Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Budget logo - rentalcars.com

Budget Reviews Iceland

Read 50 customer reviews on Budget in Iceland and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

JamesJanuary 9, 2017
Car was switched due to availability from the Skoda Octavia Estate to a Toyota Aurius wagon. The car was excellent as we drove around Iceland in all types of weather conditions ranging from snow, sleet, rain, and wind. GPS was a lifesaver for navigating around Iceland.
Car prices are high in Iceland compared to St John USVI and other places we have rented from, but it may be related to the wind and other weather conditions. Took an hour at the airport to get our car.
8.2
stevenDecember 13, 2016
only thing i would say is i booked on line and thought it was with budget and it was a third party then they were trying to up sell me for insurance i already had this seems to always happen and it is off putting
8.4
SimonDecember 3, 2016
New car - nice and clean, convenient location, easy and quick returns process.
Hyundai i10 very uncomfortable seats (at least for a tall guy) and no lumbar support adjustment is a recipe for backache. Counter process was a bit chaotic when picking up the car and took a long time... but then the lady was a new trainee so I guess this would not normally be the case. They do not provide any kind of map at all so bring one!
8.4
GilesNovember 24, 2016
Really good value for money, easy to pick up from the airport, fuel efficient, comfortable.
9.0
EricNovember 22, 2016
Car was great, the Staff were attentive and professional, I would like to express my thanks to the guy in the drop off as I left my sunglasses in the car, didn't realise until after security but he managed to get them back to me before my flight! Nice one.....thank you.
8.8
November 17, 2016
The customerservice Was excellent & the staff member particularly helpful
9.4
November 10, 2016
Transfer by mini bus to departures
Staff said on pick up not to go on gravel roads as they would be able to tell. But the paper work said you could but must slow down and more care needed.
9.0
KatieNovember 7, 2016
Never rented a car abroad before but on weighing up the expense of public transport in Iceland the remoteness of the areas we wanted to visit we decided this was our best option! Was a little bit hesitant because we had read of the bad Road conditions so I rang a Budget representative beforehand. She assured me that the car was fully insured.
Nothing.
8.4
November 6, 2016
price,easy procedure
1.waited too long to pick up. 2.wipers worn out( and it was raining hard) 3. fuel tap not opening properly.
6.8
November 5, 2016
Very smooth. There was a queue on arrival so it took a while but apart from that it was great.
7.2
KlavdijNovember 5, 2016
Very efficient and nice stuff at the counter, clean car, everything works. Satisfied with service.
Non.
8.4
PavithrenOctober 27, 2016
Value for money car. Fitted everyone perfectly.
long waiting time to collect car.
7.6
AndrewOctober 24, 2016
Easy to find
Pick up staff were very helpful, but spent too long dealing with other customers and we had to wait a very long time to get the car - it looked they were giving one couple in particular a wealth of info on the island, good for them but not good for everyone else waiting
8.0
DavidOctober 17, 2016
Competitive price and free upgrade.
Staffadvised that there was no damage and the onus was on us to check the car and report to the desk before we left. We checked as thoroughly as we could in heavy rain and had to return to the terminal to have it marked up. We could have been charged for damage for not noticing it on collection. Scrutinous checkin should be applied also atcheckout.
6.8
GeirOctober 8, 2016
Good to drive What I expected Good price
Too long to wait to get the car
8.4
NielsOctober 2, 2016
When we drop the car, the Avis control person found a chip in the frontscreen. It must have been there when we got it, but we hadn't noted it, so we had a bad case!But she was honest and found it on the internal documents, so it wasn't something we had done! THANKS FOR HONESTNES!
That it was not pointed out to us that there was a chip in the frontscreen when we picked up the car! It was minute, but it was there, easy to see when you first saw it! But easy to overlook when 'screening' the car for damages.
7.0
AlanSeptember 26, 2016
Car was new and clean, upgrade was good. Staff at Reyk. downtown v. helpful and efficient (also liked heavy metal, which can only be a good thing, in my opinion ;-) )
Not enough staff at the desk at Keflavik. Long wait to get car.
6.8
September 23, 2016
The car was clean and reliable.
The almost 2 hour wait in line to pick up the car was not acceptable and there did not appear to be any reason for it.
7.0
September 20, 2016
Was charged more on my credit card than agreed by staff in a telephone conversation. Also Have had to make a claim against this policy,but have glad no response of even receipt of this claim.
6.0
SandraSeptember 20, 2016
It was a bit difficult to find the drop off building in the dark
9.2
MartynSeptember 19, 2016
Clean car, cheap to run.
The time it took to pick up the car, massive queue for the combined Budget / Avis desk at Keflavik Airport.
7.4
BertrandSeptember 18, 2016
All was fine
Nothing at all
8.8
StuartSeptember 16, 2016
Rental desk was in the arrivals hall, all the service points were had staff at them and the queue was small when compared to the other major car hire firms. The place was busy and did not mind the 20 or so minutes it took to be served. Drop off was a breeze. Took the shuttle bus rather than do the 5 min walk to the terminal.
Nothing came to notice.
8.4
September 13, 2016
Very helpful staff
8.8
NiklasSeptember 10, 2016
Window dirty on inside. Hard to see the first night before opportunity to buy rag and wipes.
8.2
JamesAugust 30, 2016
It was all OK. Everything worked. The Rentalcars full protection was welcome additional cover to Budget's local cover level (not that we needed it).
Car was a bit grubby, had had a rushed wash, rubber mats full of water. But no big deal. Rear door wiper blade worn out so couldn't effectively clean rear screen ... should have been picked up at inspection. No showing you round the car, like where is the spare and jack ... Took ages to work out how to open the fuel filler flap ...
6.6
August 21, 2016
Everithing went fine with the car. Thats is a must.
Too much queue at the check-in. Getting the car was awfully long.
7.4
August 17, 2016
Helpful staff member when picked car up - gave us lots of useful local information and advice. Petrol pump at drop off (useful as had forgotten to fill up...!)
7.2
InesAugust 14, 2016
car was great, the service was very good.
Nothing
8.6
ChetAugust 5, 2016
Roadability. Nice to get into a stick shift again.
No rear wipers.
8.6
FABIOAugust 1, 2016
Car was ready and all in order...no problems
extra liability insurance sold on-site was more expensive than via rentalcars.com
8.2
June 30, 2016
Service of staff
The car was a bit run down.
7.8
NorbertJune 30, 2016
Good service!
Nothing.
9.0
DerekJune 12, 2016
Nothing in particular
Windscreen wipers in poor condition
7.0
AndrewJune 12, 2016
Everything
9.4
June 11, 2016
Economy Fuel
Dirty when picked up...
7.0
TimothyJune 10, 2016
The car met all my expectations
Rear window wiper needed a new blade
8.6
AdamJune 6, 2016
Relatively new, very clean car, which ran very well and was economical with fuel. Didn't try to force extras onto us and efficient check out and check in.
Nothing
8.6
June 3, 2016
Driver's windscreen wiper was not very good.
8.0
June 3, 2016
Tim to collect car..large queue and only one person working
8.6
JorgeJune 2, 2016
car
Very long wait at check in. At drop off no clear sign of car rental or drop off box
6.6
June 1, 2016
Good basic car.
It took forever to pick up the car. The car didn't have bluetooth.
7.4
RafaelMay 28, 2016
New car, very clean.
Long time waiting to return the car.
8.4
May 23, 2016
Great car, lovely and easy to drive.
Car was dirty - would have been nice if it was cleaned inside and out prior to our picking it up. It also had a lot of scratches and dents on it, they were noted, but not every one - it would have been difficult to but it did make me a little anxious I would be blamed following our rental - saying this I wasn't and had no issues when I returned it.
7.6
ReimaMay 21, 2016
Navigator & wifi (extra)
8.2
May 13, 2016
The up grade was appreciated. The GPS.
The space for our luggage was limited.
7.2
JeffreyMay 10, 2016
The helpfulness of the agent when picking up the carm
Not much!
8.0
May 6, 2016
The service representative upon picking the car up wasexcellent. He was honest helpful and funny. Every recommendation he made worked out perfectly.
9.0
April 28, 2016
helpful staff
staff was unable to answer my questions straight away
8.4
April 19, 2016
Friendly staff, got the car we requested.
The trunk didn't open. We could've gotten a different vehicle, but it wasn't a big deal. Still, a more thorough inspection on vehicle return might be a good idea.
8.2
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Budget Rating
Iceland
Excellent
8.16 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings