Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Dollar logo - rentalcars.com

Dollar Reviews Hawaii - Kauai Island, HI

Read 50 customer reviews on Dollar in Hawaii - Kauai Island, HI and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

gerardMarch 15, 2017
Car ok , transport prompt
6.4
March 11, 2017
Friendly staff.
The Nissan Note was less good than the Ford Focus that I hoped to get. The promised car was a Ford Focus or equivalent. I thought that a Nissan Note was inferior.
8.0
January 25, 2017
Clean car, helpfull staff
Nothing
9.4
November 26, 2016
The lady who dealt with me when I arrived was extremely friendly and efficient.
9.6
LaurenceOctober 27, 2016
salesman (?Mark) - very pleasant and helpful
nil
9.0
PaulOctober 3, 2016
Staff at the pickup/dropoff
7.8
September 27, 2016
The car was very sall but nice
It was difficult to give back the car in a different place of get it
7.8
September 3, 2016
Mileage and roominess
Car was not so tidy.
7.2
June 1, 2016
Great friendly service
A jerky engine at low revs
8.2
ChristopherMay 22, 2016
Good service from the staff
Extra insurance costs
7.2
March 7, 2016
easy pick up and drop off
not including emergency assistance in cost of basic rental
8.8
ManselFebruary 20, 2016
Ease of accessing car
Water in wipers low
7.6
February 15, 2016
Easy to find drop off
the wait for collection was too long then had to wait again to have the car brought over it was still being cleaned Car had heaps of dings
5.2
February 1, 2016
The counter staff guy Job was very helpful to us and made dropping the car back quickly and efficiently as we were running late for a flight Thanks Job !!!
There was nothing we didnt like except being from Australia....driving on the wrong side of the road :)
9.0
ChristianJanuary 19, 2016
Perfect! Thank you!
9.0
JohnJanuary 13, 2016
Didn't like not getting car I selected
7.8
January 10, 2016
After reading a few comments before we left on our holiday, my expectations were not high, so it was a relief that everything went so smoothly - the service was quick, we were given a free upgrade, the car was clean and modern - couldn't have asked for more.
No complaints.
8.4
RaymondDecember 25, 2015
Easy collection & drop off
Maybe a little more interaction from staff - small point but maybe it is just a busy time
6.6
December 24, 2015
First car was not very good and had an engine fault However the staff were very good - excellent actually at replacing car and infact gave me an upgrade That was much appreciated and turned around an initial bad experience into a very positive one
6.2
DavidDecember 22, 2015
Liked the Satnav - seems to Me all rentals should have it as standard
Brakes seemed overall very poor for a car with less than 10,000 miles - should be checked no one asked me when j returned the car and I was a bit rushed
6.4
HarryOctober 5, 2015
excellent compact vehicle for the narrow roads and small parking lots at some of the tourist stops in Kauai
9.0
GeorgeSeptember 24, 2015
The upgrade was a pleasant surprise and the service was outstanding. A big thank you to the team 10 out of 10 service.
8.2
RobertSeptember 1, 2015
Rudeness of person I dropped the car off to.
7.8
August 19, 2015
Roomy efficient --ideal for our purposes.
we found the term "pre-paid" a bit misleading. It is more a deposit to secure a specific vehicle than it is a prepayment of the rental agreement.
7.2
July 31, 2015
Slow pick up
6.8
DamianJuly 24, 2015
Pre purchase of fuel... There is no-way to cut even on this and I was annoyed with myself for accepting without thinking (again)... Otherwise, a great little car :)
9.0
RegisJune 28, 2015
Car as I booked, or close enough.
Long queue at pickup. Took 20 min to find out where to return the car. Actually, nobody was there to handle the return, and the queue reached the main road entrance. Extremely poor efficiency
5.6
PeterJune 9, 2015
All our details were on record and the vehicle was as specified.
Long wait in Maui and Honolulu, large queues. Being a holiday destination probably not much to be done to improve.
7.8
June 8, 2015
the process to collect the car and book car was easy
the car wasnt ready for pickup
7.4
June 1, 2015
Car required air in one of the tyres at the time of hire. This is the first time in renting vehicles for over 30 years this has happened to me, particularly as the warning was showing on the dashboard. I will put this down as an anomaly.
7.4
BrettMay 25, 2015
Very slow to check in and recieve the vehicle.
6.4
MariaMay 12, 2015
Really appreciated the service by Ulu and Caroline they were exceptionally helpful and made it a wonderful start to our trip.
9.0
LukeMay 2, 2015
Value
Checkin time and offering upgrades aggressively
8.6
ThomasMay 2, 2015
The efficiency of the staff and the Aloha spirit.
that the new jeep Cherokee wasn't available on kauai with dollar .got a pick up truck which was not very good for my wife and then settled for a basic jeep wrangled which was ok .
7.6
March 5, 2015
the long wait
7.2
February 21, 2015
Vehicule Space and confort
7.0
KristianJanuary 9, 2015
Car ran pretty rough, suspension was very worn.
7.2
GeoffreyJanuary 2, 2015
A good deal worked out on a mustang convertible upgrade.
The first blue mustang convertible had small dents and scratches on nearly every panel, so asked for another one. There were only 2 staff working on the counter and a very long line of customers waiting.
5.8
December 30, 2014
rental and drop off were very efficient. Car was very good except for being dirty inside and out.
Car was dirty inside and outside.
7.0
December 24, 2014
Car seat wasn't very comfortable; extra charge for additional driver.
8.2
PeterDecember 13, 2014
The staff were friendly and helpful the service to and from airport was good.
The car was a lemon, the radio didn't work (due to the antenna missing) The auto lock remote was not working and the car was very dirty
5.8
MassimilianoDecember 5, 2014
I got a bigger car, nicer and very comfortable. The car was ok and very nice to drive. The possibility to get the full tank and not bother to refuel just before bringing the car back is fantastic!
It Took me more than 1h to get the car, long queue and only 2 people at the desk. Never happened (max 15'). The car was not very clean (especially interiors and windows).
6.8
November 1, 2014
Jeep worked well on the beach and got reasonable mileage.
We did not like the "soft top" as we could not securely lock up the vehicle.
9.333333333333334
ArthurSeptember 8, 2014
lines to pick up the car.... took 45 minutes
7.333333333333333
July 22, 2014
Having a convertible in the Kauai weather.
Cars were unacceptably dirty, even when I asked for a cleaner one, the cleanest still were dirty, coffee stains an dashboard, dust all over, etc.. Cars had many dents, and generally poor condition for the age. Seems to be no love for their cars.
5.777777777777778
July 2, 2014
The lady at the Dollar Rental desk at Poipu swapping our car at no charge or hassle, after three days, as we had a mysterious rattle/clunk.
The hard sell on upgrading to a Mustang Convertible upon pickup. Can't we just be happy with what we ordered?
7.555555555555555
June 29, 2014
Easy and efficient return service
9.333333333333334
June 25, 2014
courteous and polite staff even though they were under some pressure.A pleasure to do business with.
8.88888888888889
May 26, 2014
Excellent customer service
no complaints at all
9.555555555555555
Ann-KathrineMay 20, 2014
Aloha! I was pleased with everything! Mahalo!
No comments!
10.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Dollar Rating
Hawaii - Kauai Island, HI
Excellent
8.2 / 10
500+ ratings

Ratings