Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Iceland

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Iceland and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

WenNovember 30, 2017
friendly staffs
9.4
MarioNovember 22, 2017
Price is good, easy pick-up and return
The car had a flaw at the left front door that remained partially open (1 cm) and wind constantly entered the vehicle
8.2
November 20, 2017
uncompetent staff, didn’t care to explain local laws
5.6
JanNovember 16, 2017
efficient service
8.0
November 13, 2017
Fast pickup, good condition of the car.
Car wasn't fully tanked at a pick up, however it says F to F policy.
9.4
PeterNovember 12, 2017
All good apart from comment opposite.
I only have one slight moan. Arrived just ahead of a storm and staff were keen to get us on the road ASAP. The petrol tank was not full, about 7 out of 8 bars. The girl said don’t worry just bring it back with the same. We realised we didn’t have anything to confirm this and had not taken a photo of the mileage or fuel gauge so returned full.
8.6
IstvánNovember 4, 2017
We had same size, but other type, witch was better.
8.0
StephenOctober 31, 2017
Car was clean, well-maintained and comfortable. The rental desk was easy to find and, once there, the staff were very helpful. The person dealing with me was quick and efficient.
Nothing at all: the experience was excellent.
9.2
October 28, 2017
Staff is helpful
Car is not clean
6.4
October 26, 2017
Really lovely staff member made it a great experience, easy location, great price, car was new and had lots of great features that made driving easier
8.6
COSTEL-CORNELIUOctober 25, 2017
Personnel's openness and professionalism
N/A
8.8
ChiaOctober 13, 2017
Overall everything was good.
None
8.2
WaiOctober 13, 2017
Overall was good. Car in good condition. Will rent from Thrifty again.
None.
8.2
October 10, 2017
Car was nice
When I picked the car up three ladies at the check in, no one offered to serve me.
6.8
October 10, 2017
When we picked up our car, the car key battery was low when inserted into the car. The initial response from staff was 'when it does not work, call the roadside assistance' which we did not find useful as we did not want to spend our holiday time waiting on roadside. After various attempts > 15min,finally the battery was changed and it worked fine.
7.6
MarkOctober 5, 2017
The customer service was very good and clear to understand.
The car had a number of dents and scratches at pick up and was probably one of the older cars in the fleet.
6.8
MohamadOctober 4, 2017
The car was good, low mileage car. Good spec overall. Did'nt expect to get such a good like new car.
8.0
October 1, 2017
Nice car, quick pick up time, car right at the door readily available.
Although it was easy enough to get used to we wasn't shown anything inside of the car, like how to drive it and functions etc. Going from a manual left hand drive to an automatic right hand drive may not be as easy as you think if you haven't done it before.
6.2
September 25, 2017
We think that we had an upgraded car? Thank you for that. Plenty of room in the Ford Kuga.
Car wasn't very clean as it was muddy around the boot area. Also the mats inside weren't the cleanest. It needed a valet, but didn't have one. Asked for a manual car, but had an automatic instead. No boot cover for the suitcases. Tyres needed air in them.
7.2
September 23, 2017
Short pick up process
Nothing much really.
6.8
September 18, 2017
Helpful staff and we were served quickly.
Bit of a walk to the terminal building but there was a bus if we had wanted to wait a few minutes
7.8
September 17, 2017
The guy who was responsible for our pick up (higher position in the branch) was very bored and did not have a positive aditude.
7.2
GrahamSeptember 9, 2017
Very quick and efficient car pick up by friendly member of stsff
Drop off was not so efficient- despite appearing to have a separate drop off office... a note on the door told us to go to the pick up office. This was very busy and has quite a wait. However as soon as it was my turn the drop off process was done v quickly.
6.6
MichaelSeptember 7, 2017
Good equipment on car Staff helpful with queries
The car (Mazda 6) - poor visibility despite a good number of driving aids. GPS not fully updated gro road closures (especially Route 42) Would be good to have a talk through of diver controls. Manual in Icelandic only.
6.8
September 6, 2017
Service was good and car was large enough for 5 plus luggage
Car was old and gear box terrible- it was an automatic but dipped and slowed every time it tried to change gear
7.8
September 3, 2017
Friendly staff at the counter
I would appreciate if check of the car was done with our presence
8.8
TimAugust 15, 2017
Simple and Straightforward near airport all round great experience
8.2
July 29, 2017
Spacious car; Diesel run which is economical
Cost is high with the insurance
9.0
AdrianJuly 27, 2017
A very pleasant car rental experience. Everything was ok. The car was exactly the one that I booked online (it rarely happens). The car was in a very good condition. The staff was nice and helpful.
9.0
SankarJuly 26, 2017
GPS has become a mandatory accessory in all cars. This should be by default part of the rental package.
8.6
July 25, 2017
Fast service. Easyness of getting the car. Friendly lady when we picked up the car.
Car was quite damaged. Not very premium. On the otherhand got the GPS for free Rental service agent ( young Guy) claimed first I increased the damage, luckily we proofed it was not the case.
7.0
July 25, 2017
Cleanliness of the car
Staff did not mention the fuel discount available for Thrifty customers
6.6
IanJuly 23, 2017
Everything
Nothing
8.8
July 19, 2017
The pick up from hotel to the Thrifty officd
Nothing all good
8.6
July 17, 2017
Kindly people en ecerything was alright!
Nothing
7.8
JonathanJuly 13, 2017
Very helpful staff and a better car than we ordered.
Having to get a shuttle bus to the car
8.4
July 13, 2017
Very quick
Always like cheaper prices
8.0
July 12, 2017
Good, prompt service, with no issues at all.
Filling up with fuel on the way back - there was no close petrol station.
8.4
TomazJuly 6, 2017
Very good choice of car for Islandic gravel and F roads! Recommend automatic gear, it's helpful on F road, with manual it would be quite a lot of shifting. Helpful staff!
9.0
June 12, 2017
Good
Shuttle took longer than 20 mins to arrive and checking the car for damage felt rushed.
6.4
MaxJune 12, 2017
it was very nice guy, that help us in reception
nothing
8.2
June 9, 2017
good car,easy to find the office
9.4
StephenJune 8, 2017
The gentleman that checked me in was extremely helpful and courteous. I will rent from Thrifty due to that alone.
NA
9.2
EdwinMay 30, 2017
Thor was the best customer service rep I've ever had at a car rental place. For that reason alone I would book again with this website and thrifty. He was so helpful and gave us suggestions on what to do in the area. I was really blown away by the level of service we received.
Nothing
9.2
DanielMay 19, 2017
The Customer service on both the receiving the vehicle and returning the vehicle - great staff
We waited for about 20 - 30 minutes for the Airport Hire Car shuttlebus. Maybe a bit more regular when you know you have flights coming in.
9.0
JohnMay 17, 2017
We had a new car, we got a lift back to our accommodation in the courtesy minibus. Quick efficient process. Nice staff.
8.4
WILLIAMMay 17, 2017
On pick up and drop off there was no waiting, we were seen to straight away by friendly staff and a nice touch was the free coffee machine, thankyou
No problems at all
8.2
MartinMay 13, 2017
Nice straff, good service.
Unfortunately there was a problem with the computers when we picked up the car. That's why it took some extra time. No ones fault, of course, and the staff did their best of the situation.
7.8
JohnMay 13, 2017
Friendly helpful staff when collecting car. Fuel discount card.
After dropping car off at Keflavik airport had a 15 minute wait outside in very cold windy conditions for shuttle bus to airport building. No bus arrived and then told it was less than 5 minutes to walk there! Somewhat annoying to say the least and about a dozen other people thought the same.
7.8
WilliamMay 11, 2017
We got the cars that we booked. The booking with Rentalcars was so easy.
The controls of the car wasn't explained...
8.4
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Iceland
Excellent
8.08333 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings