Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

First Car Rental logo - rentalcars.com

First Car Rental Reviews Malta

Read customer reviews on First Car Rental in Malta and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

NiallSeptember 20, 2017
The car itself
booked an auto but originally was given a manual - Had to get the car changed which held up the process and was not a good start
8.6
RobertSeptember 18, 2017
Everything was so easy and just like you'd expect it to be.
8.8
LaurieSeptember 3, 2017
It was very easy to collect the car from the car park and be on our way within half an hour of landing.
There were no clear parking spaces on returning the car.
6.8
August 17, 2017
Ease of finding counter in terminal
Car was very difficult to find, no help from staff and a long way from terminal
7.6
August 13, 2017
Very good
Nothing
7.8
RichardAugust 5, 2017
Great value for money.
7.6
AlexanderJune 4, 2017
The car was the exact model booked and had excellent air con and cleanliness
A warning light came on a few times during our stay preventing the car from starting
7.6
May 23, 2017
No water in the screen wash
7.8
May 8, 2017
Automatic.
Battery died.
7.8
TheoJanuary 5, 2017
This was a lovely vehicle, and it gave us no trouble. Despite having done 56 000 kms.
We didn't like paying extra as my husband is 71. Otherwise, all good.
6.4
KeithOctober 10, 2016
Comfortable car, easy to drive.
Filler cap was missing. CD player did not work.
7.2
August 17, 2016
The cost
Too small
5.6
January 6, 2016
No major complaints, but car and road signage gave cause for concern
Condition of tyres. No staff on hand after pick up
6.6
November 16, 2015
Price of people under 23 is better than other organisations in Malta
The car was not completely clean. There were some ugly damaged parts on the car. Didnt hear anything from 1first till now, so don't know if everything is okay now..
6.4
October 31, 2015
As it was a small car, the petrol tank was still full when we finished using it.
Traffic in Malta...mad.
9.2
September 11, 2015
No enough information about deposit. We were not informed about petrol purchase in advance.
7.2
July 5, 2015
IT was good.
Car broke down. Got another car.
7.4
June 15, 2015
size was ok for parking and getting around the narrow streets
front end suspension poor…tires required air pressure
6.4
AnthonyMay 22, 2015
The rep was excellent, he took us through the paper work and explained everything, took is to the car and we went through the car looking around and marked if there was damage on the car and then asked if I was satisfied with the vehicle. Every thing then was excellent.
We had a problem with the central locking as we couldn't lock the vehicle, it started the second day of the hire, I find what the fault was so the company got the there AA representative to come to the vehicle and it was sorted, after that everything was great.
8.6
PeterMay 7, 2015
Enough space for 6 passengers
The car was old (54K miles) The engine was weak, especially in an uneven country like Malta The car had no central door locking system.
5.6
brendanMay 5, 2015
First class.!
9.8
May 5, 2015
Air condition didn't work, Remote control didn't work
5.8
April 27, 2015
I had to wait for the car ("the broker" excused that traffic was busy, but in Malta (near the cities) the traffic is always busy and he has to know it). For the full insurance cover the additional payment is quite high.
7.2
AndrewAugust 19, 2014
No complaints about the car
Tried to pay my fine but got told I have to pay online still trying it was only 23 euros just wish the man on the desk at First Rentals could have sorted it for me.
10.0
August 14, 2014
Car was delivered to hotel with no problems
Delivery man didn't come out and check the condition when I took it over
8.444444444444445
July 9, 2014
It was quick and easy to find
We couldn't pay in advance for the 2nd driver or the insurance cover
7.333333333333333
July 4, 2014
very quick and simple car hire
additional expenses for insurance coverage
7.777777777777778
June 16, 2014
Pre-information about Maltaese specific traffic condition was explained by the clerk.
Collecting + returning time was a bit too long for me...
7.777777777777778
janetJune 13, 2014
maybe need two people on desk at busy arrival times.... just a thought.
9.555555555555555
WojciechMay 16, 2014
Car was clean, everything works just fine. I didn`t have any mechanical problems.
Huge deposit!! 1000 euro is really large sum for someone who isn`t earning in euro.
8.666666666666666
May 14, 2014
One of the cheaper rentals on the island! Proficient and very helpful staff!
Cars are dirty in the inside and car itself can use a proper maintenance (gear box shanked/engine had hard time starting from time to time)- it might have been just my car though!
8.444444444444445
IlirMay 12, 2014
change of the car from ford focus 2013 to BMW 520 of 1997. The charge of 50 Euro for the gasoil. It was much more than we needed.
6.666666666666667
DavidMay 12, 2014
The car was clean and tidy and generally in good condition, with few scratches to the paintwork which is unusual for Malta.
I had to change the first vehicle i was given because the automatic gearbox was not working properly, which the staff apparently knew about. The second car was better but still had a tendency to dis-engage from auto and go into manual drive. However this is more to do with a lousy fiat auto gearbox than any fault on the part of the hire company. I will use First Car again, but I will not hire a Fiat again.
6.0
May 7, 2014
Service when the smoke charger in the car was broken, we got a new car in 5 min.
X
7.111111111111111
May 5, 2014
very quick service
9.11111111111111
April 28, 2014
Simplicity to rent and get the car back Nice car peugeot
Gps doesn't work so good. Wrong directions.
6.888888888888889
April 24, 2014
Despite late arrival (understood somehow as it was Easter day) counter staff was very efficient.
Extra charge (€ 17.70) for Easter day collection - I will request refund of this amount in separate mail as it was not mentioned during booking. Car was parked quite far from FCR counter (a few blocks). I would expected something different from a company having its counter at Intercontinental hotel.
5.333333333333333
April 12, 2014
Excellent price, all very clear. Agent efficient & hotel location helpful about us leaving our bags for a few hours.
The ridiculously high excess waiver, had we chosen to take it, which would have exceeded the hire price. As with most sensible people, we took this out separately on line.
8.88888888888889
April 11, 2014
Having to pay for fuel which I did not use.
8.0
April 7, 2014
- friendly staff.
- explanation was not enough and not professional. - during pick-up and drop-off, we need to check together, but nothing. this is easy to have a problem.
5.555555555555555
IanApril 6, 2014
Generally easy to deal with in the UK.
Still tried to sell the extra insurance in Malta and had to buy half a tank of fuel plus the 1000 #Euro deposit / bond.
6.444444444444445
March 21, 2014
counter staff is very kind
8.666666666666666
February 9, 2014
Very helpful staff
No where to leave the car when returning it.
6.888888888888889
February 2, 2014
I was quite impressed with the option of half a tank of fuel as against having to pay for a full one, so that was good for us. Thanks again.
9.777777777777779
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
First Car Rental Rating
Malta
Very good
7.1 / 10
500+ ratings

Ratings