Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Durban

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Durban and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

MarioMarch 19, 2018
Prompt and efficient service,
9.2
March 3, 2018
Very efficient service both at the rental desk and at the collection point. Good car
9.6
February 22, 2018
Excellent service
Nil
8.6
randheerFebruary 22, 2018
Your staff was very friendly and very efficient. Well done.
8.8
JohannesFebruary 16, 2018
The vehicle was brand new, yet it was very unstable on the road
8.4
February 13, 2018
Excellent Service!a,a,
9.4
JonathanFebruary 10, 2018
The professionalism and helpfulness of the staff who went over and beyond. Well done thrifty. I will recommend them to whoever I know who is going to need to hire a car.
There was nothing I did not like.
9.2
February 6, 2018
Cleanliness of the car
Shortage of staff when dropping the car
6.6
IanJanuary 28, 2018
Like chalk and cheese from the last hire. This car new and prestine condition. Last hire old and poor condition
8.0
January 12, 2018
Speedy response for a last minute booking I made. Vehicle was confirmed within 2 hours. Thank you!
Tyre pressure was not checked before I took delivery. It was low and vehicle handling was affected.
7.6
VictorJanuary 10, 2018
The car was big and cheaper. Good for a family. Wonderful driving, I felt safer.
The car was a bit old inside and had many scratches outside.
6.4
January 7, 2018
The car service was easy to locate.
The car given had so many scratches on it
6.6
SimonJanuary 5, 2018
it was my first time hiring a car and you made me feel at home. thank you and keep up the goid work
9.4
November 23, 2017
Very easy. Booked on my phone
.NA
7.8
November 18, 2017
Quick drop off
Nissan automatic gearbox Heavy fuel consumption Refusal to take cash at pick up Car not ready at pick up
7.6
November 13, 2017
Quick and efficient
8.0
ValerieOctober 28, 2017
service was good but unfortunately the location was not good for a single lady
They at first did not want to hire the car out due to my age which was declared on the booking.
7.4
JuliOctober 28, 2017
The staff member who dealt with us was courteous, efficient and willing to please - really nice gentleman
There was nothing I did not like, but do find that the deposit is quite hefty
9.2
VuyoOctober 9, 2017
The car did serve the purpose in terms of space
The time taken to verify the token was not conducive
8.4
MehboobSeptember 27, 2017
Process is quite convenient and easy to use , although would prefer selecton of size of collidion waiver when booking. Collection process also fine.
We got a car with much smaller boot than selected so luggage had to be squashed.
7.6
PauloSeptember 27, 2017
Quick efficient service
Vehicle was on the older side 47000km plus
7.8
MoritzSeptember 26, 2017
I liked the helpfulness of the staff. I got stuck with a faulty battery out side of town on Sunday afternoon. Within 45 minutes of me calling the call centre I had a replacement car and was ready to go. I was kept up to date with the progress, I was called back, I was sorted out very quickly and effortlessly. What a pleasure to be valued!
9.2
September 25, 2017
Efficient, good service.
8.8
DonaldSeptember 21, 2017
Great service from the staff and they explain things to customers best interest.
Nothing bad noted.
9.2
BakangSeptember 8, 2017
Prompt response. Good vakue for money. Car was exactly how it was described on the website. Excellent service.
Documents were nit ready and collection took long but overall service was friendly. If i was on a business trip with time constraints this would have been an issue. Also the funds are still blocked on my credit card more than 4days after tje car was returned.
7.8
NokwandaSeptember 4, 2017
i liked how clean the car is and the lady at the rental desk who assisted me, she was very professional
the actual car i got, i would have never picked it.
7.0
SharonSeptember 3, 2017
Staff member attending to me was very friendly and efficient. Really a fantastic experience!!
Not applicable
9.6
jasonSeptember 2, 2017
The easy location from arrivals
The length of time it took to have the car issued
6.8
August 28, 2017
Friendly staff and prompt assistance
N/A
7.2
August 4, 2017
time at pick up; Check of car conditions
9.2
DelanoJuly 26, 2017
Car in a good condition, speedy service
The time to wait to get my Deposit back, it has been more than 7 working days
8.2
July 18, 2017
profesional aproach by consultants
Time to finalise booking,confusions in rental costs and ins options.
9.6
fransJuly 9, 2017
Good and friendly service.
None
7.0
fardeenJuly 8, 2017
Brilliant deal, with excellent value for money.... I will certainly use rentalcars again !
7.4
MerlynJuly 4, 2017
It was all good.
8.2
HaroonJuly 1, 2017
The car was not clean.
8.6
June 16, 2017
I dropped off the car at 5am and there wasn't anyone in the office. No one called me to confirm they received the car and all is in order.
7.4
February 25, 2017
Hire car desk pretty convenient to luggage pick up and pretty efficient pick up.
They are pretty serious about having the car hire voucher in South Africa so make sure you have it!
9.2
February 25, 2017
Very nice car in good condition, car hire desk very close to terminal.
Quite a long walk back to the terminal, leave plenty of time!
9.2
February 25, 2017
Got a slightly bigger SUV than we were expecting which was much better fir luggage space.
Was quite a long winded pick up.
8.6
GarySeptember 20, 2016
Vehicle was just what I needed thank you.
Car was filthy inside, upholstery stank of stale smoke and animal. Cloth seating was badly stained and dirty. Aircon filters need replacing to remove the smell. Outside vehicle had lots of damage and scratches which should be repaired.
6.6
MokotediJuly 4, 2016
Car was not available by time of arrival. This means the fuel was not as full since the car had to be brought in from another branch. Car had park sensor problems
7.0
NosiphoApril 3, 2016
Because there was no one to receive the car so the drop off inspection was not done so I trust there won't be issues - I would have preferred inspection with thrifty representative.
8.0
AndreJanuary 31, 2015
good service from all.
giving the datsun back. i loved it.
9.8
January 26, 2015
Car was very nice for the Price !!
Rental was abit Pricey
8.2
January 8, 2015
There is nothingvI didn't like,everything was up to my expectations and more
8.6
MandlaDecember 25, 2014
Desk Personnel so friendly welcoming.
Nothing service wqas great.
8.8
DanieDecember 21, 2014
Thank you for an excellent service!
9.0
KristineJuly 20, 2014
Because our original request was not available at another rental, our references etc was not obtainable so we went unprepared yet the ladies working there were super helpful and so friendly that we left laughing and with big smiles. Especially to the welcoming desk lady...Wish I could remember her name. We loved the vehicle we rented. We were sad to say goodbye to it when we returned it.
The excessive charges on my credit card put a damper on my holiday as I was so limited. It was the only thing that annoyed and frustrated me.
9.555555555555555
July 19, 2014
Staff were friendly and helpful.
I was satisfied with the service rendered.
9.333333333333334
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Durban
Very good
7.0 / 10
500+ ratings

Ratings

Nearby Locations

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
By continuing, you accept that telecoms company Mitel will process your details.

Loading

Please wait

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.