Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews San Francisco

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in San Francisco and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

February 21, 2017
Staff is so helpful and provide good advice.
None.
8.2
February 20, 2017
Good price, easy drop off and pick up.
Much bigger car which is bad for me as I didn't like it.
8.4
WenFebruary 1, 2017
Counter staff was very nice and gave me a free vehicle upgrade, really appreciate the free upgrade.
So far so good, it would be a good move to brush up on the interior cleanliness of the vehicle.
8.8
January 24, 2017
Poor support at LAX leading to missing connection buses. Receipts and bus pass were not issued and didn't know we needed them until shuttle bus driver refused to take us.
9.0
January 23, 2017
Took too long to pick up the car.
8.0
January 7, 2017
There is upfront no clear information which alternative cars are in the same category. So when being told at the counter which car I am getting, there is no easy way for me to check if this is what I booked or wanted. The website should tell all possible alternatives at the time of booking.
6.4
November 6, 2016
Friendly, helpful staff. No hard sell on extras, I'd insurance, roadside recovery etc.
The small rear windows on the convertible didn't go up fully so had to do this by hand each time we lowered the roof. This should have been picked up by the rental people prior to hiring the car out.
8.0
KarOctober 28, 2016
Fast and easy
10.0
ChrisOctober 25, 2016
Car had a few panel issues which I had to advise them about.
No GPS. No kit about how to manage the period of rent ie fuel, tolls etc.
7.8
MartinOctober 23, 2016
Quick and easy to pick up the car. No unexpected charges or need for excess paperwork, the keys were handed over and I was ready to be on my way.
A quick tour of how the car worked would have been nice. I had to return to the counter on more than one occasion to ask questions including how to return the in-car computers to English before I left the pick up point.
8.6
October 16, 2016
Great car which made the trip
When I arrived to collect the car I was told that they was no convertibles mustangs available which was very annoying as I had booked this car weeks ago - so that wasn't a good start, but after a couple of phone calls the desk staff managed to sort it out so fair play to them.
8.0
MadsOctober 16, 2016
We got exeptionally good service from the staff. We could pick up the car earlier than agreed and return it at the airport with no surcharge. Good job Thrifty!
8.4
LeighOctober 9, 2016
Easy access at SFO, friendly staff
Shuttle service a bit slow at LAX
8.8
October 5, 2016
Helpfulness of staff at the desk. Compensation for having to wait to pick it up. Quality of the vehicle
Lack of guidance when picking car up
8.2
PhilipOctober 4, 2016
We had to change the vehicle after 10 days as the convertible was too small for 4 (our sons had joined us). Thrify were fantastic and very helpful - it wasnt difficult at all
Nothing could have been improved
9.0
GrahamSeptember 27, 2016
Helpful counter staff. The rental car was reliable & ran faultlessly.
I found the signage directions to the rental car returns somewhat vague & confusing. I ordered a "Ford Focus or Similar" car, I got a Hyundai Accent, I don't believe that the Hyundai is similar in size or features as a Ford Focus.
7.2
July 31, 2016
Virtual service on pick up.
8.0
JOHNJuly 23, 2016
Emma, the Drop-off Staff Member was particularly helpful and efficient. Thank you.
Nil.
8.8
July 21, 2016
upgrade to better car
poor condition of original order and rude customer service
6.8
WONGJuly 12, 2016
Good Price offered by Thrifty
Long queue time get to the front desk
5.6
July 11, 2016
time to pick up more than 1,5 hour
6.8
TeckJune 8, 2016
clear instruction when collecting and returning the car.
I didn't get the exact car as published. kind of sad getting a similar car.
8.0
June 2, 2016
Good and fast service.
The switching of gears (it was an automatic) was very bad!
7.4
May 5, 2016
The GPS - avigation device was not very good
7.4
April 17, 2016
Although we made a reservation in advance when we arrived at the counter we were informed that there were no cars available. Due to this we needed to wait longer than expected to receive a car.
8.8
April 16, 2016
Ease of use. Good price.
Initially had a problem with the car- this was sorted and an alternative car supplied, but took around 30 minutes after the initial (very speedy) service.
8.0
KaiFebruary 18, 2016
There could be self help kiosk to process the handing over of car.
As it is a popular counter, the waiting time to get processed and take over the car is too long.
9.4
January 4, 2016
The line at the counter was huge, only 2 employees
7.4
iainDecember 22, 2015
Car as ordered no hassle at pick up
Electric window on passenger side not working
8.2
November 24, 2015
Very clean and as promised
Long waiting line to pick up car. Got a Toyota (instead of Ford).
8.2
MervynOctober 30, 2015
I asked to change the make & Model of car when I arrived and the staff were fantastic in helping!
Nothing bad to comment!
8.8
October 21, 2015
The car was perfect, except the wheel's balancing.
7.6
September 13, 2015
Car was a new model and lovely. Staff at the initial desk were very helpful. Value for money was amazing.
It took an extremely long time to get our car. We arrived around 6pm and were told it usually takes extra time for the convertibles as they are kept in a separate area and this one had to be cleaned still. Over an hour later we finally got the car, still wet from the car wash (so all the droplets dried in the car) and the inside still had garbage from the previous driver. Also upon return there were many cars and hardly any staff- us and several other couples stood around feeling lost and ignored because there was no one there to greet and expedite the return.
6.4
September 11, 2015
Car is clean.
I got a smaller car.
7.2
RichardSeptember 7, 2015
Booked and paid for it in New Zealand. Using the GPS, it was invaluable.
Having to query why I was charged an amount in the USA when I thought I had paid for it all here in NZ. This is presently being looked into.
7.2
LeonardSeptember 1, 2015
Good,clean.
Had a problem once with incorrect fluid levels in car, once topped up with water and coolest had no further problems.
7.6
August 29, 2015
We had to change oil during our trip...
7.2
FrankAugust 25, 2015
Everything was pretty much OK
The Toyota Corolla did not have much driver seat leg room
8.8
August 25, 2015
Car was fine, met our requirements and ran well.
Long wait to get the car. Finding Thrify at San Francisco airport was a little difficult.. But staff were very friendly once we got to the head to the queue.
7.2
August 19, 2015
friendly staff, easy pick up and drop off, car in good condition
not the car we booked huge price difference because we did not bring the car back at the same place
7.4
August 13, 2015
1. Rental charged includes no excess charges in case of accident
1. Unable to collect the car timely. Have to wait for about 3 to 4 hours
6.2
ChristianAugust 2, 2015
Lovely car. Nice and clean.
7.6
July 29, 2015
Great car with friendly service
Took too long to process cars for everyone that lined up for them
7.6
NickJune 29, 2015
Friendly service - fair price
8.8
YushengJune 21, 2015
Model of Car was seems better than expected and the process of getting the car was hassle free.
The car steering wheel is shaky when it's travelling at 110Km/hr.
7.0
June 13, 2015
The car performed faultlessly,
Nothing.
7.6
June 13, 2015
The car is excelent!
Too much time to pick up the car! Takes 2 hours!!!
7.0
June 2, 2015
All fine, thank you.
Only problem was to find a Gas station easily before returning the car.
8.6
JosephJune 1, 2015
Clean, practically new car. Cheap to run.
Two keys couldn't be separated, so no point giving two keys. The VW Jetta has blind spots as far as visibility.
9.2
MauriceMay 31, 2015
Got an almost brand new car....GREAT
Nothing at all
8.2
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
San Francisco
Very good
7.85 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings