Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Budget logo - rentalcars.com

Budget Reviews Malta

Read 50 customer reviews on Budget in Malta and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

jeffreyMarch 24, 2018
Ease of the staff to deal with
All at ease
9.0
February 17, 2018
Great experience.
9.0
February 16, 2018
good one
7.4
January 30, 2018
Confirming the existing damage to the car.
8.2
January 8, 2018
quick and uncomplicated procedures
nothing
8.8
IstvánNovember 15, 2017
Ihave got a perfect service from a nice stuff. The Ford Fiesta even it has run over 35.000 kms funcionaly was allways on the top.Inside the car was clean and wise.
8.8
NicholasOctober 28, 2017
The car was compact and very practical for some of the narrow roads on Gozo and Malta. It fitted easily into parking spaces that drivers of larger vehicles had to leave vacant. Good first gear for those steep hills too. The speed with which a breakdown truck attended and the mechanic sorted out the problem. His attitude and friendlinesss were good.
The battery expired but this is not a criticism; the car had done 25k km on short runs. You could not have predicted this failure. We chose your company for its value and did not expect to drive a new car.
9.0
October 25, 2017
It was a good experience without pushy upsell.
6.2
September 25, 2017
good reception, not trying to fool you on extra's. very reassuring behaviour (see also next box)
Airco did not work well with extreme outside temperatures. once I drove there was the whole time an indication to 'stop'. When I went back I was reassured by Airbudget that this must be a computer problem and that I should not worry.
8.8
September 18, 2017
The chaps in the car park (both dropping off and picking up) were especially friendly.
8.8
StephenSeptember 17, 2017
Value for money.
Windows were very dirty.
6.0
September 7, 2017
Easy collection and drop off.
6.6
August 30, 2017
The staff. The car (almost new).
The location.
8.2
LorettaAugust 15, 2017
Excellent service from counter staff.
Over friendliness of guy in car park when I went to collect car from the bay.
7.2
ianJuly 16, 2017
Out of hours service on arrival was extremely good, Dave at the return dropoff was extremely helpful, made the process very easy, and gave us some very helpful advise.
8.8
June 28, 2017
price! returning the car was easy,there was damage on the car(hit whilst parked)put process to pay excess was easy.
only one person on rental counter, had to wait for 30 mins in queue
9.0
June 21, 2017
Excellent rate - Staff difficult to find but very helpfull on parking lot
Car in poor condition - Had to do a condition review before departure to mark the extra issueS;
7.8
June 16, 2017
The staff being trained was relatively friendly.
The car was very basic. No central locking and manual winding down windows.
7.4
IanJune 3, 2017
Helpful staff
Not too keen on a small automatic car
7.6
EmanuelMay 31, 2017
The car was comfortable,clean and upgrade was bonus thank you
8.8
May 18, 2017
Helpful staff. Had a problem with non-locking door and they replaced the car even offered an upgrade.
Confusing system for refilling out of hours meant returning the car not full.
8.0
May 13, 2017
The fuel wasn't full when we got the car.
8.0
RuthMay 10, 2017
Excellent service, the man who handed over the keys was lovely and very helpful.
Nothing.
7.8
NicolasMay 1, 2017
Simplicity of the renting process.
Car model inferior to the car model advertised.
6.8
April 13, 2017
Quick, efficient pickup, no 'hard sell' for extras
I returned the car at 7:00 pm and the drop off procedure wasn't as clear as it could be (but it was very quick and simple once you'd worked it out)
7.2
StevenMarch 29, 2017
Had a choice of 2 free upgrades. The bodywork was dented scratched all around the car but that just meant that there was no hassle picking up and dropping off!
Maltese roads and Maltese drivers!
8.8
March 26, 2017
Clean new car, no problems, helpful staff and no hassle
Nothing
8.8
March 22, 2017
ease of booking in
being disabled it was a long walk from the booking in desk to were the car was parked
7.8
StephenMarch 17, 2017
Helpfully staff at desk...not pushy at all very good service without too much obvious scrutiny.
Long walk to get car...my mother was with us and is 78
8.6
GeoffreyMarch 6, 2017
Excellent service all round. Many thanks.
9.6
February 18, 2017
professional organization
8.4
February 8, 2017
OK generally
faulty wiper. Driving in Malta is generally a stressful business..
8.4
EDWARDFebruary 6, 2017
no wiper on the back window
6.8
January 6, 2017
Very bad smell of cigarette smoke
6.6
December 31, 2016
Good, quick service
All the damage was not logged so we had to go round it in the dark and add it onto the paperwork
7.6
BrianDecember 20, 2016
Everything, from start to finish the whole process was easy and straight forward.
It took me a while to find the location of the car once I had my key, but this is more to do with my lack of direction than anything else.
9.2
October 19, 2016
easy without no problems
car was very dirty and stinking. As well the left mirror (on the passanger side door) was completly broken. The car had a lot of demages, it was pretty embarancing to drive around with it.
5.6
AndrewOctober 9, 2016
Helpfulness of the charming desk clerk in Malta.
8.4
August 31, 2016
Excellent service from the administration and from the staff handing the car over to us. Had a new Hyundai really impressed.
8.6
July 26, 2016
Very quick time to pick up the car
Bad condition of the car
7.0
July 6, 2016
Easy drop off. Relaxed. No pressure.
there was nobody at the budget desk when I arrived and there was no sign to go to the Avis desk (which is where the person was).
9.6
June 19, 2016
easy collecting vehicle via the Budget desk
the damage on the vehicle was a lot worse than what we were informed, at the collection desk, also, we were told it had half a tank of fuel, when collecting vehicle, we find it has only a quarter of a tank
6.6
June 18, 2016
very straight forward but then we know where we are going to collect cars at Malta Airport.
Car had so many knocks and scratches it was difficult to list and note them all.
6.8
May 30, 2016
The ease of pick up and the instructions provided. The fact that the car was diesel and came with three quarters of a tank and the instruction was to bring it back empty was great. Because Malta is so small and despite covering the whole island on several occasions, we still managed to take the car back with a quarter of a tank of fuel.
The boot was really small and disappointing and not large enough for even 2 x small cases.
9.2
RussellMay 1, 2016
It was clean and it started
An oldish scoda fairly battered under powered or knackered definitely the nattiest hire car anywhere we went. We looked like locals that's for sure
7.0
MichelApril 9, 2016
new car in excellent condition
8.4
March 29, 2016
The car had obviously not been inspected before re- rental in that the window washer reservoir was empty and the front nearside tyre had a large gash on the tread extending down to the steel wire re- inforcement. This was immediately reported but with no offer to remedy.
7.0
AllanMarch 14, 2016
Good car.
9.8
March 14, 2016
Helpful man at the desk especially as the plane was very late 1 AM] and well past the mans finishing time. He even stopped on his way home as we were loading our suitcases and asked if everything was OK.
The condition of the car was poor with lots of dents and scrapes, poor suspension [Maltese roads dont help] and a feeling of a worn out tired, should have been replaced sooner.
7.4
March 9, 2016
Profesional service
None
8.8
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Budget Rating
Malta
Good
6.93333 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
By continuing, you accept that telecoms company Mitel will process your details.

Loading

Please wait

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.