Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

First Car Rental logo - rentalcars.com

First Car Rental Reviews Mauritius

Read customer reviews on First Car Rental in Mauritius and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

November 23, 2017
The car was fine and the service was very good.
The petrol tank was on empty and we needed to get petrol before we could start our journey- service station was close to the airport but it was late and we didn't know the area so it would have been good if we didn't need to stop for petrol.
8.8
October 4, 2017
The car only had a quarter tank of fuel when I collected it. This is very annoying as it necessitated filling up immediately after collecting the car. Have never seen this before with reputable car hire companies.
7.6
September 12, 2017
Unlimited KMs
9.0
IneifieSeptember 7, 2017
Car condition was ok. No issues with car performance during stay.
Fuel was empty even though rental agreement was supposed to be full to full. So newcomers as we were to Mauritius had to go look for a nearby filling station. Not very nice. Also GPS rented did not have updated maps for over a year. A good recipe for tourists to get lost.
6.6
July 13, 2017
Helpfulness of the staff
Quality of the car. The brakes were not great.
7.4
June 24, 2017
Car supplied with empty tank
7.6
JoergJune 14, 2017
Easy process
Car return point is hard to find
6.4
April 24, 2017
Vehicle very versatile
Vehicle condition was on the poor side
5.6
WillemApril 19, 2017
The right headlight was damaged (i.e. patched-up hole in light cover). Also, the right screen wiper was worn and not working properly, to the extend that it made driving in the rain difficult.
7.8
haroldApril 6, 2017
Car was larger than booked 7seater but ok very helpful thank you
8.6
March 31, 2017
Car was old and damaged
5.8
February 26, 2017
they forgot to give us the ticket to leave car park - so we had to make u -turn all the way back to the booking office - lost about 20 minutes - that we could have saved not driving in the dark
7.6
JanFebruary 10, 2017
this car needed a big maintenance, scratches all over (notified) lights inside the car not working, full level very low, lucky just enough to arrive at our hotel and that at night with cyclone following us...
6.0
September 11, 2016
We have to say we had a value for money looking at the services overall.
Fuel policy should have been "Full tank when picking up car and Full tank when dropping it off. However, it was not a case and we have to make a complaint about it as it was not easy to make it fair.
8.0
July 31, 2016
Very easy , booked and paid online.helpful staff.
8.6
DeborahJuly 17, 2016
The car squealed loudly for about five minutes after you started it. Embarrassing for us. Obvious noise should have prevented the company from letting the car out as a rental for clientele.
8.0
July 13, 2016
I would like to thank FIRST CAR RENTAL for their professionalism, commitment, timely and outstanding customer service. I am extremely pleased with the excellent condition of the car accompanied with a personalized water bottle. Great service makes customers feel that you care about developing a long-term relationship. I highly recommend you.
10.2
June 5, 2016
Staff was very helpful.
because there is only one person working at the desk with details, if someone is in front of you it takes a little time. My sense is was this way for all car rentals at this airport.
8.2
DavidApril 14, 2016
Efficient/friendly pick up & drop off.
Expensive location. Supplied with no fuel on pick-up.
8.2
AndreApril 1, 2016
I really enjoyed my experience and interaction with Roy :)
7.6
TariqMarch 27, 2016
Horrible AC unit
7.4
MargaretMarch 17, 2016
Car delivered to hotel
No problems
9.0
February 21, 2016
Great value
The car interior was horribly stained on all seats
8.2
sarojanieJanuary 25, 2016
The efficiency of the staff was outstanding. Will use First car rental again.
9.2
AngusJanuary 19, 2016
Staff were friendly and the car was comfortable. We were given a Ford Focus.
Car had not been washed and only a quarter tank of petrol, although these were minor considering we were given an upgrade.
7.2
January 10, 2016
Good value for money
Lights didn't work properly
7.4
RaviDecember 26, 2015
Friendly. helpful and flexible
none
8.2
November 28, 2015
unimg the app I was only made aware that I could pickup the car at a hotel a few miles away but when I picked up the car I was told that I could have had it delivered to my hotel and picked up from. The rep was very helpful but would have been better to know this in advance. Regards
9.0
November 23, 2015
I excpected a manual gearshift and got automatic. No problem except the gearbox was either slipping(losing power up hill) or the gear change sensor is faulty because at certain speeds it would shift several times between 2nd and 3rd. also when I dropped the cat off there was no staff to receive the vehicle so I had to leave the keys at the desk
6.6
November 9, 2015
I liked that we got a bigger car (sedan). I20 might have been a bit of a squeeze with 4 people and luggage.
Car had lots of scratches and dings, which is always worrying when you return. Tank was empty, so had to immediatel try to find petrol station. One tyre was smooth. We waited for over 20minutes for somebody to get to counter. Whole car vibtated when braking from higher speeds
5.6
September 26, 2015
The staff we nice, friendly and helpful. The little car worked well. The interior was fine, comfortable enough. The GPS worked. The radio worked fine. It was functional and served the purpose adequately.
The car was pretty scuffed and scratched on the outside. The windscreen wipes were partly effective, rather worn; in a big downpour (which happens in Mauritius) it could be a problem with ineffective wipers. The tires had seen better days. The GPS could have been more up-to-date; many of the roads were unnamed and hotels and shopping areas in the system.
7.4
KerrySeptember 9, 2015
Great staff they made it all very easy. Thanks.
8.4
HendrikAugust 10, 2015
Fast and no nonsense approach
Nothing worth mentioning
7.2
April 23, 2015
Good contact with agency, helpful staff, overall good experience
Car condition was quite poor. 80K km on the meter, weak engine etc.
7.4
FrancescoJanuary 25, 2015
the ease of booking and get the car
It was not very cheap, but for sure less than the competitors
9.4
January 18, 2015
Counter staff member (Roy) was very welcoming and helpful throughout. Was able to make minor adjustment on telephone without difficulty.
8.6
July 19, 2014
collection from hotel
vehicle not being dropped off at hotel without a charged
9.11111111111111
davidMarch 15, 2014
car was waiting very close by.
1. no windshield washer fluid, tank leaked when I filled it. This is not a safe condition. 2. Gas tank was almost empty, however they accepted to have it returned in the same condition. i would prefer to have a full tank of gas and return it full.
7.777777777777778
March 2, 2014
We got a late upgrade after booking which ended up very lucky as we took the car up Ferney and other protected areas
9.11111111111111
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
First Car Rental Rating
Mauritius
Very good
7.075 / 10
250+ ratings

Ratings

Top Suppliers in Mauritius