Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis logo - rentalcars.com

Avis Reviews Portugal

Read 50 customer reviews on Avis in Portugal and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

June 3, 2017
The car was brand new
Roadside assistance was added but refunded very quickly when I pointed it out
7.6
andrewMay 28, 2017
Despite bad press for the industry this was a painless and professional experience
8.8
MichaelMay 27, 2017
Very slick service. No extra charges apart from agreed toll road payments. Really pleased, so much so I've even given a review which I don't usually do
8.8
May 25, 2017
The same size and group Desk service for papers
Car with many risks and small dents
7.6
AHWMay 25, 2017
Verry happy whit the service, good job.
8.6
May 21, 2017
New car
Slow at pick up of car
7.4
DavidMay 21, 2017
I had mislaid my driving licence so my wife had to drive, the rep made the switchover very smoothly.
Long wait at counter, seemed to be 2 reps hovering at the 'speedy desk' with no one to serve, thought they could have helped reduce the queue.
8.2
May 20, 2017
The car was clean and the right size we wanted
Nothing everything worked fine
7.2
AngelinaMay 19, 2017
Great staff, and perfect car
9.2
May 19, 2017
How much it cost to put on an additional driver
9.0
GorazdMay 15, 2017
To have the road toll included
Having to pay extra for the road toll
9.2
May 14, 2017
Ease of pick up and drop off
Not the car I booked
6.0
May 12, 2017
All aspects. The only difficulty was finding the office but this was due to the major changes at Faro Airport.
Mothing
9.0
May 12, 2017
Great car and very helpful staff, however I believe should be more staff available when picking and dropping car. Thank you.
I liked everything in general, no complaints.
7.4
LeoApril 29, 2017
We got a brand new Renault Megane and really loved it. I will consider to buy one.
nothing
8.8
JohnApril 26, 2017
friendly staff
insurance cost for damage was high and not incentive to purchase
8.8
April 25, 2017
Helpfulness and friendliness of staff at desk when picking up car
8.2
SanjeevApril 20, 2017
The choice of Car.
The staff was not familiar with the GPS installed in the Audi A 6. Thus they could not explain the usage. We had to learn as we went along.
8.4
April 10, 2017
Unfortunately the rented car, a Kia Rio developed a wheel noise on day 4 of the rental. Although it may have been insignificant the reliance on brakes in Madeira and the fact that it was a hire car prompted me to call the Avis office who immediately sent out a mechanic to us with an almost new car as a replacement.
7.4
April 10, 2017
good quality car, friendly helpfull service at pick up
quite long waiting time at pick up. At car return drop off office closed, notice on office window to go to pick up office in airport building, but this was also closed. Poor marking of key drop box
7.0
April 8, 2017
Speedy resolution by providing a new car
Fault with tyres
6.4
LeonidApril 4, 2017
Nice car, nice service
The car was not clean, bottles and papers on a floor
7.2
April 4, 2017
Free upgrade and person attendant
Time to get the car.
9.0
April 4, 2017
Refer to above
Waiting line at car pick-up. Won't come again
8.0
DavidApril 3, 2017
Very helpful, courteous staff, with excellent English. Car was collected on airport with no fuss. Handback was easy and speedy. Have used Avis several times and always good value and service.
8.6
March 29, 2017
Problem free, fast rental process with no hidden cost traps (like fuel etc.)
Citroen C3 is really the worst car i've driven for years, but at least i know for the future :-)
8.0
March 28, 2017
Nice friendly staff
Still a bit slow when picking up the car, should have a couple of staff that just dealing with pre booked cars. People who haven't booked take ages to sort out
9.2
March 19, 2017
The car was new.
7.6
March 8, 2017
The staff was accommodating at both the pick up and drop off stations. We needed a larger vehicle and we were able to find one that met our needs (as we had a toddler with a car seat).
The line to pick up the car seemed to be a bit lengthy. The tires on the car were quite worn.
7.4
March 7, 2017
staff were helpful, but it turned out there was some confusion re the fuel option and condition of the car
confusion over the fuel option and condition of the car, however it was all sorted to my satisfication
8.0
DusanMarch 4, 2017
The man at the counter said I didn't need the Via verde machine to travel from Lisbon to Porto but we actually did. They they refuse to pay the bill and charge it on my credit card and now I have to settle everything with CTT who don't have an option of paying by credit card or through an account.
8.8
March 4, 2017
the car, the service
the price and the extra insur
8.2
MANUSFebruary 21, 2017
Both the service and the car were immaculate from Avis at Faro Airport. We upgraded to a far superior car for a very small price difference. Full to full fuel policy and unlimited mileage makes everything very simple.
Nothing.. The entire experience was outstanding & the price was extremely keen.
8.6
jacquelineFebruary 14, 2017
Car was exactly as asked for
Hard to get to the avis office probably because Faro airport is more like a building site at present
8.0
February 14, 2017
I was happy with everything nothing not to like
8.4
DavidFebruary 10, 2017
Good Service at reasonable cost
The daily cost of extra insurance was a expensive for the risk involved
8.8
January 31, 2017
Easy location, good car, not make/model that was ordered but OK. Staff very helpful, efficient return,
Pick up a bit slow - paperwork seems too complex and slow to produce which takes about 15 minutes per client - so short queue is half hour wait
8.0
January 30, 2017
Generally good service from counter staff.
Long walk from terminal. Only manual cars really (automatics v v expensive).
7.0
GoncaloJanuary 30, 2017
Spaciousness of car. Reliable, seamless hiring service.
7.8
StephenDecember 20, 2016
The car though small was nippy. It did exactly what we wanted.
nothing
8.8
December 14, 2016
EVERYTHING
9.0
November 28, 2016
Car rental easy to locate. Tour of car acceptable but representative did not appear to have complete knowledge of car.
Did not want an upgrade to a larger car than ordered. Would have expected to have been given at least some sort of local map. Not having a guide to car available in glove. Explanation of costs not clear.
6.8
StephenNovember 20, 2016
We found the staff very pleasant and helpful. The car was the size we needed for this trip.
Nothing
9.0
November 11, 2016
Car in very good condition
7.6
SenNovember 10, 2016
Their Counter is most close to airport, not long Queue in waiting.
They asked me to put more insurance. The car is manual instead of automatic. If I asked to change, it needs to repeat all contract procedure, feel to take time.
9.2
November 8, 2016
Asked for Mercedes. They only had a Fiat 9 seater. Not in great condition. Tyres bad, dirty.
6.2
November 2, 2016
Friendly and efficient staff, pristine car.
Nothing.
9.6
JoachimOctober 31, 2016
Good value for money! Ordered VW Golf, and received VW Golf break, very nice to store all our bags!
-No shuttle at airport to take us to Avis -after 20min had to call to get shuttle over -Europcar shuttle passed 2x during our wait
7.8
raimondsOctober 27, 2016
Great car,economical to use, clean.
Cost of child seat.
8.4
NicholasOctober 25, 2016
The rental car companybibhad was drive on holidays. The staff were excellent-Nuno on collection and Diane when I returned. No problems and thorough check out and in. Paperwork signed and holding deposit credited. All (previous) marks and scratches hadbeen recorded by Nuno and Diana confirmed innwtting on the return form there indeed was no damage.
Car was just cleaned and wet so it would have easier to check if it was dry but Nino was thorough, patient and polite.
7.6
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Avis Rating
Portugal
Very good
7.80833 / 10
5000+ ratings

Ratings