Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Johannesburg Airport

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty at Johannesburg Airport and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

FrederikFebruary 5, 2017
It was not easy to find the car once the keys where handed over and they did not explain I am not getting the same car as in the picture.
5.8
February 2, 2017
Booked a Qashqai but it would not start, after a short wait we were supplied a X trail.
8.0
January 31, 2017
Car was clean and ready.
Old model of the car was given. I had to put the child seat in myself with no help.
7.6
January 26, 2017
Great service God Bless
10.2
January 18, 2017
The car was very comfortable, light to handle and drove like a dream.
8.2
January 11, 2017
The staff was helpful
Time it took to get the car
5.4
remoJanuary 3, 2017
We reeally liked Cedric's help at collection.
6.6
HarpalJanuary 1, 2017
The car was good. No complaints.
The experience was bad: Despite having my details the lady could not download my voucher. It took over an hour to get the car and as a result we were delayed. She also said that she would activate the Toll Tag. She did not and we got stuck at a toll. The Lady did not appear to be well trained Also,the wind screen viper fluid was not topped up.
7.0
MargaretDecember 8, 2016
Supposed to get a VERY Polo got a Nissan instead . very uncomfortable car and it smelt like smoke
6.6
November 18, 2016
Very friendly staff
The upgraded car Aircon was not working
7.6
October 13, 2016
Our flight was early so we had to wait for the car to be delivered which was why it took so long to be on the road. The staff were very helpful and answered all my questions about the whereabouts of the equipment such as jack & tools.
8.0
BarryApril 9, 2016
Everything worked well,no problems when we arrived a bit early
nothing
9.0
March 11, 2016
The staff was very helpful and competent.
I had a problem with a tyre that gave problems. Thrifty explained that the cars and tyres get checked at the head office only. I think that should be done thouroughly before delivered to the airport in order to keep customers safety in recognition.
8.2
GregMarch 10, 2016
staff was VERY VERY VERY courteous and heplful
would not permit car to be picked up without credit cards... next day manager apologized and allowed the car .. but then none were available ... manager gave free upgrade - all was ok
9.2
March 2, 2016
Renault Duster - very nice Like the GPS - helped a lot Bluetooth ..
Nothing
8.6
March 1, 2016
The fact that it was quick and was upgraded
no help with luggage at the car - should have someone escort to the car and ensure no damage and assist with luggage
7.2
JohnFebruary 28, 2016
Original car had broken rear view mirror, and a dead battery. It was efficiently replaced for another car.
8.2
February 24, 2016
After multiple requests at the other Thrifty pick-up/drop-off stations for GPS, which was absolutely essential for me in JO'burg, I finally got one!!! They also helped me set it up for the destination.
Again and as per my 10 day hire from Cape Town to Port Elisabeth, the car was old with 43,000 + KM on the clock
5.8
JonathanFebruary 6, 2016
Helpful staff on a busy day, professional customer service.
8.8
January 23, 2016
Car was clean. It was new and not damaged.
Service when picking up the car was slow. Representive was on the phone, it was important business about the computer. Two other clients pushed in to get a quote. It just slowed down getting the car processed.
7.8
HermanDecember 15, 2015
Good value and as advertised. Staff at the vehicles were extremely friendly and helpfull. We had a lot of luggage and the employee at returns offered to drop us at departures after car was inspected. Good show!
The lady at the rental desk was rude and after I told her that I would not be treated in that way, she refused to help me any further and farmed me off to helpfull and friendly co-worker. If not for this event, I would have experienced excelent service and value.
7.2
November 6, 2015
There was a problem with the car originally reserved for me. The staff at Thrifty were very diligent in solving he problem, and they gave us a better car.
8.4
MelissaOctober 21, 2015
Ismail was amazing and really helpful at the drop off
9.4
AndrewOctober 19, 2015
Cannot believe the efficiency and friendliness. No other company will get my business. This is the 3rd time I have used Thrifty.. Absolutely fabulous. Many Thanks. Andrew Nicholas
8.6
simonOctober 2, 2015
I got the car I requested, which is not common
It couldv'e been a newer model
6.6
August 24, 2015
I requested a car with automatic transmission which was listed as available, but when having made the booking I was informed the only option was a manual. This was dealt with though and the customer service tried really hard to sort us out. In the end we took the manual one and it was fine.
7.6
July 20, 2015
Staff where all smiles and helpful
7.0
GregoryJune 30, 2015
Front driver's side tire was low, we had fill it up shortly after pick up. No big deal.
8.6
April 15, 2015
Ease of using car, reliable
I had to change the front tyre, but the car-jack was very difficult to use (possibly standard for the Chevrolet Spark), so I had help from another car owner/ other car jack.
9.6
March 31, 2015
The quality and comfort of the car; the handling by the receiving agent at George.
Having to hire a satnav system to use in a car whose built-in system has been disabled; receiving a satnav stem that contained only instructions for operating a radio.
8.0
March 19, 2015
No electric windows No Map
7.6
GrahamMarch 16, 2015
Staff were extremely helpful and polite
Car was underpowered. Very erratic on the road.
8.6
NormanMarch 13, 2015
Friendly staff, car in good clean condition, drop off quick and easy.
Fuel tank not full and after driving showed 300+ kms short of full tank. First 300 kms hardly moved the gauge then gauge showed fast movement. Staff agreed tank not full and accepted car with less fuel.
7.8
AugustoMarch 7, 2015
professinalism and kindness
nothing
7.6
ANDREWFebruary 28, 2015
the staff could not do enough to ensure a wheelchair was brought to the office for my mum when we dropped off the vehicle
first vehicle was undriveable (wheel balance? + some rattle around front right wheel) replacement vehicle sent to our address and worked fine.
7.8
christopherFebruary 16, 2015
the staff at the pick and drop off were very friendly.
7.4
RobertJanuary 19, 2015
First class service and value for money.
10.0
JohnDecember 30, 2014
All very good, delighted with the car chosen which suited the purpose
7.8
RogerDecember 3, 2014
Friendlyness and clarity of the staff
The car "bakkie" smelled of gasoline and there was a terrible unbalance in the wheels. Shaking the car.
6.6
November 11, 2014
I will hire in the future my rental cars with rentalcars.com The counter staff from Thrifty is doing a good job in Johannesburg.
I had to top up Aircon Gas,- was not working at all
9.11111111111111
September 3, 2014
Wonderful people at thrifty.
9.333333333333334
September 2, 2014
Quick efficient pleasant staff
lost initial check list of the car!
8.0
August 21, 2014
Bigger rims so that there could be bigger tyres.
The size of the wheels,they make the car bit unsteady when travelling down hills.
9.11111111111111
JamesAugust 12, 2014
The staff were cheerful and very helpful , even tho' late at night . They answered all my many questions and also supplied a map when requested . Drop-off very efficient and quick .
The car had had a lot of use . Tyres were a mix , with one having minimum thread . Windscreen washer didn't work , rear okay .
9.333333333333334
DebraAugust 4, 2014
The vehicle took more than 40 minutes to be delivered from the depot, but this might have been a customer returning the vehicle late and not Thrifty's fault.
8.88888888888889
July 13, 2014
Worked very smoothly.
Nothing
8.88888888888889
July 5, 2014
Arrived 2 hours earlier than booked but staff were unfazed and even gave me an upgrade. Super efficient
8.666666666666666
May 21, 2014
Nice car
Service is very slow
4.0
StanleyMay 18, 2014
Preparation and late arrangement of the vehicle Flexibility of the staff to explain the terms Being greeted by name at the pick up counter
Minute to even worry about it.
7.333333333333333
StefanMay 9, 2014
pick up Point very dark, not easy to see damage on cars. drop off Point very bright Car old with lots of Km
6.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Johannesburg Airport
Very good
7.1 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings