Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Iceland

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Iceland and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

ChristopherFebruary 23, 2017
We were late getting to our collection point, but easily found desk with phone to contact Thrifty. They came straight to get us. Car was brand new and immaculate. Came with helpful tips and map of petrol stations. Free coffee available at petrol stations. Staff really helpful. Easy to drop off in return as opened at 7am. Free return shuttle bus
Nil
8.6
SteveFebruary 23, 2017
Excellent location from airport, fast pickup if not the crowds together and fast dropoff..
Nothing much, new car good mantainance..
7.6
February 19, 2017
I thought the car was a bit smaller than the picture. It was not the same car as advertised but was apparently the same level. Thrifty office was not in the actual terminal but a courtesy bus driver away. This wasn't immediately obvious.
7.2
KhaiFebruary 18, 2017
gave a very good car, car is in very good condition.
8.8
February 8, 2017
After a few days driving the screen of :"ENGINE NEEDS SERVICE NOW" pop out and this was main concern as we were driving of snowing road condition. I called the telephone hotline immediately when I was able to make phone call and was told there was nothing wrong and just that they need to send the car for service when I return the car.
8.0
KennethJanuary 30, 2017
Very economical.
It was a little small with our family and luggage.
6.6
iainJanuary 23, 2017
The car was great, I've actually looked into buying one since getting home!
Finding the shuttle bus wasn't as easy as it should be, we found it quicker to walk to the airport after drop off than wait for the bus.
8.6
DiederickJanuary 19, 2017
1) The driver and passenger doors were not closing properly, which caused some unnecessary driving noise. Door hinges should be slightly adjusted. 2) The luggage compartment cover was missing.
7.2
January 13, 2017
The car was really nice, in good condition and very comfortable.
We would have liked more information on the rules while driving in Iceland (like speeding, road conditions etc). Apart from that no issues.
8.6
EliranJanuary 12, 2017
Everything in general.
Nothing.
8.8
January 9, 2017
really good. Iceland's weather was bad, but we met a very good staff, also a good car.
nothing, just pay attention to safe driving.
8.2
NeilJanuary 8, 2017
Swift pick up and drop off. Pleasant and helpful staff.
8.2
December 29, 2016
The counter staff were very helpful.
7.2
ChristopherDecember 24, 2016
Advice from Thrifty staff
Better if GPS included
8.0
PaulNovember 30, 2016
The easy of picking up the car and being able to dive away in no time. The car was clear on the inside.
The steering wheel was out of line, it needed tracking, also the key fob needed a new battery.
6.8
MarpinNovember 30, 2016
Collection was swift. Drop off was instantaneous. Perfect location. Perfect staff.
None.
8.6
AlbertsonNovember 30, 2016
Time to collect and drop car. Straightforward process.
Nothing.
9.0
November 21, 2016
The car was clean and tidy and you was easy to find and full tank of petrol is a good start.
On going round with the assistant to check for marks, we had just gone round the vehicle when my wife noticed a very bad scrape next to the door handle on the passenger side. This turned out just as well she did as when we returned the car we was asked about the mark and how it was done. Thankfully she found the paperwork from picking it up.
7.4
November 16, 2016
Sometimes navigation didn't find address which I put into.
7.4
SamanthaNovember 14, 2016
The staff were so friendly, particularly the guy we picked the car up from (so sorry, can't remember his name). Perfect first welcome to the country! The car was exactly as ordered and was very clean. Once we got to the place the whole process was very quick and easy both picking up and dropping off.
The courtesy bus could have been better signposted both in the airport and on the instructions given. It's actually really easy to find once you know where to go!
8.8
XaveNovember 9, 2016
Staff is helpful. Car is brand new and easy to drive
9.4
November 7, 2016
Good staff
8.6
November 6, 2016
Friendly staff Option of getting sat nav and portable wifi for extra
Had to wait for a shuttle bus (As per thrifty instructions) to take us from terminal to thrifty desk- waited about 20 minutes. If only we had known it was a 5 minute walk away we would have done that instead. Maybe offer this as an alternative for passengers
8.4
AlexOctober 27, 2016
Did not get the car I wanted. I received a Peugeot 308 instead of a Ford Focus.
8.0
AllanOctober 17, 2016
Good well maintained car. Easy documentation, no hard sell of add-ons. Quick pick up. Quick drop off and they took us back to airport in the car so no need to unload and catch bus. Made sure that car was suitable for longer rental changing first car as he wasn't happy with tyres.
Not easy to find pick up location for courtesy bus, almost as far to walk to bus as it would have to the office.
6.4
DuncanOctober 16, 2016
It was an automatic
8.4
NICHOLASSeptember 26, 2016
I like the no-frills approach to getting the car, it was very easy, clear and prior conditions of the car have already been pointed out to me along with documentary proof for my keepsake. Staff was quick to attend without issue.
Clear signs from airport departure to car rental area should be made more prominent. There were others who were not sure where to board the shuttle bus to the car rental desk.
7.4
September 19, 2016
All car rental groups are within walking distance of the curb (taking the rental bus is not necessary).
When we had an issue of the car, we didn't have a means (nor direction from the firm) of how to get it addressed.
6.0
EmmanuelleSeptember 11, 2016
The car
The GPS was not really good
8.4
September 10, 2016
Registration and returning process done very quickly.
No effort from the staff at the counter to explain briefly on the terms and driving ruling in Iceland.
8.0
paulAugust 26, 2016
Staff were excellent, friendly, knowledgeable and helpful in giving advice on the vehicle, Iceland and its road hazards. Quick service. Better price than the competition.
8.4
August 22, 2016
Car was very scratched up Tyre sensor warning light was already on when the car was picked up
7.4
LijunAugust 16, 2016
Staff: Efficiency Friendliness Excellent English
Car: - In good shape in general, but I had a flat tyre due to its bad condition (end of the season - bad luck). - I got a fine in a parking place in Akureyri where one had to put the disc, but I could not due to the absence of a parking disc in the car.
7.4
JacekAugust 3, 2016
Pick up from a hotel. The staff was very helpful. The car was in very good condition (Mazda 3).
8.0
July 30, 2016
Car was in perfect condition and very comfortable to drive with. Due of personal illness we needed to extend the rental,that was possible without any further problems.
As a dammage on the windscreen occured it took a long time to get the car back and the information I got from the counter staff was incomplete. No seating possibility at the office.
7.0
July 11, 2016
Perfect car and very smooth operation.
:-)
8.6
NicolaeJune 27, 2016
Professional staff and very helpfull
N/A
8.8
ROBERTJune 25, 2016
Car supplied was excellent, roomy and economical. Met at the airport and driven to the rental location.
The three lads who did our paperwork seemed to be not too sure as to what to do. The lady who checked us back in was extremely proficient, I have never seen a car checked so thoroughly upon return!
8.4
JimJune 25, 2016
Online booking made the process easy and quick, with access to a wide range of vehicles. Access to all of the major rental companies enabled me to choose the right vehicle at the right price.
7.6
June 22, 2016
The Citroen we rented did not have enough power for some occasions.
8.0
June 22, 2016
Very nice car! Really good to drive and was worth the money.
The car was not clean when we got it... Smelled of beer! Not fun when you spend a couple of thousands to rent a car and it smells...
6.6
June 12, 2016
Car was dirty and needed an alignment
6.2
June 12, 2016
Speed and efficiency of staff once located
Difficulty finding the rep had to phone to make contact. Slightly unsettling on arrival
7.6
ChanindhMay 24, 2016
Car was quite new and in excellent condition.
No English user instruction book in car.
7.8
GlennMay 2, 2016
Car was perfect for what we needed.
8.4
April 20, 2016
staff was helpful and great manners
8.0
peteApril 19, 2016
Pretty much everything
You had run out of free coffee when we collected the car and you had also run out when we took it back 4 days later.
7.2
BogdanApril 15, 2016
Thrifty was awesome and so was the staff!!!
Nothing.
9.4
April 13, 2016
ease of pick up and drop off. staff. unexpectedly got an automatic car which was a bonus
none
8.6
April 8, 2016
They did give us the car we had booked after we queried why the car we had been given was smaller and not a 7 seater.
When we queried why the service light was on we were told it was a warning a service was due when in fact a service was overdue.
7.8
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Iceland
Excellent
8.16667 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings