Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Hertz logo - rentalcars.com

Hertz Reviews France

Read 50 customer reviews on Hertz in France and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

October 24, 2017
easy and simple process; taking photos for damage verification; wasn't asked for purchase of extra insurance
9.2
WilliamOctober 23, 2017
No hassles except road works restricting access to dropoff and collection
Lyon roadworks!!! Needs a sandwich board outside old site in Rue Garibaldi
7.2
KarmenOctober 22, 2017
Loved getting the upgrade to 'automatic'! It made our trip so much easier. The staff, as usual we're welcoming, professional and efficient.
There was nothing I didn't like!
9.0
October 18, 2017
Easy to pick up the car (once the right desk found - see other comments).
Dirty car (inside) Address of pick up seemed to be the van hire next to the station not the Hertz desk inside the station.
6.2
October 18, 2017
The easyness in Cahors was impeccable.
Information on drop-off point in Bordeaux was lousy. The given adress was wrong. There were no information that the car should be dropped off at the sixth floor in a parking house and that the rental desk was in floor -1.
6.4
October 16, 2017
Very short wait time to collect car
We had to wait to hand back keys as there were not enough staff working. It could have been a problem if we had been running late.
6.8
KarmenOctober 15, 2017
Everything. It is nice to have peace of mind and an option to book in English!
There was nothing I didn’t like (although French drivers drive very fast...)
9.4
DavidOctober 15, 2017
Not having to deal with the mess that is nice airport
We were fortunate that a family hired our car from outside hertz otherwise I might have had to go and park it in u'ground c'park.If we're parked by hertz I would be happier with a flight to catch
6.8
October 14, 2017
Outside of car very dusty and unpolished . Completely empty of fluid to clean front window.
7.6
October 14, 2017
Good service
The car was very basic
7.4
October 13, 2017
Ease of return was great & the car performed reliably & well. When I arrived at Hertz,Nice, I had to upgrade to an auto vehicle as my friend had mistakenly booked a manual. This was hardly promptly by the staff.
The auto ignition was a bit temperamental & didn't always turn on the same way! Very weird.
8.2
KerryOctober 11, 2017
Exceptional counter staff. They greeted us by name and we had a woder full conversation about France and French culture. The staff truly cared that we enjoyed our trip.
Nothing comes to mind, the whole experience was great.
8.8
October 11, 2017
extremely comfortable car in excellent condition. Fuel efficient.
9.2
October 10, 2017
Great car. Staff member who served us was very helpful and friendly.
Having to install the car seats ourselves instead of these being ready to go.
7.0
JanOctober 10, 2017
Got a Peugeot 307 diesel instead of the Opel Corsa I booked. Definitely a step up. Quiet rental location, no waiting, but a bit hidden in the basement of the railway station. Return at Lyon Airport was smooth.
7.6
October 9, 2017
Ease of pick up. However Terminal 1 pick up desk not always manned - we were lucky. Transfer to Terminal 2 is not easy.
Car gear box was poor. Jerky drive. Drop off at Nice Terminal 2 was inconvenient for flights leaving terminal 1. Transfer bus crowded and slow.
7.2
October 6, 2017
Rep. gave me a car with Swiss Vignette-saved me 40 Euros. Car was fun to drive and had good fuel economy.
Was a bit small for car ordered.
9.4
RamezOctober 5, 2017
Thank you
6.6
PaulOctober 3, 2017
very good service on pick up. There were issues with th upgrade which the rep sorted out perfectly
although an upgrade, the vehicle was far larger than i was initially comfortable with as it was my first time abroad. i did however settle in with it quite quickly.
7.2
October 3, 2017
Great staff, very professional and efficient.
Traffic - Monaco yacht show in progress
8.0
PeterOctober 2, 2017
Excellent service with cheerful, welcoming presentation by Hertz staff member Nathalie, who served us at both pick-up and return.
Nothing!
9.4
October 2, 2017
The car was fabulous
7.4
October 2, 2017
Efficiency
Took me a while to locate my car in the carpark
8.2
October 2, 2017
Affordability of the upgrade
No time to.go over controls of the car
6.2
FIONAOctober 1, 2017
Very good service easy well explained competent staff
Downgrade with car
8.2
October 1, 2017
No comment.
We specifically ordered an automatic car, for which we paid considerably more. When we picked up the car the vehicle we were given was manual. They apologised, but then we had to wait a full hour for them to find an automatic car. We were NOT HAPPPY.
7.0
JaneOctober 1, 2017
dropping off the car couldn’t have been easier.
There was a long wait to pick up the car with so few staff.
6.4
MichaelSeptember 30, 2017
Great car..
Car was only three quarters full of petrol..
6.8
AlanSeptember 29, 2017
Courtesy of staff even though under pressure to serve a queue due to computer failure. Given a frequency upgrade.
Nothing really, even though we queued.
7.4
CliveSeptember 26, 2017
We weren't given any information about toll roads in France, it would have been helpful!
7.6
September 25, 2017
Was part of a group. We picked up 3 cars, 2 of which were upgrades. So pleased with everything. Counter staff spoke excellent English and made the whole process so easy and understandable. Highly recommend
8.8
September 25, 2017
Excellent service. Got a much bigger and better car than we had ordered. So pleased with everything. Would highly recommend to anyone.
8.8
CAROLINESeptember 25, 2017
Car was ready and waiting. Excellent service - so helpful. I would highly recommend. We were part of a group picking up 3 cars and it went so smoothly
8.8
GarySeptember 24, 2017
Staff were apologetic when tyre damage was spotted on original car, and they promptly upgraded us. The return location was super-easy to find when returning the car.
Big queue initially at the rental desk.
8.2
JohnSeptember 24, 2017
The very friendly and helpful staffer. She was excellent
8.8
AlastairSeptember 24, 2017
Julien and his team at Avignon TGV Station were extremely helpful with a problem I had. I would like to thank them and compliment them on their professionalism.
Nothing
8.6
September 23, 2017
The Hertz employee was extremely efficient and kind The web rental process was easy
the car was a bit dirty inside
8.0
September 23, 2017
Car wasn't completely full of petrol - between full and 3/4 full. Tyre pressure alarm kept going on & off. We got tyres checked-there was nothing wrong with them. Car rental closed 1230-2pm. Flight was at 330pm & Ryanair wanted us checked in 2hrs early. Extra charge to post car keys through letter box-not very customer friendly.
6.0
September 23, 2017
Easy to drive - zippy. Enjoyed driving it.
Outside of the car was a bit dirty. It didn't have reversing beepers.
8.6
September 20, 2017
easy pick up & drop off
nothing
7.2
HaroldSeptember 18, 2017
All aspects of the rental hire.
No rental rep in the car rental enormous car park in case there was any defect on the car that needed reporting. It would have meant a treck back to the rental counter, two floors down, for verification on the documents. Luckily this was not necessary as car was ok. But this has happened in the past.
8.8
September 18, 2017
Please indicate that Drop Off area is through the Airport Terminal areas. It is stated ambiguously on instructions. I tried accessing Drop OFF on the road address as indicated. Otherwise it was good.
9.0
PierreSeptember 17, 2017
drop off the car is easy
to pick up the car, we had to take a shuttle to reach Hertz while carrying also heavy luggage.
7.6
September 14, 2017
after a previous unsatisfactory hire from Hertz, this restored the faith!
9.0
StephenSeptember 13, 2017
Great service
Drop off in nice was terrible
6.6
MartinSeptember 13, 2017
What I have said good car good condition etc
The wait and the supply all sorts info which could have been done on line before.
7.2
September 13, 2017
The money blocked from my credit card is not released after 2 weeks of rental. I found it very disturbing.
9.4
September 12, 2017
Peugeot 1008 we rented was excellent accelerated well cruised well very comfortable
Signpost at Avignon TGV for return of hire cars laughable the worst I have come across there weren't any!
7.4
ThomasSeptember 11, 2017
convenience with servo attached with reasonable price fuel
7.8
AlanSeptember 10, 2017
Great car
Cant see anything that could improve the hire
8.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Hertz Rating
France
Very good
7.67722 / 10
10000+ ratings

Ratings