Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Budget logo -

Budget Reviews San Francisco

Read 50 customer reviews on Budget in San Francisco and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by


February 16, 2018
Excellent service
EnriqueJanuary 4, 2018
This time around the rental experience worked fully in line with expectations and I believe I received good value for the money.
Because I rented in a small location and the day after Christmas, the car was not clean and the tank not full. I returned it with the same level of gas I received so this was not a major issue.
December 11, 2017
Good value for many. Big variety of cars I wanted
I could not pay by my card
November 22, 2017
A reasonably priced upgrade at the service desk.
Previous customer had messed up the settings of navigation and infotainment system.
October 31, 2017
October 30, 2017
Great car, service and VFM
MichaelOctober 28, 2017
The selection of vehicles
Queue for pick up of car No gas stations after freeway exit to drop off point
PhilipOctober 15, 2017
City Centre Location
Dark inside - could not examine car properly - it had some serious scratches front and rear. Sat Nave packed up for three days and then seemed to fix itself. Sat NAv memory was not cleared - return depot at LAX seemed unconcerned !
October 13, 2017
When we requested, our car was replaced.
Initially we got an un-modern car, which was noisy, cumbersome, used a lot of fuel and had nor BlueTooth or reverse camera.
October 7, 2017
I was forced to return the car without full tank load. The costs charged for refuling is much too much.
UriSeptember 30, 2017
Dirty car. Especialy from the inside
September 29, 2017
In the car ( VW Tiguain ) there were new features ( starting and locking of the doors ), which in my opinion should have been told in advance to an european driver of my age! Now I had to learn them in practise, and bother other people.
anthonySeptember 28, 2017
Ease of collection and drop off .
Nothing .
DafyddSeptember 27, 2017
Nissan Rogue was a pleasure to drive.
Would have preferred ford escape. Full to full policy. Stressfull finding decent gas station close to SFO.
DavidSeptember 27, 2017
The speed of collection and pick up was excellent
September 22, 2017
the car was great
it was really dirty and had rubbish in it from previous renters
josephSeptember 20, 2017
Getting exactly what we ordered without issue and not being upsold to.
No counter staff and having to later be told to go to a different floor to find counter and the very long queue for over an hour.
September 19, 2017
The staff were very friendly, good vale for money.
The car wasn't clean inside there were still documents from the previous people who rented the car before. The Sat Nav was awful. It lost signal and at times just randomly made up where we were. Made for some heated discussions! It would have been helpful to have some guidance on the cars instruments and control panelling.
September 18, 2017
Convenient location for collection
The car could have been cleaner!
FrancisSeptember 18, 2017
Plenty of space
No manuel in vehicle ?
September 17, 2017
Special mention to Larry 'the lengend' at Budget Rentals desk. You da man Larry!!
That Larry didn't come on our trip
September 17, 2017
In the future I would recommend you to have an employee accompany the customer to the rental car to go over everything in case there are some issues with the car which need noting. It just gives for a better experience.
September 17, 2017
I will recommend
September 17, 2017
The waitingtime when we wanted to pick-up the car. There where about 30 people waiting and only 3 desks opened !
September 16, 2017
Budget car rental in SFO is very efficient
Car Clearness should be improved
September 14, 2017
I like budget fast track and the helpful staff
the car windows were not cleaned properly
September 13, 2017
Not a lot
GlynisSeptember 13, 2017
Ease of renting from one airport and returning to another and free additional driver
Inability to use preferred credit card
September 13, 2017
The car was spacious and comfortable. I didn't wait for the car. It was ready waiting for me. GPS device had traffic information also.
Internal cleaning can be done more detailed. But I think all rental cars are similar so. O complaints on this. GPS device was working slow. So I preferred to use google maps in my iPhone. I was expecting a Ford Expedition and ended up with Toyota Sequoia which was also a nice car.
September 11, 2017
Very efficient return process.
Was not told there was no sat nav and was not offered any.
MiklosSeptember 8, 2017
The car was almost brand new, very efficient and everything worked well. The drop-off was very smooth.
I asked an American car (since this was my first time in US) but I have received a car with very low respect (Mitsubishi Outlander). GPS sometimes drove us into the bush... The pick-up procedure was extremely slow, and we have had no time to read all the details what we signed, so we only hoped that everything goes well.
JeanneSeptember 8, 2017
Amazing in general, thank you. We cleaned the car but there were still a few dirty sports but the guy didn't mind at all.
The line queue to get the car was long and awful since we'd been queuing to get into the USA for ages already.
September 4, 2017
Extremely friendly and helpful staff in San Francisco.
YavuzSeptember 3, 2017
Pickup and dropoff was very fast.
Underage fee is too high
August 30, 2017
Easy pick-up and drop-off with helpful staff. Car was great - suited our needs.
Nearly had to change main driver to my husband - would have had to pay quite a lot extra.
August 30, 2017
The place and the employees @ LAX Airport.
ChrisAugust 28, 2017
GPS was unreliable
August 27, 2017
Car was great; fairly pricey but worth it. When we eventually got to the counter all was pretty straightforward and everything after that was great.
Delay at the counter (waiting in line) was really bad. Some counter staff spending *ages* giving general tourist advice for San Francisco - huge line of customers waiting. The SatNav worked, but the voice was *really* annoying! Ended up using our own Google Maps.
August 26, 2017
Great car for the trip. Easy to drive & lots of space
I hate driving automatics - but there seems to be no alternative in the US
August 24, 2017
Thanks for help
August 24, 2017
It is a rather new car.
The mp3 player can only read and play some of albums in my usb memory stick.
MichaelAugust 22, 2017
Great service. Fabulous car..easy experience all round. Would highly recomend
August 21, 2017
They gave me a lift back to where I was staying as I had forgotten my driving licence There.
A long wait in the queue.
August 20, 2017
When collecting the car the rep spent ages trying to sell me all the extras
MichaelAugust 20, 2017
Car had ample space for our luggage
Side mirrors had dirty water marks upon collection and made driving at night hazardous. Almost went with Ford Focus which also indicated space for 3 large bags. Glad I did not as it wouldn't have suited my luggage needs.
VirginiaAugust 19, 2017
The lady at the counter was more than helpfull and super nice! She gave us a way better car than we expected and it was brand new! We didn't had to pay any additional fees for the insurance or anything!
MarkAugust 19, 2017
At pick up the SUV we ordered had a defect and was changed to another slightly larger SUV. The main thing I liked was the 100% excess insurance coverage, unlimited mileage and medical insurance.
Had to pay extra for breakdown towing coverage. Car not properly cleaned at pick up (due to last minute change I believe).
williamAugust 18, 2017
Price was extremely high for this car
MiguelAugust 17, 2017
Evrey think was perfect
Nothing to declare
August 17, 2017
We did like most things. We got a very good car. Fast service when we dropped off the car. Shuttle service at L.A. airport.
The car was not clean enough.
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Budget Rating
San Francisco
Very good
7.58 / 10
2000+ ratings



What would you like to chat about?


All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.


We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*


Please wait

Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*


We will use your feedback to improve our responses.