Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Budget logo - rentalcars.com

Budget Reviews Iceland

Read 50 customer reviews on Budget in Iceland and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

michaelNovember 23, 2017
It was all good.
Na.
8.8
November 22, 2017
All was fine.
Nothing.
9.2
November 22, 2017
Staff was very helpful even though we were several hours late from our pickup time
8.6
November 16, 2017
Great car, nice staff and a good price.
It was a bit hard to find where to returen the car.
8.8
JasonNovember 15, 2017
Car was perfect for the snowy conditions.
Counter staff at pick up could have been more friendly & some people behind us waited well over an hour to pick up their car.
6.6
PaulNovember 14, 2017
Good drop off service
Car was a little dirty on the outside so couldn't see possiblescrat he's or marks when inspecting the car before taking car.
6.8
November 13, 2017
New car, friendly fast and efficient counter service. Made a car collection and deliver location change to the booking without any issue at the rental counter.
Tire pressure had to be adjusted on the second day of rental. Tires all had different pressure levels. Very difficult to get hold of Budget by phone.
7.8
RichardNovember 9, 2017
Offered extras, automatic car.
Queue on arrival to pick up car. (15 minutes) Drop off was remote location with a 10 minute walk to the terminal. Bus service was not available.
8.0
November 9, 2017
Excellent customer service.
Avis/Budget's 'downtown Reykjavik' office is actually quite far from the city centre (nearly a 60-minute walk). It'd be great if they could rename the office or at least let customers know Reykjavik Domestic Airport is the closest to the city centre. Apart from that, great service. Thank you,
9.2
November 9, 2017
Good service and excellent staff
7.0
CharlesNovember 7, 2017
Very friendly counter assistant at car pick-up Budget desk in terminal building
No clear signs to the actual Budget return zone and where to actually leave the car
8.2
Susan-AnneNovember 5, 2017
The collection of the car was so easy. All the previous damage was listed in a clear table and because it was dark I was advised to check the car in the morning and take pics if I noticed anything else. Staff were really friendly and helpful too.
I’d booked a Hyundai i20 but got a Ford Fiesta. The Hyundai looks bigger and I didn’t feel a Fiesta was the same group. Maybe that’s more personal choice.
7.2
November 4, 2017
Very quick drop off
Slow pick up. Had to go back inside to discuss minor scratch. That took along time as everyone nehind desk was busy. Eventually someone came out with me which i appreciated. Scratches were minor but were noted.
8.2
MaryNovember 3, 2017
easy to use, compact car.
The cigarette lighters didn't work. I bought two chargers and couldn't get them to work. The usb connection did work, but didn't keep up the the usage.
9.8
SharonOctober 31, 2017
Value, ease, friendliness of staff
Being told about the full tank and that if only half full would still lose ALL of the amount already taken for a full tank. Should have been explained before I opted to take this option
9.2
IOANNISOctober 30, 2017
The car was in very good condition and new.
During the pick up the employee just gave me the papers with the marked damages and then had to go to check them by myself. When I went there the car had 2 unreported damages and the one of them was quite big which could cost me much if I couldn't detect it as it was low on the door. I had to go all the way back as there was no one at the parking.
8.4
October 27, 2017
Some technical problem caused the doors to unlock at all times. Felt unsecure.
8.4
natwaraOctober 25, 2017
Everything was good
8.8
October 24, 2017
Felt very reliable and safe in the car. Had no problems with the vehicle, perfect!
The car had only just been re-cleaned, and was totally wet on picking it up - including the seats.
8.6
October 23, 2017
Good service
7.4
MiraOctober 19, 2017
tire pressure of the right back tire was low when we got the car so we immediately had to go and fill it up
6.4
October 15, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff
9.8
AliceOctober 12, 2017
The in car computer system was great for linking to your phone.
Though one of the cheapest options around It was still on the pricy side for a 5 day rental. But I guess that's just Iceland in general! When you look at it comparatively it's reasonable.
8.6
October 12, 2017
Hard to find the car in the lot.
8.0
charlesOctober 10, 2017
Car was in good shape, worked well for the 5 days with 4 people and luggage.
VERY long line to pick up the car. No other rental agency had anyone in their line, over an hour to pick it up.
8.6
carlOctober 10, 2017
Not the car I ordered. Several scratches on the car wasn't marked - had to go back with film proof to get the record updated. Irritating.
7.0
BrianOctober 9, 2017
The car was very comfortable and clean, got everything I expected for a great price.
Like much of the other reviews stated, the wait was a little bit longer than I would have liked but really wasn't a big deal and I got a great deal so no complaints.
8.2
October 3, 2017
Helpfulness of staff.
Usually when you pick up a rental you are given a map showing how to get out and return the car. While the clerk gave me verbal directions, they were hard to follow and took me an hour out of the way. I recommend a printed map.
7.2
ArnaudOctober 2, 2017
We received an upgrade and the staff at the counter were very helpfull
Long queue, busiest car rental desk at Kev airport.
7.6
October 1, 2017
Pick up at terminal.
1. Drop off at off-site location. 2. Windscreen wipers in poor condition. 3. Had to walk from drop off to the terminal building.
5.6
September 30, 2017
Clean,new car.
7.4
September 27, 2017
I felt that although we were advised the car we received was in the same group as the one we ordered, it felt that it was a downgrade.
8.0
September 26, 2017
Representative very helpful and knowledgeable about her job
Massive queue to collect the car
7.4
September 20, 2017
The car I ordered was delayed and after a little wait (15 minutes) I got an upgrade to a much better car. The staff were very helpful.
The car I ordered wasn't there and had to wait to get a upgrade but it was worth waiting for.
8.2
September 20, 2017
Fast pickup. Drop-off after hours.
The location of the office, it was a bit too far out for my taste.
7.8
September 18, 2017
got upgraded several classes over my original rental.
Original car was not available. First option offered was dirty, muddy with many unreported damages and dents. Staff at the counter did not believe when I reported the condition of the car and went to check by themselves. Finally got offered another upgrade. Quite nice car, however I was late for the meetings due to the time at the counter.
8.8
September 18, 2017
Great Service
nothing
9.0
PeterSeptember 17, 2017
Reliable, well-maintained vehicle Courteous staff
Nothing
8.8
CharlesSeptember 17, 2017
Great gas mileage. Good fit for the trip. More than sufficient power for the roads.
Manual was not in English.
9.4
DonaldSeptember 16, 2017
Ease of rental.
No signage directing to the drop-off site. Drop-off area in the dark. Rep using a flashlight to inspect the car. Should be a well lite area.
9.2
September 15, 2017
Excellent car for the Iceland roads. Excellent addition of the offer to rent the wi-fi. The wi-fi helped us to feel like we could be rescued if we got stuck somewhere. Counterperson was friendly, patient, and helpful. Person at the drop-off also very patient and helpful.
I ended up spending a fortune for insurances which I usually do not do. Have read scary stories of people having to pay for charges if they are in an accident. Maybe you could offer some kind of package for insurances so I wouldn't spend about three times the price of the car to insure it. Shuttle not very helpful at drop-off.
8.0
johnSeptember 13, 2017
I was able to swap cars a couple days after not liking the first car.
I didn't like the first car. It had 7 speed manual transmission which hard to drive in icelandic traffic.
5.6
September 12, 2017
Returning the car was slightly confusing and challenging to find the budget return
6.2
September 11, 2017
The lady to drop off the car was very friendly, very quick, very nice to me.
9.0
September 10, 2017
Everything fast and easy
9.2
September 9, 2017
Had difficulty finding drop off location. Not told when I picked up car
7.6
September 9, 2017
Convenient pickup location
Slow return process, needs automation. Slow shuttle transfer....
8.6
ReneSeptember 5, 2017
It tolk long time to deliver the car, it was done in a very ineffenci way. When i normal return cars other places it take less than 3 min
7.0
ningAugust 31, 2017
High efficiency service
Price
5.8
LukaszAugust 29, 2017
Very helpfull staff.
Big que.
7.4
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Budget Rating
Iceland
Very good
7.83333 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings