Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Washington DC Dulles Airport

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty at Washington DC Dulles Airport and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

December 9, 2017
Convenient
Extra time needed to get to terminal
9.2
October 1, 2017
The car had glass shards in it and it also seemed very underpowered when the air conditioner was on.
6.8
September 12, 2017
Excellent service - efficient - trouble free- really impressed with drop off
Nothing
7.4
September 5, 2017
They did not give me the exact car that i rent. Its not fair...
5.8
RichardAugust 28, 2017
The check in was quick the check in staff at pick up were good car ran well. Return check in staff not so good
1, no jeep available 2, Sat nav was extra 3, No indication where the nearest gas station for return fill was
5.6
EddieAugust 22, 2017
Ease of collection and drop off
8.0
July 31, 2017
Car was exactly as ordered and was clean and tidy.
Pressure to add more insurance.
8.8
July 27, 2017
Great mini-van. Was given choice of vans parked near each other. Good efficient service. When car battery died (see didn't like section), called hotline and service was prompt and car was started up again and was reliable from that point on.
Car battery died day after pick-up. Luckily we discovered problem early in day and called hotline. Service was prompt and it didn't delay plans significantly for that day. Could have been a problem if I had started the car right when I needed to get to my timely appointment.
7.6
FrankJuly 16, 2017
After one week, the rental car failed to start and I had to wait approximately 4 hours for a tow. I was dropped off at Reagan Airport to pick up a replacement which was not as nice as the original.
6.8
July 4, 2017
The customer service lady is very collaborative and has great respect for customer.
7.6
RotemJuly 3, 2017
Fast service,easy to find the shuttle,car in good condition,eady pickup & drop off,
Took me awhile to understand how to lock the car...these "special features should be explained at pickup
8.0
JeffreyJune 27, 2017
They sent me out to the lot and told me I could choose any vehicle in a certain section. There was only one vehicle in the entire section!!
7.4
CalvinJune 23, 2017
The service was excellent and the suv was perfect for our trip
9.2
June 13, 2017
Quality
Line for rent
8.4
June 13, 2017
Really friendly, efficient staff.
Pick-up is a little far from the terminal but it wouldn't put me off renting again.
6.8
June 12, 2017
Cars should be cleaned well.
6.6
June 7, 2017
Courteous and efficient staff.
The make of the car was poor. mileage per gallon was poor. Gas tank was not filled at pick up.
8.4
HASSANMay 24, 2017
Over all satisfied
Non
5.6
PatriciaMay 23, 2017
Easy
Car was brand new and for two weeks I felt sick from the smell. I had to drive with the windows down
9.8
May 22, 2017
Very good job, guys!
8.6
MarkMay 22, 2017
I would use Rentalcars.com again b/c I believe the deal I received was better than I could get directly from Thrifty. As this was my first time to use Rentalcars.com, I wondered if I would have issues at pickup but the process was easy.
8.8
MohammadMay 16, 2017
Fast.
They did not clean the car before giving it to me. The gas was not full it was missing, and they asked me to bring back a full tank.
6.8
May 15, 2017
They were not clear that we could take any compact economy car
5.4
May 8, 2017
The car was a Hyundai Sonata which was exactly he size we needed for four adults plus their baggage. It was easy to drive and park, and performed perfectly.
Poor signage at Dulles arrivals terminal, which made it difficult to find how to reach Thrifty when we arrived tired and jet-lagged
7.4
RichardMay 3, 2017
I liked that after a last minute change of plan that meant changing flights and my departure airport it was absolutely no problem at all to drop the car off at Ronald Reagan Airport instead of Dulles where we'd picked the car up and a very friendly member of staff dropped us off with all our luggage in the same car right at the departures! :)
8.8
JeffreyApril 12, 2017
The drop off was easy and I got the car I paid for
It took over 15 minutes to get the car and the gentleman kept trying to upsell me on another car and additional add-ons. I was happy to pay for insurance but it isn't reasonable to pay for road side assistance. A flat tire is the drivers responsibility but if the car breaks down I expect Thrify to cover that not me.
6.8
MilchenMarch 31, 2017
Everything.
Nothing.
9.2
March 23, 2017
Nice car.
?
9.4
January 20, 2017
Bundled insurance protection. No hassle on return
Car had a lot of unrepaired damage that had to be carefully documented. Drivers side mirror was loose due to early damage and made it difficult to use
7.0
ValdimarNovember 6, 2016
Great car easy to find the bus and drop off again
Extra fee for easy pass
8.2
MatthiasSeptember 17, 2016
Adeel was very friendly and patient.
The website we booked with online had a completely different car but only reading the fine print, it says "or similar ". The extra driver costs are way too expensive.
5.4
July 31, 2016
Swift pick from airport to thrifty car rental.
Nothing - all positive.
9.0
WassimJuly 22, 2016
staff was helpful
GPS did not work
4.6
July 11, 2016
Were able to check out the car options in the parking lots and then pick a car. Friendly and fast staff.
Signs to the office were a bit confusing
7.0
AlfredoSeptember 2, 2015
slow at the counter. problems with the boucher when going out of the lot. car was nót very clean.
5.4
MichaelAugust 19, 2015
Shuttle service at Dulles and LAX worked well and locations were easy to find. The Chevrolet Camaro performed faultlessly for the 3800 miles we drove across the US, sometimes in extremely hot conditions. Great trip !
Only a few minor points which could be improved. The car wasn't very clean when we picked it up. The staff on the desk tried to sell us all sorts of unnecessary extras. The GPS provided wasn't up to date with the latest roads in some areas.
7.6
ChrisJune 18, 2015
Once I found where to go for the poick-up, it was good
Not offered maps (I should have asked to see if they had any. Tried to sell me things I did not need Not friendly No explanation for not having the car I requested (I had printed off the dash and instruments online)
6.2
May 4, 2015
I like the countrr staff whose name Amer very much. He is very kind and helpfull. Also the service they are giving as eazypass to the customers
The company should take care of maintanence of the cars. The mechanical condirion of the cars are terrible. It does not fit the quality of the comoany.
7.8
SiewMay 4, 2015
Service from the staff (Ali) was excellent!
9.6
May 3, 2015
Told me I had to pay more for the ultima
As above
7.4
TomMarch 31, 2015
Easy, no fuss service. Great selection of vehicles.
N/A
9.6
SandroMarch 23, 2015
Drop off was very efficient
7.2
March 16, 2015
GPS did not work
7.6
MounaMarch 7, 2015
Very good service
Nil
8.4
November 11, 2014
The agent was very helpful! Thanks for an easy transaction.
9.333333333333334
CuneytOctober 13, 2014
I have been given the opportunity to select from a range of different models.I appreciate.Perfect service.
10.0
yusufMay 9, 2014
The staff was not cooperative helping me to find the address of my hotel
8.88888888888889
March 29, 2014
They let me choose the car on the list myself.
The one way fee is very expensive and it worse when plus the tax.
6.888888888888889
March 2, 2014
Very efficient & speedy to collect the car. Good value for money.
Car was very scratched and had a fair few dents in the bodywork.
8.0
AnthonyFebruary 26, 2014
It was all very easy and problem free.
None
9.333333333333334
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Washington DC Dulles Airport
Very good
7.7 / 10
250+ ratings

Ratings

Nearby Locations

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*
Privacy policy

Loading

Please wait

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.