Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Germany

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Germany and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

March 13, 2017
The car was in a perfect condition.
The service when I arrived was not good.
8.0
March 4, 2017
Staff and car condition.
Lack of feedback after I returned the car. I returned it on a Sunday, when no one was in the store. I expected an acknowledgement the next day but had to email Thrifty and ask if everything was alright.
9.0
February 26, 2017
Ease of picking up and dropping the car off.
Finding Thrifty desk as it was part of Hertz and did not have its own sign when trying to find the desk.
8.4
FrancisFebruary 21, 2017
Friendly desk staff and up to date car
Key drop off box could be more visible
8.8
January 12, 2017
The staff were very friendly and everything worked well.
The car had some minor scratches and dents and I had to go back to the rental office to get them included in the contract - I was told anything smaller than 2 cm is no problem, but I preferred to be on the safe side.
8.8
PeterJanuary 4, 2017
When I finally got to the front of the queue, car was issued with no hard unnecessary insurance upsell. Simple return process.
Paid for a manual Insignia estate or equivalent, issued an automatic Ford Tourneo mini van... not enough staff on Christmas Eve, and unrecorded damage, inoperative rear wiper and ugly rental car sticker taking up 20% of rear window. No option to book and reserve a specific car type.
6.0
SebastianNovember 21, 2016
Close proximity of car park to airport Car had SatNav which I did not have to pay for Low fuel consumption Very easy check in and check out
9.2
November 10, 2016
Fast, helpful, friendly service.
9.8
EddyOctober 31, 2016
The upgrade was a pleasant surprise. The car behaved beautifully and the price was exceptional.
8.8
SIMONOctober 24, 2016
All very fast at both ends.
Whilst exceedingly easy and quick no-one appeared to look at the car for knocks etc and it was more a case that 'you don't want a receipt do you?'. Always slightly worrying that someone will damage the car later and assume it was the last hirer!
9.2
October 19, 2016
The number of the building is not recognised by the navigation so it took ages to find the place. The thrifty flag is behind the Herz flag - very confusing.
7.6
October 11, 2016
Rentalcars and the car hire company are not responsible for the attitude of an individual behind a service counter
Normally when a car has damage the counter staff advise where the damage is and ask you to check if there is anymore that they may have missed.The damage on the vehicle was quite bad and was not pointed out only folded away in the folder that was given to me.
6.6
September 20, 2016
It was nice to had a better car than requested.
Thirfty was requesting additional amount for insurance which I rejected since it was covered in Rentalcars offer.
9.2
September 6, 2016
I selected not well balanced plan. Agent helped me to choose much better features combination. Full protection added peace in mind.
It was long trip to office. Maybe more convenient location could help..but FRA is giant airport anyways.
9.0
DavidAugust 31, 2016
very easy booking online. received same car i booked. fair prices. good service
speed warning activated at 210 km/h :)
8.6
AdrianAugust 23, 2016
Ralf at the Weeze Airport was excellent and very helpful. That the car had satnav
It was difficult to understand how the satnav worked and it took me on a very strange route to my first destination and again on my return to Cologne-Bonn airport as the satnav software was out of date for the motorways.
9.0
August 23, 2016
Good and friendly service when I picked up and dropped off the car
The tyres were so called "all season tyres" and rather difficult to drive on motorway. I told that when I returned the car.
9.0
BrianAugust 21, 2016
Drop off was unmanned but that made it quicker once we'd worked out were to drop off the key (I must have missed that bit of information when I picked up the car).
Key wouldn't eject from fob without assistance from a fingernail
9.4
August 4, 2016
Everything
Were originally offered an Astra when a Mondeo was requested due to number of passengers & luggage, but after discussion was given an upgrade by very helpful staff.
8.4
LaurenceAugust 4, 2016
Girl on desk was competent but not very friendly.
The bill is very hard to understand
8.6
August 4, 2016
All was fine
8.2
DavidAugust 1, 2016
Good value nice car straightforward booking
Lack of queuing system at the airport for collection. No car manual in English
6.8
July 29, 2016
that it takes up to 7 working days to release the credit card hold !!
8.6
DianeJuly 27, 2016
Clean, comfortable car. Good price. We were not pushed to buy extras. The inclusive sat-nav was great.
The fact that it doesn't say anywhere if the car is petrol or diesel and there is no-one to ask in the pick up area which is a long walk from the terminal.
7.8
GraemeJuly 18, 2016
Excellent staff, very helpful
Car smelled like the previous person was a smoker, and the mats were not that clean
8.2
July 16, 2016
Very efficient service
8.4
MichaelJuly 12, 2016
quick pickup, good value, excellent fuel economy.
the car ford C-Max. very twitchy steering. sat nav in German took a lot of time to figure out.
9.0
KieronJune 27, 2016
Service and cards are always great when traveling to frankfurt
Car was a little sluggish and didn't really have much power not the best car I have had
9.0
RAYMONDJune 20, 2016
All fantastic
9.2
June 6, 2016
the car T preferred a Hyundai and not the Ford Fiesta
7.4
May 31, 2016
Counter staff very helpful and nice, up grade car excellent.
Staff when we actually picked up the car completely unhelpful at setting up the sat nav in English for us. They didn't want to know, tried for a few minutes then as there was some problem with the signal they just walked away! Luckily we had a paper map.
8.4
DavideMay 30, 2016
Everything was perfect...really...
9.4
May 24, 2016
High cost of reducing excess
9.2
May 22, 2016
Location is terrible!
8.8
OlubunmiMay 17, 2016
Staffs are friendly and kind
None
6.6
May 17, 2016
Nobody told me if the car was petrol or diesel. There was nothing aboutique fuel in the paperwork. The fuel filler cap was black suggesting that it was diesel but when I phoned to check I was told it was petrol. The problem could have been avoided by having an information sticker on the fuel filler cap.
8.2
NigelMay 15, 2016
Thrifty were co-located with HERTZ
Not Applicable
8.4
May 10, 2016
100% is perfect
9.2
ThiagoMay 9, 2016
The car and the drop off were very nice and I had a fast service.
The counter was poorly signalised and the queue took around 45 min - but the lady that helped us was very friendly and fast.
7.2
MichaelMay 5, 2016
getting to the car is very fast
the car has a small damage on the door which was not market - i made some pics and it was no problem. also the aluwheel has a damage which i have not seen during start up ... there was a discussion because also this defect was not marked but it was to see that it was older so after 15 minutes everything was cleared!
8.6
GeorgiosMay 3, 2016
Excellent car and overall condition
There was a waiting list due to lack of available cars but I got an upgrade. I received the keys to the car 1 hour after the scheduled pickup time
7.8
TimothyApril 19, 2016
Upgrade.
1. Only 1 member of staff who was on phone, delaying collection. 2. Found windscreen washer not to be working after 10 km, so too late to exchange car. Washer cap missing, so pre checks not carried out.
7.2
PaulApril 12, 2016
Good vehicle, easy to drive, low mileage, fairly roomy.
Staff could have been friendlier, and because the vehicle had a button hand brake instead of a conventional handle, it would have been helpful to be informed of this and how to use it.
7.8
MunirApril 11, 2016
the car itself
Location is not downtown.
7.2
April 4, 2016
Upgrade to a different vehicle
We were in Poland for a visit and the navigation did not work at all :( Air conditioning of the vehicle was not so good
8.2
AlexanderApril 3, 2016
Efficient and professional of the staff to give and to dropp of the car.
9.4
March 29, 2016
Car was smaller than we needed, made it hard to squeeze everyone in on our journey.
6.4
MatthewMarch 29, 2016
The in car Sat nav was in German (understandably as it was Munich), but I'd love to have been able to change language so we could use it. I had to use my own portable sat nav instead!
7.8
RogerMarch 22, 2016
Team was very helpful
The car was the right size but more of a van, Thrifty in the Hertz desk made it a little harder to find (additional signage would help)
8.2
March 8, 2016
Everything
9.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Germany
Excellent
8.26286 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings