Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Calgary, AB

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty in Calgary, AB and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

July 5, 2018
We had a great experience with Thrifty. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the car was exactly what we needed!
9.2
May 25, 2018
The car was great the service fantastic very smooth both pickup and drop off. Will be using Thrifty when we come back next year. Would highly recommend to anyone thinking of a car hire in Calgary
8.6
April 29, 2018
The staff were very helpful and friendly.
The car wasn’t clean. The car wasn’t in excellent condition.
6.8
April 5, 2018
Helpful staff
Car windows are dirty
8.4
March 11, 2018
Counter staff where helpful and pleasant after a long flight
Having to fill out paper work for a cracked windscreen
7.8
March 9, 2018
Very easy
Nothing
9.4
calinMarch 1, 2018
New clean car with no problems
Would be nice if for a winter hire in Canada cars would come automatically with winter tires.....not an added extra at extra cost.
8.6
DavidFebruary 20, 2018
Brand new vw tiguan.
Slow pick up, only 2 people before but just one person on desk and took about 30 mins
5.8
February 14, 2018
All fine.
The car door had been left open therefore the car was freezing inside. Took a while to defrost. Otherwise all good.
8.0
January 31, 2018
Brand new Car!
Have to pay for extra drivers
8.8
December 28, 2017
They were organized and clear and very easy to communicate with at the counter. Winter tires!!! It started up so easily even in -24C weather and heated up quickly. (no plug in necessary!) Easy drop off!
We came in on international, so had to walk a bit with all our luggage to get out to the rental office. The windshield wiper on the driver's side did not work. It was cold so didn't need it except on the first day from the salt being kicked up on the roads, but if it warms up, that could be a serious problem.
8.2
RickyNovember 30, 2017
Good car, fair price
Probably 20 minutes paperwork, after I thought all was fine online. Online didn't show snow tyres or child car seat. No recommendation for a close fuel station prior to return. No run through on how the car worked, so sorted along the way.
6.8
October 1, 2017
Friendly staff at the counter.
GPS hire expensive, and unnecessary in Banff National Park (mobile coverage was strong throughout).
7.0
September 25, 2017
Car was very appropriate and economical
Pressure to upgrade insurance, filled tank wasn't really full.
7.4
JENNIFERSeptember 21, 2017
all went smoothly
I think all car should come with a GPS as we would have not had a very pleasant experience if we did not pay the extra to have one
7.6
September 7, 2017
Counter staff very helpful.
Car was smaller than what expected
6.8
AlanSeptember 4, 2017
Very helpful staff
There was nothing I didn't like
8.2
September 3, 2017
Everything worked exactly as I hoped it would and the car was great
I would have hired a convertible in Seattle, but it was not available when i booked early, but when i checked later it was. Why???
9.4
September 3, 2017
the paid GPS device not so good, can't be easy to find the location. Totally worthless and very disappointed. Actually, I used the off-line map many many times at my cell phone during my trip.
5.4
September 1, 2017
Ease of picking up car from the airport. Helpful staff. Returning vehicle easy to find.
Everything good. Nothing not to like.
6.2
August 29, 2017
Travel Tab was a trouble. Supposedly, I was going to use it for 11 days, but I returned it on my 3rd day. The tab restricted me on getting access on any social media apps/websites, which it caused me a big trouble to get connected with people. Please review and check all your travel tabs on this issue.
7.6
PAULAugust 27, 2017
Quick service at a good price
Dirtiest car I've ever seen under the bonnet.full-on dried dust when I checked water/oil
7.8
August 27, 2017
The car was perfect for long drives
Liked everything
9.0
August 27, 2017
The price rate is perfectly helpful for any renter looking for best deal.
No comment.
8.8
August 25, 2017
Very friendly staff and helpful
8.0
JohnAugust 15, 2017
Great car
All was good
8.6
GeertJuly 12, 2017
Nice comfortable car
Car was almost not cleaned inside. We found empty bottles. We cleaned it ourself
6.6
EricJuly 11, 2017
Overall good car
The car cannot bluetooth with my phone
8.0
ChristianJune 25, 2017
Staff not pushy offered upgrade options but no pressure. Car was quite new. Any defects identified and noted before we drove off.
Limited return options in vancouver.
8.4
GarethJune 19, 2017
The car was almost brand new and drove delightfully. Very speedy check-in and drop-off. Excellent service. I really enjoy using RentalCar.com as there are never any additional charges and all necessary insurance is included.
Absolutely nothing to dislike.
9.4
June 16, 2017
Brand new car performed beautifully all luggage fitted in with 2 couples traveling with 4 suitcases and three carry on
Car wasn't ready pre booked and still had to wait . Also instructions to find the car in the car park were very vague and not helpful at all
6.8
June 6, 2017
What was and was not covered under insurance plans.
6.4
AnthonyJune 6, 2017
Friendly counter staff
The long walk from baggage to the Thrifty counter
8.0
June 5, 2017
The upgrade
The price in comparison to the UK
6.8
May 30, 2017
Very good
Nothing
7.4
SuzanneMay 4, 2017
The staff were very helpful and friendly.
Probably the extra costs
8.8
May 2, 2017
Friendly helpful service. Drop off particularly efficient.
N/A
8.8
April 21, 2017
The car was in excellent conditions!
9.2
April 14, 2017
Good service initially at counter, good car.
No representative at car pickup, so we could not find the car. When we returned to the Thrifty rental desk, the representative had gone on her break.
7.8
JensFebruary 24, 2017
Coming in after a long flight, it was so good being helped by nice, friendly staff. I´ll defenitely return.
Nothing.
9.6
January 30, 2017
Car was perfect for our purposes
Car not that clean when picked up
8.2
PHILIPJanuary 7, 2017
paying extra for winter tyres on 4x 4 I think this should have been standard in Canada
8.0
September 5, 2016
good car and clean
long wait to get served
7.8
ThomasAugust 30, 2016
Cars delivered as requested & full Tank as requested. Minimal fuss on collection.
Collection agent tried to charge us for refueling costs even though we explained the arrangement to return vehicles near empty. As we were not giving in, he backed down and said the company would sort it out. We're old, not senile or easily flustered.
7.2
walterAugust 28, 2016
All went well nothing more could of been done
All went well
7.8
rhysJuly 4, 2016
helpful and friendly staff and excellent car
only a blindspot making overtaking a problem
9.2
June 13, 2016
Easy to book online.
The car we ordered was not available. We were given an upgrade but it didn't suit us. We had to return to the pick up location to swap the car when a more appropriate vehicle became available. We were also supposed to pay the drop off fee on collection as stated on the contract but we were told to pay it when we dropped off the vehicle at the end.
6.4
DavidApril 4, 2016
The vehicle
It wasn't in the booth they said and another staff member had to locate it
8.8
March 13, 2016
Agent friendliness. Cleanliness of car.
Additional extras
8.2
BruceOctober 30, 2015
The uncertainty about the rental company accepting your full cover insurance.
7.8
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Calgary, AB
Excellent
8.3 / 10
500+ ratings

Ratings

Nearby Locations

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
By continuing, you accept that telecoms company Mitel will process your details.

Loading

Please wait

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.