Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Europcar logo - rentalcars.com

Europcar Reviews Johannesburg

Read 50 customer reviews on Europcar in Johannesburg and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

GreggNovember 23, 2017
Car was good and virtually new.
I had asked for a Mercedes as I am familiar with all the layout. I got a BMW instead - not a bad substitute but took a few more minutes to familiarise. Also, had asked for a SatNav. Got one and paid for it, only to find the car had one fitted - thus wasted money and no one at drop off was interested.
9.0
November 21, 2017
It was an Toyota Avanza and the assistant tried his very best to search for a bagage cover
8.8
November 14, 2017
Clean car, efficient pick up and drop off.
The car we received wasn't quite as I expected, I'd wanted a vehicle with four wheel drive but was given more of a cross over.
7.2
October 13, 2017
New car with lower milages.
The coverage compartment at the front passenger was dropped after pick up a car.
7.4
October 8, 2017
Excellent is an understatement.
9.0
September 8, 2017
Ease of getting the vehicle and dropping it off
The car was very small for a 5-7 seater
9.2
September 6, 2017
Great staff, exact car requested, speedy check in when getting the car
8.4
August 28, 2017
No representative from car rental company available to inspect the vehicle before I finally accepted the vehicle. Vehicle damage sheet provided by counter staff did not identify all marks and damage on vehicle. On return of the vehicle, additional marks on vehicle, not on the vehicle damage check sheet, was identified making me feel like a criminal
5.6
AngeloAugust 28, 2017
Great service, good value for money. Efficient and fast pickup and drop off.
Not applicable.
7.2
July 31, 2017
Car itself and the drive
The back seat is not secured The rear window would sometimes close and sometimes it would close and go down again
9.0
July 16, 2017
Friendly service Fast location of car
I forgot my fresh minties in car!
8.8
NtombomziJune 19, 2017
Everything
Nothing
7.4
LouisJune 16, 2017
Great service upon collection. Top lady who helped us
Car is perhaps a bit underpowered (but that is not your fault)
8.0
MichaelMay 16, 2017
Staff at pick up counter were very helpful and seemed to go out of their way to be polite and inform me of all conditions etc. They were a pleasure to deal with.
The only negative was that there was some (not a lot) of minor damage on the car that had not been noted on the inspection sheet until pointed out by us. This could have led to a nasty argument on return of the vehicle.
9.2
ColinMay 14, 2017
lots of room. airco was good radio was good.
car seems tired and weak. struggled up hills. used a lot of petrol.
6.4
May 11, 2017
I rented a GPS which maps had not been updated in 21 months and ended up having to use my phone. The docket in the quality check was also incorrect
9.0
April 30, 2017
Nice car no problems.
It took a while to find someone to check the car with us for departure
7.6
RoderickApril 20, 2017
Quick service
Car was very basic and underpowered. Radio stopped working after 2 days
8.2
March 12, 2017
When we arrived, the car they originally wanted to give us was a small car which we did not pay for the car. The car we eventually got was not what we asked for. This is the second time this has happened to us. On booking the car, when phoning to equiry something the staff where not helpful at all.
6.6
NicMarch 9, 2017
Please can you forward me my in invoice
having to give back the car
10.0
February 26, 2017
We did not check the car on the way back. Even if I had the time to do it.
7.4
February 19, 2017
Space Easy to drive
Nothing
8.4
February 17, 2017
Able to refeul at dropoff
7.6
MichaelFebruary 14, 2017
Europcar service is always good. Vehicle was almost brand new.
It took a few days to get used to the electronic handbrake :-)
9.2
February 9, 2017
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful! They were a pleasure to deal with.
The vehicle I received was of a lower spec (engine capacity) than the one I had booked on-line. The car was very under-powered and as a result, was not the most comfortable drive on long journeys. I was disappointed with the calibre of vehicle I received given that my rental period was a full week.
6.4
MichaelJanuary 14, 2017
Our Renault Sandero was very economical, had plenty of power when you needed it and was quite comfortable for an entry level car.
The tailgate lever didn't work properly apart from that it was spot on.
8.2
JohannJanuary 12, 2017
I really value Rentalcars' insurance whereby I can I total peace of mind!
7.4
December 21, 2016
The cleanliness and trouble free performance of the car.
I have no reason to complain.
8.8
December 5, 2016
Friendly people in Joburg
9.0
FranziskaNovember 18, 2016
fast and good service when we arrived and when we changed the car
The aircon did not work and we needed to change the car also the spots were incorrectly marked, although explained differently
6.8
christopherNovember 1, 2016
could have done with a map of the local area instead of having to use up data roaming on the phone
9.0
neilOctober 18, 2016
The GPS was very difficult to operate and took us to the wrong places at times. I was expecting one installed in the car.
7.2
September 5, 2016
Tembela was absolutley efficient and helpful. Excellent service
There were so many scratches on the car that were not marked on the original document resulting in extra time spent at pic-up point.
8.4
August 2, 2016
Value for money
Was not able to fuel up due to fuel strike !
8.4
August 2, 2016
the car was brand new
the service at pick up counter was extremely slow
6.8
JesseJuly 18, 2016
Everything
Nothing.
9.4
DarrenJuly 18, 2016
Staff offered a replacement car immediately after we complained of cigarette smoke smell. Was given a brand new car.
First car offered smelled of cigarette smoke. Also some existing damage was not noted on the 'pre completed' damaged check form.
7.8
HendrikJune 11, 2016
Staff was very friendly! Good value for money!
9.4
ReanneMay 5, 2016
Good on fuel
Vehicle to small for luggage,
8.0
JordiApril 22, 2016
poor engine power, not indicated whenrent was issued (1.4l) for such big car = useless !
6.8
PetrusApril 9, 2016
Good friendly service
9.4
April 1, 2016
The Gentlemen at the airport was very friendly. He was kind, respectful and willing to help us. It took us under 10 minutes to pick up the car at the airport and a few minutes to drop the car off in Vanderbijlpark.
We collect the car at Europcar Vanderbijlpark. The lady kept us waiting for almost 40 minutes. She was the only person in the shop busy with 1 customer in front of us, and she could not give us answers on our questions regarding the rent. Very bad experience in Vanderbiljpark.
6.2
March 20, 2016
Pleasant staff Car clean
Make of the car-Hyundai 120. Booked with a VW Polo.just not the same. A bit disappointing.
7.2
TimothyFebruary 26, 2016
We booked an Xtrial as we had baggages and golf clubs. We ended up with a Duster!! We feel cheated as we chose the Xtrial for its size. The Duster is maybe an SUV but is small and low quality...
6.0
February 10, 2016
It was convenient at all time
Did not provide mats to wipe on the feet, I used mine.
8.4
February 1, 2016
Didn't like the Avanza much, not that that was your fault. It has terrible handling when over 100 km/h
8.4
AllisonJanuary 31, 2016
we had a problem with the first car we hired but the staff were very helpful and changed it for a better car no problem at all.
8.8
January 29, 2016
fast service
The fact that I didn't get the size of car I wanted
5.8
StephenJanuary 28, 2016
The car was perfect for the number of people and luggage. It drove well.
The Europcar personnel took AGES to go through the paperwork and hand over keys. After a long international flight this was frustrating. At least half an hour. Then we still had to go and fetch the car seats for the children.
7.6
RodneyJanuary 27, 2016
Quick drop off and assistance to call someone to find them in airport
Pick up process was very slow
8.4
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Europcar Rating
Johannesburg
Very good
7.35 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings