Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Christchurch

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Christchurch and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

MatthewFebruary 16, 2017
Counter staff very helpful & friendly
Considering the Sangyong Tivoli was relatively new it seemed like a car from the 90s - no modern conveniences or safety features like hands free phone, backing sensors or camera etc. And so underpowered it was painful to drive.
7.6
February 14, 2017
Very helpfull and friendly staff
Nothing
8.8
February 13, 2017
Comfortable little car. Plenty of room for two easy to park. Easy to drive.
Couldn't find a petrol station near the airport to fill up.
8.8
February 4, 2017
staff very good
my key opened anpther car the same,but it wouldn't start,had too find right car
8.6
DeniseJanuary 28, 2017
Brillant Servuce
8.4
January 24, 2017
I didn't like the actual car - the make & model is not one that i like and it was a bit gutless (didn't have the pickup of like a Toyota when you start from a stop)
8.0
IanJanuary 23, 2017
Service was great at Christchurch n car was great too
Nobody said exactly where to drop off car
8.8
January 22, 2017
Reliability and helpfulness.
9.0
January 19, 2017
Good service interior well grooved staff very pleasant. We booked on line and did not realise that the insurance that we paid for was not with Thrifty a lesson learned next time we will book direct with Thrifty
We felt that the exterior was not up to standard quite a few marks that was ok much as you would expect. But scratches both sides from back to front made the car look a bit rough
8.2
January 16, 2017
Great new car, very nice to drive
9.2
KeithJanuary 15, 2017
Car was very clean outside.
We are previous Thrifty clients. Car overheated 4 km of Airport. Until the AA came 1/2 hour later. As 73 yr olds we'de have been in trouble late at night with no phone The radiator was almost dry . The engine bay filthy and ungroomed and filler cap for screen washer missing.Not good for a 40,000km vehicle.A stressful start to our holiday.
6.4
January 15, 2017
Car drove well and reasonably fuel efficient
Would've liked a rear camera as we are used to one in our car, and not used to driving a large people mover
8.8
January 15, 2017
Tyres not on a good condition.
7.8
January 15, 2017
Staff were very helpful and offered an upgrade to a very new and better car. The price was very reasonable for the car we got.
It took some time to figure out (we had to go to a Holden dealer) how to delete old contacts in the car's Bluetooth menu, which was full, so we could pair our phones. These should have been deleted by the hire company. There was still some dirt on the car when we picked it up. These are my only complaints however.
8.6
CatherineJanuary 9, 2017
Excellent cheerful & helpful staff
9.8
MarkJanuary 7, 2017
We were very happy with the service and the vehicle we were given
Nothing. All was excellent
8.4
MargaretJanuary 6, 2017
Very helpful staff
Difficult to follow the signage to get to the drop off zone but this is a fault of the Airport, not Thrifty. I would suggest that upon pickup staff go through this with the customer.
9.0
KaramchandJanuary 5, 2017
The car was ok.
The car did not have a GPS. For a fairly new car, I would have expected a GPS. I had to spend money to buy a GPS. The tyres were worn out and were average for the vehicle. Given the roads were very windy in most parts of our journey, I think it is a hazard.
5.6
January 5, 2017
Tyres were in a fair condition. Headlight adjustment was way out. Drivers floor matt wasn't secured.
7.6
January 3, 2017
Even though the car was small, the engine was powerful enough to handle mountain areas
8.6
January 3, 2017
Front desk is very helpful
8.8
December 31, 2016
the speed of service at the pick up
Drop off, insufficient staff at the office, lack of clarity over where to park the vehicle if the thrifty spaces were full
8.8
December 17, 2016
Every aspect of the hire was efficient and cost-effective
All OK
8.6
DouglasDecember 16, 2016
The car was very good and the attendant at the time was very helpful due to the time that I arrived.
The timing of the hire was out by 12 hours so it cost me an extra half day - that's okay - I felt sorry for the young lady who was in attendance due to that point.
8.2
December 8, 2016
I found out when I picked the car up I could of got it cheaper straight from Thirfty using my AA card.
8.0
November 30, 2016
The Thrifty agents in Christchurch were very helpful. Gave us a choice of cars. Also, very flexible in the drop-off location. We ended up really liking the car - a Holden Commodore. Very comfortable seats for the amount of driving we did.
We used rentalcars.com to do the booking and when we showed up and spoke about adding insurance, the insurance fees with Thrifty were very high compared to just adding it with rentalcars.com, so we just used that. Would have been nice if Thrifty's insurance were more affordable option as it sounds like dealing with issues is easier. (No issues)
8.2
November 27, 2016
Friendly service and useful maps and info.
7.2
November 15, 2016
The fact that it would have been cheaper to rent direct with Thrifty
8.2
MandyNovember 8, 2016
Everything was perfect
9.6
November 7, 2016
Very quick and efficient staff at airport.Easy getting out of Airport. Easy to return.
Nothing everything was fine
9.0
GaryNovember 4, 2016
Helpful staff member on the desk
No drop of box at international departure area.
8.8
October 31, 2016
Ease of booking in and getting on our way.
7.4
October 28, 2016
Car boot was too small, said it would hold 2 bags but didn't, i had to range out parcel rack to get one in
9.2
MalcolmOctober 27, 2016
Excellent car. New and top presentation
All good except a little neat for luggage
8.8
October 23, 2016
It was a great little car - easy to drive and economical
The boot was too small. Would not even hold one suitcase.
9.0
ChesterOctober 20, 2016
Excellent car. Helpful staff
Nothing
8.6
KonOctober 11, 2016
Car that we booked Corolla sedan and we got Holden SUV (For Us This is better) and this car run just only for 8298 Km, we don't have any obstacle on this car, thanks
nothing
8.4
RobertOctober 4, 2016
Very easy process using Rentalcars.com, booked months out at a great price, offered a great price insurance deal which we didn't need and everything went like clockwork. Thrifty car rental at Christchurch gave exceptional service.
8.6
October 4, 2016
Ease of service.
The GPS that we hired had some issues with it throughout the trip.
8.4
AllanSeptember 29, 2016
The staff at both Christchurch and Invercargill were very helpful and efficient. I particularly appreciated Ritchie in Invercargill who was very helpful when I accidentally left my camera in the car on returning it.
8.6
September 28, 2016
The fact that there is an airport charge that is not mentioned by Rentalscars.com until you pick the car up from Thrifty.
9.2
September 27, 2016
great customer service, brand new car.
child booster seats were a little old and tired. Would have preferred child seats with 5 point harness or at least attached to the seat.
8.6
ChrisSeptember 26, 2016
Excellent service and the vehicle was exactly as promised. I would highly recommend this company and will certainly use them again.
9.4
September 21, 2016
Quick
Was surprised at the added Airport charge. That should have been made obvious at the time of booking
8.4
September 16, 2016
nifty smart economic car
having to pay well in advance of the hire date. not happy with that
9.2
GrahamSeptember 15, 2016
The car we booked was an I car so Camry or similar. We got a Holden Malibu which we had never heard of but was larger and much more comfortable than expected. Good fuel economy too
All the electronics took a little getting used to but not a complaint just an observation
8.8
September 7, 2016
Fast friendly and brand new car
There was an airport surcharge that i was not aware of.
9.4
September 1, 2016
overall everything okay.
1) the GPS unit didn't up to date 2) first one handed to me without holder 3) when got the holder found out is the faulty set.i have to to and fro 3 times before leaving airport.
8.0
August 30, 2016
I found the gentleman who booked me in was extremely helpful, especially as I had a problem with the GPS that was provided and he went beyond to ensure I had one that worked. They were very friendly and made you feel very welcome to NZ. The car was excellent. Definitely recommend.
9.2
IanAugust 28, 2016
Ease of pick up - onsite at airport is so much easier than offsite rentals. Staff were lovely on both pickup and drop off. The additional power in the Aurion was handy on the west coast of NZ South Island where there are few overtaking lanes and many hills.
Aurion wasn't as economical as the Altara we'd booked. The price of petrol in NZ is high.
7.8
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Christchurch
Excellent
8.55 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings

Nearby Locations