Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Budget logo - rentalcars.com

Budget Reviews Johannesburg

Read 50 customer reviews on Budget in Johannesburg and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

December 3, 2017
Everything was ok, Hopefully it stays like this.
Untill now nothing
8.2
AlanNovember 20, 2017
Staff attitude at OR Tambo Airport excellent.
The cost of the car appears to be twice that which was quoted to me, and I have been trying to establish why ever since.
6.6
ErwinNovember 19, 2017
Good & efficient service, car was fine
it was not clear if the e-tag worked properly
9.0
November 16, 2017
Service was excellent
Nothing
8.0
AUBREYNovember 14, 2017
not being issued with a receipt/report upon return of the car. Would like to have one issued.
9.2
alanNovember 13, 2017
Very efficient, very nice car
7.4
November 13, 2017
Fast and simple, efficient staff
6.4
November 11, 2017
Clean car, quick check out.
Some one had been smoking in the car
9.6
MichaelNovember 11, 2017
I was completely satisfied with my interaction with the staff and their very professional attitude to me, their customer. I could ask for no more which is praise indeed!
My one and only issue was with the car itself. Surely, for overseas customers, it makes no sense to have a vehicle with little or no luggage space. The vehicle was a 7 seater but normally the back 2 seats are removed to allow for cases. The vehicle itself was great, perfect for my needs, but the lack of luggage space caused serious issues.
9.0
LamarNovember 11, 2017
The car ran great.
It was took small for the purpose we needed it for, our fault. The headlights were aimed too low couldn't drive at night
7.0
SmitsNovember 1, 2017
Nothing to comment, service was great, car was great and above expectation.
9.0
October 29, 2017
Great service
7.4
October 23, 2017
Car ordered was not ready for pick up, even though I was over an hour after the agreed pick up time.
8.2
October 11, 2017
The car just right for what we needing it for .
7.2
SandraOctober 11, 2017
Staff were very helpful at the desk and gave us good advice.
Difficulty finding the car rental desk no signs coming out of terminal.
6.8
DavidOctober 10, 2017
The car smelled really bad and the floor and seats where damp.
7.6
RichardOctober 9, 2017
Good fast service, good price
car very underpowered.
9.0
October 6, 2017
Drop off was easy and friendly
Not much help getting started, what's covered, what isn't, what to look out for.
7.6
October 5, 2017
Ease of booking
Had to get a second car as the first car's back doors didn't want to open.
7.6
THIERRYOctober 3, 2017
Waiting time to pick the car up
8.2
September 22, 2017
Easy access from both arrivals and departures
9.2
PamelaSeptember 20, 2017
Pleasant staff
Printer was not working and everything had to be written by hand
9.2
paulSeptember 14, 2017
Quick service and ease of pickup/dropoff
nothing...except perhaps a cheaper price
9.0
LisaSeptember 10, 2017
All staff were friendly and helpful
The wait to get to the desk to pick up car
7.6
September 8, 2017
Everything
We require joint inspection when the car is taken because often we do not see small dent or scratch; and these marks are quickly picked up by the staff when the car is return. And can be use to cream the money out of individual renting
6.8
September 7, 2017
Air con didn't work and one washer
6.6
PATRICKSeptember 6, 2017
Helpful staff
Time queuing for the car. The que was long and took almost an hour to get saved
6.6
BeverleySeptember 6, 2017
The staff at the desk and in the car park were friendly and helpful
on returning the car there were a lot of cars being dropped and not enough staff to handle the influx. As people put in a time of return it should have been noted that there would be more people needed
8.8
September 5, 2017
Better than expected.
9.6
DIRKSeptember 4, 2017
The Budget staff member that assisted us at the counter was excellent!! 15/10 for Dustin.
The car wasn't completely clean inside. Had a couple of tacky spots, as if a soda was spilled on the steering wheel dash and centre console.
7.6
IsabelleSeptember 1, 2017
I had to fill in the information I already provided when booking online.
7.6
August 30, 2017
The car was good.
The hire company did not respond to emails sent prior to pick up. This led to delay at pick up. Unnecessary and expensivecross border paper work. This was not asked for at any of borders crossed.
6.6
August 30, 2017
I found that there was a small little bubble on the side of one of the back wheels and they did not told me that. When I drop the car at Lanceria they query it. I did not cause the bubbel in the tyre.
8.4
BarbaraAugust 29, 2017
Staff communication when picking up the car . Getting the exactly car I expected and not felaying me to drop the car as I was catching an international flight . Also very nice staff especially with showing directions to the petrol station to fill up the car and directions to the international departure. All I can say is " Budget cares "
Waiting for attendance when picking up the car. More especially because I was from abroad and needed to get home for shower. It's always the same waiting because I've rented your car February this year. May be more staff can help on busy days. Thanks
6.8
ArjanAugust 27, 2017
Great car for the roads in South Africa and to drive in the bush! Strong enough power and very confertable. 3 childeren and 2 adults. Enjoyed it.
8.2
August 21, 2017
That the car requested wasn't available and not all scratches were picked up when we collected the car despite the fact we pointed them out to the adviser
5.4
August 21, 2017
Perfect rental company and vehicle
Nothing
7.6
August 21, 2017
Fantastic new car, I will only use this company
None
7.8
August 20, 2017
Friendly staff, good calue for money deal.
When returning the car, I was confronted by inspector seeing a "scratch" on the rear bumper. As I was sure that the scratch did not come from action of mine, I challenged. After cleaning the area, the scratch was gone Clearly a minor scratch not vissible when the car is clean but with dust it become vissible. Problem resolved but cost me time.
7.8
DavidAugust 20, 2017
The SUV was excellent, but the tires on the front end were worn very low, nearly to the tread indicators. I was a bit concerned since I had the car for a week and was taking it on rough roads in Kruger Park, South Africa. In the end, I didn't have tire problems before returning it in Johannesburg.
7.8
JohnAugust 19, 2017
The car was clean and the model I was wanting
It was a long wait at the rental desk and it seemed as though there were not enough staff to man the desks.
7.2
August 14, 2017
Car was great. Staff very good.
Booking in queue took too long.
6.8
DihlabeloAugust 13, 2017
The car, service, value for money
There was shortage of staff, the car didn't have reverse sensors
8.0
August 13, 2017
Very friendly and efficient
Nothing
9.0
August 13, 2017
The staff are friendly
The coffee is horrible and they do not have wifi for their customers considering that I waited more than 2.5 hours to be helped
7.6
malcolmAugust 12, 2017
Friendly
7.6
August 11, 2017
It took 2 hours of waiting in the queue before we got our car - way too long!
7.0
August 9, 2017
Good service
No
7.8
SanjeevAugust 1, 2017
Your staff Ms. Priyanka was very helpful
Nothing
7.6
July 28, 2017
Very helpful and attentive staff. Car was parked close to the office so loading of luggage was easyour. A good map coupled with clear directions made leaving (and returning) the car and breeze. The team running the return could not have been more helpful.
7.6
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Budget Rating
Johannesburg
Excellent
8.0 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings