Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Palmerston North

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Palmerston North and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

GrahamMay 7, 2018
Very good service with excellent car
8.6
April 10, 2018
Great service and good quality vehicle.
8.8
March 27, 2018
we were very happy as this the first time we have ever hire a car. Will definitely book again.
n/a
9.4
AmyJanuary 7, 2018
The fuel economy, it was amazing. Cruise control was fun.
9.2
GlennDecember 5, 2017
Maps provided excellant
No GPS
9.0
NickDecember 5, 2017
I would like to buy the Veh I hired
8.2
MauriceOctober 26, 2017
good reliable vehicle
9.0
PirepireOctober 17, 2017
easy to drive small and comfortable
no comments
9.6
MatthewOctober 11, 2017
Free upgrade and Joanne at counter was very good.
No parking spots available at Auckland airport for returning the rental.
8.4
JoySeptember 18, 2017
Great staff friendly
The cost
8.0
September 15, 2017
Very good manners n ensured that you where happy with the car.
Nothing
9.4
VickiAugust 9, 2017
Generally great service
Handsfree phone device would have been helpful. Other companies have included this for the same model vehicle.
9.2
August 1, 2017
Everything was great
7.2
July 19, 2017
Good vehicle, good service
Nothing
8.8
May 19, 2017
The upgrade! Easy to locate counter at airport and great being in the terminal. Car pick up quick and easy.
8.8
May 13, 2017
Total Hire was excellent
All was perfect
9.2
MurrayApril 29, 2017
The very helpful lady at the service desk
9.4
April 10, 2017
Very tidy and economical car. Very easy to drive. Friendly staff.
9.0
March 28, 2017
All good.
9.4
March 15, 2017
With my original flight cancelled I had to back track through Wellington but staff were on hand when I eventually arrived around mid-day.
I don't know Palmerston city well but finding a petrol station was a hassle and nearly ended up missing my flight back. If time short again will leave to be filled up.
10.2
March 3, 2017
Staff was excellent and helpful
Did not take us through the operation of car
8.6
February 10, 2017
I liked the fact that the fees were all explained by friendly staff and there were no hidden costs
8.6
maheshJanuary 29, 2017
Thank you nice vehicle had a good trip .took my Mrs away on our wedding anniversary
9.0
January 15, 2017
Leon on Reception was really helpful
Had to drop car off in AVIS car park as there was not spaces in the Thrifty car park
7.2
MikeJanuary 15, 2017
the up grade . thanks
8.8
TrevorDecember 1, 2016
Everything was good. Next time I'd use Rentalcars.com and get the best deal again as I did last time.
No problems.
8.6
October 16, 2016
Had a lovely lady at the counter in Palmerston North.
When we went to fill up with petrol couldn't find petrol cap release then 10 minutes later found we had to press the door over the petrol cap. Also no park for thrifty to park the car in at the airport.
8.6
KevinSeptember 2, 2016
Nice friendly staff Car was what I expected As a first time customer I was pleasantly surprised
Nil all was great
10.0
colinAugust 24, 2016
our overall experience was one of satisfaction,size and power of vehicle adequate,fuel consumption excellent,we were very pleased with service provided.
airport tax
9.2
JeffreyJuly 21, 2016
Easy booking, efficient service, great economical car.
1 extra charge on picking up the car that we didn't know about.
9.0
PaulaJuly 21, 2016
I liked the upgrade option we ordered a Toyota Camry and was given a Hyundai i35 which was absolutely tremendous I was very pleased. The staff at the front desk was very helpful in pick up and drop off. The vehicle was in excellent condition, I would definitely rent a vehicle from Thrifty again and definitely reccommend to others also.
Nothing at all
8.4
johnJuly 18, 2016
pleasant and helpful staff
hidden costs from on line booking just sneaky
9.0
DouglasMay 21, 2016
The girl/lady at the desk was extremely lovely
Nothing
8.6
May 4, 2016
easy due to location of kiosk
Nothing
9.4
John-PaulApril 21, 2016
The lady at the counter was awesome, very helpful which I really appreciated as I had a rushed trip and needed to change some details and arrangements
Could not pronounce the name of the vehicle!
9.6
February 23, 2016
No hassles and very friendly , helpful staff.
GPS was not always accurate
9.2
February 8, 2016
Suited the purpose well. Very comfortable to drive and as a passenger.
Hard to get in and out of.
9.2
DonSeptember 16, 2015
Jo was a nice friendly person and everything went to plan.
10.0
September 5, 2015
All the above
9.8
July 14, 2015
Staff were efficient. Car went well. Competitive pricing.
I was 10 minutes early picking up vehicle. Desk unattended and I had to make contact by phone, which stated someone would return my call. I ended up calling again and spoke directly to someone, who advise they would send someone across to the airport terminal. The car was not as clean as it could have been, however given I was 1 minutes early and taking this into account the location fee was waived which I agreed with.
7.6
HelenJune 23, 2015
Especially helpful staff
All good!
9.0
June 15, 2015
Had a Camry booked and supplied Yaris
9.6
March 1, 2015
Everything
Nil
9.0
ElisabethJanuary 28, 2015
No Problems with car . Very economical and easy to drive
Was very difficult finding the drop off location in Downtown Wellington (Wakefield Street) It was a very busy one way street and the building was not painted in the "Thrifty Cars" colours of orange. Was bright blue and only a small "Thrifty" logo on building that was difficult to see when driving!
9.4
January 18, 2015
I would only use it again if the car was the cheapest available - price rules who you use
8.4
RobertDecember 29, 2014
Ease of pickup and car very close to terminal
No negative comments
8.6
AllanNovember 25, 2014
car was great & very economical
nil
8.0
October 27, 2014
all of the above, cheaper than renting direct.
car was badly marked, mainly stonechips, went back to ensure I wasn't charged for them as they weren't noted on paperwork
9.11111111111111
JonOctober 18, 2014
Very friendly and straightforward!
N/A
9.555555555555555
August 28, 2014
Time it took to get confirmed booking
9.11111111111111
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Palmerston North
Superb
9.3 / 10
100+ ratings

Ratings

Top Suppliers in Palmerston North

Nearby Locations

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
By continuing, you accept that telecoms company Mitel will process your details.

Loading

Please wait

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.