Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis logo - rentalcars.com

Avis Reviews Melbourne

Read 50 customer reviews on Avis in Melbourne and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

January 16, 2017
Lovely friendly and fast service.
8.8
JeremyJanuary 16, 2017
New car smell
The price of petrol
9.4
rickJanuary 15, 2017
The overall service from Avis was great although I would have liked a GPS in-car. Car was superb.
The high cost of rental cars in Australia/New Zealand compared to other parts of the world.
8.6
January 10, 2017
Distance to terminal four. But that probably can't be helped. Had lots of luggage to cart.
8.0
AndreasJanuary 10, 2017
Booked a Nissan Micra or similar and got a new RAV4. It was excellent for this trip!
8.2
PeterJanuary 6, 2017
Didn't like fact I had to cover (for excess) even though this had been paid via rental cars.com.
7.2
MichaelJanuary 4, 2017
Easy to get car and very helpful staff.
Vehicle was not what we originally requested but the car was everything we needed it for. very happy in the end.
8.0
BrianJanuary 2, 2017
Price, fast service, prepaid fuel option, nice car.
Nothing
9.0
January 1, 2017
The counter staff in Melbourne ('Mon') was excellent and set the tone for the 3 days.
Nil
9.0
December 30, 2016
Car in average condition only
6.4
December 29, 2016
Price and ease of booking and picking up car
There was no trolley's near the rental car drop off which is a pain.
8.4
December 20, 2016
Cooperative and efficient staff. New car.
Location is not very good if one has luggage to transport from the terminal to the rental site and visa versa.
8.6
DavidDecember 19, 2016
It was a great upgrade
Nothing
9.4
December 8, 2016
Paying a month before pick up.
8.6
December 8, 2016
Staff were fast efficient and very pleasant to deal with so thanks
8.6
DavidDecember 6, 2016
Service was great car was good easy pick up.
all good
8.8
December 4, 2016
Everything worked
Car was not very clean.
8.4
DeborahDecember 4, 2016
Car was fine.
Avis took way too long to process the paperwork - took at least 10 mins per customer. Others do it in 3-5. There seemed to be some question about whether there was a car for us. After trying to sell an upgrade, he told us we were getting a better car, but got exactly what we booked. Found your site hard to use (first time user).
7.4
PhilNovember 27, 2016
Friendly service and convenient location
Time taken to get the car
8.4
November 27, 2016
Ease of pickup location, same location as skybus
Not so easy to locate car, signage and map could be better, we were not the only ones confused by the instructions.
5.6
November 15, 2016
Very helpful person on the desk in the airport when we picked it up. Just wasn't clear in the airport where we had to go to find the desk
No map. Would have liked a map of Melboourne and environs rather than relying on phone for directions. IN formation about toll roads would be useful as well. In so saying the girls on the desk was very good telling us how to get to Geelong from the airport.
8.8
HasanNovember 6, 2016
The model and the service.
The colour of the car and how hard to set up the bluetooth
7.8
November 5, 2016
price and economy
all good
8.8
davidOctober 31, 2016
Ease of puck up and drop off. I would definitely try to get an Avis car next time as it was so close to arrival/departure entrance and drop off was so easy. Thanks for great service.
8.6
October 29, 2016
easy to drive .Great on fuel .friendly rep on return of car
Insufficient info provided about operating a hybrid car
8.6
BrentonOctober 13, 2016
Filling with fuel and trying to get into right lane to get to area to leave the vehicle.
7.8
RogerOctober 12, 2016
Very prompt pick up and drop off service
A bit disappointed we were not allocated a Jeep as per out booking request. We were hoping for to have a car which was higher (off the ground) The Holden Calais was great but NOT off the ground
8.0
September 21, 2016
we left a coat in the car and they phoned up and told us. we were able to collect it before our flight left.
Location is a long walk from Qantas terminal and we were unable to find a petrol station before or near the drop off
7.4
September 19, 2016
Ireally would have appreciated advice that my car would be substituted with something else, as I had a specif need to collect a bicycle i had purchased, thus I had intense anxiety that the substituted car would have the capacity. A call or txt would have resolved this.
I missed turning into the drop-off bay as it was not clearly marked, causing me to have to go right around again. this delay CAUSED ME TO MISS MY PLANE! I suggest a little briefing on departure would assist a great deal ( ie where do i turn in to return the vehicle).
5.4
September 6, 2016
It was very convenient to have the rental car until leave Melbourne.
We have been told that got the upgraded car but we couldn't put 2 bags in the boot. We didn't appreciate this.
5.8
September 5, 2016
Ease of pick up and delivery, and friendly counter staff. First time we have hired a car and it was great. Suited our needs perfectly.
Just a helpful note that we thought there would be road maps at the Avis Rental office, but were told they were back at the Airport, so the Avis receptionist managed to find a general map in the office. A selection in the office would have been very useful.
8.8
September 5, 2016
fast, easy and cheap
asked for manual transmission received auto
9.4
PaulAugust 25, 2016
Upgrade was very welcome
There should be an easier way to drop off the car. Having to wait for people who are hiring cars means that the process is delayed beyond reason.
7.0
DavidAugust 23, 2016
Avis staff were exceptional.
All good thanks.
8.8
August 22, 2016
our only issue was when we returned the car we got charged for the child seat we had booked and paid for with your service.
7.8
SharAugust 2, 2016
Cheerful counter staff
Man at drop off did not understand English much.
8.2
July 25, 2016
Convenient access from airport terminal and helpfulness of staff.
Car smelt very badly of smoke and we didn't have time to complain and get new car, so had to drive with bad smoke smell which led to me having an allergic attack that evening.
7.4
MichaelJuly 21, 2016
Ease of access delivery and get away! Ditto when we returned the car
9.0
JoshuaJuly 5, 2016
We particularly wanted the Chrysler 300c as a surprise for my daughter, but we didn't get it. The car we got was nice, but not what we asked for
7.4
June 21, 2016
Ease of getting car
No communication where avis is... I called regarding deposit PRIOR to leaving Newcastle and when i got there deposit amount was different when questioned i was told thats how it is
7.8
MarkJune 9, 2016
Thankyou!
8.8
June 5, 2016
Ease of collection & drop off service.
The air freshener smell that was used to cover up a stale smell, that after 2 days didn't work & car then smelt like a smoker had been driving it previously.
9.2
June 2, 2016
Could not download your app needed help from avis staff to sort booking
7.2
May 27, 2016
The upgrade and the quickness of pick up and drop off.
7.8
RobertMay 21, 2016
We requested and paid for an update when we took 2 further adults with us
7.6
LouiseMay 21, 2016
Nice vehicle to drive
Nothing
9.2
RuapanoumuMay 17, 2016
Everything
N/a
9.0
April 26, 2016
Perfect
8.8
March 31, 2016
It was a very easy process to pick up and drop off the vehicle. The vehiwas very clean.
Finding the.drop off for Avis vehicles was not very clear. I dropped it off at the parking bay in the front.
8.0
DavidMarch 30, 2016
Friendly staff, quick service considering the line up outside
To long waiting in line (long line ups when we arrived) Hyundia was okay but not what I expected
8.2
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Avis Rating
Melbourne
Very good
7.6 / 10
500+ ratings

Ratings