Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Guerin logo - rentalcars.com

Guerin Reviews Funchal Airport

Read customer reviews on Guerin at Funchal Airport and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

October 20, 2017
Prices are good. Counter staff helpful.
The computer system seems to be very slow, it takes a long time from getting to the desk to getting the paperwork even though we have booked in advance.
8.4
October 2, 2017
No Problems with Hand over car
They tested how much Money can take from us. Less deposit - pay additional, recomended better car - pay additional
6.4
ShaneSeptember 11, 2017
It took longer to recieve my car than it took to get to my hotel. That's including no queue!!! I was first in line and it still took 30+ minutes
7.6
September 5, 2017
Staff
7.4
AugustinJuly 20, 2017
I was very pleased with the service provided and the vehicle
I have nothing to say here
8.0
HelenJuly 4, 2017
Fab company - easy peasy!
Would have preferred the seat Ibiza over the fiat that we were allocated but all good in the end.
9.0
PaoloApril 24, 2017
Staff was particularly friendly and kindly upgraded the existing reservation. The car was clean, new, spacious and pleasant to drive. The cost on a relative basis provided good value for money.
Madeira has lots of small lanes and it can be difficult to drive a large car at times. After a period of adjustment it was fine though and a lovely island to spend holidays and explore.
7.8
johnApril 2, 2017
good staff and general service
Car not a seat Ibiza as booked so a slight downgrade. Also a/c didn't work at all and the fan only worked on setting 4 !! I have reported this but should have been checked before my hire
6.6
JohnMarch 21, 2017
Dealt with very professionally
Drop off very busy. Would be difficult to improve without many extra staff - understand problem!!
8.6
March 19, 2017
The condition of the first car: The handbreak did not function, so we called and went to change the car. The next car was fine, no problem. Staff was ok.
7.4
March 12, 2017
Car was in very good condition, staff were helpful
Time it took to drop car off. Pressure to buy extra insurance cover.
7.4
March 12, 2017
The full fuel pick up condition
The arrival desk had no one in attendance.
6.6
March 5, 2017
The car was very nicely presented but see 'What I didn't like'. Under normal circumstances this car would have been great.
Given the nature of driving / parking in Madeira and Funchal in particular, I would have prefered a car that already had a few scrapes and dents on it. My shiny, not very old car was actually a liability and I was constantly concerned about OTHER drivers damaging it. Also, it was quite a large car (Peugeot 308 estate) which gave problems parking.
8.2
PaulMarch 2, 2017
As above, realy great service
8.4
AdrianFebruary 26, 2017
Easy to collect vehicle. Staff were efficient.
Car we were given was a bit beat up. Lots of scratches & dents which was a bit disapointing considering it was less than a year old. Plus it made the check out longer as we had to make sure we logged all the damage which was slightly annoying.
7.6
February 14, 2017
Ease of hire, pick up and drop off. Good price
Rather long wait to pick up.
9.0
February 7, 2017
The counter staff and the Guerin car park staff were super efficient. We had a puncture in a very dangerous position on a bend. The Guerin helpline sent out a breakdown truck within 20 minutes and the wheel was changed quickly and safely by a very helpful breakdown operative free of charge
Nil
9.0
February 1, 2017
delightful and helpful car assistant. splendid car - just what was required
problem with the Renault Clio petrol indicator which caused some anxiety on returning the car. Though the car was returned full, the gauge only indicated three-quarters. I understand this is a fault with this car! the assistant reassured us that all was correct
8.8
DenisJanuary 13, 2017
New car as described.
Madiera is very hilly, if planning to tour island 1.6ltr engine would be better choice. Directions from car pick up point to Funchal not signed very well, if at all... especially for night time pick up when not attendant in car park.
8.4
MichaelJanuary 12, 2017
Excellent car well prepared.
The ridiculous time to complete admin and at the collection point.
6.6
GeoffJanuary 6, 2017
Very polite and helpful service at airport desk although had to wait a long time.
Cars are provided clean but the first had a slow puncture so needed to be changed, the second car was OK. Both came with no windscreen washer water.
6.0
October 31, 2016
The staff at Guerin airport was very helpful and immediately gave us a new car. However we did have to drive all the way back to the airport and had to change our plans to get the new car.
Unfortunately the car broke down (couldn't change into 3rd gear anymore) after 5 days. This shouldn't happen with a new car.
6.8
September 25, 2016
Friendliness of staff
Driving on steep, narrow, winding roads! Nothing negative to say about rental cars
8.2
August 17, 2016
A bit underpowered on the hills of Madeira. It coped but was in in 1st and 2nd gear on most hills.
7.8
RICARDOJune 16, 2016
Drop off was nice and quick
Pick up wasn't so good took along time to get the car over 1 hr and it was hot so not happy at all.
7.2
May 19, 2016
Extremely helpful, knowledgeable and pleasant staff with excellent command of English.
8.6
April 29, 2016
Good, clean, new car
The engine was rather under-powered for the hilly terrain of Madeira
8.2
April 19, 2016
Takes far too long to collect the car. Desk is too small - need more counters and staff. Then, told to head for level 4 to collect car, but nowhere do you find a sign giving directions to level 4. On return, again, signpost directions are poor!
7.4
PaulMarch 18, 2016
Quality of the car
No map supplied,not enough staff to cope properly
7.8
IanFebruary 21, 2016
All very easy except for computer problems at the pick up desk delayed collection by a long time.
A very long check in process due to computer problems.
8.2
February 4, 2016
The person at the reception desk was very friendly and helpful.
There was some confusion as to the terms of the contract.
8.0
January 18, 2016
The booking on rentalcars.com included paying ful protection, while in Guerin we had to buy another one
7.0
January 11, 2016
the car was very good
9.0
MichaelDecember 22, 2015
Overall easy pick up and drop off
7.4
peterDecember 15, 2015
Condition of vehicle
Length of time to get vehicle. Examined vehicle with magnifying glass to identify even the slightest damage, even little paint finish scratches.
7.8
November 18, 2015
excellent car provided
distance from pick up to check in
8.2
October 28, 2015
good car in good condition
8.6
October 11, 2015
Everything
Nothing
9.2
TerenceSeptember 15, 2015
The knowledge and professional handover and takeover staff
The low power of the vehicle we chose
8.4
ElvioSeptember 1, 2015
Staff and efficiency! Probably just an idea for you; as most of the people who hire a car are turists it would be a nice touch to either give them a map of Madeira as a souvenir! It costs peanuts and it gives a special touch from you.
Nothing to add.
8.8
RICARDOAugust 31, 2015
the car was new and outstanding
last year at brava car they wanted to give me a piece of junk and then I lost about a 1000 euros. I don't recommend that particular company.
9.4
MaximAugust 22, 2015
The car was brand new with less than 2 K mileage.
Processing In Funchal is extremely slow. Yet, the car was not ready by our arrival, which made us waiting more than an hour.
7.4
July 21, 2015
Clean tidy car. Easy to park.
Car was seriously underpowered for very hilly and mountainous country. Could not get up the drive to our villa with out my husband getting out of the car first.
8.4
PhillipJune 16, 2015
Everything will use again
Absolutely nothing!
9.0
May 30, 2015
Usable volume of the car
A few instructions, for example the unusual way the handbrake of the VW Sharan works.
9.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Guerin Rating
Funchal Airport
Very good
7.8 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings

Nearby Locations