Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Hertz logo - rentalcars.com

Hertz Reviews San Francisco

Read 50 customer reviews on Hertz in San Francisco and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

February 24, 2017
The car was comfortable and got good mileage.
8.0
January 23, 2017
Amazing it fitted4 large suitcases and 2 medium cases plus 6 day packs and 6 adults
7.4
PhilipJanuary 15, 2017
The check in staff were outstanding. The car we booked was roo small for all our luggage, so we were offered an upgrade at no extra cost.
Nothing!!!!
8.4
EduardOctober 27, 2016
Great ease of car hire. Hired at pick up in Union Square San Francisco and drop off at airport. Would definitely use again, new model car and friendly and efficient representatives.
Nothing
8.8
October 2, 2016
Staff member was very friendly and helpful. We did not have to wait long to relieve the car
8.8
NICHOLASSeptember 28, 2016
Not getting the car size that i actually paid for, i got a Toyota Yaris but i paid for a Ford Focus. Could not fault the car for what it was and it was very ecomnical too. However the Hertz staff were insisting that i had to pay more money as the tarif i purchased under was less then their own tarif so it was annoying to have to sort this out.
6.8
September 26, 2016
Parked car, locked it and dropped keys in drop box at Marriott Hotel. Then realised I'd left two bags in the car. Hertz very quickly sent out a driver to open drop box and help me get our bags so we could catch our plane. They were extremely helpful.
9.0
AngusAugust 22, 2016
The ease of the whole process
8.0
AsitJuly 27, 2016
I got the car and model as expected. Clean car.
The dash had 'maintenance required' all through the trip sign that freaked me out. Only one key. We had a 17 day rental. would have been less stressful if we had two keys.
7.8
July 6, 2016
Car was better than expected and brand new. Had a good deal with three additional drivers included which helped a lot as we were doing a lot of driving on our holiday.
Nothing
8.6
NormanJune 30, 2016
great location for pick up, good deal on petrol to avoid filling upon return
car could have been cleaner
8.6
MartinJune 5, 2016
Was exactly as promised
Both service personnel at the airport seemed confused
8.0
VeronicaMay 13, 2016
NEW Larger car than booked - great fuel economy and great features.
Although new, a few detailing aspects had not been completed thoroughly - large glue rectangle on one window meant it got stuck when lowering and wouldn;t come up. A few other minor detailing fails.
8.4
May 12, 2016
Not many choice for the same group of cars
6.2
PaddyApril 3, 2016
Great car for a family as we did a huge amount of travelling and there was room for the 5 of us confortably. The car boot (i.e. trunk) was bigger than expected and was able to accommodate all out luggage. The car was very secure & extremely efficient.
No negative comments.
8.8
March 29, 2016
During booking and in confirmation mail, it has mentioned that Toyoto corollla or not. But i have got kia soul. This is so bad.
7.8
March 14, 2016
car spec was a bit basic for the price
8.2
February 27, 2016
Nice car!
9.0
February 17, 2016
The long pick-up time was due to the fact that it was Super Bowl Weekend NOT the fault of Hertz !
8.2
SIMONJanuary 30, 2016
We received a brand new car (200 miles on the clock) and it was fantastic to drive.
9.2
LukeJanuary 24, 2016
Speed and friendly service
The car... Mitsubishi Mirage!
6.2
January 13, 2016
Mazda 5 is very gas-guzzler.
8.4
January 3, 2016
Super easy to pick up & drop off.
Car smelled like cigarette smoke at the beginning.
8.2
FedericoDecember 26, 2015
Vehicle, booking, drop off different location drop off no charge
Waiting to collect car from Hotel representative
8.0
UnaNovember 12, 2015
Hertz could not have been more efficient or helpful.I left my sunglasses in the car and they arranged to send them on a courtesy bus to me in Los Angeles Airport.
9.2
November 8, 2015
Price, car model
Not very clean
8.8
PaulOctober 28, 2015
Very efficient service at pickup and drop off. No fuss and friendly staff.
The car had 32,000 miles on it, and lacked basic functions like USB device support and Bluetooth. Car hadn't been properly cleaned on the outside.
8.2
October 26, 2015
The car was better than the one advertised. The service at both the pick up and drop off points
8.8
VaughanOctober 20, 2015
Better car than I expected
Nothing.
8.6
TomSeptember 26, 2015
Gary, the person we were dealing with was very helpful and offered his business card, should we have any problems on our trip.
9.0
August 26, 2015
Even though in same group of cars, not like Ford Focus. Limited boot space
6.2
August 24, 2015
The car was cheap
The car had no "power" at all. It was even somewhat dangerous to use since it took a long while to accelerate with it, and it didn't do well with mountainous terrain of California.
6.4
IanAugust 21, 2015
Shuttle from hertz efficient and staff helped unload our bags
Drop off at lax was poorly signed. Took us a long time to find
7.6
JohnAugust 19, 2015
Always here of other people getting free upgrades but never me & then getting one myself
8.4
SteenAugust 12, 2015
It wasent written any place that it would take more than an hour to get the car delivered
6.6
MelvynAugust 6, 2015
Hassle free rental.
7.8
AnnJuly 30, 2015
I am not sure did I tick the wrong box but a friend recommended rental car to me and I would be totally happy to recommend them to my friends. From booking to collecting to drop off all staff were friendly courteous and helpful. Very happy with my car rental experience. Thank you.
8.8
KenJuly 12, 2015
Brand new car.
Return station was in a Hilton hotel lobby - I was looking for a Hertz sign. This should be indicated in the on line booking database
6.4
June 15, 2015
Rentalcars site was very good, just what I needed. Hertz Exchange of unsuitable car was swift and painless. Dropoff was quick.
The agent gave me an "upgrade" which turned out to be bigger than I needed, yet having no trunk space to hide my suitcase when aware from the vehicle, it was also somewhat scratched and not completely clean. It was completely unsuitable and I had to return it for another model, which was however much better (Sentra), good trunk space and cleaner.
6.6
JanJune 14, 2015
Attitude of drop-off staff
Waiting time for pickup
9.2
TomaszJune 5, 2015
Everything ok
9.2
May 27, 2015
Brand new car; good engine
Queue at pickup and dropoff;
6.4
JeffreyMay 13, 2015
car was ready and clean and staff were helpful in explaining the insurance arrangements and what was available to me without pressure
8.0
JesseApril 30, 2015
The side view mirrors inherently are always hard to see from because of water spots. Drying those off by the rental company would be a cinch and make the driving safer
9.8
April 20, 2015
The equipment inside the car was not good at all. chevrolet impala was a terrible car. First and last time I will take Chevrolet...
6.2
April 1, 2015
being stung for petrol. i would prefer to pay more for rental than get stung at the end
9.8
March 23, 2015
I forgot an item in the car on return and came back approx. 20 minutes later after having detected my oversight. The Hertz staff was very helpful in locating the car and retrieving the item.
8.4
January 10, 2015
The efficiency of the pick up and the drop off
I think it was expensive
8.2
LauraJanuary 8, 2015
Excellent service.
Nothing. This is the best car rental experience I have had. I am very happy with using your website to rent the car.
8.6
November 27, 2014
To be chauffeured to LA airport terminal in our hired car, after returning the car
7.6
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Hertz Rating
San Francisco
Excellent
8.12222 / 10
500+ ratings

Ratings