Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Iceland

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Iceland and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

StephenJune 8, 2017
The gentleman that checked me in was extremely helpful and courteous. I will rent from Thrifty due to that alone.
NA
9.2
EdwinMay 30, 2017
Thor was the best customer service rep I've ever had at a car rental place. For that reason alone I would book again with this website and thrifty. He was so helpful and gave us suggestions on what to do in the area. I was really blown away by the level of service we received.
Nothing
9.2
DanielMay 19, 2017
The Customer service on both the receiving the vehicle and returning the vehicle - great staff
We waited for about 20 - 30 minutes for the Airport Hire Car shuttlebus. Maybe a bit more regular when you know you have flights coming in.
9.0
JohnMay 17, 2017
We had a new car, we got a lift back to our accommodation in the courtesy minibus. Quick efficient process. Nice staff.
8.4
WILLIAMMay 17, 2017
On pick up and drop off there was no waiting, we were seen to straight away by friendly staff and a nice touch was the free coffee machine, thankyou
No problems at all
8.2
MartinMay 13, 2017
Nice straff, good service.
Unfortunately there was a problem with the computers when we picked up the car. That's why it took some extra time. No ones fault, of course, and the staff did their best of the situation.
7.8
JohnMay 13, 2017
Friendly helpful staff when collecting car. Fuel discount card.
After dropping car off at Keflavik airport had a 15 minute wait outside in very cold windy conditions for shuttle bus to airport building. No bus arrived and then told it was less than 5 minutes to walk there! Somewhat annoying to say the least and about a dozen other people thought the same.
7.8
WilliamMay 11, 2017
We got the cars that we booked. The booking with Rentalcars was so easy.
The controls of the car wasn't explained...
8.4
JamesMay 11, 2017
We got the cars that we booked. The booking with Rentalcars was so easy.
The controls of the car wasn't explained...
8.4
RichardMay 6, 2017
Car was very new. Quick and easy collecting car in office
Pick up and drop off times seem long but this included waiting for shuttle bus, which cannot be avoided
7.6
May 4, 2017
car type corresponded to our needs
very dirty, a lot of dammages
4.8
May 2, 2017
Lovely car, great spec and reasonable approach in terms of cleanliness on return!
Little expensive but other than that no real quibbles.
8.2
April 25, 2017
I did want to make some changes during the weekend,and was not happy with that the desk on duty could not make a decision without connecting his boss.He had gone home for the weekend,and I didnt get any response.
8.6
April 24, 2017
Very friendly and helpful staff.
8.8
April 20, 2017
I booked at the Reykjavik Domestic airport instead of KEF Intl airport. Thrifty staff were able to transfer my reservation and made our experience so much better. Will certainly book with Thrifty again. Excellent service.
6.8
April 19, 2017
Was worried we would be charged for some small, irrelevant thing, as I had read stories of that happening. In the end, the process was smooth and fair.
The assistant at the beginning wasn't overly helpful/knowledgeable about what insurance we may need, but it wasn't a big deal.
8.6
April 19, 2017
quick turnaround time
Car was not fully fuelled
7.8
April 14, 2017
the car was in good condition, clean, service was fast.
there was no manual in the car: we could use it because the 'check tires' light was on and to check the needed pressure... Now we had to look it up online, which is expensive abroad and is not so easy since we didn't know the year the car was built (apparently made a difference...)
7.6
April 12, 2017
the car was making sounds which make me very uncomfortable driving it
5.8
GamApril 10, 2017
The car is fairly new, clocked only 4419km. i like the option to retract the shade on the roof.
More clarity on the use of the GPS. No staff to meet me at the arrival hall and too small signage to the the shuttle pick up point.
7.4
April 8, 2017
staff were very helpful and every thing ran smoothly, no problems,it took a while to get the car hired, but the hire center was busy,so know worries,best to be busy!..thank you all very much.
8.8
April 4, 2017
driving on the Iceland in beautiful citroen at all!!
9.4
April 3, 2017
ease if use of Retalcars.com website and comparison pricing of multiple providers.
Staff person during pick up very unfriendly, borderline rude. (Luckily however, the person who handled the return was perfectly fine and friendly.)
5.8
April 3, 2017
Payment system only with credit card.
9.0
March 31, 2017
Car smelt like smoke and was quite worn down on the interior for the amount of kilometers it had (40k).
7.4
KarenMarch 29, 2017
It was clean, tidy, handled well in the winter conditions
8.6
March 27, 2017
Car was in good condition with a good set of winter tyres fitted. Helpful and efficient staff. All dents and chips were noted and logged on the rental form before we got there. No quibbles when returning the car. Would hire from thrifty again.
8.6
March 14, 2017
We got the car we booked, and it was excellent for the conditions we found ourselves in (snow). Service was as we wanted - quick, helpful.
Transfer from airport to Thrifty could have been quicker. it took 15-20 minutes. Could have walked in far less time.
8.2
ChristopherFebruary 23, 2017
We were late getting to our collection point, but easily found desk with phone to contact Thrifty. They came straight to get us. Car was brand new and immaculate. Came with helpful tips and map of petrol stations. Free coffee available at petrol stations. Staff really helpful. Easy to drop off in return as opened at 7am. Free return shuttle bus
Nil
8.6
SteveFebruary 23, 2017
Excellent location from airport, fast pickup if not the crowds together and fast dropoff..
Nothing much, new car good mantainance..
7.6
February 19, 2017
I thought the car was a bit smaller than the picture. It was not the same car as advertised but was apparently the same level. Thrifty office was not in the actual terminal but a courtesy bus driver away. This wasn't immediately obvious.
7.2
KhaiFebruary 18, 2017
gave a very good car, car is in very good condition.
8.8
February 8, 2017
After a few days driving the screen of :"ENGINE NEEDS SERVICE NOW" pop out and this was main concern as we were driving of snowing road condition. I called the telephone hotline immediately when I was able to make phone call and was told there was nothing wrong and just that they need to send the car for service when I return the car.
8.0
KennethJanuary 30, 2017
Very economical.
It was a little small with our family and luggage.
6.6
iainJanuary 23, 2017
The car was great, I've actually looked into buying one since getting home!
Finding the shuttle bus wasn't as easy as it should be, we found it quicker to walk to the airport after drop off than wait for the bus.
8.6
DiederickJanuary 19, 2017
1) The driver and passenger doors were not closing properly, which caused some unnecessary driving noise. Door hinges should be slightly adjusted. 2) The luggage compartment cover was missing.
7.2
January 13, 2017
The car was really nice, in good condition and very comfortable.
We would have liked more information on the rules while driving in Iceland (like speeding, road conditions etc). Apart from that no issues.
8.6
EliranJanuary 12, 2017
Everything in general.
Nothing.
8.8
January 9, 2017
really good. Iceland's weather was bad, but we met a very good staff, also a good car.
nothing, just pay attention to safe driving.
8.2
NeilJanuary 8, 2017
Swift pick up and drop off. Pleasant and helpful staff.
8.2
December 29, 2016
The counter staff were very helpful.
7.2
ChristopherDecember 24, 2016
Advice from Thrifty staff
Better if GPS included
8.0
PaulNovember 30, 2016
The easy of picking up the car and being able to dive away in no time. The car was clear on the inside.
The steering wheel was out of line, it needed tracking, also the key fob needed a new battery.
6.8
MarpinNovember 30, 2016
Collection was swift. Drop off was instantaneous. Perfect location. Perfect staff.
None.
8.6
AlbertsonNovember 30, 2016
Time to collect and drop car. Straightforward process.
Nothing.
9.0
November 21, 2016
The car was clean and tidy and you was easy to find and full tank of petrol is a good start.
On going round with the assistant to check for marks, we had just gone round the vehicle when my wife noticed a very bad scrape next to the door handle on the passenger side. This turned out just as well she did as when we returned the car we was asked about the mark and how it was done. Thankfully she found the paperwork from picking it up.
7.4
November 16, 2016
Sometimes navigation didn't find address which I put into.
7.4
SamanthaNovember 14, 2016
The staff were so friendly, particularly the guy we picked the car up from (so sorry, can't remember his name). Perfect first welcome to the country! The car was exactly as ordered and was very clean. Once we got to the place the whole process was very quick and easy both picking up and dropping off.
The courtesy bus could have been better signposted both in the airport and on the instructions given. It's actually really easy to find once you know where to go!
8.8
XaveNovember 9, 2016
Staff is helpful. Car is brand new and easy to drive
9.4
November 7, 2016
Good staff
8.6
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Iceland
Excellent
8.13333 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings