Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Johannesburg Airport

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty at Johannesburg Airport and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

MartinSeptember 21, 2017
No comment
No Comments
7.4
September 18, 2017
Excellent service
10.0
RobertSeptember 16, 2017
Easiest rental so far, no hassles!
8.0
September 9, 2017
Staff very freindly and helpful
The USB point in the car did not work which created much difficulty foe me with my navigation device as I relied on it working and did not then take auxiliary power pack.
8.4
September 5, 2017
None
Smoke smell in the car.
5.8
August 31, 2017
The rental price was reasonable.
The inspection of the vehicle was thoroughly done when it was returned but on collection of the vehicle it was not afforded any attention to point out any existing defects. In my case, there was some minor scratches on the car on collection and on return I had to justify these scratches. Not a good experience.
7.8
MarthinusAugust 24, 2017
Perfect for the purpose i needed it for. Very economical too.
None
7.6
August 20, 2017
Easy process to rent by South African standards. Vehicle as booked and described.
Vehicle had reasonable minor damage.
8.8
BruceAugust 16, 2017
Friendly and very efficient staff at the counter. Easy drop off with friendly helpful staff. Overall the best car rental experience we have had and we have had many. Will definately use Thrifty again. Thank you xxx
9.0
ThembelihleAugust 1, 2017
Their service was good
Nothing all was perfect
8.4
July 31, 2017
No charge for tolls Friendly helpful staff
9.2
July 25, 2017
Clean car and friendly staff
Long wait when I picked the car up Tollgates
8.6
July 23, 2017
Overall a very good service
The car felt a little underpowered and perhaps a model with a bigger engine would be preferable for long distance travelling
7.8
NicJuly 23, 2017
Rear seat belts were not compatible to our childrens bumper seats. They were rigid in design.
7.4
July 15, 2017
Vehicle was comfortable and spacious.
When I returned the vehicle at the airport I had to go inside to find someone to help me. Other rental companies have people waiting outside to help you return your vehicle
8.4
MazwiJuly 13, 2017
Good customer service and good condition car
Nothing noted on this occasion
9.6
EtienneJuly 8, 2017
Very easy process. Really convenient. Great car.
8.6
DanielJune 28, 2017
Fastest at the counter in a long time. Upgrade was nice bonus.
The cabin had definitely been smoked in by previous users.
7.8
SalomonJune 26, 2017
Very impress with all
9.0
MichaelJune 25, 2017
The almera is underpowered
6.0
DonJune 22, 2017
Great rental company.
None
7.4
OgheneruegbaMarch 26, 2017
Exact car provided. Easy pickup
Asking for my return ticket
8.6
ChristiaanMarch 14, 2017
when returning the car was really helpfull and dropped us off with all our luggage at the departure gate....
car was not that clean on collection and very badly scratched all over.... the border letter was not ready as requested before collection so took very Long and a lot of additional charges which was unexpected and make it much more expensive then the orginal qoute
5.8
CliveMarch 9, 2017
Car was clean and reliable.
Service at pickup counter.
7.0
AdamFebruary 26, 2017
Smooth process.
After doing a once over when collecting the vehicle, several scratches had not been highlighted on the report I initially received.
7.8
FrederikFebruary 5, 2017
It was not easy to find the car once the keys where handed over and they did not explain I am not getting the same car as in the picture.
5.8
February 2, 2017
Booked a Qashqai but it would not start, after a short wait we were supplied a X trail.
8.0
January 31, 2017
Car was clean and ready.
Old model of the car was given. I had to put the child seat in myself with no help.
7.6
January 26, 2017
Great service God Bless
10.2
January 18, 2017
The car was very comfortable, light to handle and drove like a dream.
8.2
January 11, 2017
The staff was helpful
Time it took to get the car
5.4
remoJanuary 3, 2017
We reeally liked Cedric's help at collection.
6.6
HarpalJanuary 1, 2017
The car was good. No complaints.
The experience was bad: Despite having my details the lady could not download my voucher. It took over an hour to get the car and as a result we were delayed. She also said that she would activate the Toll Tag. She did not and we got stuck at a toll. The Lady did not appear to be well trained Also,the wind screen viper fluid was not topped up.
7.0
MargaretDecember 8, 2016
Supposed to get a VERY Polo got a Nissan instead . very uncomfortable car and it smelt like smoke
6.6
November 18, 2016
Very friendly staff
The upgraded car Aircon was not working
7.6
October 13, 2016
Our flight was early so we had to wait for the car to be delivered which was why it took so long to be on the road. The staff were very helpful and answered all my questions about the whereabouts of the equipment such as jack & tools.
8.0
BarryApril 9, 2016
Everything worked well,no problems when we arrived a bit early
nothing
9.0
March 11, 2016
The staff was very helpful and competent.
I had a problem with a tyre that gave problems. Thrifty explained that the cars and tyres get checked at the head office only. I think that should be done thouroughly before delivered to the airport in order to keep customers safety in recognition.
8.2
GregMarch 10, 2016
staff was VERY VERY VERY courteous and heplful
would not permit car to be picked up without credit cards... next day manager apologized and allowed the car .. but then none were available ... manager gave free upgrade - all was ok
9.2
March 2, 2016
Renault Duster - very nice Like the GPS - helped a lot Bluetooth ..
Nothing
8.6
March 1, 2016
The fact that it was quick and was upgraded
no help with luggage at the car - should have someone escort to the car and ensure no damage and assist with luggage
7.2
JohnFebruary 28, 2016
Original car had broken rear view mirror, and a dead battery. It was efficiently replaced for another car.
8.2
February 24, 2016
After multiple requests at the other Thrifty pick-up/drop-off stations for GPS, which was absolutely essential for me in JO'burg, I finally got one!!! They also helped me set it up for the destination.
Again and as per my 10 day hire from Cape Town to Port Elisabeth, the car was old with 43,000 + KM on the clock
5.8
JonathanFebruary 6, 2016
Helpful staff on a busy day, professional customer service.
8.8
January 23, 2016
Car was clean. It was new and not damaged.
Service when picking up the car was slow. Representive was on the phone, it was important business about the computer. Two other clients pushed in to get a quote. It just slowed down getting the car processed.
7.8
HermanDecember 15, 2015
Good value and as advertised. Staff at the vehicles were extremely friendly and helpfull. We had a lot of luggage and the employee at returns offered to drop us at departures after car was inspected. Good show!
The lady at the rental desk was rude and after I told her that I would not be treated in that way, she refused to help me any further and farmed me off to helpfull and friendly co-worker. If not for this event, I would have experienced excelent service and value.
7.2
November 6, 2015
There was a problem with the car originally reserved for me. The staff at Thrifty were very diligent in solving he problem, and they gave us a better car.
8.4
MelissaOctober 21, 2015
Ismail was amazing and really helpful at the drop off
9.4
AndrewOctober 19, 2015
Cannot believe the efficiency and friendliness. No other company will get my business. This is the 3rd time I have used Thrifty.. Absolutely fabulous. Many Thanks. Andrew Nicholas
8.6
simonOctober 2, 2015
I got the car I requested, which is not common
It couldv'e been a newer model
6.6
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Johannesburg Airport
Very good
7.2 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings