, 2017
easy uplift and drop off. Sensible upsell from diesel with sat nav from a small petrol without.
JohnOctober 4, 2017
all good
October 1, 2017
Waiting at pickup
October 1, 2017
fionaSeptember 29, 2017
Nice friendly helpful staff. nice clean vehicle
Nothing really very satisfied will use Thrifty again.
September 27, 2017
One way drop off cost.
AlanSeptember 26, 2017
Thrifty rep provided great advice on where to go and see. Car was okay and very fuel efficient
September 25, 2017
When I experienced some problems with the car a mechanic arrived within 2 hours. He also put the gps on voice.
Nobody at Faro was able to tell me how to put the gps on voice
alanSeptember 20, 2017
Condition of car. It was almost new.
IvanSeptember 18, 2017
There was a problem with the babyseat I have hired. Upon return I told the Hertz/Thrifty representative and he was very helpful. Without hesitation, he apologized, took off the babyseat charges, and processed my checkout quickly. Very professional response without any hassles.
September 17, 2017
we had good experience and were happy with the car supplied
September 16, 2017
Overall it was a very good experience ! Last year it was dreadful with another Company !!!! We were happy with car and customer service When we returned the car it was quick and the guy was very pleasant -helpful We will book again With regards
September 16, 2017
Everything except the long wait for pick up.
Extrem long wait to pick up.
September 14, 2017
Overall straight forward Reception was friendly and helpful
The car was not ready at the time when I was picking it up. When returning the car there only seemed to be one person in attendance and he was doing paperwork which kept us waiting.
September 14, 2017
Good car for the purpose, efficient drop off.
Problems with taking to Spain - no breakdown cover over the border - we would have to pay if we broke down - difficult getting info before we arrived. Not enough staff on duty for pick up - 3 people in queue and it took 45 minutes. No signs in the airport where car rental desks were.
September 13, 2017
nice upgrade
September 12, 2017
Advice given regarding diesel versus petrol
The price was quite high.
September 12, 2017
Excellent service both at pickup and drop off
September 12, 2017
The pick up was at hertz do I did not experienced thrifty service.
The ugrade to Audi A3 was expensive for fuel:it was a diesel car but was really bigger.
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Very good
7.54762 / 10
2000+ ratings



What would you like to chat about?


All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.


We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*


Please wait

Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*


We will use your feedback to improve our responses.