Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Hertz logo -

Hertz Reviews Italy

Read 50 customer reviews on Hertz in Italy and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by


WardMarch 13, 2018
beautiful car, hich value. fast processing
March 12, 2018
smooth check in (no queue). Upgraded to a bigger model was great for our group. Great condition inside
Car had obviously had a few scrapes externally but didn't impact drive.
BrianFebruary 26, 2018
Staff at Pompeii were very courteous and friendly.
It was confusing as to where we should drop the car off at the Bari airport, because it was early and no one was manning the return lot.
February 26, 2018
It took us more than 30 minutes to find the shuttle bus station at the Airport and to reach the rental location. No signs found. Bathroom at the rental location was inacceptible dirty.
PeterFebruary 25, 2018
Condition of the car, generally very poor. Poor summer tires not good for snow. Tires not in balance. One of the snow chains broke. Rear Wiper not working.
February 21, 2018
All worked well from cost, vehicle and service
JonFebruary 20, 2018
Loved the upgrade so much, I'm considering swapping my current car for one.
February 19, 2018
Ease of location.
Given an SUV rather than the estate we selected. Car had been in an accident (side badly scraped and dented) and developed a warning light for an oil change. Snow chains were charged but not included.
GiuseppeFebruary 16, 2018
The gentleman at the desk was very helpful and professional
February 13, 2018
efficiency of counter staff, condition of the car
It turned out that I couldn't drive in Rome for most of Sunday 11 February because of a municipal car ban due to pollution. Rental agencies/companies should inform customers about these situations, as they are paying for a car in the expectation of being able to drive it!
February 12, 2018
Scratches on car
RobertJanuary 30, 2018
The car had to many damages
JUANJanuary 8, 2018
Courteous personnel
Drop off procedure
RobertJanuary 5, 2018
Car was current model and well appointed. Was exactly what we booked.
Very slow pick up.
MarcinDecember 30, 2017
Very good service and nice car. However the price could be lower :)
December 27, 2017
Friendly staff, efficient service
Narrow space in pick-up location Roma Termini
December 24, 2017
The pressure of tyre was row. The whole part of the vehicle was dirty. Definetely didn't checked any condition.
AlvaroDecember 18, 2017
There was not GPS available
GodwinDecember 7, 2017
The employee, the service and the product.
It was a bit hard finding the desk but that doesn't take away from the excellent service I got and the patience from Henry.
December 7, 2017
all great!
GeraldDecember 2, 2017
Value for money.
Getting from Airport to Pickup Point.
carmelNovember 20, 2017
maryNovember 14, 2017
Friendliness of the staff Value for the money
There is not a designated parking lot for the cars so at pick up you have to walk around and find it and upon return locate a parking space
November 13, 2017
Drop off car badly organuzed
November 11, 2017
Outside of car was extremely dusty and dirty (Very Clean inside) and masked a scratch at the back of the car. We only discovered this when it rained. While the hire company did not take any issue with the scratch, the period of uncertainty while we were travelling could have been avoided if the outside of the car was clean when initially hired.
November 3, 2017
Very friendly Hertz staff.
Car a bit damaged and not spotlessly clean. Drop off process unclear at Turin Airport.
November 2, 2017
Confusing set up at Venice where we dropped the car off There is a drop down barrier into a parking area (and car wash)outside the office but no sign to say come in and park,and it should say in which bays to park.A mini map on the sign would be good, or even one on the Hertz website site for Venice.
GaryOctober 29, 2017
excellent car. Excellent service
Office location a bit far
AntonioOctober 28, 2017
The fact I got what I ordered. And that it was quick to hand back.
Picking up the car took a while.
StephenOctober 27, 2017
Correct model supplied
No fuel station on main road from Rome to Return Car Park - cost us significant extra fuel charges. Also long walk to collect vehicle. Car not washed, had many in-noted scratches, staff not interested and simply locked up and went home !
MikeOctober 25, 2017
We used Hertz twice in zFlorence. They are tops in my book. HIGHLY RECOMMEND
WilliamOctober 24, 2017
GPS sent us to the wrong place more times than to the right place......
October 23, 2017
1 The fact that we weren't pressured into taking out extra insurance when we picked up the car at Lucca. 2 Dropping it off at Marco Polo airport was very easy and quick because there were plenty of staff available to deal with the number of customers.
No complaints at all
October 23, 2017
excellent car in good condition. exactly what We ordered. Just Perfect
October 23, 2017
Great car
Herz downtown is in an inconvenient location and the office is dirty and smells badly.
RonaldOctober 20, 2017
Car easy to use economical and very comfortable for its size
Everything ok - to make life easier car rental companies should have trolleys available for customers when dropping off as distance to airport or taxi too great to drag luggage to destination one needs to get to. End of triip one very tired and a bit of help would go a long way. We had 5 pieces of luggage to move to taxi stand.
WilliamOctober 19, 2017
Ease of return and helpfulness of the employees
October 18, 2017
The car was great; got a free upgrade. No problems with the car except the spare tyre was missing and we only realised once we dropped the car off.
When we dropped the car off in Naples, they checked if the spare tyre; there was no spare tyre. We had been driving around for the last 5 days without a spare. If we had of got a flat we would have been in a very large pickle. We didn't think to check the spare on pick up - so something for everyone to remember as the staff clearly didn't.
HaniOctober 18, 2017
October 18, 2017
Insurance was included with rental since unknown damage occurred during parking. This was fortunate as it made check-in painless.
Slow checkout of car.
NelsonOctober 16, 2017
Less people picking up cars from Hertz
The there is very little distance between the pedals and I found it necessary to drive in my socks as my size 11 shoes spread over both the brake and accelerator. Also the adjustment on the passenger seat was very restricted. Also not sure if Renault scenic was the same same group as the Volvo which was in the booking
October 14, 2017
easy airport transfers and good fiat tupo. fine for 4 of us. no sat nav but google maps excellent!
PaulOctober 14, 2017
The assistance and advice received from the staff
October 13, 2017
KeithOctober 11, 2017
Struggle to get from arrival point to eventual car pickup point.
ChristopherOctober 10, 2017
The service was very good. The gentleman behind the counter was very welcoming and helpful
October 10, 2017
The price was excellent and I was happy with the car. The only staff member at pick up was very nice.
I was not happy with the very long wait. There was no designated parking area for the rental cars.The car was parked quite a distance from the office so that I had to find the car myself, go back and forth as necessary as there was only 1 person working and she could not leave customers in the office. Very inefficient!
October 10, 2017
The location is difficult to find when returning the car. It needs better signposting . More information regarding Italian driving / parking /toll rules would have been useful .
richardOctober 8, 2017
nice upgrade very good condition and a nice car to drive
car wasn't cleaned before picking it up
richardOctober 8, 2017
the car was ready for us to pick up. We had all the necessary paperwork and it went through very quickly
The car hadn't been cleaned before we picked it up. We also had to inspect the car very carefully with the agent as there were a lot of scratches on it which hadn't been marked on the paperwork
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Hertz Rating
Very good
7.74218 / 10
10000+ ratings



What would you like to chat about?


All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.


We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*


Please wait

Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*


We will use your feedback to improve our responses.