Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Dollar logo - rentalcars.com

Dollar Reviews San Diego

Read 50 customer reviews on Dollar in San Diego and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

AndrewJanuary 22, 2017
It wasn't the car we were excepting but management changed it over for us after a few days.
Car not clean & smelt of smoke. Only car left available for us to take.
6.4
December 28, 2016
The GPS system was not wotrking properly.
7.6
melihOctober 5, 2016
your representatives so kind excellent thanks alot
from LA to san diego the car was not full suv
9.4
September 8, 2016
The Sat Nav 1st time round did not work then they give me one with incorrect cradle. Finally Dollar got it right on 3rd attempt which took approx 20 mins to resolve due to back & forth between the car & reception. Also SAT Nav software was not current as some of the locations could not be found when entered.
7.8
stephenAugust 17, 2016
really helpful desk staff answered all issues,fuel package options,really friendly staff on pick up point,easy to find location all staff asset to dollar
option car not available upgrade given however car was not as good as original option.mpg was poor.car rear was really dirty washed it myself by hand,issue with car wash ongoing problem said attendant
7.0
June 27, 2016
I had to return the first car I got as it had a mechanical fault, but no problems at dollar
9.0
June 27, 2016
They gave me the car very quickly without any problem and it was exactly what I booked for. Differently I experienced a very bad service at LAX with a rude manager, I am waiting for receiving the survey and explain any issues that I did not have in San Diego were instead the service and the personnel was excellent.
8.0
June 4, 2016
Could have done with exact directions to the drop off point. We were given the address but no instructions about where to go with car returns, in a city centre this proved very difficult. Once we found the garage the staff were excellent.
8.4
May 31, 2016
quick and efficient at the desk, no issues with the car at all
9.4
May 23, 2016
size of the vehicle, comfort of seats
the car itself was automatic and did not change gears well, especially into top gear, it was like driving a very old automatic rather than the newer ones which normally change gear easily and smoothly
7.2
RachelMay 21, 2016
Sell procedure with regard to additional cover.
6.0
SimoneMay 12, 2016
I loved the stuff. In sandiego we had a woman, she was so helpful and funny. Same thing when we brought the car back. The car was in a good condition and everything worked well.
The price at the end
8.2
April 10, 2016
A good selection of car for customer to choose
Too many sales during the pick-up
7.6
PatrickApril 4, 2016
Great service, fast
Car had some damage - door noisy due to apparent damage - brakes shudder on prolonged downhill braking
7.8
AndrewFebruary 6, 2016
Young Man at the counter was extremely helpful and upgraded our car.
9.0
January 17, 2016
Speediness of car pick up.
Car was not the Dodge Avenger. The car we initially picked and drove to the exit should not have been in the lot as it was not registered to go out????So we had to start all over again.
8.6
VisvanathaJanuary 12, 2016
New, clean comfortable car.
8.8
ThomasJanuary 1, 2016
The car was exactly what we expected and it ran perfectly
9.2
December 20, 2015
The car was great
8.2
October 23, 2015
Service was fast and excellent.
I had an issue withe the luggage door as it does not lock, however I could not leave anything at the back as it is always open.
8.6
ElifSeptember 28, 2015
Everything
nothing
9.0
September 21, 2015
Low mileage car,easy to drive
Weak engine-no power,dirty windows (inside) and side mirrors
6.6
August 16, 2015
Ease of getting car to and from close to the airport
Had a problem trying to get the size we ordered . In the end only one but we got it and we're happy overall
7.4
August 16, 2015
More choices of minivans
7.2
AhmadJuly 30, 2015
the car battery needs replacement. problem to start the engine in the mnorning, took a few tries and minutes before it got started.
7.4
CARLOSJuly 28, 2015
Good quality/price ratio
Not receiving the exact car showed in the picture (It was suppossed to be an Avenger, I received a 200)
8.8
July 19, 2015
It was very easy
Better signage for pickup would be good
8.4
July 15, 2015
Price over all
Ford transit isn't easy to fill gas. Gas faucet is complicated to use
9.0
July 6, 2015
quick and efficient
Bad GPS function and the car was not in a super condition. Stains on seats and a bump on the side door.
7.6
SeanJune 18, 2015
Everything
Sat Nav needed updating
9.2
June 16, 2015
Everything was fine
8.4
JoanaJune 8, 2015
Car was in a poor state and the car pulled to the right under braking
6.0
May 18, 2015
Counter staff friendly but fly.
Tried to give me a smaller model 1 grade below till I objected then they found one.No parcel shelf which is a problem when parking as luggage on view. Didn't bother them.
6.8
May 12, 2015
The car was great, staff in San Diego and Vegas were great. No issues at all.
-
8.2
April 11, 2015
Dropped off at treasure island, Vegas...we would have liked clear instructions about the car park drop off point. Unclear instructions & poor signs until we were actually in the car park itself.
8.4
March 21, 2015
Full insurance was covered
The estimation of the missing fuel is rough so the charge is higher.
8.8
FotiosMarch 15, 2015
Everything but the price above all (very economic!)
Can't think of anything...
10.0
March 6, 2015
Please provide more car model
8.0
pietMarch 4, 2015
everything was perfect.
9.2
March 4, 2015
Car condition, price
No
8.8
March 1, 2015
Quick and value
Returned the first car as a bad oil leak, second car had headlight out. More checks on cars would be good to make sure they were road worthy.
8.2
JohnFebruary 28, 2015
Bus transfer to the Dollar offsite office, and the good office location when returning the car.
Not getting the car I booked
7.4
MohdFebruary 11, 2015
The timing to pick up the car was very long due to many people were queued. More counter need to be open to avoid people waiting so long.
7.8
October 19, 2014
There should be mentioned that the tollroads should be paid online within 2 days.being a european it is even difficult to pay by creditcard, european zipcodes are not accepted. There was no option to choose for the extra insurance. For a few days that is ok. But not if you rent for a long time. I'm renting a car in hawaii for 2 months. If that was the case overthere, the original price would have been very different.
6.0
AGUSTINOctober 14, 2014
Gas mileage
Lack of rental information signs
7.555555555555555
LeonOctober 13, 2014
The car was a great size for all our luggage.
When collecting the vehicle in San Diego the company had moved premises and there were no signs to say they had moved or where they had moved to, a passerby told us where to go and we had to walk quite a way. This took up a lot of our traveling day. We returned the car to treasure island hotel but there were no representatives there so my husband put the keys in the glove box of the car and locked it. It wasn't until he was leaving the building that he saw a box to put your keys in, so the keys are locked inside the car.
6.444444444444445
KurianSeptember 23, 2014
Pricing and perks (sat nav and fuel included are great!) The cancellation policy is very good (if needed) Dollar was helpful when queried Free additional drivers
Some damage to the vehicle but it's cosmetic
8.88888888888889
SlobodanAugust 19, 2014
The car was decent and clean
The queue for picking up the car was super-long. It took us 45 min to check out the car, and my kids got very nervous. There is no waiting room, they had to be out in the sun.
7.555555555555555
August 10, 2014
Collection area in San Diego in a very busy area, high volume of traffic- could be placed in a more quiet area especially for foreign drivers to the country.
9.11111111111111
DavidAugust 9, 2014
Excellent service and no unexpected extras to battle through.
9.333333333333334
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Dollar Rating
San Diego
Excellent
8.2 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings

Nearby Locations