Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews New Zealand

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in New Zealand and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

July 15, 2018
Ease of picking up at the airport quick pickup and quick drop off
9.6
July 13, 2018
Very easy pick up, although it wasn't the car we booked it was pretty similar and in good clean condition
Nothing
8.4
July 13, 2018
The mechanical condition, size and power of vehicle. The Thrifty desk assistance was so professional and polite. Thank you.
9.6
July 13, 2018
Upgrade to a AWD with chains thrown in was great
9.0
July 7, 2018
Got what we asked for.
Nothing :)
7.6
July 6, 2018
We loved the free upgrade ..of course, but really enjoyed the staff we met. They were friendly, professional and very helpful.
Nothing we did not like. It was awesome.
8.6
July 3, 2018
Friendly staff
Instructions to find the car was poor. We walked around the whole car park as we were pointed in the wrong direction
8.6
July 2, 2018
That I got to speak to someone on the phone when i first booked. And most especially that it was very easy to find at the airport.
9.2
July 1, 2018
The car hired was very new and perfect for our family and the holiday we were on.
9.0
June 18, 2018
Excellent car
None
9.6
June 18, 2018
friendly service and honest about the existing damage to the car
unfortunately nearly every panel had a scratch or dent or stone chip a lot to record
8.2
June 12, 2018
Booked a Qashqai. Got a Holden Captiva. The Holden is very uneconomical with fuel.
6.6
June 12, 2018
The office was right on site
8.6
June 11, 2018
Great customer service at both Hamilton and Palmerston North Airports, Great service!!!
10.2
June 9, 2018
nice little car
a corolla is not Similar to a Camry. just both Toyotas
7.6
June 8, 2018
Our car windows fogged up with the cold which made visiblity very difficult at times
7.0
June 7, 2018
I actually picked up from Wellington Airport and the customer service and upgrade was excellent. Dropoff in Wellington was good. asked for best way to get back to my Hotel. the young man sent me off on a 40min walk instead of telling me about the bus I could have taken
9.0
June 5, 2018
All the service.
There was nothing I not liked.
9.0
June 1, 2018
New car with all mod cons. Easy to locate and friendly staff
Only 1 person at the counter for pick up so had to wait in line
7.6
May 31, 2018
Surprisingly good car, not sure if it was an upgrade, but it was very nice.
Only 3/4 of a tank of petrol when I picked it up!!
9.6
May 29, 2018
Clean car
Not being informed how to get out of rental car area Or what to do to return
8.2
May 29, 2018
The assistance at the desk in nelson an ease of dropping the car of in christchurch
I thought i ordered a toyota camry or similiar as my wife is in a wheelchair. So needed bigger boot space. But got a toyota corolla
6.6
May 29, 2018
Speed of service and flexibility
Didn’t get the car I’d asked for.
7.8
May 25, 2018
Very Helpful staff in Wellington
9.0
May 25, 2018
Very easy to find in the terminal. Process very quick
9.2
May 25, 2018
The representative in Palmerston North was friendly and had organised an upgrade for us. She was fabulous and very helpful.
9.0
MatthewMay 23, 2018
Paid for upgrade myself. No discounts offered despite being member of NRMA through partner program. Good car. Good location of desk.
Chewing gum in car seat fix point. First thing I noticed when putting my car seats in. Otherwise, car was clean.
6.8
May 22, 2018
Helpful staff at pick up Not quite sure who, but someone retrieved the keys when partner worked out he had left phone in car, thank you
The insurance plan I chose was a bit steep
8.8
ShanMay 21, 2018
Great customer service, very professional, courteous, informative and helpful. Thanks
8.6
May 20, 2018
The size of the car was great. The customer service at the Picton Ferry was excellent.
For some odd reason, the car did not come with foot mats. I mentioned this to the lady at the Queenstown airport, when I dropped off the keys.
8.4
BrettMay 20, 2018
Very quick and easy to collect and return
The car had a few scratches
8.6
KevinMay 20, 2018
The overall car and service
Nothing
8.8
May 18, 2018
The car, the cleanliness, the fuel efficiency.
Nil
9.0
RowenaMay 15, 2018
Great service! Great car!
Nothing to not like
9.4
DavidMay 15, 2018
great as new vehicle, very comfortable.
9.0
May 11, 2018
Easy booking process Wonderful service at the counter Great car very economical Fantastic return process
Nothing will definitely use again
9.4
May 10, 2018
Counter staff friendly and efficient
8.8
May 9, 2018
Srevices and car
9.0
May 8, 2018
Good ride.
Comment: The seatbelt alarm annoyed me until I discovered that my bag resting on the passenger seat was triggering the alarm. Once I cliped the passenger belt the alarm went off. For individual travellers this could be common. My bag was lighter than 10kg so it is set pretty tightly. It is a simple solution and phone staff could have suggested.
9.0
GrahamMay 7, 2018
Very good service with excellent car
8.6
HeatherMay 6, 2018
Reliable, large and well equipped
Tyres had not been checked. One was very low. All needed air.
8.2
TimMay 3, 2018
Great car and no fuss service.
8.8
April 30, 2018
Problem with the trunk Car not washed properly at pick up
6.0
PaulApril 30, 2018
Fractionally bigger car
Would have liked the option of hiring a diesel so cheaper to run
8.6
DavidApril 29, 2018
Overall the booking was fine the KIA SUV was almost new.
The vehicle was fine but was underpowered for some hills and overtaking.
7.0
April 28, 2018
good car and staff what else can I say...
8.8
MurrayApril 28, 2018
because the van was long wheel base it suited us perfectly as there were 11 people plus bags and we had to buy all our food for a week as well. Instead of having to make two trips to Kaiteriteri we did it in one which was very helpful.
Nothing
8.4
GRAHAMApril 26, 2018
Upgrade Aa discount
Nothing
8.8
April 25, 2018
Terrific staff, courteous etc...
Nil
8.6
WendyApril 25, 2018
Ease of rental car pickup and price
8.6
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
New Zealand
Excellent
8.68214 / 10
10000+ ratings

Ratings

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
By continuing, you accept that telecoms company Mitel will process your details.

Loading

Please wait

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.