Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Avis logo - rentalcars.com

Avis Reviews Melbourne

Read 50 customer reviews on Avis in Melbourne and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

NevilleMay 15, 2017
The worst GPS system I have ever used It was an in car system in the Holden which would tell you to do an illegal U turn at the next set of lights. It was not clear which left turn to take when there was several turns close together
8.4
May 15, 2017
Great service and will definitely use again. Have used Avis before and can't complain. Thanks again.
All was good.
7.8
May 15, 2017
Being offered an upgrade if I didn't like the colour of the car
9.0
MichaelMay 15, 2017
Really fast and painless pick-up and drop-off.
Car was a bit grubby
7.8
CatherineMay 15, 2017
The friendly and helpful atmosphere in the office,was also very impressed with quality and tidyness of the car
8.0
DavidMay 13, 2017
Very fast and easy drop off
Didn't realize a bond amount was being taken that would be returned later
7.6
DavidMay 13, 2017
The car was nice
It way to long to put me through the system, only then to have a 5 minute walk to the car because as they said "its busy" we don't have anyone to bring the car around.
8.6
May 9, 2017
car itself ease of booking
length of time required to collect car
7.4
May 7, 2017
The friendliness of the staff and the ease of the transaction of pick up and drop off of the car.
Unfortunately for me, I had difficulty in finding the rental return at the airport so this took me quite a while. I imagine most people wouldn't have this issue though.
9.2
JohnMay 1, 2017
no queue at airport car compact as I had expected; value for money
none
9.4
CherylApril 28, 2017
We ordered a Toyota kuga but were given a RAV4, which was excellent. Thank you for your great service.
We had a baby vomit smell in the car.
8.6
ShaneApril 19, 2017
Interior very dusty, slight shudder in front wheels tyres worn on the inside.
8.4
April 11, 2017
helpful avis staff
the rental obtained online did not rent for days i requested and we paid for an extra day
9.4
CollinApril 10, 2017
Ease of transaction condition of the car
?
8.0
April 10, 2017
Size
Price Cost of insurance Limit on daily kilometres
6.8
ScottApril 8, 2017
Avis counter operator very helpful. Car was clean
The booking procedure was too elongated. When I phoned to alter pickup time I was told it was not possible although it still equated to hire of 2 days. Last time I booked through this site I was charged overseas exchange rate. I hope this will not happen this time.
8.2
DenisMarch 30, 2017
Airport pickup
1)-Insurance options were to dear and price was higher than quoted on the website - other options were cheaper. 2)- Upgraded when we did not want a large car. Did not want any thing big. a Hyundai to a Commodore S/wagon??
7.0
JurgenMarch 26, 2017
Comfortable car
The car had a lot of marks on the out side other than that it was excellent Thanks jurgen
8.0
SharynMarch 21, 2017
Extra cost to reduce insurance premium in the event of an accident
8.6
BryanMarch 19, 2017
Had to rush to return the car because the outlet closes at 6pm
6.2
SandraMarch 6, 2017
Good all round service
9.0
February 26, 2017
Car virtually brand new; only had 600km on the clock. Ease of pick up and drop off
7.6
PatrickFebruary 23, 2017
Excellent spacious car suitable for 4 adults
8.8
JohnFebruary 19, 2017
Holden car was easy to drive
Not getting a Hyundai i20, which is the car I have at home.
8.8
February 12, 2017
The car and the service
Only one person at the office of avis
8.0
WilliamFebruary 10, 2017
smell inside of car, windows were not clean
8.0
January 16, 2017
Lovely friendly and fast service.
8.8
JeremyJanuary 16, 2017
New car smell
The price of petrol
9.4
rickJanuary 15, 2017
The overall service from Avis was great although I would have liked a GPS in-car. Car was superb.
The high cost of rental cars in Australia/New Zealand compared to other parts of the world.
8.6
January 10, 2017
Distance to terminal four. But that probably can't be helped. Had lots of luggage to cart.
8.0
AndreasJanuary 10, 2017
Booked a Nissan Micra or similar and got a new RAV4. It was excellent for this trip!
8.2
PeterJanuary 6, 2017
Didn't like fact I had to cover (for excess) even though this had been paid via rental cars.com.
7.2
MichaelJanuary 4, 2017
Easy to get car and very helpful staff.
Vehicle was not what we originally requested but the car was everything we needed it for. very happy in the end.
8.0
BrianJanuary 2, 2017
Price, fast service, prepaid fuel option, nice car.
Nothing
9.0
January 1, 2017
The counter staff in Melbourne ('Mon') was excellent and set the tone for the 3 days.
Nil
9.0
December 30, 2016
Car in average condition only
6.4
December 29, 2016
Price and ease of booking and picking up car
There was no trolley's near the rental car drop off which is a pain.
8.4
December 20, 2016
Cooperative and efficient staff. New car.
Location is not very good if one has luggage to transport from the terminal to the rental site and visa versa.
8.6
DavidDecember 19, 2016
It was a great upgrade
Nothing
9.4
December 8, 2016
Paying a month before pick up.
8.6
December 8, 2016
Staff were fast efficient and very pleasant to deal with so thanks
8.6
DavidDecember 6, 2016
Service was great car was good easy pick up.
all good
8.8
December 4, 2016
Everything worked
Car was not very clean.
8.4
DeborahDecember 4, 2016
Car was fine.
Avis took way too long to process the paperwork - took at least 10 mins per customer. Others do it in 3-5. There seemed to be some question about whether there was a car for us. After trying to sell an upgrade, he told us we were getting a better car, but got exactly what we booked. Found your site hard to use (first time user).
7.4
PhilNovember 27, 2016
Friendly service and convenient location
Time taken to get the car
8.4
November 27, 2016
Ease of pickup location, same location as skybus
Not so easy to locate car, signage and map could be better, we were not the only ones confused by the instructions.
5.6
November 15, 2016
Very helpful person on the desk in the airport when we picked it up. Just wasn't clear in the airport where we had to go to find the desk
No map. Would have liked a map of Melboourne and environs rather than relying on phone for directions. IN formation about toll roads would be useful as well. In so saying the girls on the desk was very good telling us how to get to Geelong from the airport.
8.8
HasanNovember 6, 2016
The model and the service.
The colour of the car and how hard to set up the bluetooth
7.8
November 5, 2016
price and economy
all good
8.8
davidOctober 31, 2016
Ease of puck up and drop off. I would definitely try to get an Avis car next time as it was so close to arrival/departure entrance and drop off was so easy. Thanks for great service.
8.6
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Avis Rating
Melbourne
Excellent
8.0 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings