Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Budget logo - rentalcars.com

Budget Reviews New Zealand

Read 50 customer reviews on Budget in New Zealand and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

August 18, 2017
Ease of renting a vehicle
Nothing
10.2
May 14, 2017
The Kerikeri staff were extremely helpful returning my own car keys that I left in Kerikeri in error.
9.2
DominiqueApril 27, 2017
Cleanliness of the car, quick pick up and drop off
It was not possible to get an invoice for the renting, including the whole cost.
7.8
April 26, 2017
Quick service. Location of desk and depot.
Garage was too dark to clearly see can to do an adequate pre-inspection check.
8.2
andrewApril 24, 2017
The young women who handled my booking were highly professional, friendly and a pleasure to work with. I wish I had more people in my life like them. Totally awesome.
Can't think of anything, but you could have a free coffee machine at the counter like my trade suppliers do.
9.6
AlanApril 13, 2017
car was upgraded
a few dints and scratches were not on car card
8.4
KarenApril 8, 2017
Excellent service, great vehicle, was easy
N/A
9.2
RutgerMarch 31, 2017
All good.
Nothing.
8.6
March 28, 2017
spacious perfect for our group of 6 plus luggage
confusion over insurance with over the counter offer made on reducing excess, would have preferred the deal to be done on line pre pickup
9.0
March 28, 2017
Courteous and competent staff at both Nelson and drop off in Christchurch.
9.2
March 27, 2017
getting in and out of wellington airport. The excess
9.2
TerenceMarch 24, 2017
Helpfullness of Budget branch at Picton.
Dirty exterior of car picked up in Wellington.
6.0
SebastianMarch 24, 2017
Excelent the Holden Cruze
The return was confusing
8.2
kayMarch 24, 2017
good clean car. were happy with the car
8.8
BrianMarch 22, 2017
The booking was well above what I expected, service was excellent and the car was a brand new model. I had the car for three days and was a pleasure to drive NO complaints 10 out of 10
9.6
March 19, 2017
Took a while to adjust to a manual drive.
9.4
March 7, 2017
No check of the condition of the car. Scratches not noted.
8.4
February 28, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff
8.8
AdamFebruary 27, 2017
When I picked the vehicle up, it appeared to have been "cleaned" very quickly. Dirt/bugs on bonnet and windscreen and inside, there was sand on the floors and seats. Not impressed with cleaning standard from a reputable business.
7.4
CathyFebruary 22, 2017
I was very surprised to get an upgrade to a very very nice car. We were driving from Wgtn to Akld and it was great as it had Sat navigation
Nothing really
8.8
PaulFebruary 20, 2017
The size of the vehicle was perfect for getting all our girls guff to uni. It was modern, clean and performed well.
nothing
9.0
TrevorFebruary 19, 2017
Vehicle comfort.
Waited in the queue for over 1 hour to pick up the car.
7.8
February 18, 2017
Car provided was an automatic RAV4 instead of a Focus and was perfect for our use. All arrangements were very quickly presented and the Budget staff did not try to sell me additional insurance once I told them I had dealt with this privately
Nothing
9.0
SeanFebruary 16, 2017
efficient staff who were great help and gave us an upgrade due to our car not being ready.
8.6
KarenFebruary 15, 2017
Got what we ordered at a reasonable rate.
8.6
KellyFebruary 14, 2017
Car was the make and model that we ordered. It was a pleasure to drive
7.8
February 13, 2017
Fast service
Dirty windows
8.6
February 6, 2017
Everything worked
Counter staff appeared to be overloaded
6.6
HuixiongJanuary 30, 2017
Family car, good lag space
lost of power, when driver uphill on 100KM road, speed drop down to 80! also, the information screen: unable to see when reverse car, unable to make it bright. It is bad expense for this new car
7.2
January 17, 2017
Speedy process
Wish I had a spare pen in the car so that I could have fill the form in.
8.0
January 17, 2017
GPS needs to be updated as some roads had been closed and had highways going through them which extended travelling time significantly.
7.2
January 16, 2017
Really liked the Rav4 - was easy to drive. Wasn't an issue bringing the rentalcars.com voucher to the Budget desk.
Possibly could have been told the basic speed limits in New Zealand e.g. 50km/hr in towns 100km/hr in country areas as a rule. But I completely understand that is our responsibility as the driver so not a big deal.
8.0
LyntonDecember 23, 2016
The vehicle was in perfect condition and very easy to drive. I was very pleased that we could use two drivers as it meant we had a fresh driver on the return journey. Very comfortable and very suitable.
It would have been nice to have had cruise control and a built in GPS but the rental was absolutely positive.
9.4
SusanOctober 26, 2016
easy pickup,newness of car,very clean.
no body attending airport office at arranged drop off time.
8.4
clarkeOctober 12, 2016
Very comfortable ride
was hoping for Hyundai imax for larger luggage space
7.8
September 22, 2016
Car was economical, went well after you got out first gear.
The car we had was a manual first gear was a little lose ( felt like you were riding the clutch otherwise it would stall at lights etc)
8.2
August 26, 2016
I accidentally ordered a manual car. The staff member on was helpful and helped me get an automatic.
10.0
August 4, 2016
service was great and it was so easy no waiting around very organised.
9.4
DuncanJuly 18, 2016
Great car
9.2
May 13, 2016
Car was comfortable and nice to drive.
8.0
May 7, 2016
services at pick up and grop off are excellence.
1st I got the car which 2 years old(steering clearance is not good) which difference from what couter told(less than 1 year) but with good services at Queentown I got replacement with a better condition one.
6.8
April 24, 2016
Great desk service and well prepared for our pick up. Helpful and pleasant staff.
Nothing - a very positive experience all round.
9.6
MaryApril 23, 2016
I've never hired a car before and found the whole experience great.. Just drove to Alexandra for cycling races and drove back to Queenstown
9.4
April 18, 2016
Suitable for 6 adults plus the luggage
Fuel was petrol very expensive not a lot of power when called on
7.8
PaminApril 17, 2016
Good description ofthe car
It took a lot of time to get the car. The staff was friendly but very slow in documentation and handing the car
8.6
JillApril 16, 2016
Pickup and delivery went very well
7.8
April 3, 2016
The car was just the size we needed. It was great to drive and appropriate in every way for our holiday. It was straightforward to hire and staff explained the insurance scheme clearly.
Nothing
9.2
AlanMarch 30, 2016
Lovely friendly staff, and helpful with directions etc.
9.0
DavidMarch 22, 2016
Great car for 4 people with good luggage space.
9.0
March 13, 2016
We especially appreciated the car park attendant who realised our selected vehicle would struggle to hold our luggage and offered a larger vehicle which definitely made our whole holiday so much better. She deserves acknowledgement - lovely nature too.
Nil.
7.8
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Budget Rating
New Zealand
Excellent
8.73571 / 10
500+ ratings

Ratings