Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Budget logo - rentalcars.com

Budget Reviews San Francisco

Read 50 customer reviews on Budget in San Francisco and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

September 9, 2018
Every thing worked out fine. We booked a Ford Edge and had a Jeep, Gran Cherokee in very good condition :-)
8.4
September 4, 2018
Car was excellent
Contract details were incorrect and took time at the drop off to sort out. In fact it didnt actually get resolved so am a bit concerned we will get further issues
8.0
September 1, 2018
Zero problems
8.0
August 24, 2018
Easy and convenient
6.0
August 21, 2018
Fast
Car was absolutely (!) not cleaned after previous rental
6.2
August 21, 2018
Got the job done
The time it took to pick up
8.4
August 18, 2018
The staff were very helpful and friendly. It was easy to book the car and contact was excellent.
Bit disappointed by the car in that it wasn’t particularly new and there was a stale smell of cigarettes which finally went when we had to purchase air fresheners. However it did what we needed it to do.
6.6
August 14, 2018
Requested car with built in SatNav. Model proviuded did not have and we had to make do with a portable device.
7.8
August 14, 2018
Very normal, pickup and drop off very similar to my previous rentals at this airport.
Nothing much in particular. Good in general.
7.2
August 12, 2018
Staff very friendly and helpful when in need.
I got a warning 2 hours after departure that the oil had to be changed. I called the Budget Road Assistance service and they confirmed it was the case. This caused us quite some efforts and stress. The general cleanliness of the car was poor to average, especially the interior (but I know I’m a difficult guy).
6.8
August 12, 2018
Good staff
Very long line in Budget counter, as compared to other rental car companies. Most likely it's the best value for money if you're not in the hurry.
9.4
August 3, 2018
Gps totally out of date.
7.0
July 25, 2018
They were kind.
Too long waiting time.
6.2
July 19, 2018
The car performance was great!
7.2
July 18, 2018
Very good service and great staff member
9.0
June 30, 2018
Opening hours should be later than 18:00. At least 20:00.
6.8
June 22, 2018
got a brand new car with excellent condition
city office very busy
8.4
June 11, 2018
Guy who gave us the keys gave us a free car seat.
They gave me a very old sat nav that didn't know the local road, so we had the use our phone to get around. Also tried charging me extra for the sat nav.
7.2
June 10, 2018
Car condition
Pickup que was slow moving.
6.8
June 10, 2018
We got an upgrade for a good price and the staff in the counter was very helpful.
8.6
May 31, 2018
Great People and Company
Nothing
9.0
May 30, 2018
Great service. Easy to use and good value for money. Liked the valet parking at pickup and drop off.
8.6
May 26, 2018
Very much satisfied.exactly the same model which is there at the site. Will recommend to hire this one as it's special.
The amount this budget charge for road side assistance even when I had taken a extra cover.
7.4
May 25, 2018
Very nice staff, easy pick up
9.4
May 23, 2018
The GPS device was in very poor condition. Sometimes it worked, sometimes it didn't, often it took about 15 minutes until it showed a reaction after starting it (with battery 100% charged) in the morning. Overall this was very annoying every day.
7.4
DaleMay 12, 2018
The car
The pick-up took way too long. The data entry seemed to use 1980s technology and the queue was immense and slow-moving.
6.6
PetrMay 8, 2018
car won't accelerate past 60mph uphill
8.0
May 5, 2018
Super fast return
8.2
April 26, 2018
Efficient, friendly, and very helpful desk. Good car. Easy to pick up and drop off.
All good.
9.2
hughApril 16, 2018
Staff very professional, car immaculate inside and out
GPS was very poor, had me doing illegal u turns and taking me off the highway for a forty mile detour
8.6
ShaunApril 16, 2018
how easy it was to pick the car up and get on our way.
No navigation device provided with car.
8.0
ELIApril 16, 2018
The treatment i was given.
8.4
BrianApril 11, 2018
Easy.
Bit of a line on arrival. Probably a 15-20 minute wait.
9.2
JohnApril 3, 2018
All good. Many thanks
N/a
7.4
April 3, 2018
Pretty much Everything
9.0
JamesMarch 31, 2018
Friendly service during both pickup and drop off. No drama. Excellent gas mileage. NO attempts to sell me services or insurance I don’t need or want (HUGE plus and the reason I am likely to rent from Budget in the future).
Car was a little beat up. Trunk wouldn’t close correctly. Car was a bit dirty. Papers from previous renters stuffed in the glove compartment and armrest. Poor USB connectivity with iPhone (Google Maps) although this is probably Ford’s fault.
7.6
February 16, 2018
Excellent service
9.0
EnriqueJanuary 4, 2018
This time around the rental experience worked fully in line with expectations and I believe I received good value for the money.
Because I rented in a small location and the day after Christmas, the car was not clean and the tank not full. I returned it with the same level of gas I received so this was not a major issue.
8.0
December 11, 2017
Good value for many. Big variety of cars I wanted
I could not pay by my card
9.2
November 22, 2017
A reasonably priced upgrade at the service desk.
Previous customer had messed up the settings of navigation and infotainment system.
8.2
October 31, 2017
NO PROBLEM'S PICK CAR UP AND AWAY ON MY TRAVEL'S, THANK YOU MADE MY TRAVEL EASY AND QUICK!
7.8
October 30, 2017
Great car, service and VFM
8.0
MichaelOctober 28, 2017
The selection of vehicles
Queue for pick up of car No gas stations after freeway exit to drop off point
7.2
PhilipOctober 15, 2017
City Centre Location
Dark inside - could not examine car properly - it had some serious scratches front and rear. Sat Nave packed up for three days and then seemed to fix itself. Sat NAv memory was not cleared - return depot at LAX seemed unconcerned !
7.0
October 13, 2017
When we requested, our car was replaced.
Initially we got an un-modern car, which was noisy, cumbersome, used a lot of fuel and had nor BlueTooth or reverse camera.
6.0
October 7, 2017
I was forced to return the car without full tank load. The costs charged for refuling is much too much.
8.4
UriSeptember 30, 2017
Dirty car. Especialy from the inside
5.6
September 29, 2017
In the car ( VW Tiguain ) there were new features ( starting and locking of the doors ), which in my opinion should have been told in advance to an european driver of my age! Now I had to learn them in practise, and bother other people.
7.8
anthonySeptember 28, 2017
Ease of collection and drop off .
Nothing .
8.2
DafyddSeptember 27, 2017
Nissan Rogue was a pleasure to drive.
Would have preferred ford escape. Full to full policy. Stressfull finding decent gas station close to SFO.
8.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Budget Rating
San Francisco
Very good
7.54 / 10
2000+ ratings

Ratings

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Did you know? You can change your booking online right now.

Change booking online Right now Start chat

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
By continuing, you accept that telecoms company Mitel will process your details.

Loading

Please wait

One of our team will be with you soon.

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.