Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews South Africa

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in South Africa and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

August 17, 2018
Great service
8.0
August 17, 2018
great price
no one at check out to verify that there was no issues with the car
8.4
August 15, 2018
Everything was fine
7.8
August 14, 2018
Good service
Need open more branches
8.0
August 14, 2018
I arrived early and the car was ready. I didn't have to wait. Very friendly staff. Great service.
The radio wasn't working and because I was alone it would have been nice to listen to some news or music.
9.0
August 13, 2018
Staff at the drop off were very helpful and polite
8.6
August 11, 2018
I am likely to rent from Thifty again but would like that every single cost implication is explained and made visible on the online booking.
The fact that the car I received was not the car I had booked.
6.6
August 7, 2018
Value for money The car had plenty of zip I got an excellent fuel consumption
The outside of the car was a little dusty
9.0
August 7, 2018
Helpful of the drop off
Kilometers they give me to smol
6.4
August 7, 2018
All good
8.6
August 7, 2018
Prices are responsible
More time spend when pick upping
9.2
August 5, 2018
They were professional .
Nothing.
9.0
August 2, 2018
Make the place user friendly for guys in wheelchairs like myself
No priority to disabled
9.6
August 1, 2018
There service was very good
Nothing I can say everything was excellent
8.4
July 31, 2018
The friendliness of staff .
The wait we had for our online booking to get processed. Online it said 60 minutes but we waited over 3 hours.
7.8
July 31, 2018
Helpful service over the counter.
I got a Datsun Go. Not a comfortable car at all.
6.6
July 30, 2018
The overall Service was good.
The Deposit amount for that car type was high.
8.6
July 30, 2018
Friendly staff and very helpful, was also very quickly. Will definitely use them again
7.6
July 23, 2018
Very impressed with the Datsun car
8.8
July 23, 2018
The first car that I was given had a faulty radio so had to bring it back and get a different one. I didn’t like that in the category or group of the car I had rented they only had one type of car and basically had no choice.
7.2
July 23, 2018
Service
The car was relatively old
7.0
July 22, 2018
Great cheap car
Zero features or functions
8.6
July 20, 2018
Staff excellent, competent and helpful
N
8.4
July 20, 2018
Ease and speed of processing my pickup. The friendliness of the staff.
Nothing much except the heartache after being given a Nissan Go instead of Chevrolet Spark. The Nissan Go's rear window is so small it creates blindspots.
9.2
July 16, 2018
Very impressed with staff
7.8
July 13, 2018
had a problem with a/c did not work but your Durban branch swapped the car handled efficiently
7.2
July 1, 2018
Great service
9.6
June 17, 2018
The radio seems if it wasn't fitted correctly. every time you just drove on a road that is a little bit bumpy then the radio front panel came of and then you must switch on the radio again. It was really frustrating.
8.0
June 11, 2018
We got an upgrade on the vehicle that it we hired. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The general interaction with the staff was extremely pleasant.
9.0
June 4, 2018
Wiper bottle had no water
9.4
May 29, 2018
Your staff very friendly
8.0
May 23, 2018
The service was good and the online booking was easy. My phone was off due flat battery and the consultant manage to retrieve the voucher for me form the system.
The car was bit noisy and funny sound coming from somewhere.
8.2
May 18, 2018
Battery went flat
7.6
May 17, 2018
Staff were nice.
Car was poor.
7.0
May 15, 2018
The staff is really good!
Please, clean the inside of the cars. You don’t need water for this, just cleaners!
8.0
CorneliusMay 13, 2018
Excellent
9.4
ThembaniApril 2, 2018
very helpful and quick
staff are serious not smilling
8.4
March 22, 2018
Was good service allround
7.8
March 19, 2018
Took too long too long to pick the car up
6.6
MarioMarch 19, 2018
Prompt and efficient service,
9.2
March 10, 2018
Staff warmth
Nothing
7.2
March 8, 2018
A good car
The washing screen was not working
6.2
March 8, 2018
Friendly and very helpfull staff
8.4
March 6, 2018
Very Clean
Boot cover was not fixed
7.2
March 6, 2018
The service met my needs
No Tolgate unit in the vehicle
6.8
March 3, 2018
Very efficient service both at the rental desk and at the collection point. Good car
9.6
MERVYNMarch 1, 2018
Overall service and friendliness/helpfulness
nil
9.4
EberhardFebruary 27, 2018
Size of rhe car was good
Engine had not enough powersizr
6.8
February 26, 2018
Staff were very friendly and I liked the fact that the vehicle was brought to the front, rather than leaving me to walk and locate the car myself.
There were no vacant parking bays upon returning the vehicle, but not too serious.
8.4
February 23, 2018
Friendly staff
8.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
South Africa
Very good
7.64118 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings

Chat

Leave message

What would you like to chat about?

Sorry, all our agents are busy right now. Please try again later or leave a message.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm

Please try again later or leave a message.

*Required
By continuing, you accept that telecoms company Mitel will process your details.

Loading

Please wait

Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?

Your chat transcript will be sent to the provided address

How would you rate the overall service our team member provided today?

Did our team manage to solve your problem?

We’re always keen to improve. Is there anything you think we could be doing better?

1000 characters remaining

We'll aim to email you back within 48 hours.

*Required
1000 characters remaining
There was a problem sending your message.

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.

Thanks

We'll aim to email you back within 48 hours