Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Dollar logo - rentalcars.com

Dollar Reviews Newark Airport

Read 50 customer reviews on Dollar at Newark Airport and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

PhilipAugust 18, 2017
Friendly staff, no queues, non pushy staff
Car I booked was dirty on outside, with many scratches on car, I thoroughly checked the car and found a chip in the windshield, making it unrentable in my ppimion. Reporting this I was offered a upgrade - no questions. Bill the manager was excellent. But it pays to check your vehicle before leaving, second car was new and a really great vehicle.
6.2
August 6, 2017
The car was fine and the price was fair in comparison
The car was very basic, the engine was very basic and the space in the boot was just enough
5.8
BrianJuly 26, 2017
Ease of finding the Car Rental desk. Helpfulness of staff. We upgraded to a larger car simply for the fact that is was not pushed onto us
As we were travelling with our son who has Autism the wait time was a problem for us.
8.2
July 25, 2017
Parcel shelf was broken Expensive
6.0
July 8, 2017
Return was excellent and staff very helpful on a very hot day. Katrina was especially good with my elderly mother.
Car had a major dent in rear at pick up and mud stains on internal sills.
6.2
July 7, 2017
The car was clean and fully functional, the price was good so had no problems with the car type but not a kia rio.
the car was Toyota yaris, I had to unlock car and boot manually as no central locking.it was a long wait for the car as the line was also serving thrifty car hire clients.
7.2
July 5, 2017
Great price.. good car
The agent wasn't very clear about the ezpass
7.0
paulJuly 3, 2017
Michael was very help full wen I returned the car
i paid for the eze pass which did not work so coursed concern and ruined the holiday. the counter did not ave enough staff and every thing took to log
6.2
July 3, 2017
Staff were really good.
Car was knocked about and could have been fresher.
7.8
KathleenJune 30, 2017
It was quick and easy.
Nothing
7.2
June 17, 2017
The car was not clean inside
7.0
June 17, 2017
Good clean car and no hassle
6.8
ColinJune 15, 2017
It was an easy process to rent and return the vehicle.The desk at Newark often get bad reviews.This was 2nd time we have used them they were excellent.
7.6
June 13, 2017
The staff where very helpful and explained all details
There is nothing to dislike
8.0
June 13, 2017
With Navigation System
9.2
JustinJune 12, 2017
Car didn't have back up sensors
8.2
JackJune 8, 2017
Wish they had had a Prius... just more seed it.
Car comfort. Ford Focus was hard to get in and out of.
9.6
June 7, 2017
Price was exhorbitant. All my details had to be entered again at the service counter despite the fact that I had entered them all already online.
7.6
June 2, 2017
it was easy to drop the car off
rather too many extra insurance options offered
8.2
ColinMay 30, 2017
Car was nice
Difficulty in finding the Dollar office - construction work
6.8
NicholasMay 30, 2017
The fact that one cannot use prepaid debit card to collect the vehicle.
7.8
May 25, 2017
Everything was straightforward. No problems at all
8.8
WilliamMay 24, 2017
Staff when returning car were helpful and courteous.
No criticisms
8.8
May 24, 2017
Only 2 staff working at counter when picking up....took almost 2 hours.. overbooked cars for people in front of me ...thus some
6.2
PaulMay 22, 2017
Car was presented in immaculate condition, very friendly staff at the rental desk ,( as usual), we had a Kia Sportage, very nice ,
Nothing,
8.2
AlanMay 16, 2017
Buying extra cover which I really did not require
6.6
May 14, 2017
The rental car rep who answered the phone was plweasant, helpful and efficient.
9.0
May 8, 2017
Effective vehicle. Competent and helpful staff
We have rented a larger car recently more cheaply, but in Spain.
8.6
May 1, 2017
I had booked to have a second driver but the rental company had no record of it.
8.0
PeterApril 15, 2017
Easy access by airtrain.
Wibdscreen wipers were in poor condition. Initially got charged an extra days hire for car being 39 minutes late. However, once raised with the staff, this was rectified.
8.2
March 30, 2017
Good price, friendly and service minded personel
The car could be in better shape. Lose parts, strange noises.
8.0
MarkusMarch 22, 2017
always very appreciative of the ease of pick-up and drop-off. Thank you
9.2
March 3, 2017
The car was problem free, having a GPS was a bonus, also was not obligated to return with a full tank.
The car was a bit untidy inside and a bit dirty on the outside.
7.8
February 26, 2017
Staff were very helpful
None
8.0
January 6, 2017
Speed of pick up and return.
Address given for return: GPS takes you to a different place. Was told I had to prove I'd filled up the tank within 10 miles of Dollar. Then I wasn't even asked for the receipt.
8.8
January 3, 2017
The ease to rent the car and friendliness of the staff of the check-in desk. Also, when I left my glasses in the car the agent was very quick to retrieve them.
9.0
December 13, 2016
Offered a change of car
Boston Logan drop off was empty and chaotic with cars everywhere. Nobody to receive the car.
8.0
MikeDecember 5, 2016
Good overview of of whole process with app. Makes traveling a lot easier.
No dislikes
8.8
ChrisNovember 23, 2016
Finding the Dollar premises was very easy via the Air Train.
Due to mis-reading the paperwork I arrived at Dollar without a credit card in my name. First assistant I spoke to was not very helpful and told me to ring the Rental Cars company. Bad attitude, not even a smile. Spoke to another assistant a while later who sorted the problem out with a positive and cheery attitude!
7.6
DaniloNovember 22, 2016
friendly and helpfull
was a bit farther from the airport then anticipated but acceptable
6.2
November 14, 2016
Drop-off fee to JFK that did not exist in the past. Car was not clean inside.
7.0
AndresNovember 4, 2016
I liked the Dollar car hire company and loved the car Kia Rio. This car is positioned as "small", but it was a plenty for me although I am 6'3" (190 cm) tall. It would have been also enough for a wife and two small kids. Perhaps a bit small for 4 grown-ups and lots of luggage.
9.6
CarlOctober 21, 2016
Cleanliness and newness of the vehicle.
Dollar deducted funds from our credit card which showed on our card as a pending transaction for most of our holiday, this didn't allow us enough funds on our card for planned payments I've Hotels etc. It was only towards the end of our holiday that these funds disappeared from our card freeing up the further expenditure. We were unaware of this!
8.4
IvanOctober 19, 2016
Just about everthing.t
Time in the queue waiting to see a rep to get the car.
9.2
OluseyiOctober 5, 2016
service was quick
limited range of cars in the group we booked available at pick up
7.6
September 26, 2016
Excellent service received from the Dollar representatives at collection and again at drop off. Please pass on my thanks and also please notify their respective managers.
No material issues encountered.
8.8
September 13, 2016
Ease of drop-off
1.The very long wait to pick up the car 2. The rental price at Newark is very high.
7.0
PhilipSeptember 5, 2016
We were given a Nissan Quest as an alternative To the Dodge Caravan we were expecting. It appeared to be a higher grade of car.
We'd had to wait a long time for Dollar to find a suitable vehicle for us. The interior was very untidy with candy wrappers, and was also in need of a good vacuum clean. There were several minor marks and scratches on the exterior, including a small dent on a door.
6.2
September 1, 2016
helpful staff
driving back to Dollar drop off point(whilst following pre-programmed GPS directions - seemed to take a long route around airport via some very busy roads)
6.6
UlfAugust 24, 2016
The car as such
The very long waitingtime in line before reaching the desk to pick up the car!
7.6
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Dollar Rating
Newark Airport
Very good
7.5 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings