Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis logo -

Avis Reviews Portugal

Read 50 customer reviews on Avis in Portugal and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by


KamleshJanuary 5, 2018
The car received
Back window wiper missing, no reversing camera. Car was much heavier then the one we rented in Zurich.
DavidNovember 28, 2017
Pick-up was simple, with data on a screen on customer side of desk. Everything explained clearly & quickly. No attempt to hard-sell extras. Car in good condition. Final bill as expected.
November 9, 2017
Very helpful staff!
November 6, 2017
Very nice car and helpful staff
I preferred a standard but was given an automatic. But, it was a very good,clean car
ColinOctober 31, 2017
Received a free upgrade to automatic car.
Car had high mileage and a lot of small damage which took time to identify before leaving airport.
October 31, 2017
Nobody there at 8am to check the car of when handing it in. Had to post the keys. I went back later to confirm all was ok. I had been told that when I dropped it off there would be someone there.
October 28, 2017
Avis are good to deal with in general
Thought I had included extra driver in the rental cars booking but Avis said no that I had to pay it at the desk . This seems to have happened before . I think I am getting s good deal because quote includes extra driver But extra driver not actually included
GuntarsOctober 27, 2017
Nothing to add
October 24, 2017
All different collision wavers
RogerOctober 24, 2017
Liked the whole process. No problems.
October 16, 2017
I like service at the counter. Lady who serve us was amazing.
I didn't like drop off car. At first one gentleman when we arrive to drop off car take our key and said thanks u can go. We have to ask another person to check our car.
October 16, 2017
Additional fees added on top
October 15, 2017
Friendly staff
Opening and waiting time
KarenOctober 14, 2017
The agent Legeia was the absolute kindest efficient helpful person I have ever encountered at a rental agency. She deserves extra special recognition
HelenOctober 13, 2017
I have rented with gold car and Guerliain and europe car. Avis is the oneI would use in future.Good service
October 13, 2017
Location of the rental premises and helpful staff
Nothing negative to comment on
AnthonyOctober 10, 2017
Terms & conditions were met Staff were reassuring car was clean
The automatic Citroen Cactus was underpowered for driving on mountainous roads. The automatic gearbox was unpredictable and the car failed to respond sometimes in difficult situations. There were times in the mountains when we felt in danger.
CheOctober 9, 2017
The car is quite new. The staffs are very helpful.
The air conditioning of the my car sometimes work but sometime don't. A bit annoying when drive in such a hot weather.
October 9, 2017
Clean car, nice service people on desk
Couldn't reach the office on phone in the working hours of the office.
JeannetteOctober 8, 2017
Process was rather quick
Car had some damage that needed to be registered
NicholaOctober 7, 2017
Size and fuel economy was good, efficient pick up and drop off
Pick up not very informative, hard to orientate myself around new vehicle in the dark. Switch car dash menus and sat Nav to English would have been very helpful. Booking last minute it was expensive, would only book again with more time if the car was cheaper.
October 4, 2017
The navigation to the drop off location did not work It would be helpful if these were preprogrammed into the device It would be a great advertising tool
DavidSeptember 30, 2017
Staff were so helpful
Condition of the car could have been better, a lot of scratches.
September 29, 2017
Being able to pick up and drop off the car at the airport Full to full fuel policy
Additional charges at airport. We have to wait to access our invoice to see what we paid 27 euros for and we will have some toll charges later. I like to pay it all up front.
September 28, 2017
Directions for finding return car hire cars is very poor especially when airport was busy.
September 24, 2017
Hoped to rent a Peugeot, got a Renault.
PETERSeptember 22, 2017
Tha car was fine.
Where to return the car wasn't obvious.
September 21, 2017
Car was ready on time
The car was parked so close to another one that existing damage could not be easily seen. I needed to go back to Avis to update the damage diagram. The car was not the one booked and was bigger than wanted for driving on narrow roads.
September 20, 2017
Really easy and quick drop off
JohnSeptember 18, 2017
Friendly staff at Lisbon City (pick up), take a bow Daniela, and at return (Lisbon Airport).
Excessive price differential for automatic car.
September 18, 2017
Speedy pick up and drop off Car in very clean condition Location of pickup very close to airport
No staff on pickup desk in airport had to get a minibus to pickup
andySeptember 16, 2017
No hard sell on insurance No queue
September 12, 2017
The explanation of the e-toll was correct but it would be better to make this voucher obligatory and include it in the price. Now it was presented as an option, and we did not take it, and this caused quite some problems because it is almost impossible to leave or arrive Porto without crossing an e-toll portal.
efstathiaSeptember 12, 2017
all was fine
GregorySeptember 10, 2017
Avis was the cheapest player at the time of booking. Some agencies charged up to 46€ per day!!! Staff at the counter were very efficient an professional.
The car was a bit worn out and the front wheels made noise on bumpy roads. The car we had was underpowered for a place la Madeira where there is no flat ground to be found anywhere. this is a minor annoyance though.
September 9, 2017
Charming knowledgeable staff
September 8, 2017
I didn't realise I needed my passport to complete the paperwork. Also the pickup counter was very slow
September 4, 2017
We couldn't find how to get the roof off. It would be nice if someone showed you round the car first.
MichaelSeptember 3, 2017
Staff was very nice
AndrewSeptember 2, 2017
Efficient staff at desk.
Exit and entrance to lisbon car hire very tight. There is evidence of scrapes on the metal bollards!!
September 2, 2017
Car drove well. No problems. Very fuel efficient.
No reflective jackets supplied in the car. Fortunately we did not need them but the Portuguese police can be very strict with holidaymakers !!
MarkSeptember 2, 2017
Efficiency and professionalism of Member of staff (Roberto)
No negative comments
August 25, 2017
The car was very good. Lots of extras and funny and easy to drive.
August 24, 2017
all ok...
no comments
August 21, 2017
The car was great and new, not a lot of questions, quick in the counter.
Took a bit of time waiting for the shuttle to the car rental "area". Missed a couple of "perks" I have when I book directly with Avis as preferred client.
August 15, 2017
I liked the ticked system used at the pick up counter as it meant you were served in order even though the area was very busy. Good value, nice car. Helpful friendly staff.
When collecting the car, the counter staff could have advised that the airport gets very busy and gridlocked to the point that it takes an hour to get across the airport and therefore to allow at least an extra hour when dropping the car off.
August 11, 2017
derekAugust 7, 2017
speed in which we received car
not receiving the correct car which was booked
LuisAugust 5, 2017
Courteous staff, esse of car return
Car was worn out, too many miles, deflated tires, could have been better cleaned
July 28, 2017
I would recommend them from the point of view of had what we booked and good value
The time it took to drop car off is the longest wait we have ever had! Then the poor signs to go to departure gates then long walk through arrivals to departure caused us to be 20 mins late to check in!! Poor signage isn't Avis fault but the dropping car off was!
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Avis Rating
Very good
7.68889 / 10
5000+ ratings



What would you like to chat about?


All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.


We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*


Please wait

Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*


We will use your feedback to improve our responses.