Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis logo - rentalcars.com

Avis Reviews Norway

Read 50 customer reviews on Avis in Norway and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

October 10, 2017
The car is in good condition but with tire pressure low warning that bothered me but luckily everything was well.
I've tried to pump the tires but the warning still on. As long as nothing happen, I guess it is fine.
7.8
October 6, 2017
car is economy for gas and big trunk.
hard to fine place to pic ip a car and teturn at airport has no sign.
6.4
AchilleasOctober 2, 2017
Staff was friendely and supportive.
Car I booked was not avaible as it was still in cleaning. After 30 minutes we asked for another car, which was not a problem. Collecting the car was not smooth. Delivering the car back just took 1 minute.
8.2
SymonOctober 1, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff. On line would not allow booking from town centre. Staff member took us to the airport to collect the car and arranged for it to be left in town. Made life a lot easier for us. Couldn't have been better.
It was all good.
8.8
October 1, 2017
Very good explanation...
No comment
7.0
SiriSeptember 27, 2017
The rental staff, one desk in a car dealership and manned by one person, was extremely helpful. They would have picked us up at the station had they known our arrival time. As it was they took us back to the station after dropping the car.
Avis is located a good 15 minute walk from the train station, which is where we arrived. I had no way of knowing this, nor did I have a Norwegian phone.
7.6
September 18, 2017
The car drop off was a bit confusing; finding the right parking slot...
8.6
September 13, 2017
I liked how helpful people were over the phone from both Avis and Rentalcars.com. I will definitely be using Rentalcars.com to set it up the next time!
I wish we had been given an extra key just in case.
9.4
SaadSeptember 6, 2017
Excellent service and car. Had no issues, was very happy with the journey.
9.4
AlanSeptember 5, 2017
Staff helpful and friendly!
Still waiting to see how much we have to pay for the Toll roads! Would have preferred to do the survey 'after' that bill had been sent!
9.0
TomasSeptember 5, 2017
Perfect car and very economic. Good driving on narrow and mountain roads. Low fuel consumption.
Long queue to pick the car. AVIS should warn that you must arrive at least 30 minutes before your booking time.
8.6
August 31, 2017
Clear signage to car rental counter. Received an upgrade to an automatic larger estate car. Car was very clean and had an excellent specification (sat nav, automatic cruise control, parking sensors etc etc)
Slightly long wait to collect car. Car rental was expensive but then again everything is expensive in Norway!
7.2
August 31, 2017
1. Drop of time fixed for 2100 hrs at Alesund city office, but the office closes at 4 pm. This known fact was not explained at pick up of the car.
7.8
August 27, 2017
Paperwork was minimal. The car was in a very good condition. It was nice to have gotten an upgrade.
While I had the car the windscreen broke and the car needed to be changed. I contacted the assistance service but was told to contact the Gardemoen ariport staff in order to get the car replaced. It took about 20 phone calls to finally contact a completely different branch of Avis. I was rescued by an extremely nice Polish guy. Thank you Marcin!
7.8
August 19, 2017
Clean reliable car Efficient service pick-up and drop-off
Very expensive for size/spec of car Lack of sat nav
7.4
AndriiAugust 17, 2017
I expected the worse car, but it was new, Hybrid, with climate control, start-stop, etc... Thank you!
9.0
August 13, 2017
WINDSCREEN WIPER SHOULD BE CHANGED
8.4
KouroshAugust 12, 2017
The staff for pick up and drop off the car were so friendly
The bahaviour of counter staff was so bad
5.6
August 4, 2017
Car in excellent conditions and friendly staff.
Did not get the car which was asked for (VW Polo). Alternative was fine, but not what was chosen online.
7.0
July 30, 2017
The vehicle was the first Hybrid that I have driven. I was very impressed. The condition was first class.
Nothing
8.4
ChrisJuly 30, 2017
Closeness of rental office to our accommodation. Good price Excellent English speaker at office
Car wasn't very comfortable for us as it was very low to ground. No one at car pick up place Couldn't contact office on phone after car collection.
8.4
izhakJuly 29, 2017
we were charged for tolls but never received a detailed invoice from Avis
9.0
July 19, 2017
Helpfulness of the counter staff, and ease to allocate car.
Avis rep in car parking area not interested, sitting in a van. We had to look for our car some distance away not in its allocated slot, found it with the key. Very dark in pick up area, difficult to identify any car issues, then had problems getting out of exterior car park barrier as it turned out inside barrier did not issue required ticket.
8.2
ANGUSJuly 17, 2017
The proceeds of hire and driving was quite smooth
Norwegian hire prices seem very expensive compared to the rest of the world
9.0
July 17, 2017
The car was in the very good condition .
8.6
DanielleJuly 14, 2017
friendly helpful staff.
Difficulty exiting the facility.
8.2
July 12, 2017
Renting a car in Norway is super expensive.
7.2
July 12, 2017
The position to drop off the car difficult to find it ,,
7.8
SangyeobJuly 11, 2017
They explained everything.
Nothing
7.2
July 10, 2017
good car, great condition, very easy pick-up process
9.0
StuartJuly 8, 2017
Great car, quick process and helpful staff.
Nothing!
9.2
Jean-hubertJune 25, 2017
Brand new car Comfortable GPS included USB connection
Price : Norway is too expensive
9.2
June 17, 2017
Nice car, slightly better than booked.
Driving in Bergen's old town.
7.0
RichardJune 13, 2017
Very difficult to find return area for car = very poor signage. No instruction from desk about system for leaving car park - ticket/barriers etc.
7.8
June 6, 2017
My flight was 3 hours late, yet the Avis desk agent waited for me to ensure I could pick up my vehicle. Outstanding service, he should be commended (it was 2am)
7.6
June 5, 2017
No snow tyres and plenty of snow!
7.4
May 31, 2017
Super easy
9.2
May 23, 2017
Being able to get an automatic car at a reasonable cost
unfortunately the front window cracked in 2 places
7.8
MartinMay 14, 2017
Best experience ever. Great staff, advice & very trustworthy & respectful
Nothing
9.0
ChristopherMay 13, 2017
Upgraded to a larger car even though it wasn't required
New Avis return drop-off area at Oslo Gardermoen hasn't been properly signposted yet when arriving at the airport
8.4
JohnMay 11, 2017
The car was excellent and new. It was reliable and had lots of features such as Sat nav and Cruise control both of which were well used.
When picking the car up the staff offered no help in explaining a strange car to me. The controls and satnav were in Norwegian and had it not been for a relative who had a similar car I would not have been able to enjoy many of the features.
7.6
May 8, 2017
Overall experience was great.
The staff I interacted with for my rental car did not tell me about the odd-hours return process. Thankfully his colleague did. Being a first timer for this rental location, I had to search my way through the parking garage while returning to spot the Avis parking.
8.0
April 19, 2017
Excellent car, new model hybrid which saved us quite a bit on fuel.
7.8
iainMarch 11, 2017
no issues collecting
9.8
February 7, 2017
good staff .
we booked a "volkswagen polo or similar" and we got a suzuki swift . The trunk dimensions are quite smaller than the Polo, and we were in trouble trying to fit all the luggage
9.0
SveinFebruary 6, 2017
Time to pick up and deliver the car
A bit difficult to find where you should deliver the car
8.4
December 25, 2016
Do clean all our windows, because a lot of snow make its opaque.
7.4
November 15, 2016
Very quick and easy to use
Car was different to the one booked and I'd have preferred the one we booked
8.8
DavidOctober 11, 2016
The car was nippy for the hairpin bends! It seemed almost new and in perfect condition.
8.8
OleSeptember 15, 2016
New car Progressive cruice control
A Suzuki Vitara was mentioned as an upgrade vs a Golf, not sure I agree that's an upgrade... Weak engine
8.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Avis Rating
Norway
Excellent
8.18846 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings