Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Budget logo - rentalcars.com

Budget Reviews Reykjavik

Read 50 customer reviews on Budget in Reykjavik and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

January 1, 2018
quick and nice
8.6
November 13, 2017
New car, friendly fast and efficient counter service. Made a car collection and deliver location change to the booking without any issue at the rental counter.
Tire pressure had to be adjusted on the second day of rental. Tires all had different pressure levels. Very difficult to get hold of Budget by phone.
7.8
November 9, 2017
Excellent customer service.
Avis/Budget's 'downtown Reykjavik' office is actually quite far from the city centre (nearly a 60-minute walk). It'd be great if they could rename the office or at least let customers know Reykjavik Domestic Airport is the closest to the city centre. Apart from that, great service. Thank you,
9.2
October 27, 2017
Some technical problem caused the doors to unlock at all times. Felt unsecure.
8.4
October 24, 2017
Felt very reliable and safe in the car. Had no problems with the vehicle, perfect!
The car had only just been re-cleaned, and was totally wet on picking it up - including the seats.
8.6
October 23, 2017
Good service
7.4
October 3, 2017
Helpfulness of staff.
Usually when you pick up a rental you are given a map showing how to get out and return the car. While the clerk gave me verbal directions, they were hard to follow and took me an hour out of the way. I recommend a printed map.
7.2
September 20, 2017
Fast pickup. Drop-off after hours.
The location of the office, it was a bit too far out for my taste.
7.8
September 15, 2017
Excellent car for the Iceland roads. Excellent addition of the offer to rent the wi-fi. The wi-fi helped us to feel like we could be rescued if we got stuck somewhere. Counterperson was friendly, patient, and helpful. Person at the drop-off also very patient and helpful.
I ended up spending a fortune for insurances which I usually do not do. Have read scary stories of people having to pay for charges if they are in an accident. Maybe you could offer some kind of package for insurances so I wouldn't spend about three times the price of the car to insure it. Shuttle not very helpful at drop-off.
8.0
September 9, 2017
Had difficulty finding drop off location. Not told when I picked up car
7.6
September 9, 2017
Convenient pickup location
Slow return process, needs automation. Slow shuttle transfer....
8.6
August 22, 2017
The process of collecting and returning the car was straight forward.
The car was not ready upon arrival. We had to wait 60 minutes.
6.4
CharlesAugust 20, 2017
Shuttle service at pickup at Reykjavik - hadn't realised this was an option till we checked online. Car choices provided at pickup - chose an older car since it suited our needs. Shuttle service back to airport. A nice to have but it did save us a 5 min walk back with cases.
nothing
8.8
August 17, 2017
Good selection of car.
The GPS is user unfriendly. Unable to input coordinates hence making it difficult to select routes.
7.0
JohanAugust 3, 2017
The staff at the counter
No road map.
8.6
August 2, 2017
Counter staff were very nice.
Had some trouble finding the lot, and then the car out in the lot.
7.2
DavidJuly 24, 2017
Quick pick up
Car was awful inside
6.6
July 8, 2017
Loved the choice of car, the friendliness and professionalism of staff, the condition and cleanliness of the car.
The price was considerably higher than what I would expect to pay in the USA.
7.8
TUNABEYIJuly 5, 2017
Budget personnel.Inga was very helpful.
Everything was perfect except the queue at tbe budget desk.
6.6
June 18, 2017
Easy drop off
Tire pressure light was on when we got the car, too long to pick up car
5.6
LennartJune 6, 2017
Very nice car.
To long wait to get the car.
9.0
May 10, 2017
Excellent Service
9.2
AnishApril 6, 2017
Reasonable car.
They did not give me the car I had requested. I wanted something more modern. It had no leads / connection for phones. The radio did not work.
7.8
April 4, 2017
Counter staff set up the sat nav for the hotel.
Sat Nav was a nightmare to use on way back to airport due to language. Thought it would be helpful to have the airport address saved on the sat nav.
8.0
March 22, 2017
We were amazed at how well this little car dealt with the blizzard conditions we encountered.
9.0
MarkMarch 3, 2017
The ease and price and the freedom to visit the Country
Head lights not focused properly and GPS I rented was useless
8.0
patriciaFebruary 16, 2017
great/friendly staff at check in counter
9.2
JohnJanuary 17, 2017
Friendly and professional staff
Nothing negative to say
9.2
SimonDecember 3, 2016
New car - nice and clean, convenient location, easy and quick returns process.
Hyundai i10 very uncomfortable seats (at least for a tall guy) and no lumbar support adjustment is a recipe for backache. Counter process was a bit chaotic when picking up the car and took a long time... but then the lady was a new trainee so I guess this would not normally be the case. They do not provide any kind of map at all so bring one!
8.4
GilesNovember 24, 2016
Really good value for money, easy to pick up from the airport, fuel efficient, comfortable.
9.0
November 17, 2016
The customerservice Was excellent & the staff member particularly helpful
9.4
November 6, 2016
price,easy procedure
1.waited too long to pick up. 2.wipers worn out( and it was raining hard) 3. fuel tap not opening properly.
6.8
BertrandSeptember 18, 2016
All was fine
Nothing at all
8.8
TimothyJune 10, 2016
The car met all my expectations
Rear window wiper needed a new blade
8.6
ReimaMay 21, 2016
Navigator & wifi (extra)
8.2
April 5, 2016
Dropping off took too long
6.8
AvinashApril 2, 2016
Excellent staff.
9.0
March 27, 2016
Easy, not surprises
The car had some scratches which are not a problem, but I didn't like that the windscreen had a chip and you never know when it can crack, especially under the extreme weather condition in Iceland with very cold outside and the heating on the inside.
7.6
March 20, 2016
The general friendlyness of staff, the ease of pick up service, and simple drop of.
It appears that I did get a downgrade. I was asked at the counter if I wanted a Hyundai or a Suzuki Swift, I said I didnt mind as long as it was in the correct category. I drove the car away, and it was not until the passengers entered in the backseats that it was clear tome that the space there, mainly legspace were not really adequate
6.8
February 8, 2016
Very helpful and assisted with changing car
Tried to upgrade but to an automatic and I had requested a manual.
7.4
January 27, 2016
On google maps the pickup location is snow to be in the Icelandic airport hotel, it is actually at the terminal of the airport itself. Don't go to the wrong place like I did, it's a 30min walk to get to the right place after that!
8.2
KrassimiraJanuary 1, 2016
the car was excellent to drive and safety, for bad weather it's perfect.
the staff didn't explain me how to use the transfer switch for slippery roads, because they didn't know it. I had to find it by myself.
9.0
DavidDecember 10, 2015
I have to say this was my first time using rentalcars.com, and it was great renting in Iceland! I rent cars all the time for business in the US. This rental was every bit as smooth as my business arranged rentals. I will use rentalscars.com the next time I an in Europe. I will check to see if you also offer the service in New Zealand.
9.0
ElizabethNovember 30, 2015
Car handled great and got wonderful gas mileage.
I want told that the wireless device didn't work in much of Iceland. Had I known I would have saved my money. Also, it would have been good to have been asked when I made the reservation if I wanted a pick up. I paid for a cab.
8.8
November 20, 2015
Great service and car - definitely recommend and such good value.
9.2
RoopeNovember 17, 2015
Everything was great exept window cleaner fluid.
The window cleaner "soup" was empty
8.0
October 30, 2015
Got upgraded to a 4x4 that totally made our trip! Got to explore a couple of locations that would not have been accessible in a smaller car. Thank you so much!!
9.0
KashifOctober 24, 2015
Car park just outside the counter. Helpful staff.
None
9.4
October 4, 2015
Nice small car, with 4 wheel drive, which was good since we hit snow in mountains. Handled wonderfully on snow for such a light car.
Nothing
9.0
October 1, 2015
Efficiency and no problems, you just solved everything very nicely
8.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Budget Rating
Reykjavik
Very good
7.7 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*
Privacy policy

Loading

Please wait

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.