Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Christchurch

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Christchurch and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

ThomasMay 11, 2017
Very comfortable modern vehicle
Nothing
9.0
May 2, 2017
friendly staff, upgraded to larger vehicle which was almost new and in excellent condition,
nothing !
8.8
AndrewMay 1, 2017
Ease of booking, finding the car rental site, great staff, ease of finding the car.
We did not know that we had booked through a third party - Thrifty is a booking site. As AA members, no mention was made of this on the website and we could have got a further discount. We ended up paying more than we should have.
8.4
April 30, 2017
car was new & clean
On the booking confirmation it said we would have a vehicle to seat 5 with room for 4 bags. Instead we were in a small Hyndai, with 600 plus kms to travel it was not overly comfortable and road noise was loud
8.0
April 25, 2017
customer service was great and the vehicle we were given was excellent.
9.2
April 21, 2017
Loved the upgrade of the car
8.6
April 20, 2017
Easy
Nothing
8.8
GrantApril 10, 2017
Friendly & helpful staff
Poor signposting of car rental returns c.f. Auckland Airport & poor signs in the Airport - would apply to all rentals. Not very impressed with the 'Tivoli' as a car. Not economic & very touchy accelerator.
7.6
AubreyMarch 31, 2017
Thrifty service was very good and the vehicle was in good condition
Interior windscreen was very dirty when we picked up the car
9.0
March 27, 2017
The best rental company with amazingly helpful staff. Will book their car again, for sure.
9.4
March 26, 2017
The Holden Trax supplied was better for our use throughout South Islands.
The car had no carpets, except for a small plastic carpet on the driver seat.
8.4
RussellMarch 23, 2017
excellent overall would highly recommend
9.2
KelvinMarch 19, 2017
Wouldnt go anywhere else great service.
10.0
March 7, 2017
I booked on line and paid the full waiver thinking it was part of the Thrifty package. However, when I picked up the car I discovered that it was through another company even though I could purchase the same thing through Thrifty. Bizarre!
8.0
yvonneMarch 4, 2017
Friendly and helpful service
9.6
AntonyMarch 3, 2017
Clean, had reversing camera, maps provided, easy driving, comfortable.
No sav nav. I think they should be automatic for visitors in an unfamiliar city.
8.2
IainMarch 1, 2017
Up grade to Nissan X Trail
8.4
ShaneenFebruary 28, 2017
Fast service
N/a
9.2
February 27, 2017
Very economical on petrol.
8.0
RaewynFebruary 26, 2017
Staff were extremely helpful as we had a few hours at the airport before departure looking after our baggage allowing us to walk to Antarctic centre nearby
9.0
RobertFebruary 24, 2017
The car was a Holden Cruise. didn't like it. It got really hot inside and the AC wasn't very efficient. The automatic and engine were poorly matched. some of the controls were confusing.
8.6
PeterFebruary 24, 2017
The desk was a few steps from baggage claim so, with the one member of staff being very organised, I had the car sorted before the bag arrived. The car was easy, not great, but of the group booked.
The only slight irritation was I couldn't find a way to turn off the radio; only mute it. Nor could the attendant when I returned it. There probably was a way but not obvious and it didn't mar the hire. I think I was as irritated with myself for not working it out !
9.6
IANFebruary 23, 2017
the upgrade, ease of park,clean vehicle.
nothing
8.8
February 21, 2017
Helpful staff at pick up. Car suited us regarding our luggage needs
Car was a little 'tired' i.e. not as new as it could have been. No issue as a good vehicle
8.4
simonFebruary 21, 2017
Fuel economy and reliablility
8.6
February 20, 2017
Car was very easy to drive and plenty of power for hills on 1.3l engine
8.0
MatthewFebruary 16, 2017
Counter staff very helpful & friendly
Considering the Sangyong Tivoli was relatively new it seemed like a car from the 90s - no modern conveniences or safety features like hands free phone, backing sensors or camera etc. And so underpowered it was painful to drive.
7.6
February 14, 2017
Very helpfull and friendly staff
Nothing
8.8
February 13, 2017
Comfortable little car. Plenty of room for two easy to park. Easy to drive.
Couldn't find a petrol station near the airport to fill up.
8.8
February 4, 2017
staff very good
my key opened anpther car the same,but it wouldn't start,had too find right car
8.6
DeniseJanuary 28, 2017
Brillant Servuce
8.4
January 24, 2017
I didn't like the actual car - the make & model is not one that i like and it was a bit gutless (didn't have the pickup of like a Toyota when you start from a stop)
8.0
IanJanuary 23, 2017
Service was great at Christchurch n car was great too
Nobody said exactly where to drop off car
8.8
January 22, 2017
Reliability and helpfulness.
9.0
January 19, 2017
Good service interior well grooved staff very pleasant. We booked on line and did not realise that the insurance that we paid for was not with Thrifty a lesson learned next time we will book direct with Thrifty
We felt that the exterior was not up to standard quite a few marks that was ok much as you would expect. But scratches both sides from back to front made the car look a bit rough
8.2
January 16, 2017
Great new car, very nice to drive
9.2
KeithJanuary 15, 2017
Car was very clean outside.
We are previous Thrifty clients. Car overheated 4 km of Airport. Until the AA came 1/2 hour later. As 73 yr olds we'de have been in trouble late at night with no phone The radiator was almost dry . The engine bay filthy and ungroomed and filler cap for screen washer missing.Not good for a 40,000km vehicle.A stressful start to our holiday.
6.4
January 15, 2017
Car drove well and reasonably fuel efficient
Would've liked a rear camera as we are used to one in our car, and not used to driving a large people mover
8.8
January 15, 2017
Tyres not on a good condition.
7.8
January 15, 2017
Staff were very helpful and offered an upgrade to a very new and better car. The price was very reasonable for the car we got.
It took some time to figure out (we had to go to a Holden dealer) how to delete old contacts in the car's Bluetooth menu, which was full, so we could pair our phones. These should have been deleted by the hire company. There was still some dirt on the car when we picked it up. These are my only complaints however.
8.6
CatherineJanuary 9, 2017
Excellent cheerful & helpful staff
9.8
MarkJanuary 7, 2017
We were very happy with the service and the vehicle we were given
Nothing. All was excellent
8.4
MargaretJanuary 6, 2017
Very helpful staff
Difficult to follow the signage to get to the drop off zone but this is a fault of the Airport, not Thrifty. I would suggest that upon pickup staff go through this with the customer.
9.0
KaramchandJanuary 5, 2017
The car was ok.
The car did not have a GPS. For a fairly new car, I would have expected a GPS. I had to spend money to buy a GPS. The tyres were worn out and were average for the vehicle. Given the roads were very windy in most parts of our journey, I think it is a hazard.
5.6
January 5, 2017
Tyres were in a fair condition. Headlight adjustment was way out. Drivers floor matt wasn't secured.
7.6
January 3, 2017
Even though the car was small, the engine was powerful enough to handle mountain areas
8.6
January 3, 2017
Front desk is very helpful
8.8
December 31, 2016
the speed of service at the pick up
Drop off, insufficient staff at the office, lack of clarity over where to park the vehicle if the thrifty spaces were full
8.8
December 17, 2016
Every aspect of the hire was efficient and cost-effective
All OK
8.6
DouglasDecember 16, 2016
The car was very good and the attendant at the time was very helpful due to the time that I arrived.
The timing of the hire was out by 12 hours so it cost me an extra half day - that's okay - I felt sorry for the young lady who was in attendance due to that point.
8.2
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Christchurch
Excellent
8.8 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings

Nearby Locations