Popular Locations
£ British Pound
Manage booking

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Sign in
Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Guerin logo - rentalcars.com

Guerin Reviews Funchal Airport

Read customer reviews on Guerin at Funchal Airport and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

JohnMarch 21, 2017
Dealt with very professionally
Drop off very busy. Would be difficult to improve without many extra staff - understand problem!!
8.6
March 19, 2017
The condition of the first car: The handbreak did not function, so we called and went to change the car. The next car was fine, no problem. Staff was ok.
7.4
March 12, 2017
Car was in very good condition, staff were helpful
Time it took to drop car off. Pressure to buy extra insurance cover.
7.4
March 12, 2017
The full fuel pick up condition
The arrival desk had no one in attendance.
6.6
March 5, 2017
The car was very nicely presented but see 'What I didn't like'. Under normal circumstances this car would have been great.
Given the nature of driving / parking in Madeira and Funchal in particular, I would have prefered a car that already had a few scrapes and dents on it. My shiny, not very old car was actually a liability and I was constantly concerned about OTHER drivers damaging it. Also, it was quite a large car (Peugeot 308 estate) which gave problems parking.
8.2
PaulMarch 2, 2017
As above, realy great service
8.4
AdrianFebruary 26, 2017
Easy to collect vehicle. Staff were efficient.
Car we were given was a bit beat up. Lots of scratches & dents which was a bit disapointing considering it was less than a year old. Plus it made the check out longer as we had to make sure we logged all the damage which was slightly annoying.
7.6
February 14, 2017
Ease of hire, pick up and drop off. Good price
Rather long wait to pick up.
9.0
February 7, 2017
The counter staff and the Guerin car park staff were super efficient. We had a puncture in a very dangerous position on a bend. The Guerin helpline sent out a breakdown truck within 20 minutes and the wheel was changed quickly and safely by a very helpful breakdown operative free of charge
Nil
9.0
February 1, 2017
delightful and helpful car assistant. splendid car - just what was required
problem with the Renault Clio petrol indicator which caused some anxiety on returning the car. Though the car was returned full, the gauge only indicated three-quarters. I understand this is a fault with this car! the assistant reassured us that all was correct
8.8
DenisJanuary 13, 2017
New car as described.
Madiera is very hilly, if planning to tour island 1.6ltr engine would be better choice. Directions from car pick up point to Funchal not signed very well, if at all... especially for night time pick up when not attendant in car park.
8.4
MichaelJanuary 12, 2017
Excellent car well prepared.
The ridiculous time to complete admin and at the collection point.
6.6
GeoffJanuary 6, 2017
Very polite and helpful service at airport desk although had to wait a long time.
Cars are provided clean but the first had a slow puncture so needed to be changed, the second car was OK. Both came with no windscreen washer water.
6.0
October 31, 2016
The staff at Guerin airport was very helpful and immediately gave us a new car. However we did have to drive all the way back to the airport and had to change our plans to get the new car.
Unfortunately the car broke down (couldn't change into 3rd gear anymore) after 5 days. This shouldn't happen with a new car.
6.8
September 25, 2016
Friendliness of staff
Driving on steep, narrow, winding roads! Nothing negative to say about rental cars
8.2
August 17, 2016
A bit underpowered on the hills of Madeira. It coped but was in in 1st and 2nd gear on most hills.
7.8
RICARDOJune 16, 2016
Drop off was nice and quick
Pick up wasn't so good took along time to get the car over 1 hr and it was hot so not happy at all.
7.2
May 19, 2016
Extremely helpful, knowledgeable and pleasant staff with excellent command of English.
8.6
April 29, 2016
Good, clean, new car
The engine was rather under-powered for the hilly terrain of Madeira
8.2
April 19, 2016
Takes far too long to collect the car. Desk is too small - need more counters and staff. Then, told to head for level 4 to collect car, but nowhere do you find a sign giving directions to level 4. On return, again, signpost directions are poor!
7.4
PaulMarch 18, 2016
Quality of the car
No map supplied,not enough staff to cope properly
7.8
IanFebruary 21, 2016
All very easy except for computer problems at the pick up desk delayed collection by a long time.
A very long check in process due to computer problems.
8.2
February 4, 2016
The person at the reception desk was very friendly and helpful.
There was some confusion as to the terms of the contract.
8.0
January 18, 2016
The booking on rentalcars.com included paying ful protection, while in Guerin we had to buy another one
7.0
January 11, 2016
the car was very good
9.0
MichaelDecember 22, 2015
Overall easy pick up and drop off
7.4
peterDecember 15, 2015
Condition of vehicle
Length of time to get vehicle. Examined vehicle with magnifying glass to identify even the slightest damage, even little paint finish scratches.
7.8
November 18, 2015
excellent car provided
distance from pick up to check in
8.2
October 28, 2015
good car in good condition
8.6
October 11, 2015
Everything
Nothing
9.2
TerenceSeptember 15, 2015
The knowledge and professional handover and takeover staff
The low power of the vehicle we chose
8.4
ElvioSeptember 1, 2015
Staff and efficiency! Probably just an idea for you; as most of the people who hire a car are turists it would be a nice touch to either give them a map of Madeira as a souvenir! It costs peanuts and it gives a special touch from you.
Nothing to add.
8.8
RICARDOAugust 31, 2015
the car was new and outstanding
last year at brava car they wanted to give me a piece of junk and then I lost about a 1000 euros. I don't recommend that particular company.
9.4
MaximAugust 22, 2015
The car was brand new with less than 2 K mileage.
Processing In Funchal is extremely slow. Yet, the car was not ready by our arrival, which made us waiting more than an hour.
7.4
July 21, 2015
Clean tidy car. Easy to park.
Car was seriously underpowered for very hilly and mountainous country. Could not get up the drive to our villa with out my husband getting out of the car first.
8.4
PhillipJune 16, 2015
Everything will use again
Absolutely nothing!
9.0
May 30, 2015
Usable volume of the car
A few instructions, for example the unusual way the handbrake of the VW Sharan works.
9.0
PamelaApril 21, 2015
Efficiency of counter staff once served. Easy to drop off car on return.
Long queue to pick up car on arrival - presumably due to their competitive prices. It would be better if there were two queues - one for new customers and one for pre-booked.
7.8
February 17, 2015
The car we eventually got was delightful. Clean, easy to drive and coped well with the Madeiran terrain.
We discovered that the car initially presented to us had a faulty headlight. This was going to be dealt with by a bulb change. Then we found that one of the rear tyres was nearly flat. They suggested a call in to the first garage en route to pump it up!! We refused and eventually we were given a car without faults.
7.2
January 26, 2015
The car had quite a bit of mileage on it (over 30,000 KM) and may have been in need of a check up.
7.4
January 20, 2015
thanks for the serves all the best for 2015
nothing
6.0
January 7, 2015
I have liked all
No comments
8.2
October 22, 2014
Fast check in. Thorough checks on condition before leaving car park.
Car was "tired" low on power for the hills motorways etc number of scrapes on bodywork
6.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Chinese license
Form submission
Guerin Rating
Funchal Airport
Very good
7.7 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings

Nearby Locations