Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Budget logo - rentalcars.com

Budget Reviews Johannesburg

Read 50 customer reviews on Budget in Johannesburg and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

March 20, 2017
Friendly and helpful
Long queues - but staff handled everything very well
7.8
PeterMarch 17, 2017
Very good service by Budget staff at Pick Up and at Drop Off.
Car as a bit under-powered for its size.
9.2
JohnMarch 14, 2017
Smooth, quiet car
Underpowered
8.4
March 13, 2017
The air conditioner wasn't working
8.0
FelixMarch 3, 2017
Easy travel as the car was ready and waiting for me even before I got off the plane.
10.0
March 1, 2017
Helpful, good-natured, well turned out staff.
There were defects on the car that had not been noted so had to stop at the outer office to have the vehicle reinspected and scuffs etc recorded.
8.0
fionaFebruary 27, 2017
Staff were friendly and helpful
Found returning car difficult could be better signs this could be down to the airport not company
7.8
February 27, 2017
Great - even on extending - staff was perfect. I just recommended to two friends..10min ago
9.0
ThomasFebruary 26, 2017
New and clean car. East to drop the car. Helpful personal at drop off.
It took too time to pick up the car.
8.6
AnetteFebruary 26, 2017
The frienly staff
I had a problem with deposit payment. Please provide card machines that can take debit cards. Not everyone have creditcards due to circumstances or personal choice. That would be great
8.0
February 23, 2017
we tented a tom-tom, which failed to work on the evening of the first day. This was a disaster s we knew nothing of the geography of Johannesburg. However after a series of phone calls, a man from Avis brought a replacement to the hotel--which was a very customer-friendly act and was much appreciated.
8.4
February 22, 2017
Car should have been automatic Car radio was a bit of a problem
8.4
KimFebruary 21, 2017
efficient and helpful
On picking up the car at OR Tambo I found the aircon didn't work by the time I had dropped my luggage off and found a branch to take the car to I was dripping wet and extremely cranky. My 8 year old was exhausted after a sleepless night on the plane. the car was changed but this took about 4 hours our of my first day of holiday.
7.8
KathleenFebruary 20, 2017
I was not feeling too well when I got to Johannesburg and needed a place to stay overnight and pick the car up the next day. Bianca from the rental desk was so much help to me.Thank you Bianca
9.2
ADAMFebruary 19, 2017
Super super helpful and friendly staff. They were awesome. The VW Polo TSI was perfect, good power, comfortable, fantastic fuel economy and excellent Bluetooth connectivity. Cruise control would have been the cherry on top for the long distance driving. Thank you so much!
First car (VW Polo Viva), had damage and exterior needed a wash. Asked for a VW Polo TSI which took some time. Having driven a Polo Viva around the mountains in Cape Town it was very underpowered. I would advise upgrading all Polos to TSI's.
8.2
veneshFebruary 15, 2017
EXCELLENT SERVICE
ALL WAS GENERALLY GOOD NO COMPLAINS
9.0
February 13, 2017
We understand a particular make and model cannot be guaranteed but we got the exact make and model of car we booked after five years of booking with you - very much appreciated. There was a stone chip on the windscreen when I brought the car back and my agreement wasn't returned so I'm not sure what to do now - but otherwise exceptional service.
9.4
February 10, 2017
Very easy to return the car!
Much too long to pick up the car!
7.4
February 10, 2017
Thanks, very good staff service and immaculate car.
10.2
January 30, 2017
Good service, friendly staff
The first car had a extreme unbalance om The frontwheels, we had to return it
8.0
TerenceJanuary 29, 2017
Excellent staff and service
9.0
BevanJanuary 10, 2017
The service was good and the car was capable, although quite under powered
Not much.
8.6
December 18, 2016
The Budget Staff were excellent and made sure that we were totally satisfied with our car -- both on arrival and departure -- it is a tribute to Budget Rental Company for such well trained staff -- congratulations to them all
8.8
RAMOLELWANEDecember 6, 2016
The agent who helped me was friendly
The process was a bit too slow
8.2
December 5, 2016
Fast and quick pick up and drop off
Next time I will pick a car that can handle the fast traffic on highways better. Little slow to gain speed.
8.8
PeterDecember 4, 2016
Quick. Helpful service
9.4
December 2, 2016
Everything with my booking and picking up my car was an awesome experience
nothing
9.4
AlbanDecember 1, 2016
ease of collecting car after booking online
9.6
November 28, 2016
Overall no complaints care was clean and easy to drive. Booking process and drop off very smooth and quick.
7.4
AlanNovember 24, 2016
Smooth service - decent car - in 'as new' condition
Everything was fine
9.4
November 14, 2016
quick and easy picking up car and returning it. Staff were nice and helpful.
we got no paperwork when handing in the car. I got vw instead of a toyota corolla which i ordered/chose because of boot space. I got charged for electronic tolls a week later but no invoice.
8.0
November 14, 2016
The fact that the there no new charges and the efficiency of the staff.
Nothing
8.8
RobertNovember 9, 2016
Good car for touring in Kruger National Park. Very spacious and economical.
Being hit by an elephant which left a large dent in the rear passenger side of the car. The elephant was OK. I am awaiting feedback from Budget.
8.8
November 7, 2016
Great team
9.4
MichaNovember 5, 2016
Lady at reception on dropping off the car was good.
The lady at reception on collecting the car was not a happy person. Little to no communication with us. Was professional but probably better suited to the back office. Her manager was helpful and he helped resolve the problem that the person whose credit card we used to book was not present at the pickup. We just used our credit card instead.
8.2
October 27, 2016
Due to the training schedule, I had to book the car two hours into a "new" day (24hours). I was notified that even if I bring the car back before the next day starts, I will not get the day off on my account.
9.6
CharlOctober 21, 2016
Professional service from rentalcars.com from the start and the overall service from Budget.
A bit unsure about costs regarding E-tag (Toll) and extra money they wanted to put aside that was not discussed previously.
9.6
PhilOctober 18, 2016
Car was good, service at pick up was very slow though.
Hired a GPS. It was expensive and didn't work as expected. No instructions. No full refund provided. Poor level of service in this regards.
6.4
ArnoldOctober 18, 2016
All went smooth and - thank you.
8.8
BarendOctober 15, 2016
Quick and easy to get to from the Arrivals.
No complaints.
9.2
October 15, 2016
Good experience overall
Pick up counter a bit slow
7.8
October 12, 2016
very helpful staff
length of wait for the car particularly after a long flight.
8.8
October 3, 2016
The fuel efficiency
Nothing
6.2
September 27, 2016
Very nice car. Clean and comfortable.
Nothing
8.0
September 14, 2016
lack of clarity on inspecting the vehicle for damages on collection. The process on inspecting the vehicle on return highlights hirer risk as very small marks on the car eg small mark on the windscreen (wear and tear) could lead to insurance claims.
8.0
MartinSeptember 14, 2016
Got excellent service and will most certainly make use of your service again.
This is more about the shape/model of the car. I had a back operation some 10 years ago. Thus I had difficulty getting into the car. I did ask for something else but request was turned down.
8.8
PaulAugust 30, 2016
Simple, reliable & clean car, thanks.
Insurance plus more insurance plus, plus!
9.2
MichaelAugust 17, 2016
Nice staff. Fast drop off.
The counter staff were not sure whether budget was part of Avis or part of Bidvest, and I was sent back and forth until I came back to the first person who then helped me. She was lovely and apologetic, but the uncertainty was not appropriate. It should not happen.
8.4
BruceAugust 10, 2016
Best customer service ever from Budget. Will use them 100% next time.
9.0
JamesAugust 3, 2016
Great value for money
7.8
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Budget Rating
Johannesburg
Excellent
8.65 / 10
500+ ratings

Ratings