Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Picton

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Picton and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

MarcApril 16, 2018
THE NAVMAN MAPS WERE OUT OF DATE, ESPECIALLY AROUND THE CHRISTCHURCH AREA.
8.6
JosephMarch 18, 2018
Polite efficient.
Waiting at the beginning for rep.
6.8
March 13, 2018
Speed and efficiency of collection and drop off
Expensive
8.4
MargaretFebruary 18, 2018
Car gave us no trouble at all. Staff helpful at both ends
8.6
February 11, 2018
Very good car with full equipment
We had to drive on the left side...
9.4
January 12, 2018
I would like GPS standard included.
Nothing.
9.0
December 4, 2017
Excellent service with a brand new car.
9.2
October 15, 2017
Good value and efficient service Car was in very good condition
We were upgraded to a Toyota RAV 4 I would have much preferred a sedan or hatch but one was not available
7.0
RogerMarch 11, 2017
Very helpful staff
8.6
March 3, 2017
Ease of checkin and friendly helpful staff
It was all good. Even with cracked windscreen Dunedin staff put us through a hassle free experience and swapped the car no worries.
8.2
February 21, 2017
The car was fine. Staff v pleasant.
No one available at the office on our arrival as we were before our designated time. Staff took 30min + to arrive after being contacted. Paper work took a long time too.
7.8
SueJanuary 28, 2017
The car was very new only about 6000 kilometres on the clock.
Nothing
8.6
January 27, 2017
Great service
Nothing...keep it up!
9.4
January 16, 2017
Convenience and quality of car.
All was good but slight worry of damaging car.
9.0
LouiseJanuary 15, 2017
The woman we dealt with on reception was excellent, very friendly and efficient.
9.0
SusanaJanuary 4, 2017
Easy booking and pickup.
Nothing
9.2
MarlonDecember 29, 2016
Excellent service
Nothing
9.0
DavidDecember 27, 2016
did not have drop off explained. need to have card in car nominating fuel policy and fuel filler location. need map or gps in all vehicles.
9.2
JohnDecember 27, 2016
Convenient location
Office not staffed on return.
9.2
November 29, 2016
service was excellent, friendly yet professional.car was perfect and price was good. cheers
nothing, it was all great
9.8
ErnstNovember 29, 2016
Uncomplicated process of receiving the car and the relevant instructions, an unexpected upgrade
8.2
FionaNovember 7, 2016
Excellént service and the free upgrade was a greatly appreciated surprise.
8.0
October 10, 2016
Room for four adults, a child and their luggage. Easy pick up and even easier drop off. Staff at Picton made thing as easy as they could.
Fuel economy was higher than I expected. Roof bars, which we didn't ask for, whistled at highway speed. Leg room for a tall driver was marginal at best.
8.6
May 17, 2016
Picking up and dropping off the car was super easy.
The engine light was on after the rental period started and never went off.
7.2
DavidMarch 23, 2016
Helpful staff and vehicle availability
Queueing, as quite a number of customers arriving on same ferry, creating a queue
7.8
BruceMarch 22, 2016
First time driving the Hyundai. It had more "creature comforts" than the Corolla, in the same Rental Level.
8.0
RoyMarch 8, 2016
Great staff
Navigator charging cable was faulty. Had to change it in Nelson
8.8
JohnMarch 3, 2016
Very expensive - about X3 what I pay in Tasmania
8.0
IanFebruary 23, 2016
obviously got upgrade because one I booked was not available was not told I was getting a different car and not told whether it was petrol or diesel
8.2
DerrickJanuary 20, 2016
Ease of access to the drop-off and pick-up areas. Close proximity to the Information office (I-centre)
The vehicle was not filled with fuel. Although the gage indicated it was full, when we filled the car it took more than double the amount of fuel than the 2nd vehicle we hired for the extended family. Fuel usage after it was filled up was calculated at less than 5km/litre! NOT happy wit that!
8.2
Jukka-PekkaJanuary 4, 2016
Times varied of how we did the actual booking. We don't know if we did it wrong or was it because of changing the language from Finnish to English. Otherwise everything was all right.
9.0
January 3, 2016
Friendly staff at the counter
Nothing
8.8
StephenDecember 29, 2015
Who wouldn't like a smooth, comfortable brand new car?
Nothing.
9.4
October 31, 2015
Great little run around and perfect for our little holiday. Very economic
pic up location charges not detailed when booking on line
8.2
August 29, 2015
The car. Size, responsive engine, comfortable, enormous centre console box, heated seats, enormous boot.
Giving it back!
9.4
MarkApril 26, 2015
Great service, faultless car Thanks
9.0
DarrenMarch 17, 2015
Ease of booking
No one at thrifty for 20 mins
7.0
February 12, 2015
No hassle and helpfull staff
8.6
February 12, 2015
Fuel efficiency plenty of room for 4 adults and baggage brand new car -wonderful
Travelling to Picton on Coastal Express and the train was late arriving . The thrifty rental desk was closed when we got to the office. A sign to tell people what to do if this happens would make it easier for unexpected later than expected arrivals .
8.4
February 6, 2015
The car we received was rather sluggish compared to a Camry.
8.0
juliaJanuary 24, 2015
everything
nothing
9.0
RossJanuary 12, 2015
Service at Picton was incredible. The staff were friendly helpful & very pleasant unlike our treatment at Auckland Thrifty. The staff at Picton could not do enough for us. The drop off at Queenstown was efficient & quick & again pleasant & friendly. Well done to Picton & Queenstown.
8.8
December 29, 2014
Car was clean and in good condition. Pick up and drop of were quick.
The Trunk Cover was missing, so everybody could See what's inside the trunk. Not very good for travelling.
8.4
GeorgeNovember 27, 2014
The whole experience was good, both the service and the vehicle.
Not applicable in my case.
9.2
KevinOctober 30, 2014
Great little card. Brand new. Perfect for the job.
Nothing.
10.0
BruceOctober 12, 2014
The car worked really well for the distances, economical and very comfortable
9.333333333333334
August 19, 2014
cleanliness of car. new model.
would have liked to have picked up the car earlier than 9.30am (say 8am).
7.777777777777778
garethApril 30, 2014
Great Service
8.88888888888889
AlanMarch 5, 2014
Friendly counter person; clean reliable car.
Having to queue to pick up the car; no convertible options.
6.888888888888889
March 3, 2014
Everything was fine thank you
10.0
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Picton
Very good
7.9 / 10
250+ ratings

Ratings

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
By continuing, you accept that telecoms company Mitel will process your details.

Loading

Please wait

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.