Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis logo -

Avis Reviews Iceland

Read customer reviews on Avis in Iceland and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by


February 15, 2018
Great service
DánielJanuary 26, 2018
Excellent pick up from hotel, smooth and fast process.
The free pickup solved the problem of distance from my hotel.
December 12, 2017
Excellent car - pickup was very easy.
Staff member rather over-sold the idea of dangers of Icelandic roads in order to pressure me into buying upgraded insurance, and only after signing let on that she'd not driven in Iceland. GPS in car had been disabled, although the tech was all there.
GrantOctober 7, 2017
Overall a good experience hiring the car.
Would have preferred car booked.
September 24, 2017
The returning at saturday night was a bit poorly advised. Other than that, no complaints. Thank you Avis!
August 26, 2017
The car was very easy to drive, light and responsive. It spends very little gas per mile and is overall very comfortable.
The seats are situated low on the floor. Also there is not much room for luggage, which was fine for a couple, but not for people with big luggage.
PeterJuly 24, 2017
Pick up was good...Avis rep picked us up from hotel.
When telling us Full to Full was requirement, we were not told that payment by CC in Iceland for petrol was by pin number if you use a credit card....this resulted in us not being able to refill the tank as the petrol station we were recommended didnt have staff and in HK, we sign for CC usage. So we were charged for the petrol by Avis
ChiJuly 1, 2017
Staff speaks very good English, speedy service, a bit long queue but could see staff worked hard and efficient to shorten the waiting time
Recommended 'sand and ash insurance' cover by Avis staff, which I accepted on counter, but found out later that sand and ash impact is very unlikely in June, regret straight away
April 26, 2017
The car. That it had only 800 kms. On it.
The wait at pick-up That I was not offered snow tyres. I could've used them.
April 17, 2017
It was a great car
It has scratches and dents on it
March 26, 2017
The staff is very friendly.
Waiting time to get the car is too long. I have to wait for more than an hour to get the car. The rented GPS is not working.
March 20, 2017
Free WiFi
Computer problems at the pick up desk
February 27, 2017
Desk associate at pick up was very helpful and brought the car around to the terminal for me
Windshield wipers didn't work, was indicated on the sign-out sheet, was very hazardous in rainy weather conditions
ShaneJanuary 14, 2017
Great car and service from Avis. Fuel discount card supplied.
A little slow when picking up and returning car.
November 12, 2016
Booked a manual got an automatic
October 30, 2016
Very friendly rental staff on pick up. Good standard of vehicle and glad we chose a 4x4!!
Having to hand the car back and fly back to the UK!!!
October 28, 2016
Easy to book, helpful when changes needed
I didn't get the car I wanted and I think it was less rough car than the one I booked
October 12, 2016
Friendly staff
Only one member of staff at the collection desk, and he was under pressure. There was a long queue of not very happy customers. Tyre pressure warning light was on when we got the car, all the tyres at the wrong pressure. The morning after collecting the car, we noticed a cracked mirror, which was very annoying.
April 30, 2016
Easy to use, good value for money.
Few bumps and scrapes on the car which we had to point out to them before leaving.
DavidApril 13, 2016
Disappointed spec - expected a vw polo
The satnav didn't work - after an hr driving around Reyjavik trying to find our way to our destination we had no choice but to drive all the way back to the airport (45km each way) to swap for a working SN. This was hugely irritating as it ate into our holiday time and wasted petrol. The staff were v helpful and did apologise.
DavidAugust 19, 2015
Hassle free drop off
Sales nature of pickup Car had flooded foot wells upon pickup
August 18, 2015
Nice staff. Marek very helpful.
August 3, 2015
Easy booking facilities. Good pick up and deliver service
As by google maps two Avis centres were situated at the airport, I went to the wrong side of the airfield first.
July 26, 2015
Really good service and help, as we had a problem with the car.
July 24, 2015
Friendly pick up and drop off staff
Iceland is just an expensive place to hire a car.
JonathanApril 3, 2015
The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff (but that seems to be Icelandic's in general) and the efficiency of the service. The car had some superficial damage, but these had stickers against them which confirmed that they were pre-existing and that I would not be accused of doing them (which is always a concern as condition forms alone are rarely exact as to damage location).
No issues. :-)
September 8, 2014
Issue with wrong car sorted very efficiently and without fuss (see negatives).
They tried to palm us off with a smaller car that they said was in the same range as the Skoda Superb Estate we ordered and paid for. This was clearly rubbish as it was not nearly big enough for our family's requirements. However, they gave us a 'free upgrade' to a Toyota Land Cruiser with minimal further delay. However, that had >100,000 k on the odometer, so pretty long in the tooth considering the high price we paid.
April 16, 2014
Car is at very good condition
February 12, 2014
The staff were very helpfull and the desk was easy to find. Procedure was quick and easy too
We were very pleased with the overall service we recieved the representative was very helpfull except we had reserved a skoda octavia estate or similar yet when we went to collect the vehicle we had been given a nisan micra! So had to return to the desk. It was quickly resolved but the error really shouldnt have happened in the first place.
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Avis Rating
Very good
7.3 / 10
250+ ratings



What would you like to chat about?


All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.


We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*


Please wait

Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*


We will use your feedback to improve our responses.