Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Sixt logo - rentalcars.com

Sixt Reviews Iceland

Read 50 customer reviews on Sixt in Iceland and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

January 13, 2017
Verry god.
8.2
December 26, 2016
Car exactly what we booked.
No manual or instructions in the car. Counter staff didn't take us to car or explain how it worked.
7.2
December 5, 2016
Friendly staff and ease of completing the booking
Front passenger door had a faulty locking mechanism - advised the member of staff.
7.8
November 30, 2016
Excellent staff. They didn't pressure me to buy unnecessary additions to my contract.
9.0
November 28, 2016
Fast drop off service and extremely friendly staff.
Prepaid fuel was expensive compared to local filling stations.
8.2
ElspethNovember 6, 2016
Politeness and helpfulness of staff and appraise ness of premises
8.0
October 22, 2016
Look for good staff person for car handover.
Check the invoice before paying (we were charged with 2 days more than car hire for insurance). Check car tyres - they are overpressurised: this is not safe.
8.8
CherylOctober 19, 2016
Staff were extremely polite and efficient. There were no hidden charges and everything went smoothly. Very pleased with the car hire.
Should be made clearer that a shuttle bus is required. I had a number to call on arrival at the airport and it took a long time to be answered. It would have been easier to give directions to Shutitle bus stop.
8.2
October 16, 2016
Sorry for the delay. Still travelling. Was an excellent choice. Very good service. Would use u again.
My fault. Chose to small a car.
7.8
NicholasOctober 14, 2016
The car I ended up with was quite nice. Dropping it off went easily
Pick up was a bit of a shambles. There was a long queue, and it seems the staff had problems because cars had been returned late. It was rather different from the slick service I experienced in the US.
6.4
October 12, 2016
took over 2 hours to get car as contract said we weren't going to be there until much later than our arrival time
6.8
October 10, 2016
Clean, new car, staff helpful. Free shuttle from airport.
Car was 'damage free' but actually had a dent in the passenger door. We had to phone up about this to confirm it wasn't us that damaged it!
8.2
October 4, 2016
Very friendly and helpful staff. I especially appreciated the lack of any attempt to sell me "extras" I didn't want or need.
Getting to the Sixt office at Keflavik airport was more difficult than I would have liked. Many rental agencies have a desk in the arrivals hall, which makes things easier. On the whole, though, this was not a major problem, just a minor inconvenience.
7.6
GerardSeptember 19, 2016
As I've spelt-out above
The cost was considerably more than what I would normally pay, in Spain for instance. But then the cost of living appears to be considerably more in Iceland, than Spain
8.2
AnssiSeptember 17, 2016
I didnt likr thr drop ofg. It took too much tumr
6.0
GIORGIOSeptember 5, 2016
Lack of burocracy, availability of models, simple and clear explanation by the clecks.
There was a little past demage on a posterior fanal which was not showed at the pick-up moment. So I thought it could be my Fault, which was not: it was already done by the previous driver. I realized the truth only at the end of the trip.
8.0
DaoudaSeptember 1, 2016
There welcome of the personal :)
9.0
August 27, 2016
Friendly and helpfull staff. Good car
The walk back to Keflafik aftger dropping off the car.
8.2
DennisAugust 16, 2016
Icelandic personalities - very friendly but definitely businesslike. Staff treated you like it was important.
nothing really
8.2
August 3, 2016
I needed to return the car two hours later and was able to arrange an extension by calling.
9.4
August 2, 2016
the organization
-
7.2
July 27, 2016
Exact car ordered, delivered.
Cost, but typical for Iceland.
7.8
July 16, 2016
Well responding car with very good chairs, friendly service people, the pendelbus for free 24/7 at the airport was VERY helpful
Coming into Keflavik, it was not clear straightaway where to find the car rental premises. (About your survey: there was no option in the question "who was in the car with you maybe friend or partner?": I was with a friend, but had to put GROUP)
9.0
July 10, 2016
Excellent car and value
Had to wait awhile in line to rent the car
9.0
GaryJune 30, 2016
Research had told us that a 4-wheel drive vehicle was not required for our trip on--and a bit off--the Ring Road, but I was a bit concerned. In fact, the car performed admirably. Smaller than the cars we usually drive, it did take some getting used to and was a bit slow in climbing mode, but fun to drive over all. And cute!
Midway on the first and longest stretch of our trip, the tire pressure light came on and continued to do so throughout the trip, though every time we checked it seemed normal. Also, the electronic door locks stopped working, which meant that even when the doors were opened manually, the trunk could not be opened and could only be accessed through
7.2
DavidJune 20, 2016
Quick service at the desk
Confusion on arrival; no rep, no sign, had to ask others. Sixt should explain to incoming renters in advance to avoid confusion.
7.8
MarkJune 15, 2016
Friendly efficient pick up.
9.0
May 26, 2016
Staff, procedures, car,
Prices (but everything expensive in Iceland) , had no maps available.
8.2
May 9, 2016
Staff member at reykyvick not super friendly ... Just ok
As above . Staff member could have been more friendly
7.4
PaulMay 7, 2016
Automatic
Pre paying for fuel on returning car
7.6
NikosMay 3, 2016
The upgrade of the car
The rental desk is outside,but very close, the airport. A shutlle bus will get you there.
9.0
April 29, 2016
Great experience
9.0
IanApril 10, 2016
Very good service and courteous staff.
9.4
April 9, 2016
We had trouble with our car, the first day it shook and felt uncomfortable to drive because we were worried if it was safe. We returned to the rental spot the next day to see if they could help us with the problem or have any solutions. They immediately took a look at the car and without us asking they offered us a new car. Thanks!
8.2
NavneetApril 7, 2016
This car was clean and new, and in great shape! I liked the features, like the heated seats and heated steering wheel. It was easy and safe to drive.
It's a small and light car, so the only trouble was on a steep and snowy hill.
8.2
March 22, 2016
Nav seems not working
8.6
March 20, 2016
Good value for money.
We booked satnav, or thought we had booked and paid for, in advance only to realise this was only a request and had to be paid for locally. Why can't we book and pay in advance. Similarly, additional driver, windscreen damage, etc. Had of this been done in advance you would have scored 10.
8.2
ColinFebruary 23, 2016
Really friendly and helpful staff.
7.4
ChristineFebruary 22, 2016
Best and friendliest customer service from Car rental company ever
8.4
February 21, 2016
Great service
8.4
January 18, 2016
No counter at the airport; had to take a shuttle bus out of the airport.
8.6
November 16, 2015
GPS touch screen was temperamental. Would have preferred studded tyres.
8.0
LynnNovember 3, 2015
The pick up and drop off.
No sign at the airport telling us what to do, had to ring them.
7.2
October 31, 2015
Staff was very professional and kind
Confusion as to when and where to obtain rental
7.4
October 18, 2015
they offered additional protection option/price while full protection has been paid to rentalcars.com
7.2
JulieOctober 1, 2015
Good friendly and quick service
Bus to the car Uniform No built in Sat Nav
8.6
September 19, 2015
Hard sell for additional insurance.
8.4
JamesSeptember 5, 2015
Manager quickly resolved the problem when we were assigned a manual car rather than automatic.
First day for Sixt employee at pickup. Not a good experience. No instructions on the paperwork or on the GPS regards navigating back to Sixt. It's obvious when within eyesight of the location but until then... Might be helpful to advise at pickup that 'no US payment cards work at gas stations with automatic payment terminals. Have to find a staffed gas station.'
5.6
August 25, 2015
Friendlinesd
Getting shuttle was hastle
6.0
August 17, 2015
Great people
Car needed better clean
8.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Sixt Rating
Iceland
Very good
7.7 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings