Not used to thinking in GBP?
You can change this if you’d rather see prices in a different currency.
Please note: You’ll still pay for your car in GBP.

Manage booking

If you don’t have an account, you can still manage your booking.

Close
Forgot your booking reference?

Enter your email address and we will send your reference number to this address.

Email sent.

Your booking reference has been emailed to you.

Reference number not found

We have been unable to locate a current booking using this email address. Please Contact Us using this link

Re-enter email address.

Thrifty logo - rentalcars.com

Thrifty Reviews Johannesburg Airport

Read 50 customer reviews on Thrifty at Johannesburg Airport and find the best car hire deals guaranteed

Sort by

Reviews

March 19, 2018
Took too long too long to pick the car up
6.6
EberhardFebruary 27, 2018
Size of rhe car was good
Engine had not enough powersizr
6.8
ColinFebruary 20, 2018
Manuel gear shift not ideal in Johannesburg
9.0
February 12, 2018
Excellent service
Nothing
9.2
HiltonFebruary 11, 2018
Excellent vehicle and service and helpfullness
Not much
7.8
HerbertJanuary 9, 2018
Good service online and on the desk aswell plus the vehicle was excellent.
Nothing to mention.
7.6
December 19, 2017
cleanliness and efficiency
limited km
8.8
AlanDecember 19, 2017
The gentleman the morning we picked up our car was extremely helpful and asset to his company We got in earlier and he sorted us out Please pass this on the company
7.4
December 9, 2017
Thrifry has the excellent service ever comprare to other rentals But they got limitted stock
None nothing
8.4
December 2, 2017
Staff at the airport was very helpful and kind.
We extended our agreement but procedure was very unreasonable. Additional rent for a day was equals to five day's rent we paid throuh agent on website. Another option was return the car to the nearest Thrifty then make new agreement on website even they gave us the exact same car.Most of countries, just a phone call make extention.
8.2
servaasNovember 22, 2017
The car was clean and a joy to drive
9.4
November 16, 2017
Friendly staff, clean car, upgrade
Not much
8.6
CarmenNovember 15, 2017
the Hyundai Elantra I drove is one of the best car hire cars I have ever driven. Lets hope I can get the same car next time in SA. Thank You
The GPS nees updating. I couldnt always find the destination I was looking for.
9.0
November 14, 2017
Staff are super friendly, didn't have to wait to get my car.
8.4
November 13, 2017
Petrol consumption was good
Will maybe look at a bigger car for long travels
8.8
October 25, 2017
Helpful staff
7.2
October 17, 2017
Willingness to assist when facilitating hire.
The vehicle first provided was completely filled with fuel so had to wait while another was processed.
7.4
October 4, 2017
Staff not very helpful initially when I wanted to check the marks and scratches on the car when picking car up.
7.8
MartinSeptember 21, 2017
No comment
No Comments
7.4
September 18, 2017
Excellent service
10.0
RobertSeptember 16, 2017
Easiest rental so far, no hassles!
8.0
September 9, 2017
Staff very freindly and helpful
The USB point in the car did not work which created much difficulty foe me with my navigation device as I relied on it working and did not then take auxiliary power pack.
8.4
September 5, 2017
None
Smoke smell in the car.
5.8
August 31, 2017
The rental price was reasonable.
The inspection of the vehicle was thoroughly done when it was returned but on collection of the vehicle it was not afforded any attention to point out any existing defects. In my case, there was some minor scratches on the car on collection and on return I had to justify these scratches. Not a good experience.
7.8
MarthinusAugust 24, 2017
Perfect for the purpose i needed it for. Very economical too.
None
7.6
August 20, 2017
Easy process to rent by South African standards. Vehicle as booked and described.
Vehicle had reasonable minor damage.
8.8
BruceAugust 16, 2017
Friendly and very efficient staff at the counter. Easy drop off with friendly helpful staff. Overall the best car rental experience we have had and we have had many. Will definately use Thrifty again. Thank you xxx
9.0
ThembelihleAugust 1, 2017
Their service was good
Nothing all was perfect
8.4
July 31, 2017
No charge for tolls Friendly helpful staff
9.2
July 25, 2017
Clean car and friendly staff
Long wait when I picked the car up Tollgates
8.6
July 23, 2017
Overall a very good service
The car felt a little underpowered and perhaps a model with a bigger engine would be preferable for long distance travelling
7.8
NicJuly 23, 2017
Rear seat belts were not compatible to our childrens bumper seats. They were rigid in design.
7.4
July 15, 2017
Vehicle was comfortable and spacious.
When I returned the vehicle at the airport I had to go inside to find someone to help me. Other rental companies have people waiting outside to help you return your vehicle
8.4
MazwiJuly 13, 2017
Good customer service and good condition car
Nothing noted on this occasion
9.6
EtienneJuly 8, 2017
Very easy process. Really convenient. Great car.
8.6
DanielJune 28, 2017
Fastest at the counter in a long time. Upgrade was nice bonus.
The cabin had definitely been smoked in by previous users.
7.8
SalomonJune 26, 2017
Very impress with all
9.0
MichaelJune 25, 2017
The almera is underpowered
6.0
DonJune 22, 2017
Great rental company.
None
7.4
OgheneruegbaMarch 26, 2017
Exact car provided. Easy pickup
Asking for my return ticket
8.6
ChristiaanMarch 14, 2017
when returning the car was really helpfull and dropped us off with all our luggage at the departure gate....
car was not that clean on collection and very badly scratched all over.... the border letter was not ready as requested before collection so took very Long and a lot of additional charges which was unexpected and make it much more expensive then the orginal qoute
5.8
CliveMarch 9, 2017
Car was clean and reliable.
Service at pickup counter.
7.0
AdamFebruary 26, 2017
Smooth process.
After doing a once over when collecting the vehicle, several scratches had not been highlighted on the report I initially received.
7.8
FrederikFebruary 5, 2017
It was not easy to find the car once the keys where handed over and they did not explain I am not getting the same car as in the picture.
5.8
February 2, 2017
Booked a Qashqai but it would not start, after a short wait we were supplied a X trail.
8.0
January 31, 2017
Car was clean and ready.
Old model of the car was given. I had to put the child seat in myself with no help.
7.6
January 26, 2017
Great service God Bless
10.2
January 18, 2017
The car was very comfortable, light to handle and drove like a dream.
8.2
January 11, 2017
The staff was helpful
Time it took to get the car
5.4
remoJanuary 3, 2017
We reeally liked Cedric's help at collection.
6.6
Previous Next

Search for Car Hire

Rental location must be specified
Driver aged between 25 – 70?
Form submission
Thrifty Rating
Johannesburg Airport
Very good
7.2 / 10
1000+ ratings

Ratings

Chat

What would you like to chat about?

Sorry

All our agents are busy right now. Please try again later.

Sorry

We're closed for the day. Our opening times are:

Monday Xam - Xpm
Tuesday Xam - Xpm
Wednesday Xam - Xpm
Thursday Xam - Xpm
Friday Xam - Xpm
Saturday Xam - Xpm
Sunday Xam - Xpm
*Required
By continuing, you accept that telecoms company Mitel will process your details.

Loading

Please wait

*Required
Did we answer your question / solve your problem on this occasion?*
Would you like us to email you a transcript of this chat?*

Thanks

We will use your feedback to improve our responses.