Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Budget logo - rentalcars.com

Budget Reviews New Zealand

Read 50 customer reviews on Budget in New Zealand and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

January 17, 2017
Speedy process
Wish I had a spare pen in the car so that I could have fill the form in.
8.0
January 17, 2017
GPS needs to be updated as some roads had been closed and had highways going through them which extended travelling time significantly.
7.2
January 16, 2017
Really liked the Rav4 - was easy to drive. Wasn't an issue bringing the rentalcars.com voucher to the Budget desk.
Possibly could have been told the basic speed limits in New Zealand e.g. 50km/hr in towns 100km/hr in country areas as a rule. But I completely understand that is our responsibility as the driver so not a big deal.
8.0
LyntonDecember 23, 2016
The vehicle was in perfect condition and very easy to drive. I was very pleased that we could use two drivers as it meant we had a fresh driver on the return journey. Very comfortable and very suitable.
It would have been nice to have had cruise control and a built in GPS but the rental was absolutely positive.
9.4
SusanOctober 26, 2016
easy pickup,newness of car,very clean.
no body attending airport office at arranged drop off time.
8.4
clarkeOctober 12, 2016
Very comfortable ride
was hoping for Hyundai imax for larger luggage space
7.8
September 22, 2016
Car was economical, went well after you got out first gear.
The car we had was a manual first gear was a little lose ( felt like you were riding the clutch otherwise it would stall at lights etc)
8.2
August 26, 2016
I accidentally ordered a manual car. The staff member on was helpful and helped me get an automatic.
10.0
August 4, 2016
service was great and it was so easy no waiting around very organised.
9.4
DuncanJuly 18, 2016
Great car
9.2
May 13, 2016
Car was comfortable and nice to drive.
8.0
May 7, 2016
services at pick up and grop off are excellence.
1st I got the car which 2 years old(steering clearance is not good) which difference from what couter told(less than 1 year) but with good services at Queentown I got replacement with a better condition one.
6.8
April 24, 2016
Great desk service and well prepared for our pick up. Helpful and pleasant staff.
Nothing - a very positive experience all round.
9.6
MaryApril 23, 2016
I've never hired a car before and found the whole experience great.. Just drove to Alexandra for cycling races and drove back to Queenstown
9.4
April 18, 2016
Suitable for 6 adults plus the luggage
Fuel was petrol very expensive not a lot of power when called on
7.8
PaminApril 17, 2016
Good description ofthe car
It took a lot of time to get the car. The staff was friendly but very slow in documentation and handing the car
8.6
JillApril 16, 2016
Pickup and delivery went very well
7.8
April 3, 2016
The car was just the size we needed. It was great to drive and appropriate in every way for our holiday. It was straightforward to hire and staff explained the insurance scheme clearly.
Nothing
9.2
AlanMarch 30, 2016
Lovely friendly staff, and helpful with directions etc.
9.0
DavidMarch 22, 2016
Great car for 4 people with good luggage space.
9.0
March 13, 2016
We especially appreciated the car park attendant who realised our selected vehicle would struggle to hold our luggage and offered a larger vehicle which definitely made our whole holiday so much better. She deserves acknowledgement - lovely nature too.
Nil.
7.8
March 9, 2016
On booking form it stated domestic terminal but had to wait for car as it was at international terminal
7.4
RossMarch 7, 2016
Company phoned to advise us that some children's toys were left in the car. Car was clean inside but outside cleanliness was poor.
Child seats ordered but not fitted GPS ordered but not available
6.0
March 7, 2016
Great clean, relatively new car. Drop off was very easy.
The customer service person at the airport wasn't that friendly.
7.8
AndrewMarch 7, 2016
Everything worked how it should, from pick up to drop off. Counter was easy to find and was a quick and easy whilst there.
Although we still got a car in the same group size. We didn't get the car that we specifically ordered, a Ford Falcon. This was a huge disappointment for myself.
7.6
WesleyMarch 4, 2016
Staff at the counter very helpful
nothing
8.2
SteveMarch 2, 2016
Friendly staff
8.8
March 1, 2016
We got a different car - not an upgrade or downgrade.
7.6
February 27, 2016
Nothing wrong with the car
Very expensive compared to other centres
8.6
ThomasFebruary 25, 2016
I liked the hire car very much for both comfort and performance.
There was confusion at pick up over the GPS system that I requested. There was no SD card in the car, which I discovered after I left the depot.On return,Budget staff advised me that they did not supply them. Drop off staff advised me that they should have supplied a separate GPS unit.
8.6
February 21, 2016
When we returned to the airport there were no parking spaces available in the Rental area. we didn't know what to do. In the end we found one Avis space so had to park the car there but there were other people driving round unable to park their cars.
9.0
February 20, 2016
Car unclean
7.0
February 18, 2016
Clean car, easy boking.
Car was rather underpowered.
8.6
February 17, 2016
excellent little car for getting about. Handled the twisting roads better than i expected
Not particularly good on fuel usage, seemed to be very thirsty though it was a small fuel tank so had to stop a lot as well
8.8
IanFebruary 15, 2016
Very easy to go to desk right beside arrivals Pick up was only a few metres away
9.0
StephenFebruary 6, 2016
The ease of the whole procedure, online booking/and getting the car at the airport.
I dropped the car off at 0430 hrs and obviously the office was shut which in itself wasn't a problem but It would have been good for a staff member to email me to confirm that everything on my part was in order.
8.8
HeatherFebruary 3, 2016
We had been able to confirm all arrangements with you on the phone - especially insurance and extra driver.
Budget was a little slow with their service, but it was good.
8.6
AkoFebruary 2, 2016
Great welcoming service.
Nothing to comment.
10.0
PaulFebruary 1, 2016
When we returned the car the service from the assistant was excellent.
Being told not to worry about checking for damage as it was 2am and pitch black. We were told there was no existing damage when in fact there was obvious damage (scratches). We returned inside but counter closed (due to time).
7.2
KarenJanuary 31, 2016
Nice relatively new car.
9.2
January 28, 2016
Everything was easy
8.8
January 24, 2016
The man was nice and did all he could with the resources he had and said that he couldn't help me with the GPS because that is the only one he has left.
I booked for a Toyota Yaris and I picked up a Daihatsu model I asked for a GPS, and I got one that did not work at all. So I had to find my way around which took me 1h30, and I was late at my meeting, an hour late.
8.8
StaceyJanuary 20, 2016
Car had massive amount if grey dust that had not been cleaned from around back door area, so got all over suitcases etc.
7.8
January 16, 2016
convinent
8.8
January 15, 2016
I pre-booked and paid for the car in advance and still had to wait around 40mins to pick up the car, at 10pm... staff weren't nearly as apologetic as they should have been...
6.8
SharonJanuary 15, 2016
Competitive pricing and your insurance coverage. Good value.
9.2
January 14, 2016
The car and the valet attendant that we returned it to was a wonderful and helpful man.
As we rented through rental cars.com the Budget staff could not explain the process properly
7.4
RendyJanuary 13, 2016
Easy check in and check out. Car was perfect, having done only 3.5k kms it was practically brand new!! Full of feature. Baby seat and child seat was preinstalled by the time I received the car. Air conditioning was flawless.
A pick up location at Christchurch Train Station would be super!
9.0
January 10, 2016
Reliability
Wrong and dangerous drivers side floor mat Slid up under pedals when driving
8.2
RendyJanuary 10, 2016
Car was great and new (just over one year old).
Baby seat was not a very good quality.
9.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Budget Rating
New Zealand
Excellent
8.4 / 10
500+ ratings

Ratings