Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo -

Thrifty Reviews San Francisco

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in San Francisco and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by


March 10, 2018
Would prefer car model selected at booking
February 15, 2018
Everything goes smoothly. The rate is very good and I like it the most.
stephenJanuary 6, 2018
generally very easy - the fact that your insurance covers cdw etc they were aware of so there was no pushing for add on insurances
even though we had booked, when we turned up there was no car ready so it took time to clean one that had just come in
December 18, 2017
Fast service
Didn’t have Bluetooth. Electric seats
December 12, 2017
Value for money
December 6, 2017
Staff is very helpful.
November 16, 2017
So so easy
WilliamNovember 9, 2017
Reliable vehicle
Previous damage to underside of vehicle
JOSENovember 8, 2017
October 24, 2017
The car and the service
Nothing, everything was good
KarlOctober 23, 2017
Easiest rental we have ever experienced. Great staff. Quick, efficient and friendly. Superb service.
JerryOctober 21, 2017
Car pulled slightly to the right at cruise speeds.
October 14, 2017
Was given a wrong car due to wrong stall # but discovered it immediately so no harm done.
VIJAYOctober 2, 2017
Ease of the whole rental process and organisation of pick-up and drop off. No problems with the car at all during our amazing road trip down the West Coast and across to the Grand Canyon and Sequoia National Park. Will definitely use Thrifty again.
AnthonySeptember 30, 2017
Worked as expected. All in pricing
XiantaoSeptember 30, 2017
Cost, car, service.
Not easy to find front desk, not easy to drop the car off.
September 30, 2017
Car & services were really good
PaulSeptember 29, 2017
I thought I was pressured into paying for extra insurance but in the event I had a minor bump while reversing that was dealt with in under 10 mins on return and no questions asked. all very prompt and good service.
return signs to area rather last minute at airport. It was only at last minute on turning in that I had 2 seconds to read the sign for our return area.
September 27, 2017
the car was OK
additional costs
September 20, 2017
The Thrifty staff at San Francisco were excellent.
JohnSeptember 17, 2017
excellent service overall and very easy. even as a foreign customer. awesome value
the "upgrade" wasn't really as described - but still it was fine.
DavidSeptember 13, 2017
Nice car, easy pickup.
September 12, 2017
Everthing is okej
September 11, 2017
Long wait at the desk to collect the car. Many people were receiving the hard sell for extras. Charge for full to empty return was larger than expected.
HermanSeptember 11, 2017
Got a smaller car, than ordered.
September 6, 2017
Good service friendly staff,took five get car Excillent
September 6, 2017
No parcel shelf in car so we didn't like to leave bags in car unattended. No personal check out of car to assess previous damages.
August 30, 2017
the fact that it was similar in size and actually had the space that I was expecting
there was not a proper boot/luggage compartment cover in the car, which made it difficult to put items in there and not be visible when the car was parked up. The engine seemed under powered for the size of the car
PeterAugust 27, 2017
Vehicle was comfortable,reliable and spacious enough for us. Air conditioning very effective.
No rear window wiper - not good when covering long distances. Had to use key to physically unlock boot if you weren't in the vehicle. The GPS device we rented was not very reliable. The guy at the counter was not very pleasant but down at the car pick up they were very helpful and on returning the vehicle the young woman could not have been nicer.
August 25, 2017
Very new car; good price;
MarkAugust 22, 2017
Sfo was awesome
Lax was a joke to drop off
August 21, 2017
Fast Service
Car did not handle well on freeways - balance of tyres?
AlanAugust 21, 2017
Location was ideal.
The staff were very busy and tried to be helpful, but have too much to do to really provide excellent customer service. The car I picked up was damaged and I was concerned that I might be charged if I had not pointed this out. The staff reassured me that it would be fine. The attendant on return was brusque, but the check in guy was fine.
WilliamAugust 19, 2017
The car was clean, comfortable and easy to drive. The staff at the car return was very friendly and helpful.
The line at the check in counter took a little long. Could have been a bit quicker.
pascalAugust 19, 2017
brand new car
too far away from the airport : shuttle in San Francisco and LA
SamanthaAugust 18, 2017
Great car company, fast service car was good and hand back was easy ! Would definitely use this company again
August 15, 2017
waiting nearly 80 mins for the car we had ordered. no refletion of the staff. The car wasn't available at the time we ordered it
August 13, 2017
Car was very nice, seemed brandnew
Queueing at the counter
KevinAugust 12, 2017
Upgrade was good, staff were helpful
Excessive waiting time at San Francisco
JanetAugust 11, 2017
Very friendly counter staff and I very much appreciated that I was given a brand new Nissan Sentra.
AlecAugust 9, 2017
GPS incluses in the package Almost brandnew car
August 7, 2017
GPS had battery issues and turned off frequently.
RobertAugust 5, 2017
Thrifty were very good . Overall I got what I was looking for the car was more than adequate and did the job .
Nothing . All good I would recommeng Thrifty in SF
ChoonJuly 31, 2017
Staffs were friendly.
Waiting time.
AndrasJuly 30, 2017
Overall very good service I received from Thrifty. I used them in the past and I will use them in the future.
July 29, 2017
Your services are so good !
I have no ideas.
JohanJuly 27, 2017
Clean and good car.
The portable Navigation unit behaved strange many times. Had to restart it several times per day.
UNGSOKJuly 27, 2017
At dropoff,attendants dud not know why A surcharge for gas was added and said I could only clear via customer service. Although a bit difficult to connect, customer service quickly and readily resolved the incident.
SimonJuly 26, 2017
Helpful staff and really good value. Couldn't be better.
July 25, 2017
Good price, clean car..
Counter was understaffed extremely long wait followed by another 30min wait to pick up the keys from the car office.
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
San Francisco
Very good
7.7 / 10
2000+ ratings



What would you like to chat about?


All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.


We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*


Please wait

Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*


We will use your feedback to improve our responses.