Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Dollar logo - rentalcars.com

Dollar Reviews Newark Airport

Read 50 customer reviews on Dollar at Newark Airport and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

PeterApril 15, 2017
Easy access by airtrain.
Wibdscreen wipers were in poor condition. Initially got charged an extra days hire for car being 39 minutes late. However, once raised with the staff, this was rectified.
8.2
March 30, 2017
Good price, friendly and service minded personel
The car could be in better shape. Lose parts, strange noises.
8.0
MarkusMarch 22, 2017
always very appreciative of the ease of pick-up and drop-off. Thank you
9.2
March 3, 2017
The car was problem free, having a GPS was a bonus, also was not obligated to return with a full tank.
The car was a bit untidy inside and a bit dirty on the outside.
7.8
February 26, 2017
Staff were very helpful
None
8.0
January 6, 2017
Speed of pick up and return.
Address given for return: GPS takes you to a different place. Was told I had to prove I'd filled up the tank within 10 miles of Dollar. Then I wasn't even asked for the receipt.
8.8
January 3, 2017
The ease to rent the car and friendliness of the staff of the check-in desk. Also, when I left my glasses in the car the agent was very quick to retrieve them.
9.0
December 13, 2016
Offered a change of car
Boston Logan drop off was empty and chaotic with cars everywhere. Nobody to receive the car.
8.0
MikeDecember 5, 2016
Good overview of of whole process with app. Makes traveling a lot easier.
No dislikes
8.8
ChrisNovember 23, 2016
Finding the Dollar premises was very easy via the Air Train.
Due to mis-reading the paperwork I arrived at Dollar without a credit card in my name. First assistant I spoke to was not very helpful and told me to ring the Rental Cars company. Bad attitude, not even a smile. Spoke to another assistant a while later who sorted the problem out with a positive and cheery attitude!
7.6
DaniloNovember 22, 2016
friendly and helpfull
was a bit farther from the airport then anticipated but acceptable
6.2
November 14, 2016
Drop-off fee to JFK that did not exist in the past. Car was not clean inside.
7.0
AndresNovember 4, 2016
I liked the Dollar car hire company and loved the car Kia Rio. This car is positioned as "small", but it was a plenty for me although I am 6'3" (190 cm) tall. It would have been also enough for a wife and two small kids. Perhaps a bit small for 4 grown-ups and lots of luggage.
9.6
CarlOctober 21, 2016
Cleanliness and newness of the vehicle.
Dollar deducted funds from our credit card which showed on our card as a pending transaction for most of our holiday, this didn't allow us enough funds on our card for planned payments I've Hotels etc. It was only towards the end of our holiday that these funds disappeared from our card freeing up the further expenditure. We were unaware of this!
8.4
IvanOctober 19, 2016
Just about everthing.t
Time in the queue waiting to see a rep to get the car.
9.2
OluseyiOctober 5, 2016
service was quick
limited range of cars in the group we booked available at pick up
7.6
September 26, 2016
Excellent service received from the Dollar representatives at collection and again at drop off. Please pass on my thanks and also please notify their respective managers.
No material issues encountered.
8.8
September 13, 2016
Ease of drop-off
1.The very long wait to pick up the car 2. The rental price at Newark is very high.
7.0
PhilipSeptember 5, 2016
We were given a Nissan Quest as an alternative To the Dodge Caravan we were expecting. It appeared to be a higher grade of car.
We'd had to wait a long time for Dollar to find a suitable vehicle for us. The interior was very untidy with candy wrappers, and was also in need of a good vacuum clean. There were several minor marks and scratches on the exterior, including a small dent on a door.
6.2
September 1, 2016
helpful staff
driving back to Dollar drop off point(whilst following pre-programmed GPS directions - seemed to take a long route around airport via some very busy roads)
6.6
UlfAugust 24, 2016
The car as such
The very long waitingtime in line before reaching the desk to pick up the car!
7.6
RobinAugust 16, 2016
Returndesk i Newark - Rosemarie was fantastic after a very long traffic congested drive!!! Thank you
The car (Altima)was a bit "mushie" - not your fault, just a little bit soft and "tracked" a lot on the highway.
8.0
August 8, 2016
On pick up there was no attempt to sell extras.
7.6
July 7, 2016
I liked the fact that the car did not smell like cigarette.
I didn't like the fact that it was very expensive and the GPS did not work properly.
6.4
FranciscoJuly 5, 2016
So, when I rental a car, normally I'd like to pick up the same car and no other one that you have available for me!!
7.4
July 1, 2016
No ezpass
9.0
June 26, 2016
Staff is so friendly.
There was only one line to be checked in, I was waited 20 min.
8.4
June 20, 2016
I had trouble finding the exact place I was supposed to drop the car.
8.6
June 11, 2016
Quick pick up and drop off
Welcome of staff when returning the car. Cleanliness not sufficient inside the car. Some marks on the car not shown on the contract
7.0
AdelJune 9, 2016
Price
7.6
June 8, 2016
Pocking up car. Counter lady very helpful.
NA
9.2
June 7, 2016
Staff were friendly and efficient.
No problems experienced
8.2
May 31, 2016
Great as always!
8.0
May 14, 2016
Upgraded
9.0
May 12, 2016
The upgrade
Old roast beef sandwich found under passenger seat from last renter.
7.4
ElhananMay 6, 2016
Nothing
7.4
May 2, 2016
vamue for money
engine of the car was too little - on the same model there coukd have been a slightly better engine
8.6
ElizabethApril 25, 2016
The staff were very friendly.
Had up to 3 additional drivers free but only 1 other could drive as the others had U.S. licences and dollar do not permit this if vehicle booked from U.K.
9.2
April 20, 2016
I ordered a Kio Rio. Its a pretty basic car and of lower spec than its UK equivalent. Although car was exactly to specification this model urgently needed a service. There were odd noises coming from front suspension. To be fair I didn't complain until I returned it and was asked if I had complained earlier.
8.0
April 18, 2016
Good car no problems
Time to get rental even thou it was all pre booked
7.0
BrettApril 5, 2016
The car was really perfect for what we needed
Wasn't really shown controls of vehicle
8.2
EmmaMarch 23, 2016
Quick return/checkout of the car Helpfulness of counter staff
First child seat was wet despite being wrapped in plastic
7.8
March 3, 2016
Great staff
9.8
January 20, 2016
I wanted to change the pickup time. That took to long time and to many Telephones to organise. It was not possible to organise it threw Dollar.
7.6
SyedJanuary 19, 2016
This time the car condition was good but for some strange reason the seats were in bad condition, both driver and co passenger seat was lil sunk in, driver was more and that made getting in and out of car difficult and also me being bad back and cervical patient, it was uncomfortable.
9.0
December 16, 2015
Extremely clean
Too many scratches on rear bumper which not sure went reported. It was not as full of fuel as should have been.
8.8
December 7, 2015
good car - good staff
it takes so long everything!!! like somebody trying to sell a house
6.2
RobertNovember 24, 2015
Large area for bags Comfortable to drive.
The car was difficult to get in and out of no running boards fitted very high car Told there were no Jeeps available and the next car in the pickup areau was a Jeep. Tried very hard to hire us an E Z toll collector by Suggesting most roads were cashless, but we did not travel on any.
6.6
DennisOctober 27, 2015
The counter staff and rental return staff were great.
We booked and pre paid for a Ford Focus (or similar) but got a Ford Fiesta which is a noticeably smaller car than the Focus. We are familiar with the size of a Ford Focus from previous hire experience.
8.2
DanielSeptember 14, 2015
Great service
Nothing
7.8
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Dollar Rating
Newark Airport
Very good
7.7 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings